May 24, 2013, 01:48:57 AM

Author Topic: Volney: 34 is my lucky number  (Read 168 times)

Online Jah Gol

Volney: 34 is my lucky number
« on: April 14, 2013, 03:30:43 PM »
Volney: 34 is my lucky number
Originally printed at http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Volney-34-is-my-lucky-number-202876911.html

By Asha Javeed asha.javeed@trinidadexpress.com
April 13, 2013
Numbers are oftentimes symbolic.

For instance, in the betting game Play Whe, the number 34 is blind man.

For the Government of Trinidad and Tobago, the number 34 and the section of law which it refers to is a vulnerable point for the People’s Partnership administration.

Section 34 is a section of the Administration of Justice (Indictable Proceedings) Act which was proclaimed ahead of the other sections and allowed businessmen Ishwar Galbaransingh and Steve Ferguson, among others, to apply to the courts to be declared innocent because their legal matters were more than ten years old.

Former justice minister Herbert Volney was fired over the fiasco. 

But he has developed an affinity to the number, so much so that his new car, a red Audi, carries the number plate PCY 34.

The subject caused much discussion in the blogging and Facebook community yesterday with one blogger stating: “34 is the new 36 for you, oui”. (In Play Whe, 36 is jackass)

In response to the commentary on the subject, Volney stated: “Isn’t she a beauty? I propose to ride on 34 my lucky number all the days of my life as it has brought me true emancipation. And who vex lorse.”

The defiant St Joseph MP, who last week expressed surprise at High Court Judge Mira Dean-Armorer’s decision to dismiss the lawsuits of Galbaransingh and Ferguson on the constitutionality of the repeal of Section 34, went on to say:

“And I truly have found with it the peace of Jehovah God. Those who run from adversity will be consumed by it is the message in my story. I have baptised my wheels in the name of 34, that it be a remembrance of the courage of my conviction to do what was necessary to address the worm in the belly of my task only myself to become the worm itself.”

Former government minister and CLICO official Carlos John, another one with interest in the Section 34 ruling, also selected the number 34 for acquisition of his daughter Candice’s new vehicle.

That silver two-door Mercedes-Benz coupe is PCS 34. 

Re: Volney: 34 is my lucky number
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2013, 06:03:49 PM »
Well once he enjoying it
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2013, 06:48:01 PM »
Anybody actually taking on this clown?
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2013, 07:11:54 PM »
Shameless,wutless, nasty, stink, dutty red negro!   Real jokes in this place yes.

Online Jah Gol

« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2013, 05:53:54 AM »
Shameless,wutless, nasty, stink, dutty red negro!   Real jokes in this place yes.
It is a disgusting show of contempt for the people.

« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2013, 06:19:21 AM »
Read this article...and tell me if you REALLY think he care one ass:

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-04-15/volney-not-me-and-pp-again

Never again! That’s the position from the People’s Partnership’s St Joseph MP Herbert Volney on two counts: never again wearing jeans to attend Parliament as he did last Friday; and never again wanting to contest St Joseph for the People’s Partnership in a general election, beginning in 2015.

“I decided in recent weeks I don’t want to contest again because the PP will lose St Joseph and the entire East-West Corridor to the PNM, as this Government is operating exactly how (former Prime Minister) Patrick Manning was—not listening to the people,” Volney said  yesterday. “I’ll have my own say in 2015 if Government continues as they are—St Joseph people will know who not to vote for.’’

Volney has been a PP backbencher since being fired from the post of Justice Minister last September in connection with the Section 34 proclamation issue. In an interview yesterday, Volney said House Speaker Wade Mark called him in after last Friday’s House of Representatives session to advise him against wearing jeans—instead of the traditional suit—to the House as he had done that day. Volney’s attire had been the subject of some after-session debate by PNM MPs last week.

PNM’s Amery Browne, who expressed concern, said MPs do not come to Parliament in jeans since the dress code under protocol for MPs is a suit. Yesterday, Volney said the Speaker did not reprimand him, but cautioned him about wearing the jeans and a sport jacket to Parliament. “The Speaker spoke to me about my attire after the session last Friday, yes,” he said.

“I explained I had come straight from my constituency—that’s how I am attired when I work among the people—and rather than be late for Parliament to go and change into a suit, I decided to come in my sports jacket and jeans. “I informed the Speaker that I meant no disrespect and the next time I will come in my lounge suit. He spoke to me on the issue and I agreed with him. He didn’t reprimand me, we just had a mature chat. The matter was sorted out.”

Volney said he had come last Friday to the Parliament in his new red Audi A6, which bears a the licence plate PCY 34. Explaining the licence plate, Volney said: “I chose 34 as that number has made me unusually respected in T&T—I see it as my lucky number...Also, three and four make seven, which is also my lucky number.

“Indeed, there should be no big celebration on the recent judgment concerning Steve Ferguson on the Section 34 issue, since the truth hasn’t really prevailed,” he said. “The Privy Council also overturns constitutional matters like these all the time.” Volney said he had given the Solicitor General a statement on the Section 34 issue as an affidavit, but this was not used in the issue, though a statement by Attorney General Anand Ramlogan was. He said the AG had made certain findings which were “wholly inconsistent” with his.

“I was the minister who conceived Section 34 and piloted it, so my evidence should have been primary evidence and the AG’s statement, secondary evidence,” Volney said. “But the court didn’t have the benefit of the primary source of evidence which was me.” Volney, who says he was “emancipated” by the Section 34 issue, said: I’m free to represent society with my views...I seek nothing more from this Government. Not me and the ‘monarchy’ again—I done with dat! I can’t have these kinds of bedfellows again.”

“I will certainly have my say in 2015, but I won’t be returning to contest. I’ve notified my constituents. If Government continues going the way they are—not listening to the people like Mr Manning did—they’ll be decimated in St Joseph and the East-West Corridor in general election and will return to their 15 ‘heartland’ seats.”

He added: “The PNM doesn’t even have to work St Joseph, people won’t be voting PNM in 2015, they’ll just be voting against the PP. At this rate, the same thing that happened with Manning will happen with Kamla Persad-Bissessar. They’re making the same mistakes and heading to similar destruction.” Asked if he would speak out against the PP in 2015, Volney said: “I’ll do what my conscience tells me to...”

Asked if he would heed PP requests for him to contest again, Volney added: “I leave it in God’s hands. The way the PP’s going now, I will not be a part of that. But two years is a long time in politics, they can still make a turnaround. They need to start listening to the people and she needs to get rid of a few people in her Cabinet.” Volney, who says he votes on special majority legislation according to bills, said he supported the Anti-Doping in Sports bill last week.

But he added: “The epicentre of change has always been St Joseph, it’s like an earthquake that ripples in all direction...and the most powerful position I’ve held is to be a Member of Parliament. One can bring down a government or make a government.”
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Online Jah Gol

« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2013, 06:46:14 AM »
Everyday I ask myself what next, they can't get any more obscene. Then I'm proven wrong.

« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2013, 08:11:16 AM »
Everyday I ask myself what next, they can't get any more obscene. Then I'm proven wrong.

Always remember we are the land of the limbo low is very low.

« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2013, 08:52:57 AM »
Volney: Not me and PP again
Published: Monday, April 15, 2013Gail AlexanderText Size:  12px 14px 16px 18px 20px 22px Gail Alexander
Published: Monday, April 15, 2013
'PNM will regain corridor in 2015'
Never again! That’s the position from the People’s Partnership’s St Joseph MP Herbert Volney on two counts: never again wearing jeans to attend Parliament as he did last Friday; and never again wanting to contest St Joseph for the People’s Partnership in a general election, beginning in 2015.

“I decided in recent weeks I don’t want to contest again because the PP will lose St Joseph and the entire East-West Corridor to the PNM, as this Government is operating exactly how (former Prime Minister) Patrick Manning was—not listening to the people,” Volney said  yesterday. “I’ll have my own say in 2015 if Government continues as they are—St Joseph people will know who not to vote for.’’

Volney has been a PP backbencher since being fired from the post of Justice Minister last September in connection with the Section 34 proclamation issue. In an interview yesterday, Volney said House Speaker Wade Mark called him in after last Friday’s House of Representatives session to advise him against wearing jeans—instead of the traditional suit—to the House as he had done that day. Volney’s attire had been the subject of some after-session debate by PNM MPs last week.

PNM’s Amery Browne, who expressed concern, said MPs do not come to Parliament in jeans since the dress code under protocol for MPs is a suit. Yesterday, Volney said the Speaker did not reprimand him, but cautioned him about wearing the jeans and a sport jacket to Parliament. “The Speaker spoke to me about my attire after the session last Friday, yes,” he said.

“I explained I had come straight from my constituency—that’s how I am attired when I work among the people—and rather than be late for Parliament to go and change into a suit, I decided to come in my sports jacket and jeans. “I informed the Speaker that I meant no disrespect and the next time I will come in my lounge suit. He spoke to me on the issue and I agreed with him. He didn’t reprimand me, we just had a mature chat. The matter was sorted out.”

Volney said he had come last Friday to the Parliament in his new red Audi A6, which bears a the licence plate PCY 34. Explaining the licence plate, Volney said: “I chose 34 as that number has made me unusually respected in T&T—I see it as my lucky number...Also, three and four make seven, which is also my lucky number.

“Indeed, there should be no big celebration on the recent judgment concerning Steve Ferguson on the Section 34 issue, since the truth hasn’t really prevailed,” he said. “The Privy Council also overturns constitutional matters like these all the time.” Volney said he had given the Solicitor General a statement on the Section 34 issue as an affidavit, but this was not used in the issue, though a statement by Attorney General Anand Ramlogan was. He said the AG had made certain findings which were “wholly inconsistent” with his.

“I was the minister who conceived Section 34 and piloted it, so my evidence should have been primary evidence and the AG’s statement, secondary evidence,” Volney said. “But the court didn’t have the benefit of the primary source of evidence which was me.” Volney, who says he was “emancipated” by the Section 34 issue, said: I’m free to represent society with my views...I seek nothing more from this Government. Not me and the ‘monarchy’ again—I done with dat! I can’t have these kinds of bedfellows again.”

“I will certainly have my say in 2015, but I won’t be returning to contest. I’ve notified my constituents. If Government continues going the way they are—not listening to the people like Mr Manning did—they’ll be decimated in St Joseph and the East-West Corridor in general election and will return to their 15 ‘heartland’ seats.”

He added: “The PNM doesn’t even have to work St Joseph, people won’t be voting PNM in 2015, they’ll just be voting against the PP. At this rate, the same thing that happened with Manning will happen with Kamla Persad-Bissessar. They’re making the same mistakes and heading to similar destruction.” Asked if he would speak out against the PP in 2015, Volney said: “I’ll do what my conscience tells me to...”

Asked if he would heed PP requests for him to contest again, Volney added: “I leave it in God’s hands. The way the PP’s going now, I will not be a part of that. But two years is a long time in politics, they can still make a turnaround. They need to start listening to the people and she needs to get rid of a few people in her Cabinet.” Volney, who says he votes on special majority legislation according to bills, said he supported the Anti-Doping in Sports bill last week.

But he added: “The epicentre of change has always been St Joseph, it’s like an earthquake that ripples in all direction...and the most powerful position I’ve held is to be a Member of Parliament. One can bring down a government or make a government.”