March 28, 2024, 11:59:58 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (10-Sept-2008).  (Read 85352 times)

Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (10-Sept-2008).
« on: June 23, 2008, 06:50:18 AM »
Greetings.

As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the 2010 FIFA World Cup Qualifying game vs USA (September 10th, 19:00) at Bridgeview, Illinois USA, will be posted here, this way, we can help maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

Possible Live Internet Links.
I95.5fm
7:00pm - live streaming / P2P Networks
Soccernet.

TV Viewing.
8:00pm - ESPN2, Galavision

T&T Squad:

Goalkeepers
Marvin Phillip (W Connection), Jan Michael Williams (Ferencvárosi TC)

Defenders
Makan Hislop (United Petrotrin), Gyasi Joyce (Caledonia AIA), Dennis Lawrence (Swansea City), Cyd Gray (Clico San Juan Jabloteh), Julius James (Toronto F.C.), Keyeno Thomas (Joe Public F.C.), Aklie Edwards (Defence Force), Osei Telesford (Puerto Rico Islanders).

Midfielders
Carlos Edwards (Sunderland AFC), Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars), Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA), Keon Daniel (United Petrotrin), Clyde Leon (W Connection), Kerry Baptiste (Joe Public F.C), Akeil Guevera (North East Stars).

Forwards
Andre Toussaint (W Connection), Jason Scotland (Swansea City), Cornell Glen (Unattached).

United States Squad:

Goalkeepers:
Brad Guzan (Aston Villa: 2/2 SO), Tim Howard (Everton FC: 4/3 SO).

Defenders:
Carlos Bocanegra (Rennes: 14/2), Danny Califf (FC Midtjylland: 2/0), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover 96: 16/0), Frankie Hejduk (Columbus Crew: 12/1), Oguchi Onyewu (Standard de Liege: 9/0), Michael Orozco (San Luis: 0/0), Heath Pearce (Hansa Rostock: 3/0), Marvell Wynne (Toronto FC: 0/0).

Midfielders:
DaMarcus Beasley (Glasgow Rangers: 17/4), Michael Bradley (SC Heerenveen: 3/1), Ricardo Clark (Houston Dynamo: 1/0), Maurice Edu (Glasgow Rangers: 2/0), Sacha Kljestan (Chivas USA: 1/0), Eddie Lewis (Los Angeles Galaxy: 20/3).

Forwards:
Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo: 8/4), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy: 22/8), Clint Dempsey (Fulham FC: 9/2), Eddie Johnson (Cardiff City: 8/8).

*numbers indicate all-time World Cup Qualifying caps/goals.

QUICK HITS

Eighteen players are eligible to dress for both the U.S. and Trinidad & Tobago, and must wear 1-18 for jersey numbers.

Michael Bradley, Clint Dempsey, Frankie Hejduk, Tim Howard and Oguchi Onyewu are each carrying a caution into this match. Any player accumulating two cautions in the semifinal round will be suspended for the next FIFA World Cup qualifier.

T&T defender Avery John is suspended after picking up his second yellow card in the last game against Guatemala. Cornell Glen and Denis Lawrence are carrying cautions into Wednesday’s match.

Steve Cherundolo is eligible to play after serving a one-match suspension for receiving two yellow cards in the USA’s 1-0 win on Aug. 20 against Guatemala.

The U.S. is making its debut appearance at Toyota Park in Bridgeview. The team has 3-3-2 lifetime record in Chicago, including a 2-1 victory against Mexico that earned the United States the 2007 Gold Cup title.

The U.S. has an undefeated record in qualifying against Trinidad & Tobago, holding an 8-0-2 record. The two countries last met during qualifying for the 2006 FIFA World Cup, with the U.S. winning both matches.

The first meeting was the opening match of the final round, and the U.S. got goals from Eddie Johnson and Eddie Lewis pacing the visitors to a 2-1 victory in Port of Spain, Trinidad. In the second match, Brian McBride tallied the lone goal in the second minute for a 1-0 victory in East Hartford, Conn.

DaMarcus Beasley made his first-ever appearance in a World Cup qualifier in the USA’s last match of the 2002 qualifying tournament against Trinidad. Beasley only survived 45 minutes of the 0-0 draw on Nov. 11, 2001, at Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain, as a he received a concussion at the midway point of the first half and had to be replaced after the break.

Five players on the roster appeared in the USA’s last meeting against T&T, a 2-1 win on July 9, 2007, in group play of the 2007 Gold Cup: Bradley, Brian Ching (1), Ricardo Clark, Landon Donovan, Johnson (1) [starters in bold].

The U.S. boasts a 10-2-6 all-time record against Caribbean nations during World Cup qualifying, with a 29-1-5 overall record at home against teams from the Caribbean.

Howard, whose crucial save in the 88th minute preserved the USA’s win in Cuba, now boasts an impressive four clean sheets in five all-time FIFA World Cup qualifying appearances.

The U.S. has posted a 6-2-2 record in 2008, which includes four straight victories in FIFA World Cup qualifying, a road win against Poland and a 0-0 draw against No. 1-ranked Argentina. Overall, the U.S. has scored 18 goals while surrendering only five.

With his game-winning goal against Guatemala on Aug. 20, Carlos Bocanegra recorded his 10th career international goal for the United States and his second in FIFA World Cup qualifying.

Bocanegra is second on the USA’s all-time scoring list for defenders, now chasing the mark set by Marcelo Balboa (13).

Bradley leads the U.S. in 2008 in minutes played (737), having started nine games of the ten games this season (also a team high). Four players have appeared in eight games this season: Dempsey, Lewis, Onyewu and Heath Pearce.

Donovan leads the team in FIFA World Cup qualifying caps (23), and is tied with Eddie Johnson for most goals in qualifying [8]. Johnson has produced a remarkable strike rate, with eight goals in eight qualifying appearances. Johnson became the first player in U.S. history to score three goals as a substitute when he recorded a hat trick in the 6-0 semifinal round qualifying victory against Panama on Oct. 13, 2004, at RFK Stadium.

Johnson and Donovan are tied for third on the USA’s all-time goalscoring list in FIFA World Cup qualifying. Brian McBride is the USA’s all-time leading goalscorer in FIFA World Cup Qualifying with 10 goals scored over three FIFA World Cup cycles (1998, 2002, 2006).
\
Michael Orozco is the only uncapped player on the roster. The other 19 players have at least one cap to their credit. Orozco and defender Marvell Wynne are the only players on the roster who have not appeared in a FIFA World Cup qualifying game.

Leagues from eight different countries are represented on the U.S. roster: Belgium, Denmark, England (4), France, Germany (3), Mexico, Scotland (2) and the United States (7).

The U.S. collected a 12-2-4 record in the 2006 FIFA World Cup qualifying campaign, outscoring their opponents 35-11 while collecting 11 shutouts. The U.S. finished undefeated at home during the qualifying campaign, going 8-0-1, with all eight victories coming by shutout.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2008, 07:53:11 AM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (10-Sept-2008).
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2008, 11:21:12 PM »
Flex dey comin fast and furious I cyah keep up

Re: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (10-Sept-2008).
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2008, 08:30:46 AM »
USA needs to stay sharp outside of CONCACAF.
By: Jamie Trecker

The United States, on the other hand, really ought to have no trouble finishing at least second in a group that contains Cuba, Guatemala and Trinidad & Tobago. It's also hard to see major problems for Costa Rica in a section that also has El Salvador, Haiti and Suriname.

Indeed, thanks to countries like Cuba, Haiti and Suriname making it into the semifinals, the hexagonal final looks likely to contain at least one long shot, making it even more straightforward for the regional powers to eventually arrive in South Africa.

So why is this a problem? Because if the USA wants to do more than just show up in Johannesburg, it has to improve dramatically in the next 18 months. The only way to do that is to keep playing big games against big opponents. You can certainly criticize the way the Americans played against England and Spain, but you cannot criticize the decision to play these teams — indeed, the USA has to keep doing this.

We've learned a great deal about the USA from their recent five-game program:

The first thing is that some may start to believe Bradley is the man to guide the Americans in South Africa. He's a competent coach and a nice guy, but fresh blood might ultimately be required if the Americans are to reach their potential. That may be hard on Bradley, who took over when duty called, but the trend in world soccer is to import new ideas via foreign coaches and it may be necessary for the USA to try some of that before the next finals.

When players look bereft of ideas and confidence, this may be as much a failure of coaching as anything else. Bluntly, this team does not seem to have the tactical knowledge at hand to compete with true top-level opposition. It needs to get some, and getting some outside ideas would be a good place to start.

Were I U.S. Soccer, I'd be on the phone to Guus Hiddink's agent and pay him whatever he wishes. Yes, Hiddink is supposedly going to stay with Russia ... but this guy is canny. He has a very good Russian side, but if he gets to the final, can he really exceed that in the World Cup? A good coach knows when to leave on a high note.

I'd also take a hard look at Bruno Metsu, who has proven very gifted at getting bad teams out of jams. Look at the UAE if you doubt this — they don't call him the 'white witchdoctor' for nothing.

The question of whether a different coach could get more out of the American talent pool aside, what have we seen over these last five matches?

The USA is much better defensively when Pablo Mastroeni is in the lineup. This means that the USA had better start grooming a back-up sweeper. And, speaking of defense, the USA has yet to solve their overall problems. They found one solid player over this five-game span in left-back Heath Pearce, but they are going to have to get some cover — and outright replacements — at the three other slots.

Love him or hate him, the Americans are a radically different team without Landon Donovan in the lineup. If the USA doesn't have Donovan, they lose almost all creativity up top and their options are radically constrained as they were against England and Spain and even again yesterday in that snoozer in the Caribbean.

The lone scoring forward the USA has, Clint Dempsey, looked very jaded in the games he played. A rough year at Fulham seems to have taken a great deal out of him. The others simply are not ready: Eddie Johnson only scores goals when the Americans have a commanding lead, and neither Brian Ching nor Sacha Kljestan seems capable of filling the bill. What's needed? A competent target man who can play at speed. Brian McBride says he might return — will Bradley call him?

Right now, the USA only has one goalkeeper. Tim Howard is good, but Brad Guzan hasn't impressed and Dominic Cervi looked awful in Toulon. Matt Reis should be an option. Brad Friedel should also get a call: make him turn you down.

Midfield remains unsettled. This is the least of the USA's worries, as it happens. The four kids — Michael Bradley, Freddy Adu, Ricardo Clark and Maurice Edu — need some real seasoning, and they will have time to get it. Of the bunch, Adu showed the most, but only in spurts. Bradley's performance is more nuanced; it has to be very difficult for the son of the head coach to take what is the main leadership role in midfield on the national team. That said, he has not imposed himself on the game at any time over the past two months and will need to if the USA is going to succeed.

One final thing to keep in mind: The Americans open on the road, with games in Guatemala and then in Havana, Cuba. Neither opponent is particularly strong — the Guatemalans haven't beat the USA since 1988, after all — but Bradley has yet to go through this kind of pressure on the road where strange things can happen.

The visit to Havana will have a circus quality about it because of the political/historical overtones. It will not be easy to keep things level and focused down there so that makes game one so much more important. Back when Bruce Arena took over, his first trip through qualifying included the Guatemalans hosting the USA in steamy Mazatenango. They eked out a 1-1 draw. When game two resulted in a controversial loss in Costa Rica — remember that penalty assessed against Gregg Berhalter by Jamaican referee Peter Prendergast? — the Americans were playing from behind and almost didn't escape.

That shouldn't happen this time because Bradley has a much more experienced cast of characters to draw upon. But winning games in CONCACAF isn't what it is ultimately all about.

Therein lie both the challenges — and the questions — which continue to surround this team.

USA v T&T tickets, 3day sale tomorrow
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2008, 06:04:44 PM »
just received by e-mail:

EXCLUSIVE THREE-DAY SALE BEGINS TOMORROW (TUESDAY, JULY 22)
AT 10 A.M. CT
TICKETS FOR USA vs. TRINIDAD & TOBAGO WORLD CUP QUALIFIER
at TOYOTA PARK in BRIDGEVIEW, IL, ON SEPT. 10

As a special benefit to our fans, U.S. Soccer has arranged for you to order tickets ahead of the general public for the U.S. Men's National Team's home-opening semifinal round qualifier for the 2010 FIFA World Cup when they battle Trinidad & Tobago at Toyota Park in Bridgeview, IL (near Chicago) on Wednesday, September 10, at 7 p.m.

Your three-day private sale starts tomorrow (Tuesday, July 22) at 10 a.m. CT and ends Thursday, July 24 at 11:59 p.m. (tickets then become available to Visa® cardholders only on July 25 at 8 a.m., followed by the general public sale on July 28).

The U.S. has never played a FIFA World Cup qualifier in Chicagoland, but has a tremendous history in the Windy City against previous opponents like Portugal, Germany and Brazil and with average crowds of over 40,000 fans. The U.S. holds a 4-2-2 lifetime record at Soldier Field, highlighted by the 2-1 victory against Mexico in the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup final last summer that earned the USA their fourth regional championship and a place in the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup in South Africa. The U.S. Men will be making their first-ever appearance in Bridgeview, the home of the Chicago Fire.

Prices are $25 Endlines; $35 Corners; $45 Sidelines; $58 Midfield; $75 VIP Midfield; $90 VIP Midfield Bench Side; and $150 Front Row Seats. All prices do not include convenience and handling charges (which are added through Ticketmaster). This private sale is only available online by purchasing at: http://www.ticketmaster.com/event/040040F3A6A42B13

To submit your order, include one of the following passwords (depending on which group of fans you wish to sit with) in the space designated on the Ticketmaster.com order page:

Designated Seating Area* : Password**
General Fan Sections: E6FIRST
Trinidad & Tobago Fan Sections: T2FIRST

* U.S. Soccer makes no guarantees regarding the composition of fans in any seating area. Purchasers using the passwords designated for these sections will be able to request tickets for any price level. Tickets available while supplies last.
** Password must be entered in UPPER CASE.

U.S. Soccer welcomes you to pay with your Visa® card, the preferred card of U.S. Soccer.

Visit the Schedule & Tickets section of ussoccer.com for more details.

Ultimate Fan Ticket:  U.S. Soccer is also offering the Ultimate Fan Ticket for this event. This special VIP package includes a premium ticket, a custom made official U.S. National Team jersey with your name and number, VIP access to the field before and after the game, and other unique benefits. Only 20 of these packages will be made available. For details or to order, please call (312) 528-1268.

Away Tickets for USA at Guatemala World Cup Qualifier:  The USA opens its semifinal round of FIFA World Cup Qualifying in Guatemala City on August 20 when the Americans face Guatemala. Tickets for U.S. Supporters will become available this Tuesday. To order, please visit ussoccer.com and download the form found there and submit it with payment by Wednesday, July 30.

Thank you for supporting U.S. Soccer!

Re: USA v T&T tickets, 3day sale tomorrow
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2008, 06:22:59 PM »
Thanks for posting E-Man.  I guess I'll be waking up early tomorrow (by the way, this will be 11:00 AM for those of you in Trinidad as it is 10 central time).  I guess I'll be on the Endline (I've sat there for Blackhawks games (ice hockey and a different stadium) and they really aren't too bad there, so this should be fine too)
« Last Edit: July 21, 2008, 06:53:36 PM by theworm2345 »

« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2008, 07:44:09 PM »
OK all who goin Chicago doh stick

« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2008, 08:25:21 PM »

Tallman, firebrand
We doing anything for tix or should we buy these?

« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2008, 08:44:33 PM »

Tallman, firebrand

Echo...

« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2008, 09:09:06 PM »

Tallman, firebrand

Echo...

x2

« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2008, 09:43:40 PM »
Me and meh boy going. Where will the T&T support be sitting?

« Reply #10 on: July 21, 2008, 09:53:39 PM »
So where is the game in Trinidad and when do ticket go on sale? Seeing that is we 100 hunderd year anniversary.

« Reply #11 on: July 21, 2008, 10:49:47 PM »
Me and meh boy going. Where will the T&T support be sitting?
I don't know exactly but apparently if you put in one of the codes in the above posts you can be placed there.

« Reply #12 on: July 21, 2008, 10:54:33 PM »
does anyone know the password for tomorrow?

« Reply #13 on: July 21, 2008, 11:35:34 PM »
Is it not in E-Man's post?

« Reply #14 on: July 21, 2008, 11:47:54 PM »
wait a minute
nah yuh right
i think that is the password  ;)
like eman a Us supporter awa?  :devil:
i didnt read it carefully first, thought he was just posting a general news release,
looks like this is infact the real email sent to US supporters......wha going on with that E?  :-X
« Last Edit: July 21, 2008, 11:57:09 PM by ricky »

« Reply #16 on: July 22, 2008, 08:59:19 AM »
wait a minute
nah yuh right
i didnt read it carefully first, thought he was just posting a general news release,
looks like this is infact the real email sent to US supporters......wha going on with that E?  :-X

The only reason I signed up with them was cause I was scrunting for WC tickets in 06. I signed up on Sweden's site too

« Reply #17 on: July 22, 2008, 09:02:12 AM »
wait a minute
nah yuh right

The only reason I signed up with them was cause I was scrunting for WC tickets in 06. I signed up on Sweden's site too

cool was jus harassin yuh
thanks for the password
i buying today

« Reply #18 on: July 22, 2008, 09:05:48 AM »
alright i buying a single in 115
ah buyin a cheap ticket cause i not sure if i can make it yet but i want a tick just incase
anyone else?

« Reply #19 on: July 22, 2008, 09:07:07 AM »
Alright, I'm section 115, Row 21...I'll be the tall white guy
By the way I can't believe that a $25 ticket goes up to $40 with all of the extra ticketmaster crap

« Reply #20 on: July 22, 2008, 09:11:46 AM »
Alright, I'm section 115, Row 21...I'll be the tall white guy
By the way I can't believe that a $25 ticket goes up to $40 with all of the extra ticketmaster crap

im in 115 row 21 as well  :beermug:
ticketbastard is the biggest ripoff in the world...i just wish i owned it

« Reply #21 on: July 22, 2008, 09:26:38 AM »

Tallman, firebrand

Echo...

x2

si.....

Well we waiting on a response from the USSF, but we suspect it wouldn't be forthcoming until dey ready to do de public sale (July 28), and den dey might tell we to deal wit Toyota Park or Ticketmaster directly. So until we have concrete details, those who want to take advantage of dis early sale, should go ahead. Just like in de Hasely, we should try to sit in sections 109/110, but since people would have different spending budgets, we should at least keep to sections 110-115.

« Reply #22 on: July 22, 2008, 11:17:05 AM »
I cah deal with dat behind the goal thing in 115... ah going down to ticketmaster in ah few and see if ah could score 4 for 109/110.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2008, 11:26:29 AM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #23 on: July 22, 2008, 11:27:53 AM »

Well we waiting on a response from the USSF, but we suspect it wouldn't be forthcoming until dey ready to do de public sale (July 28), and den dey might tell we to deal wit Toyota Park or Ticketmaster directly. So until we have concrete details, those who want to take advantage of dis early sale, should go ahead. Just like in de Hasely, we should try to sit in sections 109/110, but since people would have different spending budgets, we should at least keep to sections 110-115.

Tallman correct me if i wrong..

Doesn't the TTFF get an allocation of tickets for the game which they can in turn offer a batch to their official Supporters Club, Warrior Nation, like its done by most countries?

Why de WN have to scrape up with the USSF to get tickets?

sometimes i does wonder yes..

« Reply #24 on: July 22, 2008, 12:10:31 PM »

Doesn't the TTFF get an allocation of tickets for the game which they can in turn offer a batch to their official Supporters Club, Warrior Nation, like its done by most countries?

if not thru TTFF den some kinna networking need to be put in place where Warrior Nation could possibly get their own allocation.........we should b ready to go by now man.....

« Reply #25 on: July 22, 2008, 12:44:37 PM »

if not thru TTFF den some kinna networking need to be put in place where Warrior Nation could possibly get their own allocation.........we should b ready to go by now man.....

Both of allyuh absolutely right, but like allyuh forget who we dealing wit or wha  ;D? Ah go leave it at dat.

« Reply #26 on: July 22, 2008, 04:30:23 PM »
All yuh what dey say bout a bird in d hand organize and buy all yuh ticket

« Reply #27 on: July 22, 2008, 06:49:12 PM »
I trying to purchase about 50 tickets but I eh getting no way.. someone help mi nuh..
War

« Reply #28 on: July 22, 2008, 06:56:44 PM »
I trying to purchase about 50 tickets but I eh getting no way.. someone help mi nuh..
War

like u is 1 ah dem Scalper I does see carnival time...........call dem if is anyting

« Reply #29 on: July 23, 2008, 12:20:46 AM »
War

Mate, I've a friend who's trying to do the same thing, you may be up against him  ;)