March 28, 2024, 12:11:55 PM

Author Topic: Leonson Lewis Thread  (Read 20308 times)

Re: Leonson Lewis. Was he really that good?
« Reply #60 on: September 21, 2008, 07:32:10 PM »
Leonson was good but no way he in the region of Yorke. Man United and Chelsea was interested in me one time too, but my agent get greedy and I suck salt  ;D  . How come Aston Villa made sure they got Yorke and they really came to look at someone else? I does wonder about men on this forum sometimes, a man post a video of LL scoring aginst Barbados yes and using that as argument.

he score against Crystal Palace and we use that to compare him to Yorke who buss up the net against all them big clubs in Europe. The agent mess up one transfer, two transfers, you will retain him to mess up the third one? I am a big fane of leonson Lewis, but we getting carried away. 

cuz the coach liked Yorke better from what he saw. noone denying Yorke is a seeerious BORSE. that doh mean Yorke was a different level. Yorke was more of what Ron Atkinson was looking for. Aston Villa didn't take Latas..what does that mean? Plus Yorke was a teenager. Bringing in a coachable youth will always be a more attractive proposition, all other things being equal. And doh be a clown. With everything being said, you take away that people using goals against C Palace to compare him to Yorke..big steeups. That is just one highlight in a great career.

In any case..people hadda realize that Yorke, Latas, Leo and Marcelle were trailblazers. No Trinis before excelled like them in any of Europe's top leagues. Things real different now where every man jack getting a trial with ah EPL club. the networking with clubs in Europe infinitely better now. Latas, Leo and Marcelle in particular did it the reaaaal hard way. Big up them three. Not that it was a walk in the park for Yorke. BUt with Yorke, they signed potential. Much harder to get signed when you are already considered the finished article. And in them days..teams taking 3 foreign players..fullstop. None of this 3 non-Euro players. So breds...some of allyuh jess doh get it. Latas, Leo and Marcelle in the Portuguese 1st division is near miraculous.

respeck :beermug:

Filho, not to throw the thread off, but didn't they come to see some guy from Tobago name Collin or Colvin or something like that? I think I read this on this board sometime ago.

« Reply #61 on: September 21, 2008, 09:03:12 PM »
Leonson was good but no way he in the region of Yorke. Man United and Chelsea was interested in me one time too, but my agent get greedy and I suck salt  ;D  . How come Aston Villa made sure they got Yorke and they really came to look at someone else? I does wonder about men on this forum sometimes, a man post a video of LL scoring aginst Barbados yes and using that as argument.

he score against Crystal Palace and we use that to compare him to Yorke who buss up the net against all them big clubs in Europe. The agent mess up one transfer, two transfers, you will retain him to mess up the third one? I am a big fane of leonson Lewis, but we getting carried away. 

cuz the coach liked Yorke better from what he saw. noone denying Yorke is a seeerious BORSE. that doh mean Yorke was a different level. Yorke was more of what Ron Atkinson was looking for. Aston Villa didn't take Latas..what does that mean? Plus Yorke was a teenager. Bringing in a coachable youth will always be a more attractive proposition, all other things being equal. And doh be a clown. With everything being said, you take away that people using goals against C Palace to compare him to Yorke..big steeups. That is just one highlight in a great career.

In any case..people hadda realize that Yorke, Latas, Leo and Marcelle were trailblazers. No Trinis before excelled like them in any of Europe's top leagues. Things real different now where every man jack getting a trial with ah EPL club. the networking with clubs in Europe infinitely better now. Latas, Leo and Marcelle in particular did it the reaaaal hard way. Big up them three. Not that it was a walk in the park for Yorke. BUt with Yorke, they signed potential. Much harder to get signed when you are already considered the finished article. And in them days..teams taking 3 foreign players..fullstop. None of this 3 non-Euro players. So breds...some of allyuh jess doh get it. Latas, Leo and Marcelle in the Portuguese 1st division is near miraculous.

respeck :beermug:

Filho, not to throw the thread off, but didn't they come to see some guy from Tobago name Collin or Colvin or something like that? I think I read this on this board sometime ago.

not sure if they came to see Colvin Hutchinson, but they took him with Yorke for trials, but pretty much knew they didn't want him. He was brought so Yorke would know someone and be more relaxed at trials.

i wasn't insinuating that they came to look at Latas'..the question was asked why Yorke and not Leo if Leo was soo good. So I just said..why Yorke and not Latas..since the general view is that Latas is as talented if not moreso than Yorke
« Last Edit: September 21, 2008, 09:32:53 PM by palos »

« Reply #62 on: September 21, 2008, 10:17:09 PM »
they took both yorke and colvin hutchinson to england...but even though both did well in trials..they gave yorke a contract because they felt he was young and could be molded into a top class player...as for colvin...they felt he was too old and they already had enough players his age around so it was a hard luck scene for he...

« Reply #63 on: September 22, 2008, 12:04:00 AM »
they took both yorke and colvin hutchinson to england...but even though both did well in trials..they gave yorke a contract because they felt he was young and could be molded into a top class player...as for colvin...they felt he was too old and they already had enough players his age around so it was a hard luck scene for he...

See Yorke in intercol final against SanJuan knew he was destined for greatness.
Leonson Lewis was great on the wing for us but if you ever saw Steve David most people here might change their minds.

« Reply #64 on: September 22, 2008, 11:36:51 AM »
He leonson was really good he would have cross in a ball on Nov the 19th instead of constantly running straight outside with the ball.

He had some good talent

speed with and without the ball

good goals for a midfielder but he lacked technical skill to deliver a good cross.

With some beeter youth coaching he would have been a complete player.

The physiscal aspect is there but the technical execution was lacking as in the example above.

« Reply #65 on: September 22, 2008, 11:43:44 AM »
natural born goalkeeper turned winger turned striker

Skills, athleticism, ball-at-your-feet skills, screening, fitness, power, speed, break away like Cornell Glen, single-mindedness, patriotism, goal scoring. Leonson had it all. A true winger who sored like a striker and tracking back fuh de full 90 minutes like real beas' eh.

If Leonson could go back in time and bring himself with his skills to today's market when T&T actually has name recognition for football, and we have real agents ang not back alley conmen who figure yuh cyah do better, he would geh a big contract easy peasy and make men like Highland look like joke.

By de way de fellah real fit even now!!! He eh easy.

Hmmm.....dis man soundin almost as good as Troy Marquis.  ;D

So we talking C. Ronaldo comparison here then?

« Reply #66 on: September 22, 2008, 03:28:57 PM »
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

« Reply #67 on: September 22, 2008, 04:25:37 PM »
He leonson was really good he would have cross in a ball on Nov the 19th instead of constantly running straight outside with the ball.

He had some good talent

speed with and without the ball

good goals for a midfielder but he lacked technical skill to deliver a good cross.

With some beeter youth coaching he would have been a complete player.

The physiscal aspect is there but the technical execution was lacking as in the example above.

Aye when yuh post from yuh phone yuh must proof read breds....  ;D T9 technology doesn't always select the right words...  Secondly if you judging Leo based on Nov 19th, then yuh shortchanging the man because his career lasted way beyond that date....

« Reply #68 on: September 22, 2008, 04:44:13 PM »
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

What wrong wit Elan question?  Wit all de superlatives dished out to Leo on dis thread, dat is a very valid question no?

« Reply #69 on: September 22, 2008, 05:45:15 PM »
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

What wrong wit Elan question?  Wit all de superlatives dished out to Leo on dis thread, dat is a very valid question no?

Nah not really two different types of wingers ............  Ronaldo for one wasnt as fast as Leo but he definitely more skilfull ...... Ronaldo wing play is based on trickery leo is based on pure pace ....ronaldo has to be compared to similar type players like quaresma, figo, nani etc ...ps pure coincidence that the players called are all portuguese but i guess thats the factory that producing them

« Reply #70 on: September 22, 2008, 06:28:07 PM »
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Nah not really two different types of wingers ............  Ronaldo for one wasnt as fast as Leo but he definitely more skilfull ...... Ronaldo wing play is based on trickery leo is based on pure pace ....ronaldo has to be compared to similar type players like quaresma, figo, nani etc ...ps pure coincidence that the players called are all portuguese but i guess thats the factory that producing them

I eh know boy Ngozi....CR have real toes...

« Reply #71 on: September 22, 2008, 06:38:28 PM »
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Leh we say you right (I doh agree BTW), the comparison I think Elan makin is that a player who is considered to be a specialist winger, scorin goals regularly.  Not they type of winger they were (pace versus skill).  Would that be a fair comparison in your opinion?

Was Leonson Lewis "Cristiano Ronaldo" (in terms of a winger regularly scoring goals) before Cristiano Ronaldo came along?

« Reply #72 on: September 22, 2008, 07:44:50 PM »
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Leh we say you right (I doh agree BTW), the comparison I think Elan makin is that a player who is considered to be a specialist winger, scorin goals regularly.  Not they type of winger they were (pace versus skill).  Would that be a fair comparison in your opinion?

Was Leonson Lewis "Cristiano Ronaldo" (in terms of a winger regularly scoring goals) before Cristiano Ronaldo came along?

leo score alot of goals but 42 goals for one season is in a class of its own so  I'd have to say no

« Reply #73 on: September 22, 2008, 08:31:07 PM »
Leonson played left wing. Then I will compare with Alvin, Archie, Leo Brewster and Jerron Nixon.

« Reply #74 on: September 22, 2008, 08:43:30 PM »
Palos without reading the replies on dis thread I go say you really have time on yuh hands man !!! those of us who here long know you is ah Leonsen lewis fan so wha yuh trying ? Yuh forget some ah de tings yuh was arguing bout Lou. Lou is meh pardner and I eh have nothing bad to say bout him ...you is meh pardner too ...on dis forum ...so I eh go say no more !

« Reply #75 on: September 22, 2008, 09:34:55 PM »
I will even put meh pardner Mike Grayson in that comparison.

« Reply #76 on: September 23, 2008, 10:29:06 AM »
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Look at my previous post and what I qoute. The descrition of LL sound very muchlike C. Ronaldo, fast, skillful, strong, scores goals like a striker, etc. This is how we does describe C.Ronaldo.

BTW Naini has to be compared to Ronaldo, not the other way around.

« Reply #77 on: September 23, 2008, 11:38:42 AM »
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Leo played the early part of his career as a winger. But soon after the Strike Squad campaign he was converted into a center forward for both country and club. Most of Leo's greatest years was as T&T's point man leading the line. How allyuh go fforget that. The Shell Cup right here in T&T when he top score..is center forwad he play. The Gold Cup when he scoer the bike against the US and then follow that up with a goal against CR (almost ahd two as he catch the keeper ofde line and shot from almost the center circle. Hit the crossbar and St Louis finish the rebound for a 2-0 win). Allyuh really forget that. Leo was a centerforward for a long time. As a winger he didn't have that many goals for T&T. Come nah man..somebody please tell meh they remember that. When we beat the US 1-0 in the Nov 19 anniversary in the HC..tell me..where he play when we score. You see the header he score against Bados on youtubve in 1992...ain't no left wing he was playing.

« Reply #78 on: September 23, 2008, 11:48:37 AM »
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Leo played the early part of his career as a winger. But soon after the Strike Squad campaign he was converted into a center forward for both country and club. Most of Leo's greatest years was as T&T's point man leading the line. How allyuh go fforget that. The Shell Cup right here in T&T when he top score..is center forwad he play. The Gold Cup when he scoer the bike against the US and then follow that up with a goal against CR (almost ahd two as he catch the keeper ofde line and shot from almost the center circle. Hit the crossbar and St Louis finish the rebound for a 2-0 win). Allyuh really forget that. Leo was a centerforward for a long time. As a winger he didn't have that many goals for T&T. Come nah man..somebody please tell meh they remember that. When we beat the US 1-0 in the Nov 19 anniversary in the HC..tell me..where he play when we score. You see the header he score against Bados on youtubve in 1992...ain't no left wing he was playing.

Tell dem Filho...

Also de Norway game where everybody remember Latapy ripping up... it was really de Leonson-Latapy combo mash dem up...

Leonson up top ... Latapy creating behind him... remember de slick one two between dem that send through Latas for de equalizer!

« Reply #79 on: September 23, 2008, 11:51:20 AM »
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Tell dem Filho...

Also de Norway game where everybody remember Latapy ripping up... it was really de Leonson-Latapy combo mash dem up...

Leonson up top ... Latapy creating behind him... remember de slick one two between dem that send through Latas for de equalizer!

Except that St Louis didn't score the rebound off Leo's half line shot...it was Alvin Thomas  ;D

« Reply #80 on: September 23, 2008, 12:02:30 PM »
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Tell dem Filho...

Except that St Louis didn't score the rebound off Leo's half line shot...it was Alvin Thomas  ;D

skinny foot..brown skin...big fro'....dey look alike on the field..until St. Louis fro went clear ;D

« Reply #81 on: September 23, 2008, 12:06:57 PM »
Elan,
      Are you serious!!!!!!!

Tell dem Filho...

FF..I am one of the hugest Leo fans but I never saw that game (tears) and cyah remember the highlights other than Latas scoring.

Hear nah...I done make men out long time. Most of the people who eh rating the man talking about his deficiencies as a winger. I start to realize they missing half de story if they eh realize what a killa de man was up top. Doh mind I was a huge fan when he was a specialist winger too eh

« Reply #82 on: September 23, 2008, 12:59:44 PM »
You see the header he score against Bados on youtubve in 1992...ain't no left wing he was playing.

How does that prove that he wasn't playing left wing?  ???

« Reply #83 on: September 23, 2008, 03:09:33 PM »
You see the header he score against Bados on youtubve in 1992...ain't no left wing he was playing.

How does that prove that he wasn't playing left wing?  ???

who said it proves anything..I citing games he scored in hoping people have memory. i know he was playing as a striker cuz I was dey. How any of the games or goals I mention prove what position he was playing? steeups..you eh see you jess wasting people time  ;D

Leonson enjoying new role
« Reply #84 on: November 18, 2010, 08:09:13 AM »
Leonson enjoying new role
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Leonson Lewis, one of the lethal attacking players of this country’s 1990 Road to Italy campaign, is now the technical director of the Naparima College football team and describes his current post “as the best job in the world.” Lewis played professionally in Portugal from 1990 to 2002 scoring 82 goals before returning to W Connection where he has been in charge of the club’s Under-14 and Under-16 teams. “Coaching has its ups and downs but when things go right you feel very proud and that’s how I feel at the moment. I think my job is the best in the world because of how much I enjoy it. “I prefer to work with the youths because they grasp things better and are willing to learn all the time and it’s easier to change the bad habits than that of an older player,” said Lewis who netted 21 goals in 30 official appearances for T&T.

“I want to thank principal Michael Dowlat for the opportunity. It’s all about trying to help the school and my coaching is about trying to get players on national teams, local professional teams and also opportunities abroad,” added the man who struck a beavertrick against English side Crystal Palace in Port-of-Spain. Looking back at his transition from player to coach,  the ex-Naparima College player said, “At first it was difficult because you still feel the urge to play but yet your legs don’t allow you. Over the past three years, I’ve become comfortable and fallen into my own style. “I have to thank Stuart Charles Fevrier also for teaching me everything from breaking down a team to how to coach a team in every department. He really put the blueprint on what I should do as a coach.” “Naps” have won the national Intercol crown on six occasions (1973, ’76, ’77, ’99, 2000 and 2007). They won their 11th BG Trinidad and Tobago South Zone League title and their 14th South Zone Coca Cola Intercol title in the 2010 season.

Leonson thinks U-17s have good qualifying chance.
« Reply #85 on: March 21, 2013, 05:58:13 AM »
Leonson thinks U-17s have good qualifying chance.
By Shaun Fuentes.

Former T&T winger Leonson Lewis is expecting the national Under-17 men’s team to perform creditably at the upcoming Concacaf final round of U-17 World Cup qualifiers in Panama City and is optimistic of T&T sneaking into the semifinal round.

If T&T can progress beyond the opening three-team group phase and then win its quarterfinal clash, it will be among the four countries from Concacaf appearing at the 2013 Fifa U-17 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates. T&T faces Canada on April 6 and Costa Rica two days later. The top two teams advance to the quarterfinals.

Lewis is one of the assistant coaches on the U-17 team alongside fellow assistant Terrance Marcelle. Shawn Cooper is the head coach.

Lewis has been working with the team for several months and is one of the local coaches who have been part of the TTFF Coach Education Programmes overseen by technical director Anton Corneal and his group of local coach instructors.

Lewis says on a daily basis he tries to pass on his knowledge and experience as a player for the national team to upcoming ones.

Read More

Re: Leonson Lewis Thread
« Reply #86 on: January 21, 2016, 02:49:08 AM »
Exclusive Interview with Leonson Lewis.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Former national team winger Leonson Lewis has given credit to the Secondary Schools Football League for helping shape his career from his early teenage days as a player.

Lewis was a standout with Naparima College and San Fernando Technical Institute but recalls how he first entered St Benedict’s College before transferring to “Naps”. At that time in the early 80s he played for the “Naps team that was managed by David John-Williams, the current President of the TTFA. Lewis was among players honoured by the League last Saturday as one of the top players of the 1990s alongside the likes of Russell Latapy, Shaka Hislop, Dwight Yorke, Marvin Faustin, Hutson Charles, Anthony Sherwood, Shawn Boney, Marvin Oliver, Wesley Webb, Angus Eve, David Nakhid, Garth Pollonais, Timothy Haynes, Clint Marcelle and Neil Williams

“It means a lot for me to be recognised because I came from an era where there a lot of great players. Not everyone could be chosen but it had players like Todd Willis, Andrew Ali as a goalkeeper, Russell Sutton and so many others. There were so many good players, so that to recognized as one of the best players is a huge honour.

“I think it would be with San Fernando Tech where I had my best memories because we won everything that year. We only draw one game with Shaka Hislop and the St Mary’s College and they got on like they had won the World Cup,” Lewis laughed.

“For Naparima College, it was the time that really built me as a player. I remember one game when we had beaten ‘Tech’ with all their stars as one of the top moments. This period in Secondary Schools really shaped my career. This was where it all started. I had a lot of friends in St Benedict’s before I transferred but then I had a lot of fans when I went to Naps. At Naps is when I made up my mind that I wanted to be a professional footballer,” Lewis added.

“David John Williams was my manager when I was at Naparima College. He did whatever we needed in the team and it’s funny that now he is the President of the TTFA. I know he will focus a lot on youth development and he means well for the development of the game locally.”

« Reply #87 on: January 21, 2016, 03:45:59 PM »
Exclusive Interview with Leonson Lewis.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Former national team winger Leonson Lewis has given credit to the Secondary Schools Football League for helping shape his career from his early teenage days as a player.

Lewis was a standout with Naparima College and San Fernando Technical Institute but recalls how he first entered St Benedict’s College before transferring to “Naps”. At that time in the early 80s he played for the “Naps team that was managed by David John-Williams, the current President of the TTFA. Lewis was among players honoured by the League last Saturday as one of the top players of the 1990s alongside the likes of Russell Latapy, Shaka Hislop, Dwight Yorke, Marvin Faustin, Hutson Charles, Anthony Sherwood, Shawn Boney, Marvin Oliver, Wesley Webb, Angus Eve, David Nakhid, Garth Pollonais, Timothy Haynes, Clint Marcelle and Neil Williams

That should be the 1980s.

« Reply #88 on: September 22, 2017, 01:43:11 AM »
Benedict’s shuffle staff; “Coachman” Leonson set to lose post after three straight defeats.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) Elite Youth Development coach Leonson Lewis looks set to be the first Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) Premier Division head coach to lose his job, just three games into the 2017 season, as St Benedict’s College try to recover from a woeful start to the new campaign.

Lewis, a former Strike Squad star and Portugal-based striker, was offered a three-year contract from St Benedict’s in 2016 only for the La Romaine-based school to spend much of the term flirting with relegation while the new boss raised eyebrows with a public warning against players calling him “Coachman”.

Benedict’s avoided relegation with at least a game to spare in the end but a poor start to the 2017 season apparently further eroded confidence in Lewis’ ability to lead the proud southern institution towards the top end of the standings.

Benedict’s lost all three games in 2017 and trailed St Augustine Secondary 3-0 at halftime on the weekend before a late rally salvaged some pride—but no points—as they eventually succumbed 4-2.

St Benedict’s team manager Ravi Ramgoolam was tight-lipped as to who will run the school’s technical area on Wednesday evening, when they face St Mary’s College at Serpentine Road in St Clair. Assistant coach Nolan Bernard also refused to confirm or deny whether he is set take the reins on an interim basis.

However, Ramgoolam did admit that there will be a change.

“[Lewis] is still a part of the coaching staff,” Ramgoolam told Wired868, “[but] one of the assistant coaches will [run the bench].”

Despite the impending technical staff shuffle, the St Benedict’s manager suggested that their poor returns this season—which sees the squad at the bottom of the standings—was down to bad luck.

“Pre-season didn’t go too badly and I think we just need a little luck this season,” said Ramgoolam. “The boys have showed the fighting spirit and the drive to do well. I know the team is willing to work and they are well meshed. But you have to have to a little bit of luck.”

Whether Benedict’s will find that good fortune against a St Mary’s team that is second from bottom in the standings but playing its first home game of the season is another story.

The “Saints” have played just twice so far this year—their first fixture against St Augustine was postponed due to bad weather—and managed a high scoring draw against San Juan North before being thumped 4-1 by Presentation College (San Fernando) last weekend.

If Benedict’s win tomorrow, they could potentially climb as high as 13th in the 16-team standings while St Mary’s would go dead last. And it might be CIC coach Ryan Shim who would end up looking over his shoulder.

« Reply #89 on: March 15, 2018, 05:59:21 PM »
WATCH Highlights of Felgueiras vs FC Porto. Goals by Russell Latapy (Porto) and Leonson Lewis (Felgueiras) to earn a 1-1 draw for their respective teams on Matchday 5 of the Portuguese Primeira Divisão, 1995-96 season.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Pn0BSGdQgYk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Pn0BSGdQgYk</a>
« Last Edit: March 15, 2018, 06:05:31 PM by asylumseeker »