May 18, 2013, 11:48:59 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the 2009 Gold Cup Games.  (Read 25943 times)

Re: Thread for the 2009 Gold Cup Games.
« Reply #120 on: July 04, 2009, 07:17:03 PM »
1-0 USA ..... Freddy Adu

« Reply #121 on: July 04, 2009, 07:38:34 PM »
USA could play mighty Grenada,(conquerors of TT )with a bench team and beat them,which they would surely do,shows how much better they are than most teams in the region.We have been playing serious football longer than them,its also a minority sport in the USA,what more can I say bout our football. >:( :( :(

« Reply #122 on: July 04, 2009, 07:42:40 PM »
It is pathetic to think that we lost to this team.

Maturana should never be allowed on Trini soil again!!!!

« Reply #123 on: July 04, 2009, 07:47:51 PM »
Notice the quality of the US crosses .... bench players and all

Offline Arazi

« Reply #124 on: July 04, 2009, 07:52:13 PM »
Notice the quality of the US crosses .... bench players and all
if  you notice the amount of time that man have to put in a good cross, i'd be disappointed if the couldn't put in a good cross..

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #125 on: July 04, 2009, 08:07:45 PM »
USA could play mighty Grenada,(conquerors of TT )with a bench team and beat them,which they would surely do,shows how much better they are than most teams in the region.We have been playing serious football longer than them,its also a minority sport in the USA,what more can I say bout our football. >:( :( :(

In all respects you do understand that US have a population of over 350mil, T&T have 1.3 mil even though is a minority sport in US 350 mil compare to 1.3 mil shows the disparity between the two countries... 

« Reply #126 on: July 04, 2009, 08:09:23 PM »
Grenada ain't looking good at all.....but dey beat Trinidad.

« Reply #127 on: July 04, 2009, 08:12:52 PM »

In all respects you do understand that US have a population of over 350mil, T&T have 1.3 mil even though is a minority sport in US 350 mil compare to 1.3 mil shows the disparity between the two countries... 

nah dat argument ain't so strong,is more than that.With dat argument China should be doing better on the world scene and Trinidad with 1.3 mil should have still beat Grenada with 90,000.
« Last Edit: July 04, 2009, 08:14:47 PM by royal »

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #128 on: July 04, 2009, 08:17:18 PM »

nah dat argument ain't so strong,is more than that.With dat argument China should be doing better on the world scene.

Am not saying all countries with high population must be good teams am just saying they have so many more players to pick from the likely hood of them being better than us is more prominent... in addition they have better youth programs and facility compared to Trinidad i dunno why its so surprising that there better than us to some ppl...

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #129 on: July 04, 2009, 08:19:40 PM »

nah dat argument ain't so strong,is more than that.With dat argument China should be doing better on the world scene and Trinidad with 1.3 mil should have still beat Grenada with 90,000.

Trinidad will usually beat Grenada but still 1.3 mil to 90k is still not sufficient from 1.3mil to 350mil... and seriously what squad we put out there for them to beat us i know it was local based but dang watching the game jeez them fellas can't even touch the ball...

« Reply #130 on: July 04, 2009, 08:20:42 PM »

nah dat argument ain't so strong,is more than that.With dat argument China should be doing better on the world scene.

Am not saying all countries with high population must be good teams am just saying they have so many more players to pick from the likely hood of them being better than us is more prominent... in addition they have better youth programs and facility compared to Trinidad i dunno why its so surprising that there better than us to some ppl...

cool

« Reply #131 on: July 04, 2009, 08:27:52 PM »
Grenada looking real amateurish.

US now score again. 3-0

« Reply #132 on: July 04, 2009, 08:49:26 PM »
I can understand population having something to do with quality but that arguement only holds tight for football countries like Brazil,Argentina Germany etc,not a country like USA or Canada.Trinidad football should be on equal footing with the likes of USA and the rest.We have some of the most skillful players in CONCACAF but yet still we get beaten by the likes of Grenada.Sometimes I am so,so sad when we are beaten by inferior opponents and have to wonder if our people is suffering with some kind of mental block,we have always achieved but never build on our achievements.I live in England and whenever I come to TT the first thing I want, is to look at our club football,I think we have players comparable with anywhere in the world.Why the hell we cannot cross that barrier to take us to the promised land of equality with the likes of Mexico and USA,I am not saying we must beat them each time we meet,if we can then good but whenever we meet we start as out and out under-dogs.That surely cannot be right for a country with such a footballing culture,culture counts more than population.I hope that one day when we play Mexico or USA,I can say with some confidence that we can win,I cannot say that right now,not even if we play a Caribbean neighbour.

« Reply #133 on: July 04, 2009, 08:58:58 PM »

US now score again. 3-0
[/quote

Jack did say Mucurapo could beat them. So if we did sent Mucurapo 2 JA we woulda b playin d US 2nite

Offline Corbeaux

« Reply #134 on: July 04, 2009, 09:06:26 PM »
Just finish watchin d game, de score should have been 8-0. Even doh is Greanda dey seem to have the same weaknness that most Caribbean teams have except for Trinidad in 2006. They can't counterattack to save dey lives and just give the ball back to the opposition when they win it. You can put it down to lack of quality, but from seeing Trinidad under Beenie I put it down to lack of good coaching.

« Reply #135 on: July 04, 2009, 09:36:33 PM »
Jack did say Mucurapo could beat them. So if we did sent Mucurapo 2 JA we woulda b playin d US 2nite
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #136 on: July 04, 2009, 10:08:56 PM »
I can understand population having something to do with quality but that arguement only holds tight for football countries like Brazil,Argentina Germany etc,not a country like USA or Canada.Trinidad football should be on equal footing with the likes of USA and the rest.We have some of the most skillful players in CONCACAF but yet still we get beaten by the likes of Grenada.Sometimes I am so,so sad when we are beaten by inferior opponents and have to wonder if our people is suffering with some kind of mental block,we have always achieved but never build on our achievements.I live in England and whenever I come to TT the first thing I want, is to look at our club football,I think we have players comparable with anywhere in the world.Why the hell we cannot cross that barrier to take us to the promised land of equality with the likes of Mexico and USA,I am not saying we must beat them each time we meet,if we can then good but whenever we meet we start as out and out under-dogs.That surely cannot be right for a country with such a footballing culture,culture counts more than population.I hope that one day when we play Mexico or USA,I can say with some confidence that we can win,I cannot say that right now,not even if we play a Caribbean neighbour.

I don't subscribe to that population argument because from a population of 300,000,000+ the usa has never produced a player like Latas or Yorke.  Costa Rica have a much smaller population than Mexico......so does Honduras and El Salvador.  If population size and talent pool had anything to do with anything, then mo Country in South America should really be able to compete with Brazil and Brazil themselves for that matter, should only be marginally below the usa, seeing that their population is only 2/3 what the usa own is.  Most European countries shouldn't be able to shine usa's shoes.  Football developent is all about a country's attitude about the development ofthe game from within their federation, and that applies to everyone, from the top man down to the waterboy, and also, the attitude of that country's population and how it may affect all of their players' approach to self development and discipline.  There's a reason why a man like Beckham use to practice free-kicks to to point of obsession, why the american players are so disciplined and why men like Kemwyne Jones playing top flight English football and still struggling with his first touch.

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #137 on: July 04, 2009, 11:29:57 PM »

I don't subscribe to that population argument because from a population of 300,000,000+ the usa has never produced a player like Latas or Yorke.  Costa Rica have a much smaller population than Mexico......so does Honduras and El Salvador.  If population size and talent pool had anything to do with anything, then mo Country in South America should really be able to compete with Brazil and Brazil themselves for that matter, should only be marginally below the usa, seeing that their population is only 2/3 what the usa own is.  Most European countries shouldn't be able to shine usa's shoes.  Football developent is all about a country's attitude about the development ofthe game from within their federation, and that applies to everyone, from the top man down to the waterboy, and also, the attitude of that country's population and how it may affect all of their players' approach to self development and discipline.  There's a reason why a man like Beckham use to practice free-kicks to to point of obsession, why the american players are so disciplined and why men like Kemwyne Jones playing top flight English football and still struggling with his first touch.

You guys gettin tie up on the whole idea of population in what men was talking bout this between US and Trinidad u think them other nations like Brazil, England etc. will be what they is with a population of 1.3mil? O and for the record not saying larger population automatically means better team, just saying it makes it more likely because more players to choose from...  but then again still off the idea comparing all of them to a island of 1.3mil if we had 45mil ppl here i sure we would of been a better team get where am getting at?
« Last Edit: July 04, 2009, 11:41:52 PM by Trinidogg »

Offline Corbeaux

« Reply #138 on: July 05, 2009, 12:01:30 AM »
The size of the population is just half of the equation. Countries with a large population and that are considered footballing nations will always dominate non footballing nations with huge populations sich as the USA China and Russia and the footballing nations with the smaller populations should be on the same level with the non footballing nations with huge populations such as Trinidad and that is why i think that we are still enormously underachieving.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2009, 12:03:54 AM by Corbeaux »

« Reply #139 on: July 05, 2009, 01:16:41 AM »

You guys gettin tie up on the whole idea of population in what men was talking bout this between US and Trinidad u think them other nations like Brazil, England etc. will be what they is with a population of 1.3mil? O and for the record not saying larger population automatically means better team, just saying it makes it more likely because more players to choose from...  but then again still off the idea comparing all of them to a island of 1.3mil if we had 45mil ppl here i sure we would of been a better team get where am getting at?

I don't think you really ketch where I am coming from.  Why is it that China isn't even one of the best footballing nations in Asia, much less the world?  What about India?  How powerful is India in its own region? If our collective attitudes towards the game and towards how we develop OUR game as a nation were different, we would have had a better team.  So, to answer your question: do I think with a nation of 45 million, if our team wouldn't be better?  I don't think even you can truly anwer that, because there are so many different factors that come in to play with a much larger population that, as a nation, we would be in a whole different set of circumstances altogether.  I am focusing my point on the here and now and what I am saying is that, even with a population with as small as one point how many ever million, compared to the bigger countries we have to contend against on any level, if our attitudes toward the game were different, we would be a far more successful footballing nation.  The only reason the usa, Costa Rica, Guatemala, VENEZUELA, Honduras and other "comparable" nations are better than us is because they have better methods in place of converting all their talented players into skilled players.   

*my ultimate point is, that we tend to make the whole "talent pool" thing much, much more of a factor than need be, if it should even be a factor in the first place* 
« Last Edit: July 05, 2009, 01:19:22 AM by Mango Chow! »

• As bad as you think you are, we're living in a ...
« Reply #140 on: July 05, 2009, 01:27:44 AM »

US now score again. 3-0

Because they are amateurish.
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/RBZzC1-IaiI" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/RBZzC1-IaiI</a>

« Reply #141 on: July 05, 2009, 01:32:04 AM »
As far as the Haiti game ... the writing was on the wall. I feel bad fuh dem, buh as to how things played out yuh din need a crystal ball.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/RBZzC1-IaiI" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/RBZzC1-IaiI</a>

« Reply #142 on: July 05, 2009, 01:51:39 AM »
Steups. We do rel folly by not qualifying for dis oui.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #143 on: July 05, 2009, 03:24:36 AM »
Rogers the star as U.S. cruises

The United States returned home from the FIFA Confederations Cup and used one of its youngest lineups in recent memory to rout Grenada 4-0 Saturday night as it opened the title defense in the regional championship of North and Central America and the Caribbean, the CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Freddy Adu scored the opening goal in the seventh minute and Stuart Holden doubled the lead in the 31st, both fed by Robbie Rogers.

Rogers scored in the 60th minute and Charlie Davies, one of the few players kept on from the Confederations Cup, got the final goal in the 68th.

(continue)

« Reply #144 on: July 05, 2009, 03:28:43 AM »
Some years ago when our population was just one million we would not even consider playing Venezuela who had a population of 23 million.The reason was that their main sport was baseball and they just would not have been able to compete with us.Their amazing transformation started about 30 years ago and I feel sure they are now better than us,if not they have caught up with us.
Let me draw a parallel,with a population of just about 4 million we ruled the cricket world for near on 20 years,I know its a different game but it requires the same effort to win.I have to believe that to-day's generation have a different view of life and sport in general and you can only get out what you put in.I would just like to add one more small fact;Uruguay(pop 3 million) beat Brazil(pop 157 million) in a World Cup Final,

« Reply #145 on: July 05, 2009, 04:17:54 AM »

US now score again. 3-0

Grenada look no less amateurish than we did when we lost.

« Reply #146 on: July 05, 2009, 05:02:57 AM »
We should not have lost to them(USA)the way we did, but there were extenuating circumstances,Maturana and his odd selection criteria;we also played a full USA team not a bloody reserve  team as Grenada did.

« Reply #147 on: July 05, 2009, 09:34:01 AM »

US now score again. 3-0

Absolutely. We looked worse even?

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #148 on: July 05, 2009, 11:31:29 AM »

I don't think you really ketch where I am coming from.  Why is it that China isn't even one of the best footballing nations in Asia, much less the world?  What about India?  How powerful is India in its own region? If our collective attitudes towards the game and towards how we develop OUR game as a nation were different, we would have had a better team.  So, to answer your question: do I think with a nation of 45 million, if our team wouldn't be better?  I don't think even you can truly anwer that, because there are so many different factors that come in to play with a much larger population that, as a nation, we would be in a whole different set of circumstances altogether.  I am focusing my point on the here and now and what I am saying is that, even with a population with as small as one point how many ever million, compared to the bigger countries we have to contend against on any level, if our attitudes toward the game were different, we would be a far more successful footballing nation.  The only reason the usa, Costa Rica, Guatemala, VENEZUELA, Honduras and other "comparable" nations are better than us is because they have better methods in place of converting all their talented players into skilled players.   

*my ultimate point is, that we tend to make the whole "talent pool" thing much, much more of a factor than need be, if it should even be a factor in the first place* 

I Get u guys point but i just would never believe if Brazil was the same football crazy and had a population of 1.3 they will be so dominant just can't see it... same with T&T if we had 45 mil and the same football mindset we all will expect a much better team...

« Reply #149 on: July 05, 2009, 12:02:04 PM »

US now score again. 3-0

Absolutely. We looked worse even?

COSIGN