April 27, 2024, 09:43:41 AM

Author Topic: Flights to Piarco  (Read 6323 times)

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
Flights to Piarco
« on: May 19, 2008, 10:16:23 AM »
Anybody here has the inside track on which city is the least expensive from which to fly to T&T?
Canada or US please?

Thanks!

Re: Flights to Piarco
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2008, 10:22:03 AM »
I guess it would probably be Ft. Lauderdale.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2008, 10:25:49 AM »
Is that with Caribbean Airlines or a US carrier? Any clue?

« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2008, 10:27:41 AM »
queen check delta from JFK and atlanta

this is always the cheapest from canada
http://www.titantours.com/YYZPOSCD.htm
but its a cramped ass charter plane

« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2008, 10:29:12 AM »

« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2008, 10:33:49 AM »
Caribbean Airlines will begin servicing Ft. Lauderdale on May 22nd, and Spirit Airlines will start flying that route from June 12th. Of course, it always have them charter airlines like Travel Span, but not me and dem ting.

« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2008, 10:37:46 AM »
Caribbean Airlines will begin servicing Ft. Lauderdale on May 22nd, and Spirit Airlines will start flying that route from June 12th. Of course, it always have them charter airlines like Travel Span, but not me and dem ting.

:rotfl: you go have to buy a whole row to fit you alone on dem charter things
last time i went on one, the seat tray could not go down past meh belly lol i say the same thing not me and that again.
delta also has direct service from atlanta to tobago which is real sweet (new)

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2008, 10:50:01 AM »
well I can't do the cramped thing. It will be me alone with the two children. I don't want added problems.

« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2008, 11:06:40 AM »
« Last Edit: May 19, 2008, 11:12:37 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2008, 11:13:38 AM »
news to me, i didnt know expedia sells bus pass

« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2008, 11:40:51 AM »

lol...thread mash up.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2008, 11:41:10 AM »
oh gorme!
*slaps a hand over her mouth to avoid bussing a Lower Charlotte Street laugh*

« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2008, 11:42:21 AM »
<wipes dey tears rolling down she face>

oh jessan ah dying here :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2008, 11:48:47 AM »
nah boy...Cana. You is a dangerous woman.
HAUL!

« Reply #14 on: May 19, 2008, 11:50:27 AM »
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

what allya laughing at?

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

I could laugh too :devil:

allya Idle yes ;D ;D

wait....edit....... ;)
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #15 on: May 19, 2008, 11:52:25 AM »
Lawd fadda help ya girl chlie today nuh.....meh heart

ah cyah believe meh blasted eye here.... WC is ask ya askin what we laughing at ?

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2008, 11:54:31 AM »

ah cyah believe meh blasted eye here.... WC is ask ya askin what we laughing at ?

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

oh gaum...geh me SOME credit nuh :rotfl: :rotfl: :devil: :devil: :devil:

« Reply #17 on: May 19, 2008, 12:00:20 PM »

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

oh gaum...geh me SOME credit nuh :rotfl: :rotfl: :devil: :devil: :devil:

no

doh lie....ya ain't know

phew...aright ah good now. lemme go back to some serious ole talk in dem oder thread
queen good luck wid dey tickets ting eh....I liming down dere in June.

holla !

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #18 on: May 19, 2008, 01:05:17 PM »
nah, I fraid to lime wid you Miss Cana. Nex ting you know I in front a majestrate trying to explain how come dey fine me up Mount St. Benedict, nekkid wid a Carib posey on meh head.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #19 on: May 19, 2008, 01:16:53 PM »
Aigth ah see a Continental flight for $448 before taxes.
Now...before all yuh laugh at me. I admit I have not been home since Adam was in short pants. Is $448 a reasonable price?

« Reply #20 on: May 19, 2008, 01:18:39 PM »
$448 before taxes from where?

i feel you could get better than that..

you have any leeway with the dates?

fly and return midweek if possible.

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #21 on: May 19, 2008, 01:21:13 PM »
ent it have that new airline that starting JUne 6th or 10th or something...

and thier flights are about US$300.00...

but yuh hadda pay $10.00 per luggage and they will have food etc...but yuh hadda pay for it...

that was the airline that had the one way flight for US$.0.05 or US$0.10 a few weeks ago...
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #22 on: May 19, 2008, 01:30:00 PM »
let me look at mid week. Yes my dates are flexible at this point. Still waiting on a nod from people in T&T to time the visit properly.

Kandi, I will try travel light but with the little lady, I will need to bring lots of clothes for her. I'm sure the family will have her knocking about. This is her first visit ever. So luggage might be an issue. I might have to rub shoulders with big people and my one moreno and the pum pum shorts I borrowed from Cana mightn't be enough.

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #23 on: May 19, 2008, 01:37:03 PM »
continental is the bestest...friendly efficient staff...and yuh does get plenty stuff to eat too  ;D ;D
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #24 on: May 19, 2008, 01:38:59 PM »
yes I've used Continental several times and was happy. Wanted to try Caribbean Air but have to manouver my itinerary and departure airport..
So long as the children are comfortable, I good to go.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2008, 01:46:21 PM by Queen Macoomeh »

Offline socachatter

• ey boy look ah make
« Reply #25 on: May 19, 2008, 01:54:06 PM »
ah tink delta flying direct out of atlanta now.  yuh could check there too.  but das if yuh want to go from atlanta. 

so when yuh tinking Queen?  somebody tell meh they was in ah sign shop this morning and they see a bronze plaque engraving with you and cana name on it.  when dey aks the man he say is for a cell in the st. james police station.  the deadline is end ah may.  is june yuh coming?
"Moral certainty is always a sign of cultural inferiority.  The more uncivilized the man, the surer he is that he knows precisely what is right and what is wrong.  All human progress, even in morals, has been the work of men who doubted current moral values, not of men who tried to enforce them."

« Reply #26 on: May 19, 2008, 02:00:59 PM »
let me look at mid week. Yes my dates are flexible at this point. Still waiting on a nod from people in T&T to time the visit properly.

Kandi, I will try travel light but with the little lady, I will need to bring lots of clothes for her. I'm sure the family will have her knocking about. This is her first visit ever. So luggage might be an issue. I might have to rub shoulders with big people and my one moreno and the pum pum shorts I borrowed from Cana mightn't be enough.

hmmm
ya color bline queen ? ah tell ya take dey white one and not dey red.
ay ay >:(

Chatter well I dere in June.  If Queentips could make dat June.....we set ;D
It suppose to be ah Gold plaque Chats... >:(

« Last Edit: May 19, 2008, 02:06:44 PM by TriniCana »

« Reply #27 on: May 19, 2008, 02:11:31 PM »
news to me, i didnt know expedia sells bus pass

OUCH!!!  :D

« Reply #28 on: May 19, 2008, 10:33:53 PM »
all jokes aside, if you looking for tickets Expedia and Kayak and them ting is the last place you should look, Check out a site called http://www.skyscanner.net/ which will let you ask interesint questions like,"where can i fly to from here"  or "what are my options from London to the USA" The site will show the ticket prices on a chart so you can easily see that flying on day x is much cheaper than day Y.

Zuji.com does the expedia-like flexible dates, but on international flights, so you can see what's out there. However, you get results in Singapore dollars, still though, you get a good starting point, to then go and check airline flights for the real numbers.

Finally if you really want to plumb the depths, check a travel consolidator site, like Best Travel Store. The got me tix to Germany for $490 when everyone else was quoting $800+ They mostly do aisia travel though

Check out this NY Times article, some other good sites in there, I've never used all of them, so I can't say much about it. You might be able to get a bus pass one time too.

May 18, 2008
Beating the Bushes for a Bargain Ticket
By MICHELLE HIGGINS
http://www.nytimes.com/2008/05/18/travel/18praccheapair.html?_r=1&8dpc&oref=slogin

IS it still possible to find cheap airfares? With prices rising — the average cost of an airline ticket in the United States was up 10.2 percent in March, compared with a year ago, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics — and with airlines raising fees on everything from ticket changes to checked bags, it’s no wonder that a lot of travelers are talking about just staying home this summer.

But it’s still possible to score cheap airline tickets. Here are some strategies to help keep your costs down:

BOOK DIRECTLY WITH THE AIRLINE

Taking a page from the hotel industry, airlines have begun to guarantee equal or better prices to travelers who book with them directly. This helps drive traffic to their sites and save on commission expenses they would otherwise pay to third-party booking sites like Orbitz or Expedia. Moreover, some airlines — including Delta, American, United and Continental — are offering compensations like a $50 or $100 voucher for a future flight if passengers find an online fare lower than the one they are offering on their own sites for that flight.

Not unlike clothing chains that dole out special “family and friends” discounts to employees and repeat customers, airlines quietly offer special coupon codes to travelers who sign up for their weekly newsletters or frequent flier programs. Airfarewatchdog.com, which monitors such deals and posts the codes on its Web site, reports that it has noticed an increase in deals recently, including new promotion codes in Alaska Airlines newsletters every few weeks with savings typically of 20 percent.

On April 29, Virgin America sent out a special offer to its frequent flier members with a code good for 25 percent off tickets booked by May 3 for travel through June 11. And American offered discount codes for as much as 15 percent off to Hawaii and 20 percent off to Europe early this year.

“The downside to this strategy is you’ll get a lot of extra e-mails,” said George Hobica, the founder of Airfarewatchdog.com. But given the savings, he added, “It’s worth it.”

BUY ONE TICKET AT A TIME

Every flight normally has a range of price levels. Often, there are only a couple of coach seats offered at the lowest prices. When you shop for multiple tickets, and there aren’t enough seats available at the lowest ticket price, the reservation system automatically kicks bookings up to the next price level.

“This happens all the time, as the ‘inventory’ systems for the airlines decide to start closing out cheap prices on a flight,” Rick Seaney, chief executive of Farecompare.com wrote in an e-mail message.

On a recent search for flights from Dallas to Frankfurt for a July trip, Mr. Seaney turned up a round-trip ticket at www.americanairlines.com for $1,431. When he searched for multiple tickets, the lowest ticket price jumped to $1,536.

MAKE YOUR COMPUTER DO THE WORK

If you don’t have the time or inclination to sift through dozens of airline newsletters for deals, you can sign up for fare alerts. Nearly every online travel site these days, including Travelocity.com, Kayak.com, Orbitz.com and Expedia.com offers its own version. Some airlines, including American, Southwest and WestJet, a Canadian airline, offer their own deal-alert software, which must be downloaded onto your desktop.

There is also a new Web site, Compete4yourseat.com, which encourages travel agents, who often negotiate contracts with airlines, to find you a low fare. Travelers fill out a Trip Request form on the home page and click Go. Once your request is bid on by a travel agent, you receive an e-mail message and can log in to view the deal.

BUY A PACKAGE DEAL

Travelers can often get a better deal with a vacation package instead of buying their airfare and hotel separately. That’s because airlines and hotels are often more willing to offer deeper discounts when airfare prices are wrapped into a package. That way, their competitors can’t see how much they’re slashing rates.

“Certain hotels allow me to provide greater discounts if creating a package, said Jay Rein, president of Travelworm.com, an online travel agency that specializes in casino, resort and other leisure destinations. “Its sort of like when you go to Best Buy. You can buy individual stereo components or a big box with the receiver and speakers for one low price.”

Orbitz.com estimates that travelers can save an average of $228 by booking a five-night air-and-hotel package instead of buying those components separately. For example, a flight to Cancún from Chicago and a three-night stay at the InterContinental Presidente Cancún Resort costs $885 a person on Orbitz.com as a package. The same trip booked separately costs $1,130 a person.

SEARCH FOR FLIGHTS AT ALTERNATIVE AIRPORTS

Depending on the distance from your home to the airport, using smaller, regional airports can sometimes mean savings. For example, a recent Orbitz search for a flight from Midway Airport in Chicago to Orlando, Fla., turned up a ticket on AirTran Airways for $223 round trip, for a June weekend getaway. The lowest price for the same trip from O’Hare International Airport was $321 on United.

BE FLEXIBLE

You can often save by adjusting your travel dates by a day or two. Travel sites like Travelocity.com and Zuji.com offer flexible date searches that show the lowest airfare for your route as much as four months out.

TIMING IS EVERYTHING

To help evaluate prices, Kayak.com offers a trend chart (after a search), which shows whether prices for a particular flight have been going up, down or holding steady. Farecompare.com displays the lowest published fare over the next 11 months for flights to more than 200,000 destinations If the prices are bouncing around by $100 or more a few times a month or more, make sure you buy on a downswing. Farecompare.com shows a 30-day history bar chart so you can quickly check volatility.

Another site, Farecast.com, predicts whether prices will go up or down in the next week.

DON’T WAIT IF YOU SEE A DEAL

“If you see an airfare and it looks good to you, don’t shop — buy,” said Mr. Rein of Travelworm.com. “It’s like wandering around the shopping mall. You can walk to the next store looking for a deal and the next, and by the time you walk back it might be gone.”

« Reply #29 on: May 19, 2008, 11:01:36 PM »
Good post Bitter  :beermug: