April 20, 2024, 12:19:25 AM

Author Topic: Trinidad in Life Magazine  (Read 4317 times)

Trinidad in Life Magazine
« on: January 31, 2009, 12:44:19 AM »
Google just released the picture archive from Life magazine. Here are some pictures.
The captions are a little off though, they got Manley as a "Trinidad" politician and Bhadase Sagan Maraj as a "Jamaican"

Waller field:

Calypsonians - The Mighty Growler

mansion in port of spain, 1946 (still standing?)

Queen's Park Hotel:

War memorial

Tucker Valley Rd, Chaguaramas

Chaguaramas aerial view:

US Army HQ, 1941 (whitehall)

The Bonanza (Frederick St. I believe)

Heres more
« Last Edit: February 16, 2012, 06:43:42 PM by E-man »

Re: Trinidad in Life Magazine
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2009, 10:52:53 AM »
Good stuff E-man... is this the "pocket Hercules" fella?

...seems like it could be.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2012, 01:29:10 PM by E-man »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2009, 02:53:08 PM »
excellent find!! :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2009, 04:28:02 PM »

you mean Rodney Wilkes? (I never hear that nickname associated with him but it's entirely plausible, I know Suleymanoglu used to go by that)  look like it very well could be him.

« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2009, 05:32:26 PM »

The Mighty Midget

He is classed as one of the top olympic lifters of the 20th Century
is like they only know about Jamaica ::)  label most as being in Jamaica
« Last Edit: February 11, 2012, 01:30:03 PM by E-man »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2009, 10:10:23 PM »
We should be in de death magazine too for all de drug executions.

« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2009, 12:56:30 AM »

you mean Rodney Wilkes? (I never hear that nickname associated with him but it's entirely plausible, I know Suleymanoglu used to go by that)  look like it very well could be him.

Ah think ah botch de man nickname... but yeah is he ah was referring to.  Ah trying to watch he face close and ah swear ah seeing ah resemblance.

btw... yuh right about Suleymanoglu... earlier when ah did ah search of "pocket Hercules" is he name that came up.  Ah cyah remember Hercules name man... and is juss de other day the thread was posted too.

« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2009, 03:19:06 PM »
Nice pull e-man.....is the whole issue about the caribbean?

Albert 'Macajuel' Gomes look like he just finish eat some of the children in dat village

"git in mah belly"
« Last Edit: February 11, 2012, 01:30:24 PM by E-man »