April 24, 2024, 06:31:45 AM

Author Topic: Gerrard: T&T friendly important for England.  (Read 2056 times)

Gerrard: T&T friendly important for England.
« on: May 31, 2008, 04:10:40 AM »
Gerrard: T&T friendly important for England.
By: Kern De Freitas (Express).

Fans turn out to see visitors train

England may be missing out on the 2008 European Championships-which start next weekend in Austria and Switzerland-but they are taking tomorrow's friendly international against Trinidad and Tobago at the Hasely Crawford Stadium very seriously.

England midfielder and Liverpool Football Club captain Steven Gerrard pointed out that even though some of their top Premier League players had been excused-including Manchester United's Wayne Rooney and the Chelsea duo of Frank Lampard and John Terry-the match is still of great importance to his team.

"It's going to be a difficult summer (for England) and it's important that we win this friendly," Gerrard told the media shortly after yesterday's training session at the match venue, which was swarming with fans hoping to get an autograph, or even a glimpse of their favourite players.

Gerrard also saw the game as an opportunity for some of the younger players in the squad to fill the breach left by the absent regulars.

"It's sad to see some of the big names left out, but it's an opportunity for some other players (to step in)," he said.

The playing pitch looked a marked improvement from the last time a football match was staged there and although the English would hardly relish the hot conditions, the odds will still be clearly stacked in their favour come match day.

Still, Gerrard dismissed the idea of an easy England victory.

"I'm sure it will be a tough, tough game to play against Trinidad...I think at this level, no team is easy to play.

"And Trinidad have got some players who play in the Premier League, the English League, so they know what it's all about. I think that will make it a very tough game."

Yesterday morning, T&T fans came out in droves-between 2,000-3,000-lining the streets on every side of the venue with their cars. Inside the Stadium, spectators screamed whenever players-especially David Beckham-touched the ball during the England training session.

One young fan even came close to being hit by a car as she hurriedly made her way towards the England bus after the practice.

The competition will not just be for victory in tomorrow's friendly but also for some of the less experienced England players to try to cement a place in the squad.

Young West Ham striker Dean Ashton is one such player looking for a way in.

"It's (the T&T/England clash) really big," Ashton revealed eagerly. "Obviously, we've got (World Cup) qualifiers next season and all the players want to be in that squad, so players like me, who haven't played before, we're desperate to play. We'd love to get a chance to play here against Trinidad."

He added: "I think we've got a chance to take the places and I'm not saying (for example) Wayne Rooney isn't an unbelievable player, but you know I feel that I can get in the squad as well."
Supporters mob England bus.
By: Nigel Simon (Guardian).

England and Liverpool midfielder Steven Gerrard has warned the T&T “Soca Warriors” that his team-mates are looking to end their long season on a high.

Gerrard was speaking after the Fabio Capello-coached England team completed a two-hour training session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, yesterday.

It was the first session for Capello’s men and it was watched by close to 3,000 local fans under very hot and clear blue skies.

Hundreds of local football fans greeted David Beckham, Rio Ferdinand and the other players as they entered the venue to begin their preparations for the match which is expected to have more importance because of its off-the-field significance.

England are hoping their appearance in the Caribbean will help in terms of gaining votes for the 2018 World Cup bid.

At the end of their session, the atmosphere outside the venue was the same as the bus transporting the England players and staff was mobbed by mostly female fans.

In fact, the England team bus had to be redirected on their exit from the Stadium, after the main gate at the Stadium was blocked by supporters who were screaming at the top of their lungs for their favourite players, mainly Beckham, Peter Crouch and Theo Walcott.

The team was eventually chauffeured via Police escort through the side gate near the entrance to the St John’s Hall.

Commenting on the tomorrow’s match which kicks off at 5.30 pm at the same venue, Gerrard said, “We know that T&T wants to beat us, but it will be tough to do that as we are looking to finish the season strong.

Gerrard, who along with his Liverpool club-mate Peter Crouch scored when the “Three Lions’ defeated T&T 2-0 in their Group B World Cup in Germany on June 15, 2006 added, “We all know the game will be a tough game.”

For the match against the Soca Warriors, Capello left home Chelsea’s John Terry, Ashley Cole, Frank Lampard and Joe Cole, plus Manchester United’s Wayne Rooney, Owen Hargraves and Wes Brown, all who were involved in Wednesday’s 2-0 win over USA at Wembley.

However, West Ham United striker Dean Ashton instead of stressing on their absence sees the encounter as a great opportunity for the young players in the team to impress the coach.

Ashton who had been out the England squad for a while mainly due to injury and is also trying to cement his place in the team added, “We all know its a friendly international and the coach can make as much as six changes and we are all hoping to get a chance to play against T&T.

Asked about the playing conditions at the match venue, Ashton said, “It’s obviously very hot and the pitch is very hard, but our squad is full of quality players and should be able to play good football.

Looking ahead to the match with T&T Ashton said his team-mates will not be taking the ‘Soca Warriors” lightly.

“It’s no secret that T&T has some very talented players and some also play in Premiership like Edwards and Jones.

“We know about their strengths and when Jones played against my West Ham club this season he proved to be handful so we know what they are capable off.

“They are good players and surely will pose a threat to any opposing team.”

“In all we are hoping to put on a good game as so far we have enjoyed the hospitality and reception from the people and want to win the game also.”

For yesterday’s training session Capello had a clean bill of health as all 22 players in the trimmed down squad were put through their paces by the Italian and his assistants under very hot and humid conditions. England will train again today at the same venue from 9.30 am ahead of tomorrow’s match with T&T from 5.30 pm.
Graham Taylor sends greetings to T&T ahead of Sunday's affair.

Former England manager Graham Taylor, the man noted for first taking Dwight Yorke to England when he signed him as a teenager at Aston Villa, has issued a congratulatory message to the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation on its 100 year anniversary and says he expects the “Soca Warriors” to present a good challenge to England on Sunday.

Taylor,  now a commentator for BBC Radio Five Live, usually works at all England matches but missed the current tour after committing to a Grassroots Football Show at the National Exhibition Centre in Birmingham this weekend.

“I thought the Trinidad and Tobago team were excellent in the World Cup in 2006, and all the players and management team should be congratulated for their efforts. They gave England a game, and there is no reason why they should not repeat that this Sunday,” Taylor told TTFF Media on Friday.

“I am sure Fabio Capello will be looking at a number of “squad” players in this match, and of course whoever he chooses to play the team should be strong but in the years to come if the record books show a win for Trinidad and Tobago… no one will worry about the strength of the England team! We shall see.”

Taylor commented on his brief spell as technical advisor to the T&T team in 2005, a role he was offered by TTFF Special Advisor Jack Warner while here on a FA workshop.

“I can say that I enjoyed my very brief spell helping Bertille St Clair by keeping an eye on the Trinidad and Tobago players here in England . I also had a long conversation with Dwight here in my home about him returning to play for the national team. I think he had already decided he was going to return before our meeting, but I was very pleased he chose to. Dwight has done fantastically well. His fitness levels have always been good and of course he has to go down as one of the best signings I ever made. I knew when I left Aston Villa for the England job in 1990 that he was a “special talent”. In fact I had already given him his debut – against Manchester City if I recall correctly in 1989/90.

“I must tell you one special story about him  which I will always hold dear to me. In 1999, when I had returned to Watford I was due to watch the European Champions League Final between Manchester United and Bayern Munich on TV at home. At about 5.00pm local time my phone rang and on picking it up, it was Dwight who informed me that he was just leaving the hotel to get on the United team coach to go to the ground for the game.

“He wanted to tell me that he would not be doing this if it had not been for me and wanted to thank me for all of the help and advice I had given him. Lump in my throat! You bet – and a few tears when I explained to Rita, my wife who had been on the phone and heard what he had said. The public do not always get to know the real person,” Taylor added on Friday.

But with Yorke’s days as an outfield player running out, Taylor didn’t forget to express his views on some of the current talent in the T&T team.

“I have always taken a special interest in Kenwyne Jones and Carlos Edwards since my association with Trinidad three years ago. Both are talented players and I watch their football career developments with much interest and I will do the same when I watch the game back here in England on TV,” Taylor concluded.
« Last Edit: May 31, 2008, 04:19:06 AM by Flex »

Re: Gerrard: T&T friendly important for England.
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2008, 08:42:25 AM »
After reading these articles, it sounding like England will get more support than T&T.... seems they are the home team.....  ;D

« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2008, 08:44:21 AM »
After reading these articles, it sounding like England will get more support than T&T.... seems they are the home team.....  ;D

is ah shame eh..if dem fellas up in larry gomes didnt kno already how trinidadians is dey mighta be feelin ah how

« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2008, 10:35:13 PM »
A gyul on tv say she backin England because TNThave nuff supporters

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2008, 10:42:56 PM »

In fact, the England team bus had to be redirected on their exit from the Stadium, after the main gate at the Stadium was blocked by supporters who were screaming at the top of their lungs for their favourite players, mainly Beckham, Peter Crouch and Theo Walcott.

so help me lawd if i see one of them fools in meh path tomm all hell will break loose     :challenge: :challenge:
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.