March 29, 2024, 01:11:30 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (10-Sept-2008).  (Read 85353 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (10-Sept-2008).
« Reply #120 on: September 09, 2008, 10:20:55 AM »

What i find funny in this whole club vs. country row for leagues like england where they asking players to have played in 75%(or something like that) of their countries games to be considered for a work permit....

The respective leagues are run by the Country's Football Federations.  Although their interest is having the best league in the world for revenue generation, they are also interested in developing their respective talent pools.  The clubs are the ones that desire the foreign players to improve their chances of success.  It is a business. 

The number of non-English players playing in the EPL only went up as a result of the European Union.  Otherwise the rules are pretty much the same.  English football has been dealt a serious blow by the infusion of European players.  Just check the percentage of Brits starting in the top 6 teams.  Further more if we were to list an EPL All Star team we might be hard pressed to get 4 Brits on the team.

Blessing

Offline ON DE BLOCK

« Reply #121 on: September 09, 2008, 10:31:40 AM »
Scallywags
11 St Clair Ave West
Toronto, ON M4V 1K6
416-922-3737

showing the game also in toronto

« Reply #122 on: September 09, 2008, 10:52:50 AM »
beat USA,beat USA.

« Reply #123 on: September 09, 2008, 11:28:30 AM »
that show used to be good...Fox Football Phone in that is....

they talking REAL mess...and i not only saying that because they took a swipe at TT

they talking how they should do away with all the WCQ and the top 24 teams should be automatically invited to the WC.
and the teams like San marino, Andorra etc. should go thru a pre-qualification stage so that teams like portugal, italy,germany etc. dont have to waste time to play them and thus have tired players going back to their respective clubs.
And it was along those lines they were saying that clubs may stop players on a whole from going. But Nick stop that talk and said FIFA aint gonna let that happen obviously.

What i find funny in this whole club vs. country row for leagues like england where they asking players to have played in 75%(or something like that) of their countries games to be considered for a work permit....

how the hell they gonna get those caps if they wanna be bumping about letting them go.
These idiots. They have real players in their squad. They just depending on 2 or 3 men too much. That is y ya seeing more injuries than ever now

I doh pay no attention to  them.  If yuh eh from Europe yuh eh no football or so they think.  Everying is about Europe.  What kinda stupidness is that poll last night??  For countries like T&T, WC qualifiers mean the world to us.  That is why ah hope England eh make another fricken WC...

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #124 on: September 09, 2008, 12:09:49 PM »
Quick question,

Didn't have time to read the all the pages on thread but is there any pub in London (Central/West) or in Middlesex region?  Thanks

Then again...I now saw that the game starts @ 8pm in Chi-Town (2am in London)...guess i'll watch the other WC game...ps..nice work on the website.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2008, 12:19:39 PM by ckhan »
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

Offline 2cents

• FPL Vibes
« Reply #125 on: September 09, 2008, 12:17:50 PM »
Ah in trini till Sunday...in ah cafe to use d net so somebody text mih or somethin lemme know wey d lime is to watch d game....756-2591...bless
It's only kinky the 1st time

Offline rags

« Reply #126 on: September 09, 2008, 12:25:35 PM »
Any local stations bringing d game?

« Reply #127 on: September 09, 2008, 12:35:30 PM »
Any local stations bringing d game?

In another thread it was reported that CNMG brining it....ah eh hear nutten else since....

Re: Who we go have after the US game???
« Reply #128 on: September 09, 2008, 01:08:27 PM »
Aurtis Whitley, if he’s healthy.

What really happen to Whitley??....what exactly is de injury and how long it going to take to heal??... ??? :-\

« Reply #129 on: September 09, 2008, 01:26:57 PM »
i was curious as to the last time we beat the yanks. it was in 1991.

me eh expect a result tomorrow night. i hope a wrong though.

the results always tight though. maybe something phenomenal will happen.

Date   Venue   Results   Competition
 Trinidad and Tobago   1:2   USA
21/03/1982   Port Of Spain    Friendly
 Trinidad and Tobago   1:2 (1:1)   USA
15/05/1985   St. Louis    FIFA World Cup™ Qualifier
 USA   1:0 (1:0)   Trinidad and Tobago
19/05/1985   Torrance    FIFA World Cup™ Qualifier
 USA   1:1 (0:0)   Trinidad and Tobago
13/05/1989   Torrance    FIFA World Cup™ Qualifier
 Trinidad and Tobago   0:1 (0:1)   USA
19/11/1989   Port Of Spain    FIFA World Cup™ Qualifier
 USA   3:1 (0:0)   Trinidad and Tobago
15/09/1990   Charlotte    Friendly
 Trinidad and Tobago   0:0   USA
18/11/1990   Port Of Spain    Friendly
 USA   2:1 (0:0)   Trinidad and Tobago
29/06/1991   Pasadena    Continental Final
 Trinidad and Tobago   1:0 (1:0)   USA
19/11/1994   Port Of Spain    Friendly
 USA   3:2 (2:2)   Trinidad and Tobago
13/01/1996   Anaheim    Continental Final
 USA   2:0 (0:0)   Trinidad and Tobago
10/11/1996   Richmond    FIFA World Cup™ Qualifier
 Trinidad and Tobago   0:1 (0:1)   USA
24/11/1996   Port Of Spain    FIFA World Cup™ Qualifier
 USA   2:0 (2:0)   Trinidad and Tobago
20/06/2001   Foxboro    FIFA World Cup™ Qualifier
 Trinidad and Tobago   0:0   USA
11/11/2001   Port Of Spain    FIFA World Cup™ Qualifier
 Trinidad and Tobago   1:2 (0:1)   USA
09/02/2005   Port Of Spain    FIFA World Cup™ Qualifier
 USA   1:0 (1:0)   Trinidad and Tobago
17/08/2005   East Hartford    FIFA World Cup™ Qualifier
 Trinidad and Tobago   0:2 (0:1)   USA
09/06/2007   Carson/Los Angeles    Continental Final
 USA      Trinidad and Tobago
10/09/2008   Bridgeview    FIFA World Cup™ Qualifier
 Trinidad and Tobago      USA
15/10/2008   TBA    FIFA World Cup™ Qualifi
« Last Edit: September 09, 2008, 01:28:55 PM by Andre »

Offline Sample

« Reply #130 on: September 09, 2008, 01:34:29 PM »
Fus' time poster.   If anybody coming Chicago for de game, we limin' in de parking lot from around 4:00 p.m. We will be just inside the North gare entrance.  Jus' listen for de iron, take ah drink and leh we vibes it up!

« Reply #131 on: September 09, 2008, 01:41:13 PM »
i was curious as to the last time we beat the yanks. it was in 1991.
It was actually in 1994. Yuh get tie up wit de list.

Matches vs United States

« Reply #132 on: September 09, 2008, 02:51:01 PM »
The first page shows it starting at 7... ESPN saying it is 8pm.. I hope it ain't no delay thing and the first page is ah mistake

Offline sinned

« Reply #133 on: September 09, 2008, 02:53:49 PM »
The first page shows it starting at 7... ESPN saying it is 8pm.. I hope it ain't no delay thing and the first page is ah mistake

Game is at 7pm Central Time which is 8pm Eastern Time. ESPN lists the game at 8pm Eastern Time which is correct

« Reply #134 on: September 09, 2008, 03:24:29 PM »
Fus' time poster.   If anybody coming Chicago for de game, we limin' in de parking lot from around 4:00 p.m. We will be just inside the North gare entrance.  Jus' listen for de iron, take ah drink and leh we vibes it up!
dais wat ah like tuh hear.......good Trinbago hospitality......organize ah doubles man fuh we too eh

« Reply #135 on: September 09, 2008, 03:25:56 PM »
Weather for Wednesday.

68° F | 56° F

20° C | 13° C

« Reply #136 on: September 09, 2008, 03:50:52 PM »
Weather for Wednesday.

68° F | 56° F

20° C | 13° C
rum go keep we warm.........

« Reply #137 on: September 09, 2008, 04:38:26 PM »
If I may .. this one is dedicated to my warriors  .. Maximus dan new thing...
http://www.zshare.net/audio/18488939575e2e12/    "Di Hardest "
for your listening pleasure only  :beermug:  only War can drop dem thing dey trus mi!!!  we ready till di whistle Blow!!!!!!!!!!!!
go warriors..

« Reply #138 on: September 09, 2008, 04:59:09 PM »
Americans can near verge of advancement with win over T&T
By Robert Wagman (SoccerTimes)

BRIDGEVIEW, Ill. (Tuesday, September 9, 2008) -- After capturing the maximum six points from their first two CONCACAF Group 1 semifinal-round qualifying matches, the United States men could move to the doorstep of advancing to the final six-nation, round-robin by defeating Trinidad & Tobago tomorrow night at Toyota Park

The 8 p.m. (ET) match will be televised by ESPN2 and Galavision.

After opening in Guatemala with a 1-0 victory and downing Cuba 1-0 Saturday night in Havana, the Americans face their first semifinal qualifier on home soil against T&T. With two of six games completed, the U.S. is 2-0 with six points, followed by the Trinidadians, who are 1-0-1 with four points after Saturday's 1-1 home draw with Guatemala.

Guatemala is 0-1-1 with one point while Cuba is 0-2 with no points.

U.S. coach Bob Bradley will likely start a similar lineup to the one that faced Cuba. One change he will probably make is to replace Frankie Hejduk at right back with usual starter Steve Cherundolo, who was suspended for the Cuba match after receiving a red card against Guatemala.

The lineup will probably have Tim Howard, in goal, fronted by Heath Pearce, Carlos Bocanegra., Oguchi Onyewu and Cherundolo from left to right on defense. DaMarcus Beasley, Michael Bradley, Maurice Edu and Clint Dempsey are expected to form the midfield with Landon Donovan on top. The second forward could be either Brian Ching, who started against Cuba, or Eddie Johnson, who remained on the bench.

Bradley, Dempsey, Hejduk, Howard and Onyewu each have a yellow card and a caution against T&T would mean they would miss the October 11 meeting with Cuba at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C.

The Soca Warriors, as T&T is known, have emerged as the second best team in the group after opening with a 3-1 road win in Cuba. Against Guatemala, they surrendered the tying goal in stoppage time.

Head coach Francisco Maturana made some radical changes from the team that did not qualify for the last World Cup. He brought back some veterans who were excluded by the previous regime, such as 36-year-old Dwight Yorke and Major League Soccer veteran Cornell Glen, while giving the cold shoulder to veterans such as Stern John, the striker from Southampton in England. Maturana also turned to newcomers, such as Keon Daniel, who has scored three goals in the team's last two qualifying matches.

Yorke will not face the Americans. After playing against Guatemala, his club, Sunderland of England recalled him, saying he was injured in that game.

Maturana's lineup for tomorrow is not clear. In addition to Yorke, he will be without Sunderland forward Kenwyne Jones, recovering from knee surgery, and midfielder Chris Birchall of England's Coventry City, who was dropped from the squad after suffering food poisoning in Cuba. Defender Avery John, who plays for Miami FC of the U.S. second division, is suspended after picking up his second yellow card of this round against Guatemala.

For the U.S., this match should be more wide-open than the struggles in Guatemala and Cuba. The Soca Warriors have speed all over the field and will be a good test for the Americans. One goal might not be enough for Bradley's troops this time around..
The U.S. roster for Wednseday's qualifier against Trinidad & Tobago in the Chicago suburbs.

Goalkeepers (2): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa, England), Tim Howard (Everton FC, England).

Defenders - 8: Carlos Bocanegra (Rennes, France), Danny Califf (FC Midtjylland, Denmark), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover 96, Germany), Frankie Hejduk (Columbus Crew, Major League Soccer), Oguchi Onyewu (Standard de Liège, Belgium), Michael Orozco (San Luis, Mexico), Heath Pearce (Hansa Rostock, Germany), Marvell Wynne (Toronto FC, MLS).

Midfielders: DaMarcus Beasley (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland), Michael Bradley (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Ricardo Clark (Houston Dynamo, MLS), Maurice Edu (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland), Sacha Kljestan (Chivas USA, MLS), Eddie Lewis (Los Angeles Galaxy, MLS).

Forwards (4): Brian Ching (Houston, MLS), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles, MLS), Clint Dempsey (Fulham FC, England), Eddie Johnson (Cardiff City, England).

« Reply #139 on: September 09, 2008, 05:05:32 PM »
for your listening pleasure only  :beermug:  only War can drop dem thing dey trus mi!!!  we ready till di whistle Blow!!!!!!!!!!!!
go warriors..

Nuff props War...bless up all the time  :beermug:

Offline trinimuse

« Reply #140 on: September 09, 2008, 05:10:23 PM »
"Head coach Francisco Maturana made some radical changes from the team that did not qualify for the last World Cup. He brought back some veterans who were excluded by the previous regime, such as 36-year-old Dwight Yorke and Major League Soccer veteran Cornell Glen, while giving the cold shoulder to veterans such as Stern John, the striker from Southampton in England.

somebody send a internet bullpistle fuh dat man nah ... ah sure he go get he facts straight after dat.  :devil:  steups
« Last Edit: September 09, 2008, 05:12:08 PM by trinimuse »

« Reply #141 on: September 09, 2008, 05:25:49 PM »
go warriors..

:wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

play till d whistle blow they should of hear that Saturday  :devil:

« Reply #142 on: September 09, 2008, 05:32:43 PM »
go warriors..

14 downloads in 10 minute and 2 big ups I could deal  wid dat man.. Brand new ting by maximus for di warrios..
War

« Reply #143 on: September 09, 2008, 05:38:49 PM »
go warriors..

14 downloads in 10 minute and 2 big ups I could deal  wid dat man.. Brand new ting by maximus for di warrios..
War

if yuh want yuh could make a new thread and showcase the song. it deserve a separate thread for the big ups  :beermug:

« Reply #144 on: September 09, 2008, 05:39:54 PM »
go warriors..

Thanks War
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #145 on: September 09, 2008, 05:42:35 PM »
go warriors..

War

if yuh want yuh could make a new thread and showcase the song. it deserve a separate thread for the big ups  :beermug:
Tallman and flex start di thing fi mi before it gets carried away and mess up the thread please..

« Reply #146 on: September 09, 2008, 05:57:13 PM »
go warriors..

it bad. hardest even get big-up. the hardest play hard

« Reply #147 on: September 09, 2008, 06:07:18 PM »
go warriors..

it bad. hardest even get big-up. the hardest play hard

:rotfl: :rotfl:  :devil:

« Reply #148 on: September 09, 2008, 06:13:32 PM »
Guatemala game replay showing tuesday 8pm on CTV and USA game on Wednesday night for the locals.  Here is there website link. flex you could at it to the front page.
http://gnxnetwork.com/trythis/new.php

91.1 have the Jabloteh Defence Force game, but the CTV link not allowing you to click it at the moment.

edit : forbes just score. Jab 2 DF 1

By the way Azurri, i realise you little stay away from the forum have you asking all kinda questions. Sancho playing for the Silverbacks about 2 months now. They have a shite defense, but they were like that before he signed, so I have no idea what kind of performances he putting down.

« Reply #149 on: September 09, 2008, 07:23:24 PM »
Guatemala game replay showing tuesday 8pm on CTV and USA game on Wednesday night for the locals.  Here is there website link. flex you could at it to the front page.
http://gnxnetwork.com/trythis/new.php

91.1 have the Jabloteh Defence Force game, but the CTV link not allowing you to click it at the moment.

edit : forbes just score. Jab 2 DF 1

By the way Azurri, i realise you little stay away from the forum have you asking all kinda questions. Sancho playing for the Silverbacks about 2 months now. They have a shite defense, but they were like that before he signed, so I have no idea what kind of performances he putting down.

use
http://gnxnetwork.com/trythis/play.asx