March 29, 2024, 12:05:54 AM

Author Topic: Hope USA win. - USA vs Costa Rica.  (Read 28897 times)

Hope USA win. - USA vs Costa Rica.
« on: May 27, 2009, 05:21:46 PM »
I hope that USA keep winning all their matches so by the time they have to play us it wont matter  whether they win or lose.Who knows, they may even play us with a team of up and coming players,this may just give us a chance for 3 points.The USA do tend to do this from time to time but having said that, there seems to be some sort of revival in our football although its still left to be seen.I feel we would beat CR and get a draw in Mexico,I said before,when I have a good feeling about something the result is usually in my favour.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2009, 08:58:54 AM by Flex »

Offline trinimuse

Re: Hope USA win.
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2009, 05:36:21 PM »
real chain up post boy ...

« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2009, 06:30:35 PM »
TT get a draw at high altitude in Mexico?

Mexico must be lose one pt. at home in the last hex. We after years of cut arse at high alt. go get a draw there??

Maybe at a lower alt.

« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2009, 06:39:33 PM »
TT get a draw at high altitude in Mexico?

Mexico must be lose one pt. at home in the last hex. We after years of cut arse at high alt. go get a draw there??

Maybe at a lower alt.

Dreams are free y not have a big 1

« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2009, 07:09:23 PM »
yuh really livin up to yuh name.

« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2009, 08:22:24 AM »
yuh really livin up to yuh name.
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D As somebody say dreams are free but sometimes they can come true.

USA vs Costa Rica...wed 9:00 on espn2
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2009, 08:06:09 PM »
Lewwe hope Latas and the whole team infront a tv watching this with a dvd recorder running.

Don't forget this mid-week WCQ game.

We want USA to win this.

Good scouting opportunity to see what we need to do.

I hope Flow bringing this.

U.S. Men’s National Team Training Camp Update
San Jose, Costa Rica
June 1, 2009

U.S. ARRIVES IN COSTA RICA FOR JUNE 3 QUALIFIER: The U.S. Men’s National Team will arrive in San Jose, Costa Rica, on Monday afternoon to continue preparations for this Wednesday’s FIFA World Cup qualifier at Estadio Ricardo Saprissa. The June 3 match will kick off at 8 p.m. MT live on ESPN and Galavision, with fans also able to follow ussoccer.com’s MatchTracker. The U.S. team will twice take to the turf at Saprissa to prepare for a Costa Rica side that is one point behind the U.S. in the CONCACAF final round table. Midfielder Maurice Edu will not travel due to a knee injury suffered in Rangers final league match on May 24 against Dundee that caused him to miss action last weekend. No decision has been made on if a replacement will be called in for Edu. All told, 24 players will travel to Costa Rica with training camp invitee Eric Lichaj included in the traveling party.

QUICK HITS
• Five players on the U.S. roster are carrying yellow cards into San Jose: Jozy Altidore, Michael Bradley, Clint Dempsey, Frankie Hejduk and Oguchi Onyewu. A caution for any of these players against Costa Rica would result in a one match suspension to be served June 6 against Honduras. Costa Rica enters the match with seven players on their roster carrying yellow cards—Ricardo Gonzalez, Junior Diaz, Michael Umana, Armando Alonso, Celso Borges, Esteban Granados and Bryan Ruiz.
• The U.S. is 9-1-1 in qualifying so far this cycle, with the one loss coming in the last game of the semifinal round in Trinidad & Tobago after clinching a spot in the final six.
• Costa Rica enters the game also 9-1-1 in qualifying, winning four of their last five.
• The U.S. is playing its second away game of the 2010 final round campaign after tying 2-2 in El Salvador on March 28 in San Salvador.
• The U.S. has a lifetime record of 11-10-5 against Costa Rica, but has never won on the road and holds a 0-6-1 record in qualifying in Costa Rica. In their last 10 meetings, the U.S. holds a 5-3-2 advantage against the Ticos, with all five wins coming in the U.S. and all three losses coming in San Jose, Costa Rica.
• Six players on the current roster started in the last match in Costa Rica, a 3-0 loss in World Cup qualifying on Oct. 8, 2005, on the artificial turf at Saprissa: Tim Howard, Onyewu, Carlos Bocanegra, DaMarcus Beasley, Pablo Mastroeni and Brian Ching. Danny Califf was on the roster but did not play.
• Of the current pool of players, Landon Donovan leads the team with 28 World Cup qualifying caps. He’s chasing the trio of Eddie Pope, Kasey Keller and Claudio Reyna, all tied for the lead in World Cup qualifying with 32 international appearances.
• Overall, Donovan leads the roster with 108 international appearances.
• In the last game against Trinidad & Tobago, the 19 year old Altidore scored the third U.S. hat trick in FIFA World Cup qualifying, with all three goals coming off assists from Donovan.
• Altidore is now the leading U.S. goal scorer of this FIFA World Cup qualifying cycle with five goals in six appearances. Ching, Dempsey and Bradley are all tied for second on the U.S. squad with four each.
• The three assists put Donovan’s U.S. all-time leading total to 36. The next closest on this roster is Beasley with 12 assists.
• Dempsey recorded two game-winning goals in FIFA World Cup qualifying last year—against Barbados on June 15 in Carson, Calif., and in a 1-0 win on Sept. 6 in Cuba. With his next appearance, Dempsey will have earned 50 caps for the United States.
• Michael Bradley also has two game-winning goals in 2010 qualifying, striking against Trinidad & Tobago on Sept. 10, 2008, and Feb. 11, 2009, against Mexico.
• Beasley (Oct. 11 against Cuba), Bocanegra (Aug. 20 against Guatemala) and Altidore (April 1 against Trinidad & Tobago) are the other players on the roster with game-winners in 2010 FIFA World Cup qualifying.
• Beasley has played a team-leading 822 minutes so far out of a possible 990 in World Cup qualifying (83 percent of all possible minutes)—quite impressive considering he is just over one year removed from a six-month injury layoff due to a torn PCL in his right knee.
• Beasley, Bradley and Heath Pearce all are tied with nine starts in the 2010 cycle
• Bob Bradley’s men are also on a five-game streak of scoring multiple goals, with four of those games qualifiers. It’s the first time the U.S. has scored multiple goals in four consecutive World Cup Qualifiers, besting the previous record of three that was set three times.
• Counting the friendly against Sweden in January, it is the third time in history that the U.S. men have scored multiple goals in five consecutive games. This is the second time the team has achieved this feat under Bradley, the only coach to lead the team through two such streaks.
• By scoring a hat trick on Jan. 24 against Sweden, Sacha Kljestan became only the second player in U.S. history to score his first three goals in the same game. The first was Aldo “Buff” Donelli, who tallied four goals in a 4-2 victory against Mexico on May 24, 1934, in the lone qualifying match for the 1934 FIFA World Cup in Italy.
• This is the second FIFA World Cup Qualifying cycle in a row that the U.S. has only met Costa Rica in the final round of qualifying. In 2005 the teams split the results by holding serve at home on their road to Germany 2006. The two cycles before that (’98 and ’02) saw the two sides face off both in the semifinal and final rounds for a total of eight games in five years, with the U.S. posting a 3-4-1 record.

ROSTER BREAKDOWN
Average Age: 25                                             
Average Caps: 31
Most Caps: 108 (Landon Donovan)
Least Caps: 2 (Mavell Wynne)
Oldest: 34 (Frankie Hejduk)
Youngest: 19 (Jozy Altidore)
Play professionally in: USA (7), England (5), Germany (2), France (2), Denmark (2), Sweden (1), Belgium (1), Mexico (1), Scotland (1), Spain (1)

WHY ON THIS NIGHT?: The USA-Costa Rica match is the only FIFA World Cup qualifier in the world being played on June 3. The match originally scheduled for June 10 was moved up by FIFA due to the USA’s participation in the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup. The U.S. will have one day less of rest, with just two days off before facing Honduras on June 6 in Chicago. The team departs June 8 for South Africa.

HEAVY DUTY: The shortened schedule is not the only challenge for the U.S. team. With nearly half of the U.S. roster playing in club matches on the weekend, players could be forced to play three matches in eight days. Throw in both cross-country and international travel, and man-management becomes a major factor for the coaching staff.

Date    Player    Location    Minutes
May 30    Carlos Bocanegra    Marseilles    90 minutes in 4-0 loss @ Marseilles
May 30    Brian Ching    Houston    81 minutes in a 3-0 win vs. Toronto
May 30    Landon Donovan    Los Angeles    90 minutes in 1-1 tie vs. Kansas City
May 30    Tim Howard    London    90 minutes in 2-1 loss to Chelsea
May 30    Pablo Mastroeni    New Jersey    90 minutes in 3-2 loss @ New York
May 30    Marvell Wynne    Houston    90 minutes in 3-0 loss @ Houston
May 31    Danny Califf    Brondby    90 minutes in 4-2 win @ Brondby
May 31    Benny Feilhaber    Vejle    90 minutes in 2-1 loss @ Vejle
May 31    Jose Francisco Torres    Pachuca    48 minutes in 2-2 draw with Pumas

CARRYING CHAMPIONSHIPS INTO CAMP: Two members of the roster won league championships in Europe this season. Oguchi Onyewu and Standard de Liege won their second Belgium title in a row after a harrowing two match playoff with Anderlecht, winning 2-1 on aggregate. Meanwhile in Scotland, DaMarcus Beasley helped Rangers capture their 52nd Scottish League title. A week later, they collected their second trophy of the season when a 1-0 victory against Falkirk in the FA Cup final handed Rangers the Scottish ‘double’.

SUCCESS IS RELATIVE: On the other end of the spectrum, Michael Bradley helped Borussia Mönchengladbach stave off relegation from the Bundesliga. ‘Gladbach collected 20 points in the second half of the season, including wins in three of their last four matches to guarantee another season in Germany’s top flight.

SPREADING THE WEALTH: With his goal on March 28 in El Salvador, Frankie Hejduk became the 14th different U.S. player to score in the 2010 FIFA World Cup qualifying campaign. Hejduk joins Carlos Bocanegra (1) and Oguchi Onyewu (1) as the other defenders to score in qualifying. Jozy Altidore leads all scorers (5), with Brian Ching (4) Clint Dempsey (4) and Michael Bradley (4) just behind him. DaMarcus Beasley and Landon Donovan have tallied two goals each. Also on the score sheet with one goal each are Freddy Adu, Kenny Cooper, Charlie Davies, Eddie Johnson and Eddie Lewis, who made his goal count as the game-winner on June 22, 2008, against Barbados.

ONLY TWO HAVE TANGOED: There are only two players on the U.S. roster who scored against Costa Rica, and none who have done so on Costa Rican soil. Landon Donovan netted a deuce in the one of the USA’s finest performances of the 2006 qualifying campaign, a 3-0 win on June 4, 2005, in Salt Lake City in front of 40,586 fans at Rice-Eccles Stadium. Two years earlier, team captain Carlos Bocanegra nodded home the first U.S. goal as the team rallied from a 2-1 halftime deficit to win 3-2 in Miami and capture third place in the 2003 Gold Cup.

LD FILLING THE RECORD BOOKS: With 10 goals in World Cup qualifying, Donovan, the USA’s all-time leader in goals and assists, is now one goal shy of tying Brian McBride for the most career goals in World Cup qualifying. Last year, Donovan moved into sole possession of the top spot of the goalscoring chart when he tallied his 35th career goal, putting home a PK in a 2-0 win against Sweden on Jan. 19, 2008, at The Home Depot Center. With his start against Argentina on June 8 at Giants Stadium, he became the youngest player in U.S. history – and the fourth youngest player in the world – to earn 100 caps.

IT’S A SMALL WORLD: Costa Rican striker Bryan Ruiz plays for Gent, which faced off against Oguchi Onyewu’s Standard de Liege on May 16 in Belgium. Needing a win to advance into a championship playoff with Anderlecht, Gooch gave up a foul in the box in stoppage time with Standard clinging to a 1-0 lead. Stepping up to take the spot kick was Ruiz, whose shot to the left side of the goal was parried away by Standard’s keeper Sinan Bolat, preserving the win.

MLS TICOS: Four players on the Costa Rican roster have played in Major League Soccer. Gonzalo Segares currently patrols the left flank for the Chicago Fire. Former teammate Andy Herron had two spells in Chicago, with a stint in Columbus wedged between. Herron had an assist and the game-winning goal when the Fire defeated the Los Angeles Galaxy 3-1 to capture the 2006 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup title. Pablo Brenes appeared in 15 games for the MetroStars in 2004, while one year later Michael Umana played 15 games with the Galaxy.

HISTORIC COMEBACK IN SAN SALVADOR: The rally against El Salvador marked the first time in U.S. history that the team has erased a two-goal deficit to earn a point on the road. The last time the U.S. accomplished that feat in any venue came Oct. 8, 1995 at RFK Stadium, when the U.S. spotted Saudi Arabia three goals in 29 minutes until a four-goal comeback culminating in a goal by Roy Lassiter lifted the U.S. to a stunning 4-3 victory.

CONCACAF FINAL ROUND UPDATE: MatchDay 3 saw two regional favorites put through big tests, as Costa Rica hung on for a 1-0 victory against El Salvador while Honduras scored a home win against Mexico in this qualifying campaign. The Mexican loss resulted in the firing of head coach Sven-Goran Erickson and brought about the return of former Mexican head coach Javier Aguirre, who last led El Tri to the 2002 FIFA World Cup and a Round of 16 loss to the United States. As for the U.S., the group favorite rebounded from a hard-fought 2-2 draw in El Salvador with a comprehensive 3-0 victory against Trinidad & Tobago in Nashville, Tenn. Standings going into MatchDay 4:

Team    GP    W    L    T    GF    GA    GD    Pts
United States    3    2    0    1    7    2    +5    7
Costa Rica    3    2    1    0    3    2    +1    6
Honduras    3    1    1    1    4    3    +1    4
Mexico    3    1    2    0    3    5    -2    3
El Salvador    3    0    1    2    4    5    -1    2
Trinidad & Tobago    3    0    1    2    3    6    -3    2

Upcoming CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying Final Round Fixtures
Date    Match    Venue
June 3    Costa Rica vs. USA    Estadio Ricardo Saprissa Ayma; San Jose
June 6    El Salvador vs. Mexico    Estadio Cuscatlan; San Salvador
June 6    Trinidad & Tobago vs. Costa Rica    Dwight Yorke Stadium; Bacolet
June 6    USA vs. Honduras    Soldier Field; Chicago
June 10    Mexico vs. Trinidad & Tobago    Estadio Azteca; Mexico City
June 10    Honduras vs. El Salvador    Estadio Olimpico; San Pedro Sula

ON THE ROAD: Away from home, World Cup qualifying is a different story. Getting three points is much more difficult when your locker room sounds like this. Despite the challenge, the U.S. possesses a winning record on the road in World Cup qualifiers this decade, going 9-6-7 since 2000.

BY THE NUMBERS – U.S. IN FIFA WORLD CUP QUALIFYING:
0 – Losses at home in qualifying under Bob Bradley
4 – Goals each by Michael Bradley, Clint Dempsey and Brian Ching in 2010 FIFA World Cup qualifying, tied for second
5 – Goals scored by leading goal scorer Jozy Altidore
6 – Consecutive games the U.S. held opponents scoreless, setting a team record (Oct. 12, 2005 – Oct. 11, 2008)
8 – Total clean sheets kept by Tim Howard and Brad Guzan out of 11 games
10 – Goals for Landon Donovan in FIFA World Cup qualifying history
11 – Goals for Brian McBride in FIFA World Cup qualifying, the USA's all-time leader
12 – Number of leagues represented on the U.S. roster spread across 10 countries
14 – Number of different goal scorers for the U.S. in 2010 FIFA World Cup qualifying
36 – Players with at least one appearance in 2010 FIFA World Cup qualifying

BOB ON THE JOB: Since January of 2007 it has been the charge of U.S. head coach Bob Bradley to achieve the most important goal of any soccer playing nation: qualification for the FIFA World Cup. With 36 games under his belt, seeing more than 70 different players at least once and the process of reaching South Africa in 2010 in full swing, a review of the body of work during the past two years points to the U.S. clearly heading in the right direction. Since the start of the four-year cycle, the U.S. has:

• won six straight FIFA World Cup qualifiers in a row in 2008, a new team record (June 15-Oct. 15, 2008)
• set team records for averages in both most goals scored (2.14) and fewest allowed (0.57) in a year
• defended the CONCACAF Gold Cup title and qualified for the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup
• won by the largest margin of victory in U.S. World Cup qualifying history (8-0 vs. Barbados on 6/15/08)
• won back-to-back games in Europe for the first time in team history (Oct. 17, 2007, @ Switzerland and March 26, 2008, @ Poland)
• won three straight matches on the road for the first time in team history (Oct. 17, 2007, @ Switzerland, Nov. 17, 2007 @ South Africa and March 26, 2008, @ Poland)
• played five matches against four teams ranked in the Top 10 in the world at the time they stepped on the field against them (Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, Spain)
• played matches on four continents and in two major international tournaments

THE BRADLEY BREAKDOWN
Record    Record vs. ...    Record when ...
All-time: 24-8-4    CONCACAF: 15-1-3, 41 GF, 10 GA    Leading at half: 16-0-1
Qualifying: 9-1-1    CONMEBOL: 1-4-1, 7 GF, 13 GA    Losing at half: 1-2-1
Goals for: 71    UEFA: 5-3-0, 12 GF, 7 GA    Tied at half: 7-6-2
Goals against: 32    AFC: 1-0-0, 4 GF, 1 GA    
Shutouts: 16    CAF: 1-0-0, 1 GF,0 GA    

HOME IS WHERE THE POINTS ARE: The U.S. has worked hard to establish a dominating presence at home, and the record speaks for itself. The United States has not lost to a regional opponent at home in 52 consecutive matches, amassing a 42-0-10 record since 2001 that includes 13 games in World Cup qualifying. The last loss came Sept. 1, 2001, in a 3-2 qualifying loss to Honduras at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C. A look at the remarkable streak:

Year    Record (Since Sept. 2, 2001)    World Cup Qualifying
2001:    1-0-0 (2 GF, 1 GA)    1-0-0 (2 GF, 1 GA)
2002:    7-0-1 (19 GF, 0 GA)    
2003:    5-0-1 (16 GF, 2 GA)    
2004:    5-0-2 (17 GF, 2 GA)    3-0-1 (12 GF, 1 GA)
2005:    10-0-2 (22 GF, 4 GA)    5-0-0 (10 GF, 1 GA)
2006:    1-0-2 (5 GF, 3 GA)    
2007:    7-0-1 (15 GF, 3 GA)    
2008:    4-0-1 (21 GF, 3 GA)    3-0-0 (11 GF, 1 GA)
2009:    2-0-0 (5 GF, 0 GA)    2-0-0 (5 GF, 0 GA)
Total:    42-0-10 (122 GF, 16 GA)    14-0-1 (40 GF, 4 GA)

THE USA HAS NOT:
• suffered a shutout loss at home in 22 overall matches (4/23/06 v. Morocco, 0-1 L)
• lost at home v. CONCACAF opponent in 51 matches (9/1/01 v. Honduras, 2-3 L)
• been shutout at home in World Cup qualifying in 19 qualifiers (10/11/00 v. Costa Rica, 0-0 T)
• suffered a shutout loss at home in World Cup qualifying in 36 qualifiers (5/31/85 v. Costa Rica, 0-1 L)
• suffered a shutout loss in 11 overall matches (6/4/08 @ Spain, 0-1 L)
• lost by more than one goal in 12 matches (5/28/08 @ England, 0-2 L)

BE OFFICIAL WHEN YOU’RE WATCHING: What’s the next best thing to being at a game surrounded by your fellow screaming fans? Watching a game at an Official U.S. Soccer Bar surrounded by your fellow screaming fans! Bars across the U.S. are becoming the destination spots to gather and watch your U.S. teams in an atmosphere that is loud and rowdy. Check the latest listings for the Official U.S. Soccer Bar in your area.

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER: Keep up with all the news (in short form, of course) from U.S. Soccer by signing up at www.twitter.com/ussoccer.

U.S. SOCCER ON FACEBOOK: U.S. Soccer is offering a new way to follow its teams with the “Official U.S. Soccer Page” on Facebook. Visit the page to post videos, interact with other fans and follow the latest news from all U.S. Soccer teams. The new Official U.S. Soccer Page on Facebook is the best place to keep with your favorite teams and make your voice heard in the U.S. Soccer community.

IN FOCUS: COSTA RICA
COSTA RICA FACT FILE
Federación Costarricense de Fútbol
Founded: 1921 (Joined FIFA in 1927)
Head Coach: Rodrigo Kenton
Best World Cup Finish: Second Round, 1990
Best CONCACAF Gold Cup Finish: Finalist, 2002
Caps Leader: Luis Marin (126)
Top Scorer: Rolando Fonseca (47)
Key Players: Walter Centeno, Bryan Ruiz, Carlos Hernandez

CONSISTENCY IN CONCACAF: Like perennial favorites Mexico and the United States, Costa Rica has recently been establishing themselves as expected guests in the World Cup with appearances in 2002 and 2006. Part of the reason for their ascendancy is a strong home field advantage at Estadio Ricardo Saprissa. The cauldron has proven to be a challenging venue for opponents to play in, as Costa Rica has posted an 18-1-2 record in all matches there since 2000.

SNAPSHOT: Costa Rica enters June’s match in second place with six points, one behind the U.S. The Ticos have netted 28 goals in FIFA World Cup qualifying so far with only seven against. Costa Rica is led by striker Bryan Ruiz, who has notched a team leading four goals in qualifying. Ruiz enjoyed an excellent season with Gent in Belgium, drawing plaudits for his enterprising play and goal-scoring exploits. The rest of the team is dangerous too, with nine other players notching two goals throughout the campaign. The man behind the bench is head coach Rodrigo Kenton who took over the reins in June of 2008, after Costa Rica narrowly qualified for the second round. Since his appointment, Costa Rica has gone 9-1-0 with the lone loss a 2-0 defeat in Mexico City.

COSTA RICA ROSTER BY POSITION
GOALKEEPERS (3): Daniel Cambronero (Puntarenas), Ricardo Gonzalez (Herediano), Keilor Navas (Saprissa)
DEFENDERS (8): Dario Delgado (Puntarenas), Junior Diaz (Wisla Krakow, Poland), Freddy Fernandez (Perez Zeledon), Dennis Marshall (Herediano), Gonzalo Segares (Chicago Fire, MLS), Esteban Sirias (Liberia), Michael Umana (Ramonense), Harold Wallace (Liberia)
MIDFIELDERS (10): Armando Alonso (Saprissa), Cristian Bolanos (IK Start, Norway), Celso Borges (Fredrikstad, Norway), Pablo Brenes (Brujas), Walter Centeno (Saprissa), Esteban Granados (Cartagines), Warren Granados (Ramonense), Carlos Hernandez (Melbourne Victory, Australia), Pablo Herrera (Alajuelense), Cristian Oviedo (Alajuelense)
FORWARDS (4): Andy Furtado (Herediano), Andy Herron (Herediano), Bryan Ruiz (KAA Gent, Belgium), Alvaro Saborio (Sion, Switzerland)

PATH TO THE 'HEX’: After a harrowing 2-2 draw with tiny Grenada, Costa Rica changed coaches and then quickly changed gears. With Rodrigo Kenton behind the bench, the Ticos went on a 7-0-0 tear to take first place in their qualifying group and enter the final round of qualifying full of confidence.

BEEN THERE, DONE THAT: Nine players on the U.S. roster have played against Costa Rica before (DaMarcus Beasley, Carlos Bocanegra, Brian Ching, Clint Dempsey, Landon Donovan, Oguchi Onyewu, Frankie Hejduk, Tim Howard, Pablo Mastroeni) with Hejduk having the most caps (4), followed by Donovan, Beasley, Bocanegra at three each.

THE LAST TIME …
… On the field for the USA

April 1, 2009 | LP Field – Nashville, Tenn. | World Cup Qualifying, CONCACAF Final Round

USA                           3              Jozy Altidore 13, 71, 79
Trinidad & Tobago 0
Att: 27,959

USA – 1-Tim Howard; 2-Frankie Hejduk, 3-Carlos Bocanegra (capt.), 5-Oguchi Onyewu, 7-DaMarcus Beasley; 8-Clint Dempsey (16-Sacha Kljestan, 84), 12-Michael Bradley, 4-Pablo Mastroeni, 10-Landon Donovan, 11-Brian Ching (6- José Francisco Torres, 81), 17-Jozy Altidore
Subs not used: 18-Brad Guzan, 9-Eddie Johnson, 13-Maurice Edu, 14-Jay DeMerit, 15-Jonathan Bornstein
Head Coach: Bob Bradley

TRI – 1-Clayton Ince; 3-Aklie Edwards, 8-Anthony Wolfe (4-Makan Hislop, 46), 5-Keyeno Thomas, 6-Dennis Lawrence; 7-Christopher Birchall (16-Khaleem Hyland, 56), 11-Carlos Edwards, 2-Clyde Leon, 17-Keon Daniel (12-Jason Scotland, 71); 15-Kenwyne Jones, 14-Stern John
Subs not used: 9-Trent Noel, 10-Russell Latapy, 13-Densill Theobald, 18-Jan Michael Williams
Head Coach: Francisco Maturana

… On the field for Costa Rica
April 1, 2009 | Estadio Ricardo Saprissa – San Jose, Costa Rica | World Cup Qualifying, CONCACAF Final Round

Costa Rica     1      Walter Centeno 69
El Salvador     0

CRC – 1-Keylor Navas, 3-Jose Fernandez, 4-Michael Umana, 5-Celso Borges, 6-Roy Myrie, 7-Michael Barrantes (2-Pablo Brenes, 46), 10-Walter Centeno (capt.), 11-Bryan Ruiz, 12-Andy Furtado (16-Carlos Hernandez, 62), 14-Armando Alonso (17-Pablo Herrera, 56), 15-Junior Diaz
Subs not used: 8-Jose Luis Lopez, 9-Alvaro Saborio, 13-Gonzalo Segares, 18-Adrian De Lemos
Head Coach: Rodrigo Kenton

SLV – 2-Jose Henriquez, 3-Marvin Gonzalez, 6-Julio Martinez, 7-Ramon Sanchez (capt.), 8-Osael Romero, 11-Rodolfo Zelaya (4-Mark Blanco, 82), 12-Manuel Salazar, 14-Dennis Alas (10-William Torres, 77), 15-Alfredo Pacheco, 17-Carlos Monteagudo (9-Rudis Corrales, 69), 18-Miguel Montes
Subs not used: 1-Juan Gomez, 5-Luis Hernandez, 13-Deris Umanzor, 16-Oscar Jimenez
Head Coach: Carlos De Los Cobos

… vs. Costa Rica

Oct. 8, 2005 | Estadio Ricardo Saprissa – San Jose, Costa Rica | World Cup Qualifying, CONCACAF Final Round

USA                0
Costa Rica    3                       Paulo Wanchope 34, Carlos Hernandez 60, 88
Att: 30,000

USA: 1-Tim Howard; 22-Oguchi Onyewu, 23-Eddie Pope, 4-Carlos Bocanegra (10-Kyle Martino, 75); 5-Chris Albright (21-Santino Quaranta, 63), 25-Pablo Mastroeni, 7-Eddie Lewis (capt.), 17-DaMarcus Beasley, 15-Bobby Convey; 20-Taylor Twellman, 9-Brian Ching
Subs not used: 24-Kevin Hartman, 3-Wade Barrett, 8-Jonathan Spector, 12-Danny Califf, 13-Ricardo Clark
Head Coach: Bruce Arena

CRC: 18-Jose Porras; 3-Luis Marin (capt.), 5-Gilberto Martinez, 2-Jervis Drummond, 12 Leonardo Gonzalez; 8-Mauricio Solis (20-Douglas Sequiera, 59), 10-Walter Centeno, 11-Ronald Gomez, 15-Harold Wallace; 19-Alvaro Saborio (16-Carlos Hernandez, 59), 9-Paulo Wanchope (21-Winston Parks, 76)
Subs not used: 1-Alvaro Mesen, 4-Michael Umana, , 17-Roy Myrie, 22-Jafet Soto
Head Coach: Alexandre Guimaeres
« Last Edit: June 03, 2009, 02:56:35 PM by E-man »

Re: USA vs Costa Rica...wed 9:00 on espn
« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2009, 08:28:46 PM »
10pm EST

« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2009, 09:38:54 PM »
10pm EST

No bball so I could take it in.

« Reply #9 on: June 02, 2009, 10:10:00 PM »
I'm sure Flow will not show it... hopefully Fuentes let Latapy know about Flow's shite and let him watch it on Directv or something

Also, mods.. Any of these guys are major players for CR : "Costa Rica enters the match with seven players on their roster carrying yellow cards—Ricardo Gonzalez, Junior Diaz, Michael Umana, Armando Alonso, Celso Borges, Esteban Granados and Bryan Ruiz."

« Reply #10 on: June 02, 2009, 10:22:17 PM »
Dem should be able to get it on DirecTv....i jus assuming. And if dey hadda rely on Tobago cable.....i doh think flow could block that. The thing is..if Tobago cable have ESPN.....
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #11 on: June 02, 2009, 11:04:31 PM »
Lewwe hope Latas and the whole team infront a tv watching this with a dvd recorder running.

We want USA to win this.

Laptop
High Speed Internet
Big Screen TV with VGA input
Monitor Cable
LIVE Stream for ESPN

VOILA!

Dem fellas doh have to depend on no FLOW TV or Tobago Cable.  Jes reliable internet service over the duration of de match.

« Reply #12 on: June 02, 2009, 11:29:31 PM »
COME ON USA

costa rica could take points from this game/.....

« Reply #13 on: June 03, 2009, 06:02:52 AM »
I hope not- we want   USA to go clear of everyone except T&T. Remember we are looking at third spot.
 Who knows a point in Mexico we may even make second after our win on the 6th.

Offline sweetiepaper

« Reply #14 on: June 03, 2009, 08:22:52 AM »
We have to back USA to deny costa rica any points from this. Plus demoralise them, bruise them and get some men their second yellow  ;D
"Sweetiepaper does be all over de place"

« Reply #15 on: June 03, 2009, 08:56:03 AM »
TT officials for W/Cup qualifier
T&T Newsday

NEAL BRIZAN, the 2008 Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) Referee of the Year, will lead a team of TT officials for today’s 2010 FIFA World Cup CONCACAF Zone Final Round qualifier between Costa Rica and the United States at the Ricardo Saprissa Stadium, San Jose, Costa Rica.

The assistant referees are Michael Ragoonath, who officiated in the 2002 World Cup in Japan and South Korea, and Joseph Taylor, who was originally due to perform at the 2006 World Cup in Germany, while Geoffrey Hospedales is the fourth official.

The referee assessor is Antonio Marrufo Mendoza of Mexico; the match commissioner is Chet Greene of Antigua/Barbuda and the security officer is Victor Estrada Barrios of Guatemala.

The Costa Rican team is due to arrive in Tobago tomorrow for Saturday’s qualifier against hosts Trinidad and Tobago at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet.

Offline sweetiepaper

« Reply #16 on: June 03, 2009, 09:00:41 AM »
T&T Newsday

NEAL BRIZAN, the 2008 Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) Referee of the Year, will lead a team of TT officials for today’s 2010 FIFA World Cup CONCACAF Zone Final Round qualifier between Costa Rica and the United States at the Ricardo Saprissa Stadium, San Jose, Costa Rica.

The assistant referees are Michael Ragoonath, who officiated in the 2002 World Cup in Japan and South Korea, and Joseph Taylor, who was originally due to perform at the 2006 World Cup in Germany, while Geoffrey Hospedales is the fourth official.

The referee assessor is Antonio Marrufo Mendoza of Mexico; the match commissioner is Chet Greene of Antigua/Barbuda and the security officer is Victor Estrada Barrios of Guatemala.

The Costa Rican team is due to arrive in Tobago tomorrow for Saturday’s qualifier against hosts Trinidad and Tobago at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet.

Ahh the plot thickens... Uncle Jack wukkin
"Sweetiepaper does be all over de place"

« Reply #17 on: June 03, 2009, 09:07:26 AM »

I uncomfortable wit d dis assertions bein made here, even if kinda masked

« Reply #18 on: June 03, 2009, 09:30:15 AM »

Uncomfortable with what. How long I saying JW is the boss. The man wukking over time for we to qualify for SA. Like I said in another post is real cards going and share in that game you will see bacchanal thing. When Costa Rica reach Tobago they may have to borrow some Tobago United players to firld a team.

JW is boss.

« Reply #19 on: June 03, 2009, 10:04:44 AM »

We want USA to win this.

Laptop
High Speed Internet
Monitor Cable
LIVE Stream for ESPN

VOILA!

Dem fellas doh have to depend on no FLOW TV or Tobago Cable.  Jes reliable internet service over the duration of de match.

:rotfl: :rotfl:....Palos look at how many items listed are needed for success....5

Murphy's Law going and kick een somewhere along the line, let us not forget the power supply to the said laptop.

I feel they better off hoping for FLOW or Tobago cable to kick een  ;D

But under seriousness...ent tstt is the national team sponsor and have them in all kinda ad and ting for blackberry. Ent they supposed to have some kinda hookup with them.

« Reply #20 on: June 03, 2009, 10:13:06 AM »

We want USA to win this.

Laptop
High Speed Internet
Monitor Cable
LIVE Stream for ESPN

VOILA!

:rotfl: :rotfl:....Palos look at how many items listed are needed for success....5

Murphy's Law going and kick een somewhere along the line, let us not forget the power supply to the said laptop.

I feel they better off hoping for FLOW or Tobago cable to kick een  ;D

But under seriousness...ent tstt is the national team sponsor and have them in all kinda ad and ting for blackberry. Ent they supposed to have some kinda hookup with them.

I have all those things. and did order the game. But truly dont know how i can getit out there to you guys

« Reply #21 on: June 03, 2009, 11:23:11 AM »
We have to back USA to deny costa rica any points from this. Plus demoralise them, bruise them and get some men their second yellow  ;D
You said it all for me mate. 8)

« Reply #22 on: June 03, 2009, 11:35:35 AM »

Uncomfortable with what. How long I saying JW is the boss. The man wukking over time for we to qualify for SA. Like I said in another post is real cards going and share in that game you will see bacchanal thing. When Costa Rica reach Tobago they may have to borrow some Tobago United players to firld a team.

JW is boss.

boss we  know it, we could even be confident in dat fact but we need not say it outloud, remember who offended people on dis board was when d guat man post on here an insinuate, dat Jack buy we through to finals, we new it was ah distinct possibility but didn't taken to kindly to the cheater label dat come wit it,.............. certain ::) people does be reading dis board remember :P
« Last Edit: June 03, 2009, 12:38:03 PM by lefty »

Offline legal alien

« Reply #23 on: June 03, 2009, 12:33:54 PM »
T&T Newsday

whaT'S the difference?

« Reply #24 on: June 03, 2009, 01:00:18 PM »
i just glad for some fresh, new football after all dem repeats and no NBA playoffs til tomorrow nite.

« Reply #25 on: June 03, 2009, 01:20:19 PM »
I'm sure Flow will not show it... hopefully Fuentes let Latapy know about Flow's shite and let him watch it on Directv or something

Also, mods.. Any of these guys are major players for CR : "Costa Rica enters the match with seven players on their roster carrying yellow cards—Ricardo Gonzalez, Junior Diaz, Michael Umana, Armando Alonso, Celso Borges, Esteban Granados and Bryan Ruiz."

tell dem watch it on Sopcast lol

« Reply #26 on: June 03, 2009, 02:50:25 PM »
Now say after me, USA, USA, USA  :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

« Reply #27 on: June 03, 2009, 02:51:45 PM »
Fellas, if USA beat Costa Rica, you think they go come play us with dey tail between dey legs? They would be going all out for a win...so ah think the best case scenario for us is ah DRAW!!

« Reply #28 on: June 03, 2009, 02:56:00 PM »
U.S. QUALIFIER AGAINST COSTA RICA TONIGHT MOVED TO ESPN2

Kickoff Slated for 10:06 p.m. ET (8:06 p.m. local); ESPN2 to Air 30 Minute Pregame Show Starting at 9:30 p.m. ET

« Reply #29 on: June 03, 2009, 03:18:24 PM »

na..veetle does hav a bess espn stream wen games showin

tell dem watch it on Sopcast lol