April 19, 2024, 09:50:26 PM

Author Topic: HOW TO embed YouTube videos here  (Read 13992 times)

HOW TO embed YouTube videos here
« on: November 09, 2008, 10:55:54 AM »
How to embed YouTube videos here on the message board:

normally you get a YouTube link the looks like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tnarv2b3Ag8

modify the link to read http://www.youtube.com/v/tnarv2b3Ag8 (removing the 'watch?' and changing the '=' to a '/'.)

now select it to highlight it and click on the 'insert flash' icon. (The first one next to the 'insert image' icon.). This should put flash tags around the link.

You can change the width, height (200,200 by default) to 320,265 to make it slightly larger. (Or another size: the formula is Nx4,Nx3+25 - 4x3 proportion plus 25 pixels for the control bar)

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/tnarv2b3Ag8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/tnarv2b3Ag8</a>
« Last Edit: December 22, 2010, 03:39:32 PM by E-man »

Re: HOW TO embed YouTube videos here
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2008, 08:20:02 PM »
I don't want to start a new post, can you tell me how you does make a word or phrase a hyper link?

« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2008, 08:36:25 PM »
you know how u normally hyperlink by doing {url}address{/url}?

do it like this..

{url=address}word{/url}

*replace curly brackets with square brackets.

« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2008, 09:55:50 AM »
i real fekin duce oui

how me eh understand what de two allyuh jus say...my keystrokes eh wukkin

« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2008, 04:16:50 PM »
i real fekin duce oui

Like if you want to put a link to a Yorke video, and you want people to click pn the word Yorke as the Hyperlink then you do it how Omar say.

Eg.  Yorke

as opposed to

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oiz0hy_QS1c

Did I explain it?

« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2008, 07:20:53 PM »
How to embed YouTube videos here on the message board:

normally you get a YouTube link the looks like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tnarv2b3Ag8

modify the link to read http://www.youtube.com/v/tnarv2b3Ag8

now select it to highlight it and click on the 'insert flash' icon. (The first one next to the 'insert image' icon.). This should put flash tags around the link.

You can change the width, height (200,200 by default) to 320,265 to make it slightly larger. (Or another size: the formula is Nx4,Nx3+25 - 4x3 proportion plus 25 pixels for the control bar)

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/tnarv2b3Ag8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/tnarv2b3Ag8</a>

What about non-YouTube vids?

« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2008, 08:02:08 PM »

same idea, you just have to get the actual location of the animation.  for different video sources you might want to look at the code that they give you to copy and paste to embed to figure out where the animation itself is located.

this code (I changed the initial '[' to a '<' here in order to get the code to show up rather than the video.  you'll have to change it back; you could also quote my post if that helps.)

<flash=224,193]http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=1516019[/flash]

produces this result for vimeo video

<a href="http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=1516019" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=1516019</a>
« Last Edit: December 07, 2008, 08:52:09 AM by daryn »

« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2008, 11:52:42 AM »

same idea, you just have to get the actual location of the animation.  for different video sources you might want to look at the code that they give you to copy and paste to embed to figure out where the animation itself is located.

this code (I changed the initial '[' to a '<' here)

<flash=224,193]http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=1516019[/flash]

produces this result for vimeo video

<a href="http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=1516019" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=1516019</a>

I'm familiar enough with embedding to grab the animation... but I never seem to be able to get it to work.  I never would have thought to change the [ to a < in your example.  I'll give it a try in future, thanks.

« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2008, 01:06:54 PM »
this is the easiest way  ;D .quote somebody post who did it ,and you will see exactically  how they did it .

« Reply #9 on: January 16, 2009, 10:04:11 AM »
i real fekin duce oui

Like if you want to put a link to a Yorke video, and you want people to click pn the word Yorke as the Hyperlink then you do it how Omar say.

Eg.  Yorke

as opposed to

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oiz0hy_QS1c

Did I explain it?

yup...thx  :beermug:

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
embedding
« Reply #10 on: December 20, 2010, 05:12:33 PM »
this topic was probably already discussed 90 times but...
how do I embed a youtube?

talk slow fuh meh eh?

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #11 on: December 20, 2010, 05:32:29 PM »
I am missing a step..this isn't working for me

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6c7er254_nI&feature=related

I entered it as
http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/6c7er254_nI&feature=related
and added the flash but got a blank space

tried it as
http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/6c7er254
didn't work for me...
hmm...wait...
I think I see what I'm doing wrong...
doh boof me yet.

Got it! yaay me! de Holy Name edikashun finally pay awf!
« Last Edit: December 20, 2010, 05:53:42 PM by Queen Macoomeh »

« Reply #12 on: December 21, 2010, 10:52:49 AM »
Queen ah know yuh say yuh get it... but from the YouTube link just delete the "watch?" and then on the other side of the "v", replace the = with a /.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #13 on: December 22, 2010, 02:26:00 PM »
yes ah got it. Just have to remember to do de simi-dimi to make the video larger...tanks!

« Reply #14 on: December 25, 2010, 09:54:59 PM »
yes ah got it. Just have to remember to do de simi-dimi to make the video larger...tanks!

I usually use 500,350... that's a decent size.

Moderators How Do We Post You Tube Videos
« Reply #15 on: February 18, 2011, 06:36:15 AM »
I know this is not football related but I am sure many here will appreciate the little embed/code lesson.

1)Could you please instruct us as to how to put videos in posts?

2)Also for those who don't know a lil refresher nah...how to hyperlink the "source" code. eg. [url =

I think this will make all user's forum experience a bit better and less work for the mods to tidy up.

Thanks in advance.

Touches

Re: Moderators How Do We Post You Tube Videos
« Reply #17 on: February 18, 2011, 06:47:37 AM »
Thank you Flex, time to practice now.

« Reply #18 on: February 18, 2011, 08:09:24 AM »
This is great, thanks!!   Can you give me the same help with photos??

« Reply #19 on: February 18, 2011, 08:11:17 AM »
This is great, thanks!!   Can you give me the same help with photos??

Just click on my quote and you will see the code to do image, its betweem the [img] signs you put your web address. So use my code and repleace my web address with yours.

TIP: You cannot use a photo from your computer hard drive to post here. Your photo must have a web address. So you will need to upload your photo from your computer to photobucket or some other free photo web hosting sites to get a web address for your photo. Once you upload your photo, just copy the address of the actual picture (right click on your photo) and then copy the web address (URL) and then paste it into/between the [img] symbols when you are going to post pictures on the forum.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2011, 08:22:15 AM by Flex »

« Reply #20 on: February 18, 2011, 08:33:52 AM »
Thanks, folks.  :beermug: :beermug:

Offline D#_1_TrInBa

« Reply #21 on: February 18, 2011, 10:32:04 AM »
We dont post we scooore!!!

« Reply #22 on: February 22, 2011, 08:49:46 AM »
We dont post we scooore!!!

haha, the return of the native!