April 25, 2024, 07:41:58 AM

Author Topic: T&T Football Cult Heroes  (Read 32021 times)

Re: T&T Football Cult Heroes
« Reply #90 on: October 25, 2008, 12:22:35 AM »
The stopper you are referring to is Mervyn Wright, marlon morris was a midfielder for pres from 88-90.

thanx ... I was still in primary school in dem days .... so midfield for me was standing up by the halfline.

« Reply #91 on: October 25, 2008, 04:36:52 AM »

I don't know how much of allyuh ever see a lil indian name Shirvan Pragg kick a football , buh the youth was good.

Was like the old days with this youth, was destined to play cricket for TT and if he had a mind for it football too.

Died in a car accident . RIP

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #92 on: October 25, 2008, 05:38:47 AM »
wha bout the old indian man with longish hair who does/ used to sweat on Skinner Park 2nd grounds. I don't know he name ... but he used to be hitting every age, creed and race beat up and down the pitch

Anybody knows who dis is?? Btw, plenty PC men on the forum, boy!

« Reply #93 on: October 25, 2008, 06:45:58 AM »

I don't know how much of allyuh ever see a lil indian name Shirvan Pragg kick a football , buh the youth was good.

Was like the old days with this youth, was destined to play cricket for TT and if he had a mind for it football too.

Me eh know him as ah footballer, ah know him as ah cricketer. Ah used to rell follow cricket in dem days, and yuh right, repping T&T was right around de corner. Ah did rell feel ah how when ah heard about his death on de radio. He was sleeping in de backseat, and ah tink he get pitch out de car.

« Reply #94 on: October 25, 2008, 06:51:00 AM »

Played against him in college cricket and intercol football,he definitely was gifted in both areas......

« Reply #95 on: October 25, 2008, 03:07:37 PM »
Nigel "Juggy" Jugroop (talk about ah Indian baller)

Gerard Walker

... both 'gustine stalwarts during Nixon's time, along with Ancil Elcock and McComie...dat c**t.

:rotfl: how everybody does be hating dis man so boy

Anthony "Sugars" Monroe for Point Fortin Civic Centre

« Reply #96 on: October 26, 2008, 11:00:21 PM »
Myself...
Boss player weee.
me nd Latas ha de same style...i is smoke...and drink...and partyyy, and get on swanky now and den

BUTTT ah is still run mih 6 and ah half miles everyday...
I holding up de ball well, cld dribble, and take beats men too...
ah played fuh montrose vedic primary, chag. junior, and then SACC...
now ah mashing up some mexicans, Argentinians, and ecquadorians...
anybody scouting on here o wah... ;D

« Reply #97 on: October 27, 2008, 12:05:18 AM »
Benedict's also had a very crafty midfielder in the early 90s that use to hit men drag and send them straight to the chiropractor. Can't remember his name though.

talking bout edson landeau?  used to wear a knee band.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2008, 12:12:08 AM by daryn »

Offline sweetiepaper

« Reply #98 on: October 27, 2008, 08:45:04 AM »
Lawrence "Spanner George".
In he days the baddest thing in the savannah & minor league.
Does still be ripping up men in fete match.
"Sweetiepaper does be all over de place"

Offline damiangoal

« Reply #99 on: October 27, 2008, 01:47:09 PM »
Ok here is a list of players that i think, never made it to the National senior team.

Teams                                                   Players
St Francois Nationals                                Cantius
                                                            Libert 'blackboy' Duncan
                                                            Richard Leera

Belmont Secondary                                 Marvin Joseph

ASL Sports                                             Leric 'Lobo' Joseph

Doc's Khelwalas                                      Wayne 'yankee' Valley

Carapachaima Senior Comprehensive          Earl Mayers

Princess Town Senior Comprehensive         Kevin Barrow

Signal Hill Senior Comprehensive                Jason Duncan

Fire Services                                           Shawn James

St Mary's College                                     Kevin Moze
                                                            Brandon Moze
                                                            Gavin Moze

Trendsetter hawks                                  Sterling Smith

Queens Royal College                               Jeremy 'checky' Short

" ah hammer, ah hammer , crack, crack, crack!
we massive, we massive!
BELMONT IS BACK!
BELMONT IS BOLD!
BELMONT IS GOALLLLL!"
Tribute to Marvin Joseph and the rest of the intercol team that won the title in 1992 vs Caps (5-1). :salute:

« Reply #100 on: October 27, 2008, 02:33:22 PM »
since allyuh dun call everybody, ah will add Sheldon Gomes, just we had plenty National forwards then...between Steve David, Gally, Archie, Twinkletoes.++was hard to crack that side

Offline kaisocagoals

• Supportin' T&T Football,... raise yuh head!... let the ball do the running!
  • Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #101 on: October 27, 2008, 08:44:00 PM »
wait nah kevin moze never get called up for d national team...hmmm... ::)
what ah talent he was......

joel ribiero....qrc goalkeeper was another talented player...

that is my best friend pardner... ribiero is a boss keeper fella, trust me... I see dat boy make some saves... hmmm Van der Sar would be proud...

he will still play from time to time if yuh ask him nice...

Sean Ezeube was a boss midfielder fellas...
a minute in football is a very long time...

Offline kaisocagoals

• Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #102 on: October 27, 2008, 08:58:06 PM »

There was also a Carrington (cyah remember his first name..maybe "Kirk") who played for CIC in the midfield...de man make the passing game look sooo easy, he reminded me a lil of Rijkard.

My two cents

He went to QRC first, same year as me and transfer to Saints in 3rd form...

he had an amazing ability, it was indeed a pleasure to play with him...

last I hear he was working for Sissons...

but yeah he is a baller...

Gregory Seale (same scene, QRC then Saints...)

« Reply #103 on: October 27, 2008, 10:53:31 PM »

There was also a Carrington (cyah remember his first name..maybe "Kirk") who played for CIC in the midfield...de man make the passing game look sooo easy, he reminded me a lil of Rijkard.

My two cents

And that is the problem with CIC , they cyar breed they own.

« Reply #104 on: October 28, 2008, 07:10:37 AM »

My two cents

And that is the problem with CIC , they cyar breed they own.

Lord Fishs,

not even a smiley face??

How yuh go do de Saints men dat  ;)

V
« Last Edit: October 28, 2008, 05:46:26 PM by vb »

Offline MATADOR

« Reply #105 on: October 28, 2008, 07:43:33 AM »
Lets see if anyone here remember the intercol finals ah not sure of the year but it had to have been in and around 83-85..not sure but it was the Signal Hill Sando Tech at the Stadium and meh boy for Tech Marlon Charles before Latas them time..crack a bullet seems like from almost half line and score the whole stadium errupted...but the linesman call someone offside on the play...boy that was drama

Anyone remember that game?

Offline Saltanfresh

• Doi! Doi! Doi!....everytime
« Reply #106 on: October 28, 2008, 01:34:14 PM »
Trinvalvco Arsenal:   Albert "Zico" Lewis...aka... Lucky

Arsenal/Maple/ PFCivic:  Sydney "Naley" Shade

PF Civic: Sean " Laddy" De Souza

Lake Asphalt: "Dummy"

Police: Ronnie Blues

Police: Campbell

Police/East West Coching School: Alvin "Sweetbread" Voisson

Offline kaisocagoals

• Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #107 on: October 28, 2008, 01:52:15 PM »

Pragg went to school with my brother, he was in our house  a couple of times... really pleasant fella, yeah, I would agree... I would have been young, but as a footballer, you know other good players when you see them...

Pragg was a rare and unique one...

RIP

« Reply #108 on: October 28, 2008, 01:59:48 PM »
Police/East West Coching School: Alvin "Sweetbread" Voisson
He get ah small sweat for de national side. Also played for Charleston Battery.

« Reply #109 on: October 28, 2008, 02:56:01 PM »
my list: colin rocke, clauzel, chet (if yuh from de east yuh know what ah talking about), miguel mitchell, kona hislop, leacock (goal keeper for QRC).

Must give a special mention tuh some ballers ah have mad respect for....one of de best Indian ballers i played with was Alvin Beharry. played with him at Joe Public...nice striker...deadly finisher. Also marlon minguel. he captained the u-20 under look loy. bertille mash him up because of the dreadlocks thing and he never see another national team since! colin roberts for me is one of de best right sided midfielders to pass through trinidad. his technique was unquestionable. never seen a player at youth level who could have CONSISTANTLY cross that ball and put it on man head like that. brendon moze....what a touch! kevin moze...what vision!! Kofi boxhill and Adrian Thomas, both goalkeepers...mad talent!!

shaun garcia should have played much more for the senior team as well!!! :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #110 on: October 28, 2008, 03:01:58 PM »
Should we add Brent Sancho to dis list?

Seein dat it look like he have a permanent spot nex to weary in de stands nah... ;D ;D

Offline kaisocagoals

• Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #111 on: October 28, 2008, 04:25:40 PM »
my list: colin rocke, clauzel, chet (if yuh from de east yuh know what ah talking about), miguel mitchell, kona hislop, leacock (goal keeper for QRC).

Must give a special mention tuh some ballers ah have mad respect for....one of de best Indian ballers i played with was Alvin Beharry. played with him at Joe Public...nice striker...deadly finisher. Also marlon minguel. he captained the u-20 under look loy. bertille mash him up because of the dreadlocks thing and he never see another national team since! colin roberts for me is one of de best right sided midfielders to pass through trinidad. his technique was unquestionable. never seen a player at youth level who could have CONSISTANTLY cross that ball and put it on man head like that. brendon moze....what a touch! kevin moze...what vision!! Kofi boxhill and Adrian Thomas, both goalkeepers...mad talent!!

shaun garcia should have played much more for the senior team as well!!! :beermug: :beermug:

hear hear!!! preach brother preach!!!

« Reply #112 on: September 17, 2018, 10:55:15 PM »
As the Rocke interview has been resurrected, I thought I would put the link here.

https://vbhoolai.wixsite.com/hail-caribbeansport/colin-rocke-football

« Reply #113 on: September 28, 2018, 05:41:56 PM »
In  an interview with Flex, this is what Coops had to say about Rocke:

Cooper was also a trainer for a national under 16 team which was packed with talent such as Russell Latapy, Clint Marcelle, Colin Rocke, Ansley Weeks and Ross Russell and played some role in developing these players. He mentioned that he was and still is shocked that Colin Rocke was never called up by Trinidad and Tobago senior team and that the midfielder was a more complete player than Latapy and Marcelle. Coops said “You could have put him anywhere on the field and when it came to dribbling he had the tools as well.” Coops further added that Rocke, Marcelle and Latapy use to terrorize defences and they where the three top midfielders in the country at that time.

http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/node/3899