April 19, 2024, 07:42:50 AM

Author Topic: T&T Football Cult Heroes  (Read 31968 times)

Re: T&T Football Cult Heroes
« Reply #30 on: July 29, 2008, 07:32:07 PM »
OK Deeks,

I just wanted to confirm. I first saw him for ASL vs Arsenal.

The thing is whether it was for ASL or TT, at some point the whole crowd would start bawling "Lobo!!" wanting him to come off the bench.

You HAVE  to see his header vs. Corinthians. It was amazing.

Lobo was good, nice skills. However, I think a lot of ppl liked him becz of the grassroots Rastaman ting.

« Reply #31 on: July 29, 2008, 07:37:44 PM »
VB,
      Lobo was always a nice fellah, Rasta or not.

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #32 on: July 29, 2008, 07:48:15 PM »
Many names have been called but strangely, little or no mention of players over the last 15 years and that speaks volumes. Guess dat would put to bed the debate over the Golden era of T&T football.

« Reply #33 on: July 29, 2008, 08:38:52 PM »
Emerson Dubisson

Eric White

Verron Skinner (not sure if he ever played for the senior team, but if he did, was waaaaayyyy too seldom)

Ian "Moose" Clauzel (same as Skinner)

Gary "Plucky" Evelyn

Garfield De Silva
« Last Edit: July 29, 2008, 08:50:00 PM by palos »

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #34 on: July 29, 2008, 08:43:10 PM »
Roger Duprey (Fatima). He was a member of the 1966 T&T youth team with Gally, DeLeon, Archibald etc

« Reply #35 on: July 29, 2008, 09:37:54 PM »
Many names have been called but strangely, little or no mention of players over the last 15 years and that speaks volumes. Guess dat would put to bed the debate over the Golden era of T&T football.

...or it could mean that all of the true talent in the past 15 years have been scouted accordingly and players given their chances in the national colors.

« Reply #36 on: July 30, 2008, 04:09:15 AM »
Emerson Dubisson

Eric White

Verron Skinner (not sure if he ever played for the senior team, but if he did, was waaaaayyyy too seldom)

Gary "Plucky" Evelyn

Garfield De Silva

Skinner played albeit a little. He was another who should have been there in the SS days.

Believe it or not got a try out as an old man (well late 30) with the WC squad under Porters.

« Reply #37 on: July 30, 2008, 06:28:44 AM »
Emerson Dubisson

Eric White

Gary "Plucky" Evelyn

Garfield De Silva

Skinner played albeit a little. He was another who should have been there in the SS days.

Believe it or not got a try out as an old man (well late 30) with the WC squad under Porters.

       Skinner was with the Strike Squad at one time but i think he had Knee problems and was not selected to play at any time,he was brought home by the TTFF.

Offline rastafari

« Reply #38 on: July 30, 2008, 06:34:32 AM »
Emerson Dubisson

Eric White

Gary "Plucky" Evelyn

Garfield De Silva

Garfield de Silva was in the shell cup team. I remember he scored a bullet in the tournament. I think it was against Aruba.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

« Reply #39 on: July 30, 2008, 06:43:38 AM »
Emerson Dubisson

Eric White

Gary "Plucky" Evelyn

Garfield De Silva

Garfield de Silva was in the shell cup team. I remember he scored a bullet in the tournament. I think it was against Aruba.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
        You are correct i coached that team.

« Reply #40 on: July 30, 2008, 08:17:49 AM »
As i recall it
Lobo,  Garfield De silva and Denzil White play Sr team maybe under Alvin or Roderick
No moze ever play Sr ball
VB i think MArlon Charles had to get a run under Alvin, Alvin like he and once he like yuh is sure pick.

Men i would call at Sr level off the top of meh head
Marlon 'Brady' Wiltshire
Louis Legendre san juan
Colin Rocke, Darin Lewis(maybe he play once or twice)
Guissepi from QRC
Gerard Walker gustine
Mark Jeremy Fatima

« Reply #41 on: July 30, 2008, 08:36:47 AM »
Ok here is a list of players that i think, never made it to the National senior team.

Teams                                                   Players
St Francois Nationals                                Cantius
                                                            Libert 'blackboy' Duncan
                                                            Richard Leera

Belmont Secondary                                 Marvin Joseph

ASL Sports                                             Leric 'Lobo' Joseph

Doc's Khelwalas                                      Wayne 'yankee' Valley

Carapachaima Senior Comprehensive          Earl Mayers

Princess Town Senior Comprehensive         Kevin Barrow

Signal Hill Senior Comprehensive                Jason Duncan

Fire Services                                           Shawn James

St Mary's College                                     Kevin Moze
                                                            Brandon Moze
                                                            Gavin Moze

Trendsetter hawks                                  Sterling Smith

Queens Royal College                               Jeremy 'checky' Short

although some of these guys never made it to the national senior level a lot of then played for national youth teams: kevin moze, sterling smith (was actually captain of under 16 team that graduated to the under20 portugal world cup team), jeremy shortt, jason duncan, in sterling case he was one of the men to get cut just before the final world cup squad was announced (kevin moze as well), sterling at that time was not scoring so i am not surprised about his failure to progess to the senior level.

« Reply #42 on: July 30, 2008, 08:37:24 AM »
Ok here is a list of players that i think, never made it to the National senior team.

Teams                                                   Players

St Mary's College                                     Kevin Moze
                                                            Brandon Moze
                                                            Gavin Moze

Never made the Senior team, but was on the National under 20 squad that went to the under 20 world cup in Portugal in 1991

Two Moze brothers played for TT at the U-20 WC.

kevin did not make the final squad

« Reply #43 on: July 30, 2008, 08:39:14 AM »
i second Nigel Jugroop.. played with him in meh Jabloteh days.... (in those days, Jabloteh had about 9 players who had stints with a national youth team...)

Just a few other that come to mind

BB Players ........... Noel Auguste (was rumored he declined Gally's invitation during the Strike Squad era) , Ronnie 'milo' Charles

Challengers /Jabloteh........ Sean 'yellowman' Constantine
BB player/ John D .. Nicholas Ashby
St Georges ....... Sean Rojas
Army..... Anthony Delpeche

ronnie charles had a short stint with the national senior team, was a reserve for most of that time...didn't ronnie die in an accident?

« Reply #44 on: July 30, 2008, 09:36:07 AM »
Andy Haynes Mucurapo doubt played Sr ball

As for fellas that never played youth or Sr level
Dwight Findlay, Keith Farhina, Sean Ramdoo-Fatima

« Reply #45 on: July 30, 2008, 10:03:38 AM »
FK,

I think I might be mixing up Marlon Charles and M. Jeremy.

The player from Fatima I (I said MC) played for the natnl youth team in 1983 and Captained Fatima in 1982. I said Charles, but it could really me Jeremy. Somebody feel free to confirm.

« Reply #46 on: July 30, 2008, 11:31:06 AM »
Kenny Nazib from ROCFAS - Diamond Vale. Nuff Nationals come down de park and get school !! He used to play in Notherns League too......real telented....but as usual.........
nazim was good but not all that good yuh had better ballers from de vale like sacky, skents and blip...

« Reply #47 on: July 30, 2008, 11:35:14 AM »
Emerson Dubisson

Eric White

Gary "Plucky" Evelyn

Garfield De Silva

skinner did play for the national team.

Clauzel was a travesty....

ah might be wrong but Plucky came to de states soon after he left Belmont...

« Reply #48 on: July 30, 2008, 11:40:06 AM »
So many players Nigel Clark, Chris Sloanseal, George Bovell, Jerry Hackett on and on

Offline rastafari

« Reply #49 on: July 30, 2008, 11:53:29 AM »
VB,
        As a youth Lobo was GK. He used to play for Preston in Carl Weekes league.. Then he went Malvern and ASL. That is why I said that I was surprise that he played forward for those teams. Is big who told me that Leric Joseph the dread dribbler for ASL is Lobo the GK.  I had left TT for US before he started to play out.

That's right Leric 'lobo' Joseph was a goalkeeper as well, a good one too.

His son Marcus Joseph played for  T&T in the under 17 world cup. He is playing for United Petrotrin in the T&T pro league.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
« Last Edit: July 30, 2008, 12:22:36 PM by rastafari »

« Reply #50 on: July 30, 2008, 12:10:26 PM »
Thanks Rastafari,

I always enjoyed watching his father play. Nice dribbling skills. And practically a folk hero in TT back in the day.

Offline rastafari

« Reply #51 on: July 30, 2008, 12:24:33 PM »
Thanks Rastafari,

I always enjoyed watching his father play. Nice dribbling skills. And practically a folk hero in TT back in the day.

Yeah VB, keep this thread going. It has brought back a lot of good memories.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

Offline Texastrini

« Reply #52 on: July 30, 2008, 12:50:55 PM »
I doh really post too often but this is jus one ah the most interesting threads in ah long time.  Is real good to hear the stories from some ah the senior warriors. 

« Reply #53 on: July 30, 2008, 01:01:27 PM »
Emerson Dubisson

Eric White

Gary "Plucky" Evelyn

Garfield De Silva

skinner did play for the national team.

Clauzel was a travesty....

ah might be wrong but Plucky came to de states soon after he left Belmont...

De bess of dat list was Emer in my opinion.  Had it all.

Started to play wit ASL and den went off.  Really sad.  Dat was a balla sah.

Yuh could add Allan "Peru" Anderson to dah list too.

A nex big College ball legend who never really play too much if at all fuh de National team was Winston "Tom" Phillips from Tranquil.

« Last Edit: July 30, 2008, 01:15:01 PM by palos »

Offline Trevor

« Reply #54 on: July 30, 2008, 01:03:27 PM »
Folks,

I am now reading this.  Let me put in my two cents on this issue.

Richard Sutherland, Tony Hoggins, and other guys from the San Fernando Technical Team of 1970-1971 were very good.  What about Jerry Prudent? 

After Fitzroy Valentine scored the bullet against Defense Force for us (Maple) to beat them 1-0 in the 1972 FA quarter final, Coop’s and Defense Force recruited the man one time.  Coop’s, I know you would not forget that goal in a night game at King George V Park.  A few years ago when I was home, Sedley Joseph told me that he skipped over the ball for Fitzroy to run on to take the shot.

Kona Hislop is my all-time player who I believe did not go on to greatness.  He just had one injury after the next.

Trevor

« Reply #55 on: July 30, 2008, 01:17:00 PM »

Trevor....how often did Ian Bain play for T&T?

Also.....wha yuh tort bout David Edgehill & Gary Almondoz?  Good enought to be national ballers or no?

« Reply #56 on: July 30, 2008, 01:32:23 PM »
So many players Nigel Clark, Chris Sloanseal, George Bovell, Jerry Hackett on and on

steeeeuuups!! >:(

« Reply #57 on: July 30, 2008, 01:40:01 PM »
FK,

The player from Fatima I (I said MC) played for the natnl youth team in 1983 and Captained Fatima in 1982. I said Charles, but it could really me Jeremy. Somebody feel free to confirm.

THink is Jeremy for real, good player dribble, went Howard play u-19 for TT.
think he was more onacademics might be an engineer nowadays i wanna say
I doubt Marlon went Fatima. 

« Reply #58 on: July 30, 2008, 01:48:23 PM »
FK,

THink is Jeremy for real, good player dribble, went Howard play u-19 for TT.
think he was more onacademics might be an engineer nowadays i wanna say
I doubt Marlon went Fatima. 

Mark Jeremy and I went to Howard in the early eighties, ask Deeks, he was there too. He was an excellent player. He is an engineer. Civil I think
« Last Edit: July 30, 2008, 01:53:08 PM by Pointman »

Offline Trevor

« Reply #59 on: July 30, 2008, 01:49:39 PM »
Palos,

Ian Bain did not play a lot for the national team – not more than 8 times.  He was on the 1969 squad under Michael Lang.  He was about 17 years old at that stage.   Ian then went to Spain to study.  He spent sometime in England, and there were some discussions about Chelsea giving him a tryout.  He came to Howard University in 1971.  In 1980, Alvin Corneal invited him to play on the national squad.   There was a picture on the Website a few weeks ago with Alvin and the national team.  Ian was on that squad.  Because he did not play much for the national team, people would not call him among the great national players.  But let me tell you this, I have played with some outstanding T&T players , and if I have to select an all-time national team, Ian would be the first player I want on my team.  In addition, he would be the captain.

Gary Alomondoz and David Edgehill were decent players, but national level players.  They were better cricketers.

Trevor