April 19, 2024, 09:16:16 PM

Author Topic: Trini dragon boat team coming to Toronto - Curry-Q & WWK fete  (Read 4103 times)

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
Greetings Everyone

Can you hear the beat of the drum?
It is summer again and the 20th year of the dragon boat race at Toronto Centre Island is here again and this time we adding a Trini team to the festivities.

The Original Dragon Boat Race Festival in Toronto Celebrating its 20th year!

THE EVENT
The TELUS Toronto International Dragon Boat Race Festival is a two-day spectacular event that brings sports, multicultural entertainment and international spirit to Toronto Centre Island on June 21 & 22, 2008.

Highlights for the two-day event:
Dragon Boat Race ­
Close to 180 teams with over 5,000 paddlers competing in over 100 races in two days. Athletes of different backgrounds from all over the world take part in the ancient Chinese tradition and friendly competition.

Extravaganza of Entertainment
A fun-filled weekend enriched by multi-cultural performances, traditional dances and live music from a number of ethnic communities, including Chinese, South Asians, Eastern Europeans and South Americans. These performances reflect Toronto’s ethnic diversity and complement the city’s cultural mosaic.

Multicultural Village
The Multicultural Village offers delightful displays, arts and crafts demonstrations, educational cultural booths, and fun games for kids and adults.

International Food Pavilion
Taste authentic food from more than 10 restaurants who cook up the world-hopping delights of Chinese, Filipino, Thai, Korean and Japanese cuisine.

One of Canada’s most culturally significant events, the Festival is a community celebration of sport and culture, achieved through team building, entertainment, good food, arts and crafts and friendly competition. It showcases our city and draws more than 125,000 people to its festivities each year.

Supported generously by national corporations and local businesses, the Festival has proven to be a great opportunity for sponsors to outreach to a diverse ethnic group of consumers and business networks.

The Dragon Boat Race Festival will be Toronto’s hottest event in the upcoming summer!

The Original Dragon Boat Race
Festival in Toronto Celebrating its 20th year!
THE EVENT
The TELUS Toronto International Dragon Boat Race Festival is a two-day spectacular event that brings sports, multicultural entertainment and international spirit to Toronto Centre Island on June 21 & 22, 2008.

Highlights for the two-day event:
Dragon Boat Race ­
Close to 180 teams with over 5,000 paddlers competing in over 100 races in two days. Athletes of different backgrounds from all over the world take part in the ancient Chinese tradition and friendly competition.

Extravaganza of Entertainment
A fun-filled weekend enriched by multi-cultural performances, traditional dances and live music from a number of ethnic communities, including Chinese, South Asians, Eastern Europeans and South Americans. These performances reflect Toronto’s ethnic diversity and complement the city’s cultural mosaic.

Multicultural Village
The Multicultural Village offers delightful displays, arts and crafts demonstrations, educational cultural booths, and fun games for kids and adults.

International Food Pavilion
Taste authentic food from more than 10 restaurants who cook up the world-hopping delights of Chinese, Filipino, Thai, Korean and Japanese cuisine.

One of Canada’s most culturally significant events, the Festival is a community celebration of sport and culture, achieved through team building, entertainment, good food, arts and crafts and friendly competition. It showcases our city and draws more than 125,000 people to its festivities each year.

Supported generously by national corporations and local businesses, the Festival has proven to be a great opportunity for sponsors to outreach to a diverse ethnic group of consumers and business networks.

The Dragon Boat Race Festival will be Toronto’s hottest event in the upcoming summer!
A team from Trinidad and Tobago - Excellent Stores Titans dragon boat team will be participating in the 20th TELUS Toronto International Dragon Boat Race Festival this year.  A first for a Caribbean team and they need our support. 

The team has two events to assist with sponsorship, a CURRY-Q Fundraiser is being held on Saturday 7th June 2008 at
2155 Leanne Blvd, Mississauga, ON L5K 2K8
11:30AM to 2:00PM

Leanne Blvd is the 2nd street north of the QEW off of Erin Mills Parkway
Catering by Calabash Caribbean Cuisine
For more information and tickets are $10.00
             Philma 416-291-3874
             Lisa 905-202-0331

If you much prefer a fete then Wild Water Kingdom is the place to be on June 14th 8PM to 2AM tickets are $25 in advance, $30 at the door.

http://www.ticketbreak.com/event_details/2200 link to order tickets.

« Last Edit: May 28, 2008, 11:20:27 AM by socachynee »

Re: Trini dragon boat team coming to Toronto - Curry-Q & WWK fete
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2008, 06:30:47 PM »
ah boy yuh rowin an ting now.....any excuse to come out de house eh  :D

De curry Q soundin decent...ah might pass troo fuh dat, ah bess get plenty food for mih 10 eh?

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2008, 12:29:24 PM »
Rowin sound like to much wuk

I thought I should spread the news of the team and if we can support dem in anyway
who knows maybe they can pull off a win
be the COOL Runnings of DRAGON BOAT RACING  :D

« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2008, 06:57:43 PM »
I am most present, as one of my dear friends on the team

here is ah snap of them....
gosh curry boy ;D

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2008, 09:23:43 AM »
thanks for de pic

« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2008, 10:06:26 PM »

gosh curry boy ;D

Cana so which one is u?

« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2008, 11:22:38 AM »

gosh curry boy ;D

Cana so which one is u?

wait lemme re read what i type before ah answer ya Sando
infact, lemme tink before ah answer ya Sando

<stares>
Sando Princes* I am dey 12th on de left side. Well if you in front of dey computer screen, dey right side, fifth row

nah boy

« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2008, 04:00:56 PM »

gosh curry boy ;D

Cana so which one is u?

wait lemme re read what i type before ah answer ya Sando
infact, lemme tink before ah answer ya Sando

<stares>
Sando Princes* I am dey 12th on de left side. Well if you in front of dey computer screen, dey right side, fifth row

nah boy

:rotfl: at least spell it right.... 

« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2008, 06:04:45 AM »
back in 1976, i was reading some statistics

of all the people who emigrated from Trinidad to Canada, only one came by boat.

I wonder if he rowed?

« Reply #9 on: June 06, 2008, 03:07:30 PM »
back in 1976, i was reading some statistics

of all the people who emigrated from Trinidad to Canada, only one came by boat.

I wonder if he rowed?

dais ah little known fact

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #10 on: June 12, 2008, 11:02:03 AM »
you would tink he/she would have stopped at Uncle Sam country
short distance

Dont forget the WWK fete this Saturday  :beermug:

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #11 on: June 22, 2008, 12:24:09 AM »
Results from day one

http://www.jonathanyam.com/db2008/results.html

Race 13 - Premier Women Heat 3
Island Girls - placed 2nd by 2.82 seconds

Race 30 - Premier Women Heat 6
Island Girls - placed 3rd by 3.79 seconds

Race 41 - Premier Mixed Heat 29
Excelent Stores Titans - placed 1st 2.11.26

Race 53 - Premier Mixed Heat 37
Excelent Stores Titans -placed 3rd  by 9 seconds

Schedule of day 2

http://www.jonathanyam.com/db2008/day2.html

I am having some challenges posting a few pics on this post, help?

« Reply #12 on: June 22, 2008, 03:59:16 PM »
Impressive day 1....allyuh Trini REAL pullin oars in trute

sen dem pics to de moderators...dey go fix yuh up

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #13 on: June 26, 2008, 09:52:52 AM »
http://s306.photobucket.com/albums/nn258/sinned71/Toronto%20Dragon%20Boat%202008/?albumview=grid

Supporters hanging out by de FINISH Line, before start of heat

Titans racing look at boat #4

« Last Edit: June 26, 2008, 10:18:29 AM by socachynee »

« Reply #14 on: June 26, 2008, 08:39:48 PM »

I remember when I used to be a member of the 6th Trinidad Sea Scouts.  We use to row over to Gasparee (I think).  We did not have life jackets in those days.

I should have tried out for the dragon boat team ...

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #15 on: June 27, 2008, 08:38:59 AM »
Pecan we can start up a SOCA Warrior team  ;D

take it easy have a safe Canada Day weekend

Let Mrs Pecan know we said "hello"