March 28, 2024, 05:49:46 AM

Author Topic: Sidings  (Read 6250 times)

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
Sidings
« on: December 25, 2010, 02:33:43 PM »
Need to talk with someone about siding...any do-it-yuhselfers here in dat?

Re: Sidings
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2010, 05:12:22 AM »
Need to talk with someone about siding...any do-it-yuhselfers here in dat?

Metal or plastic :beermug:

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2010, 04:02:54 PM »
vinyl..

« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2010, 06:10:56 PM »
vinyl..

Hold on I go hook you up with some information.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2010, 06:15:31 PM »
thanks...
the siding on there now are the originals and are beginning to cause us some headaches. We need to apply new ones on top or remove those that are there and replace them, especially on one side of the house.
Is it easier to remove or add new sidings on top?
can you just do an area or the whole side of the house needs to be done?

« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2010, 12:10:49 PM »
thanks...
the siding on there now are the originals and are beginning to cause us some headaches. We need to apply new ones on top or remove those that are there and replace them, especially on one side of the house.
Is it easier to remove or add new sidings on top?
can you just do an area or the whole side of the house needs to be done?

OK Queen, I went through a couple of sites that I know of and this one was kinda the best to this point.

http://www.diyadvice.com/diy/siding/install/vinyl/

They have pics and a step by step guide to installing and replacing siding

Good liuck, but I doh think you installing anything till summer in your area  :devil: :angel:

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #6 on: December 27, 2010, 03:05:32 PM »
thanks
I notice they said that seepage isn't a problem so long as the siding underneath is in good shape. That is the problem right there. The siding in some spots are not in good shape which is why we need to put new sidings.

I'm thinking we may need intensive repair work on the existing sidings before applying the new ones.

Yeah man, nothing happening until April or so, but we're doing our homework now.
Had a few contractors come in for estimates and they're talking all kinda $12-15K...
« Last Edit: December 27, 2010, 03:41:56 PM by Queen Macoomeh »

« Reply #7 on: December 27, 2010, 04:53:22 PM »
Girl I hear yu, let me keep looking for you on this one.  Yu have until april anyway  :angel:

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2010, 10:27:07 AM »
yes thanks man...any help is appreciated.

« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2010, 12:06:53 PM »
thanks
I notice they said that seepage isn't a problem so long as the siding underneath is in good shape. That is the problem right there. The siding in some spots are not in good shape which is why we need to put new sidings.

That seems like he padding the bill....why would he fix the stuff underneath and then put new vinyl  over
why not just rip the damn thing off and put new vinyl to begin with?

If it was yuh HVAC system, plumbing or yuh car I could tell yuh for sure if he rippin yuh off......but with building materials it have so many options I not sure

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #10 on: December 30, 2010, 08:39:51 AM »
Dutts, I was referring to the link Darkseid gave me though. On that site they said seepage isn't a problem.

No, in all fairness, that $15k I mentioned was from the contractors who came out to see the job. It was for the entire house not just that one side. They said it made no sense doing just one side since it was not cost effective.

We'd like to do as much as we can ourselves without making bad matters worse. We enjoy working on the house. Fruits of your labour can be sweet.

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2011, 09:51:14 AM »
Here is a link to the Frank Cohn, he has a radio show on 1010AM on Saturday 8AM
you can call in and see what he thinks of your situation.

There are links to companies he refers to
http://www.newstalk1010.com/FrankCohensContacts.aspx

the siding company he uses is
EAVESTROUGHS AND SIDING:
GEORGE KENT HOME IMPROVEMENTS LTD. - 6350 Tomken Road.  905 670 2707.  http://www.georgekenthome.com/