March 28, 2024, 03:21:23 AM

Author Topic: For the Linguistics  (Read 1688 times)

For the Linguistics
« on: June 06, 2008, 12:49:25 PM »
A linguistics professor was lecturing to his English class one day.
"In English," he said, "A double negative forms a positive.
In some languages, though, such as Russian, a double negative is still a negative.
However, there is no language wherein a double positive can form a negative."   

A voice from the back of the room piped up, "Yeah, right."
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline TriniItalian

• Never Wait to Procrastinate!
Re: For the Linguistics
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2008, 09:05:30 PM »
A.W.A.T.T. INFORMANT

« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2008, 06:35:31 PM »
in China, do two wongs make a another wong?

« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2008, 12:31:42 AM »
nah dais why China have no telephones, as
people might wing de wong number
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2008, 11:01:20 PM »
is only now allyuh marning dese tings, is wong time now I know dis.

what really wong with allyuh?

« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2008, 11:05:24 AM »
nah dais why China have no telephones, as
people might wing de wong number

i doh find dat funny  ;D  :P