March 28, 2024, 03:23:22 PM

Author Topic: Foreign-based College Players Thread  (Read 96044 times)

T&T U.S. College Players Thread
« Reply #30 on: October 07, 2005, 02:48:01 PM »
T&T Players in U.S College Round-Up. (07-Oct-2005).[/color]

Julius James leading UCONN.

Julius James is having the season of his life with the University of Connecticut thus far. From scoring the game winner against George Mason University to being named Big East Defensive player of the week, James and UCONN seems well on their way to another Big East title and hence an NCAA appearance. His companion, and former St Anthony's team-mate Steve Sealy, though unable to play this year due to medical reason, is giving all his support to see his team to victory. Julius has started all eleven games thus far and anchored his defense to eight wins and one draw. James and UCONN is confident coming off a 6-0 win to Marquette University and a 3-2 overtime win over Providence, now heading to face big timer Notre Dame University October 8th.

Towering Nore !

Anthony Noriega has proved himself to be a tower of strength in the George Mason defense while starting all 9 games thus far. Anthony, standing at 6 foot 4 inches and weighing 180 pounds carries a wealth of success on his shoulders. From lifting the National Inter-Col title in 2001, then moved on to win the National NAIA title with the University of Mobile in 2002. Now servicing GMU, he has received many defensive accolades while representing them. He has helped George Mason to a 4-4-1 record thus far and he has 1 goal to his name. GMU are contenders to win their conference and enter the 2005 NCAA tournament in November. Noreiga was a tower in the Princes Town SC defense in 2001 and also caught the eye of former T&T coach Rene Simoes that same year. Noreiga was a member of the 2004 national under-23 Olympic team that had current senior team stars such as Silvio Spann and Scott Sealy playing along side Noreiga.

Mbwana Johnson living a dream.

Mbwana Johnson, better known as "Sam" is living a dream while playing in his final year at the UB (University at Buffalo). Not only has Sam been named to several all Tournament teams this season, but he is also playing on a winning team. But this season success did not come over night. As early as two years ago, UB were averaging three wins a season but work hard and received their success. Sam has anchored the defense to ten wins, thus moving them up to 20th in the nation. But their real test will be when they face number 2nd ranked University of Akron on Friday 7th October. Akron is undefeated thus far and unlike UB has competed against quality recognized teams nationwide. Sam stated, “Honestly, I look forward to the challenge. I have almost always been with an underdog team, and it's a great feeling getting a big win.” For Sam and UB this is going to be the biggest game of their lives. He then went on to say, “I can't predict anything, but once our team buds at the right time I believe that we have a good chance at a national tournament appearance.” Only time would tell how the ex-under 17 national and Pleasantville standout would lead his defense against Akron.

Sour season for Fabien Lewis.

Defenseman Fabien Lewis has not been able to play since September 7th when he suffered what might be considered a season ending injury. The 6 foot 180 pounds stalwart has been sour since watching his team helplessly from the side lines. Canisius College (CC) were unable to pick things up from where Lewis left off when he scored the game tying goal on the 7th of September, the same game he got injured. CC enters MAAC competition against Rider University in Lawrenceville New Jersey this Friday. Lewis, a solid defender was called up by ex-national coach Rene Simoes after some impressive display for Naps in 2001.

Farrier & Cruickshank enjoying big time program.

Ancil Farrier formerly of Naparima College and Steve Cruickshank a midfeilder who made his T&T senior team debut under ex-coach Bertille St Clair just recently have been enjoying the success of playing with Southern Connecticut State University (SCSU), which is one of the countries finest division 2 programs. SCSU have been able to compete and defeat teams such as UCONN who participate in division 1 competition. Presently ranked at 6th nationally, they continue to show why they are top NCAA contenders as they trashed Stonehill University 8-0. Farrier has started and played in all twelve games thus far while Cruickshank missed 2 games due to illness. Steve presently has 1 goal and 1 assist while Ancil has 4 assist. They both are instrumental figures in the starting line up for SCSU and strive to capture the NCAA division 2 title this season. Both players, ex-national, also stand a very good chance of playing professionally after school since the program usually produced on average two players each year that play pro in places such as the MLS, A-league and Norway. SCSU now hold a record of 8-2-2.

Final year for Keion Yearwood.

Keion Yearwood has been a tower of strength for the College of Charleston men football team. This year has thus far been the most success with Keion being named to several All-tournament team and grabbing the defensive MVP award. Standing at 6 foot 2 inches, Keion has proved himself to be quality defender in his conference and more so nationally, when they moved on to the NCAA tournament after winning their regular season last year. Keion hopes to lead his team to yet another regular season title and then march them further into the NCAA tournament.

Man who ?....... Manswell !!!!

Sherron Manswell is in ripping form this year in the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) for power house Boston College. After just playing a total of nine games in the 2004 season, Sherron has played in all nine games thus far and has eight goals and two assist. That makes him the leading goal scorer in the very tough and competitive ACC. Sherron is posing a serious threat to his opponent and seems to be finishing the season the same way he started it. Manswell had a double against St. Peter’s College (2003 NCAA 2nd round contenders) and then scoring the game winner against Northeastern University. Boston College now holds a 4-4-1 record (4 wins-, 4- loses and 1 draw).

Carron who ?

Who is ripping up Conference USA once again? That sounds like the job of speedy and clinical Carron Williams. Carron have been Florida International University (FIU) most consistent and productive player. Thus far he has started and played in all 9 games, scoring 7 goals. Carron has won a national title with University of Mobile back in 2002 and then made two back to back appearances with FIU thus far. He has also been named to All-Atlantic first team two years in a row, All-South Region second team and named team MVP in 2004. Carron hopes to continue his fine form. But this year being his senior year, he would strive to gain more success at the NCAA tournament in an attempt to gain the attention of MLS scouts.

Dean Logan nets.

Dean Logan registered his first goal of the season in style when he scored the winning goal over arch-rival William Carey College in overtime. Logan, the offensive leader for University of Mobile (UM), is expected to producing more goals this season. It is not going to be easy since Logan would have to do without the services of Jason Providence who usually delivers numerous and dangerous crosses when in action. Jason is presently nursing an injury. University of Mobile is presently 1-3-2 on the season. Another player who caught the eye of Rene Simoes while playing for Princes Town SC in 2001.

Toby in charge !

Tallented Tobagonian, Darren Toby of the College of Charleston men’s football team is leading goal scorer. He presently has 3 goals and 4 assist, almost topping last season performance and only midway through the season. The broad frame of Darren has made him a dangerous striker in his conference. After bowing out of the NCAA tournament last season in the second round, the former national under 23 stand-out is anxious for revenge. College of Charleston looks likely to yet another regular season title and a NCAA appearance where Darren hopes to leave his mark there.

Teba aims Higher.

Teba McKnight, of the George Mason University football team, presently has 2 goals and 2 assist to his name this season. However, his interest lies most in helping his team to the 2005 NCAA appearance where he would be able to show case himself. Playing the role of creator rather than a finisher this season, McKnight has full confidence in his team’s ability to reach the NCAA tournament. McKnight is All-Conference and All-Region player and returns this seasons as one of the most feared attacked to his Conference.

This has been a production of the Soca Warriors News Press.[/color]

« Last Edit: October 09, 2015, 05:06:39 AM by Flex »

Re: T&T Players in U.S College Round-Up. (07-Oct-2005).
« Reply #31 on: October 07, 2005, 02:57:04 PM »
FREGGING JULIUS IZ AH BIG PLAYER AND ONCE AGAIN DIDNT LET ME DOWN. WATCH DIS YUTE REALLY CHANGED HIS STANDARD OF PLAY AFTER HE LEFT TRINI. BEENIE COME 2010(YES BEENIE GO STILL BE HERE) DIS GO BE DE CAPTAIN :beermug:

« Reply #32 on: October 07, 2005, 02:58:15 PM »
Excellent Flex,we doh need guardian and express dey need you.

« Reply #33 on: October 07, 2005, 05:37:36 PM »
I real glad for these fellahs...It's unfortunate that Steve "stevie" Sealy is out this season....I had the privelege of seeing him play for Fatima while we were there and also at that "other" school. He's an extremely talented player, hope he can pull thru this hurdle in his life...stay strong horse
GO WARRIORS/ GO FATIMA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Offline dervaig

« Reply #34 on: October 07, 2005, 06:42:49 PM »
Remember the name Yohance Marshall.
Plays for the Univ. of South Florida.
He actually played forward for St. Anthony's (I believe),
he plays wing-back for USF, very much in the style of Cafu,
over-lapping, with the skill to take on opposing defenders.

He might see the Trini from U Conn, depending on how far
USF goes in the Big East tournament.

« Reply #35 on: October 07, 2005, 06:46:04 PM »
julius james big player nuff said

« Reply #36 on: October 07, 2005, 11:38:16 PM »
I sorry to hear about them injuries. Hope for a fast healing time. All the best to those players. who can tell me what Lewis doing at that school? He is a bigger player than that.

« Reply #37 on: October 08, 2005, 02:54:25 AM »
Sorry to hear Lewis injured..., ah see Lewis play already and he decent yea,,,, this Williams fella seems good to... and if James get more speed he go be decent too.... but overall T&T need to start producing fast defenders.... Brian Williams and Marvin Faustin was two boss wing back players.... we need more like them and Morris was stable in de back too...

How come Lewis, Logan, Marshall, Carron Williams, Cruickshank and James never made or even a trial for we last Olympic team or U-20 team, were they to old. ?

Andre Pacheco from W Connection was a boss player to on that left wing, he was over looked until some foreign club pick him up then he might get de call like Jones did... ah like Noreiga style, he calm and composed another good defender here.

Excellent work Flex...
« Last Edit: October 08, 2005, 06:44:22 AM by Flex »

« Reply #38 on: October 08, 2005, 09:18:03 AM »
 Marshall, Williams, Cruickshank, Lewis and James too old for under 20. When the Olympic team was doing qualification they were all in college i believe. Some of them was on the team before they went to college Under coach Simone. I remember watching them play against that team from germany.

That team had too much politics with Brian williams and stuart Charles trying to get them connection players national caps and thus help them play professional. Nothing wrong with that but it had better players who they choose not to pick. Mcknight and Anton Joseph should have been on that team because Kevon clement and Devon Mitchell is not all that. We coulda even do with ah James or Lewis as a overlapping wing back/man marker. Two hard nose players.

Trinidad need to stop picking players to help them get caps and pick players who want to play for the country...players who have that desire and determination to win....players who listen and play to instructions and not players who studying girls in d stands and just want to wear Trinidad colours just because!! Them is disgrace to our country.

Because most of those players on the same level, give those who dying to play, who will run till they drop for there country, who would take a body hit or break a leg to prevent goals. Too much friend thing in Trinidad football. Who know who....who talk to this coach for this one.....if alyuh realise, we never reach the world cup yet so we need to try something new. Trying picking players based on performance and not name because if they were winning us games and taking us to the world cup every 4 years then i woulda keep my mouth shot.

Good luck to all Trinidad players in the US. Keep doing alyuh thing and stay focus star. Blessings!!

« Reply #39 on: October 12, 2005, 06:16:10 AM »
Good thing for this report Flex, de T&T Newsday just thief de news and re-write it...

http://newsday.co.tt/moresports.php?p=1#29518

Thats the power of the SW Online....

Offline FineMan

« Reply #40 on: October 13, 2005, 01:46:57 PM »
Big Up to the tobago players: Yearwood, Toby and the speed demon Carron Williams. Played ball with these guys. Excellent players and all-round good guys.

« Reply #41 on: October 13, 2005, 06:00:31 PM »
SAM, FLEX, a shout to the relevant authorities...can we take this matter to court. Newsday stealing information from a source and making it seems as their is against the law..it's called plagiarism and it is against the law. Let we do something about this. Flex, you working too hard to get these information for them to just be taking it like that. UNACCEPTABLE!!

Offline trinibadboy

« Reply #42 on: October 28, 2005, 07:37:16 PM »
Check out clayton state and post them players. Kevin Crooks trinidad and tobago under 20 striker who score against Usa have 6 goals and 6 assist the boy on fire, they have 2 national under 17 players too Ricardo Vasconcellos a goal keeper who had played some games over the all region keeper and has 2 clean sheets out of the 3 games played and Josh stewart who is captain and defender.www.clayton.edu

Offline jaffa

« Reply #43 on: October 28, 2005, 07:44:12 PM »
Josh Stewart is son of Lennox Stewart - he a trini hero - won a bronze medal in olympic games for track and field I think - he definitely did something big - can't remember exactly.  I worked soccer camps w/ Lennox in the US 6-10 years ago - and he brought Josh w/ him.  They are both great fellas - and LEnnox can run - he is a hero.

Offline sadolph

« Reply #44 on: November 17, 2005, 01:42:38 PM »
Congratulations TnT,

On the topic of Trini Collage Players in the US, please do not forget that Sheldon Jardine of Diego Martin is the starting sweeper for FIU 9Florida International University) also Sheldon Best also of Diego Martin is the starting Left Back for the University of North Georgia.

Respectfully,
Stephen Adolph

Offline Teflon Don

« Reply #45 on: November 17, 2005, 02:03:59 PM »

Class:Freshman

Hometown:Trinidad

High School:Queen's Royal

Height / Weight:5-8 / 145

Position:Forward

Hope Scores Three Goals In Men's Soccer 5-0 Win Over Adelphi
http://fairfieldstags.collegesports.com/sports/m-soccer/recaps/101105aab.html

Hope Earn MAAC Weekly Men's Soccer Honors
http://fairfieldstags.collegesports.com/sports/m-soccer/spec-rel/101705aaa.html

Hope Late Goal Lifts Men's Soccer To 2-1 Victory In Conference Opener
http://fairfieldstags.collegesports.com/sports/m-soccer/recaps/100705aaa.html

Men's Soccer Opens Season With 2-1 OT Win Over NC State
http://fairfieldstags.collegesports.com/sports/m-soccer/recaps/090305aaa.html

« Reply #46 on: November 17, 2005, 02:36:22 PM »
Excellent Flex,we doh need guardian and express dey need you.
Ditto. Thanx for the Update

Offline FATZ

• I SELL FOOTBALL JERSEYS
Re: The US College system and our players
« Reply #47 on: November 27, 2005, 08:22:31 PM »
I think a big topic which you mentioned is ....where are the junior national teams? We must talk about that because i can't understand how national teams could disappear...Go T&T

i don't think the teams disappear but the players do. Most young players leave to take up schols because they think after a few years in college, they could get a contract and start to make some money so they rather go that way than to stay here. Half the youths who go out there to college never come back and also get lost somewhere in the wilderness of has beens. I know quite a few fellas who went out there to play football and now, after college they aren't even playing ball anymore, they either shacked up with a whitey or hustling. The MTV lifestyle has blinded many a good player.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2005, 10:13:01 AM by Tallman »
WELCOME TO DINSLEY OUT IN THE STREETZ THEY CALL ME FATZ

Without Him, I am nothing but with Him I can do all things. Phil 4:13

« Reply #48 on: November 27, 2005, 08:32:07 PM »
I think a big topic which you mentioned is ....where are the junior national teams? We must talk about that because i can't understand how national teams could disappear...Go T&T

i don't think the teams disappear but the players do. Most young players leave to take up schols because they think after a few years in college, they could get a contract and start to make some money so they rather go that way than to stay here. Half the youths who go out there to college never come back and also get lost somewhere in the wilderness of has beens. I know quite a few fellas who went out there to play football and now, after college they aren't even playing ball anymore, they either shacked up with a whitey or hustling. The MTV lifestyle has blinded many a good player.

iz not that iz them youth dat does go to college and by de time they graduste them have ah bachelors and wont work fuh pro league fees so them does end up in ah big fete match team instead ah de pro league
« Last Edit: November 28, 2005, 10:13:12 AM by Tallman »

Offline FATZ

« Reply #49 on: November 27, 2005, 08:51:02 PM »

iz not that iz them youth dat does go to college and by de time they graduste them have ah bachelors and wont work fuh pro league fees so them does end up in ah big fete match team instead ah de pro league

How much of them end up with degrees?? we should get a way to find out an exact figure and what kind of degree. These days, yuh need an honours degree just to piss in a company toilet and i sure more than half them fellas just scraping through in school.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2005, 10:13:25 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #50 on: November 27, 2005, 08:54:37 PM »
you know how much player we lost what eva happen to dean logan is he still a top player in the usa
« Last Edit: November 28, 2005, 10:13:35 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #51 on: November 27, 2005, 08:57:32 PM »
fatz you rellllllll stupid to say shyt like honors degree. all de man who playing in college must complete school professor fatz

jah and yuh ask what kind of degree that mean anything to anybody???

to wipe ah toilet yuh need ah degree

come nah fatz i dout yuh that stupid

when yuh have ah bachelors yuh have to work fuh ah certain paycheck
« Last Edit: November 28, 2005, 10:13:44 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #52 on: November 27, 2005, 09:02:07 PM »
The MTV lifestyle has blinded many a good player.

Steups..ah know MTV is a de devil and a big corruptor but why yuh didnt say BET instead eh.. to me they following the 'gansta' lifestyle.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2005, 10:13:54 AM by Tallman »

Offline FATZ

« Reply #53 on: November 27, 2005, 09:05:34 PM »
fatz you rellllllll stupid to say shyt like honors degree. all de man who playing in college must complete school professor fatz

jah and yuh ask what kind of degree that mean anything to anybody???

to wipe ah toilet yuh need ah degree

come nah fatz i dout yuh that stupid

when yuh have ah bachelors yuh have to work fuh ah certain paycheck

I said to piss in the company toilet breds, what it really meant was to be even considered for a job you need to have a degree with honours and i was speaking about Trinidad. What school are you talking about that they must complete before they play in college???
« Last Edit: November 28, 2005, 10:14:05 AM by Tallman »

Offline FATZ

« Reply #54 on: November 27, 2005, 09:08:55 PM »
The MTV lifestyle has blinded many a good player.

Steups..ah know MTV is a de devil and a big corruptor but why yuh didnt say BET instead eh.. to me they following the 'gansta' lifestyle.

BET too but more MTV, man like Diddy is on MTV and MTV has more of the reality shows like pimp your ride, cribs and that kind of shit and that is what fooling people cause i watch cribs and does dream too but i don't let it carry me away.... ;D :rotfl:
« Last Edit: November 28, 2005, 10:14:16 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #55 on: November 27, 2005, 09:16:11 PM »
fatz when these trinis come up here to play they are held to academic standards

thats what i'm talking about
« Last Edit: November 28, 2005, 10:14:27 AM by Tallman »

Offline FATZ

« Reply #56 on: November 27, 2005, 09:17:34 PM »
fatz when these trinis come up here to play they are held to academic standards

thats what i'm talking about

Does a community college and a normal college have the same academic standards?
« Last Edit: November 28, 2005, 10:14:37 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #57 on: November 27, 2005, 09:19:57 PM »
breds if we was considering community colleges i would be in the college players line up cause i play fuh tidewater.
i talking bout uconn, fsu, ,morehouse and dem big boys
« Last Edit: November 28, 2005, 10:14:47 AM by Tallman »

Offline FATZ

« Reply #58 on: November 27, 2005, 09:24:12 PM »
I know a fella who went morehouse and was playing ball and he wasn't a bright bulb at all, i can't remember his name now but he was about a 30 watt or so.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2005, 10:14:58 AM by Tallman »

Offline FATZ

« Reply #59 on: November 27, 2005, 09:30:40 PM »
breds if we was considering community colleges i would be in the college players line up cause i play fuh tidewater.
i talking bout uconn, fsu, ,morehouse and dem big boys

A next thing, how much of our youths actually get to play for the big colleges??
« Last Edit: November 28, 2005, 10:15:10 AM by Tallman »