March 29, 2024, 06:58:51 AM

Author Topic: Hamilton could hand Marvin Andrews shock SPL return  (Read 3012 times)

Hamilton could hand Marvin Andrews shock SPL return
« on: July 07, 2009, 06:57:30 PM »
Exclusive: Hamilton could hand Marvin Andrews shock SPL return.
By: Neil Cameron (Daily Record).

Former Rangers star Marvin Andrews could be set for one more crack at the SPL with Hamilton Accies.

Record Sport understands the 33-year-old centre-half is one of a number of players on New Douglas Park boss Billy Reid's radar and he may be offered a deal.

Reid wants to bring some experienced players into his young squad for their second SPL season and Andrews fits the bill - if he can prove his fitness.

Accies are now back in training and Reid will run the rule over a number of trialists over the next few weeks.

Andrews won his 100th cap for Trinidad and Tobago last month and helped Raith Rovers land the Second Division title last season.

The big defender, famously a committed Christian, helped Rangers win the 2005 SPL championship on Helicopter Sunday.

Andrews injured his cruciate ligament that season but he refused medical treatment and continued to play for the Ibrox side, claiming God would look after him.

He only missed one match and became a cult hero with the Rangers support because of his wholehearted and honest approach to the game.

Andrews' first club in Scotland was Raith but he moved to Livingston in 2000 and helped the Almondvale outfit lift the 2004 League Cup.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2009, 06:59:51 PM by E-man »

Re: Hamilton could hand Marvin Andrews shock SPL return
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2009, 07:27:03 PM »
Now I know the SPL eh a good league. Dey considering Dog. Nah man d worse ting in tugs.

Raith fans strting to deal wit d lost.

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2009, 08:10:15 PM »
In the summer of 2007 FF and I interviewed Dog at his father's house in Brooklyn. Reading the article above brings to mind what he said at the end of the interview.

"Finally as our meeting was coming to a close, Marvin divulged to us that his decision to rejoin Raith Rovers last season was primarily influenced by the Almighty and as a result of this move his autobiography will be published in a few months with the full endorsement of the next Prime Minister of England, Gordon Brown - a huge Raith Rovers supporter. Even though he is happy to be at Rovers, Marvin indicated with a boyish grin on his face that he will be back in the “top flight” soon and is still willing and available as a player to help his country recapture the glory that was achieved in 2006. Who can doubt the path of a Warrior who’s truly blessed."

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2009, 08:27:13 PM »
In the summer of 2007 FF and I interviewed Dog at his father's house in Brooklyn. Reading the article above brings to mind what he said at the end of the interview.

"Finally as our meeting was coming to a close, Marvin divulged to us that his decision to rejoin Raith Rovers last season was primarily influenced by the Almighty and as a result of this move his autobiography will be published in a few months with the full endorsement of the next Prime Minister of England, Gordon Brown - a huge Raith Rovers supporter. Even though he is happy to be at Rovers, Marvin indicated with a boyish grin on his face that he will be back in the “top flight” soon and is still willing and available as a player to help his country recapture the glory that was achieved in 2006. Who can doubt the path of a Warrior who’s truly blessed."

D steps of a righteous man is ordered by the LORD.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2009, 09:12:55 PM by weary1969 »

« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2009, 09:14:05 PM »
From todays Courier;

Raith resigned to losing Andrews
Raith Rovers boss John McGlynn accepted the lure of top flight football will prove stronger for Marvin Andrews, who is being linked with Hamilton, than the attractions of Stark’s Park, writes Graeme Dey.

He said, “I knew before the end of last season that Hamilton had approached Marvin, so I’m not worried to hear of them being mentioned in connection with him.”

He continued, “I know we cannot compete with the SPL for his signature, and how could we look to stop someone doing something that would benefit them professionally and financially?

“It would be great for a man who has returned from a horrific injury to go and play again in the Premier League in front of huge crowds at Parkhead and Ibrox.

“From Raith Rovers’ point of view we’d be disappointed, but if Marvin were to go somewhere else then we do have alternatives.

« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2009, 10:38:52 AM »
Dog might be the worst thing in a tugs but he is the best thing in the air.

He butting ball all day
and in a long ball boom kick league Big head is king.

weary You ever see dog play in the SPL, The man does look real good.

he running up and down tackling hard and winning everything in the air, is only in trinidad he does look bad.

It is all about strengts , weaknesses, tactics

That is the key to coaching, that is what bennie had on them and why we make world cup.

He knew where to put the men we had and how to play to make us better. Latapy still need to learn this, but he now start so he have time

« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2009, 10:46:07 AM »
Dog might be the worst thing in a tugs but he is the best thing in the air.

He butting ball all day
and in a long ball boom kick league Big head is king.

weary You ever see dog play in the SPL, The man does look real good.

he running up and down tackling hard and winning everything in the air, is only in trinidad he does look bad.

It is all about strengts , weaknesses, tactics

That is the key to coaching, that is what bennie had on them and why we make world cup.

He knew where to put the men we had and how to play to make us better. Latapy still need to learn this, but he now start so he have time

Brudder I IS DOG BIGGEST FAN. That was 4 all d haters. As Marv say I BELIEVE I have d juzzy.

« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2009, 11:42:38 AM »
is only in Trinidad he does look bad...hear what de man say...mama
allyuh good yes
but say what

« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2009, 01:27:48 PM »
allyuh good yes
but say what

:rotfl: Ent!!!  Ah feel dat statement could be attributed to some of our other foreign based players though.

« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2009, 01:55:18 PM »
Dat forkin header he missed against costa rica was real :frustrated: :shameonyou:! and the mexico mistake kinda set me ah back on his inclusion to the squad. ah wish we could sort out this defence before the next gold cup.

« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2009, 02:30:49 PM »
A bad game or two could never tarnish dis man's rep.  He deserves a chance to atone and or decide if is time to call it a day on de international scene.  He has certainly earned dat right after 100 International Caps.  Yuh know how much time dat man spend in a plane to come back and wear de red, white and black?  Dey call de man de Head Boy in de BBC Football Academy.  Out of all de ballmen around, dey choose a man born in San Juan, T&T.  Doh cry down de old fella too quick.  I'm sure dat he will make de right adjustments or call it a day in due course.

« Reply #11 on: July 08, 2009, 03:31:30 PM »
allyuh good yes
but say what

Betta than d best.

Rover and out for Marvin
« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2009, 06:29:20 AM »
Rover and out for Marvin
By Matthew Elder (Fife Today)

THE GUESSING game is over ... Marvin Andrews will not play for Raith Rovers next season after telling manager John McGlynn that he is close to securing a big move.

Out of contract Andrews (33) has been lured away from Stark's Park by at least one offer of SPL football next season, believed to be from Hamilton Accies, with other clubs also understood to be considering offers for the Trinidad and Tobago internationalist.

The news will come as a massive blow to supporters who regard Andrews as a cult hero after he returned from knee surgery to help the team win last season's Second Division title.

Andrews decision to leave also forces McGlynn into a re-think; he had hoped to build his defence around the towering centre-half.

Behind the scenes however, the Rovers boss had been preparing for the worst, and has a number of possible replacement already lined up.

And Rovers fans could catch a glimpse of a few trialists as Rovers preseason schedule kicks off with the visit of Airdrie United on Saturday.

"Marvin has informed us that he has an SPL offer and that he's going to take it," McGlynn told SportsPress.
"We couldn't possibly stand in the way of Marvin. He did a great job for us in helping us over the finishing line last season and he leaves with our best wishes.

"We now have to find a replacement. It's a big hole to fill because there's no-one with the stature of Marvin out there, but we need to the best we can."

"We had to get alternatives in mind, because Marvin had never given us an assurance that he'd be back. I'm not going to name names because I'm still looking about.
"We've got some guys training with us who are options.

"The upcoming friendlies may be an opportunity to have a look at one or two to see if they're up to what we're looking for."
One of the players training with Raith – ex-Pars defender Scott Thomson – is unlikely to be considered as McGlynn considers the 37-year-old too old for his plans.

"We're trying to build a team with legs in it," he said.
"Of course you're going to need experience, but we've not been very fortunate with the older players we've brought in. We've picked up injuries and not had much luck.

"We're trying to build a team that has a lot of pace and mobility. We know we'll need to be extremely fit and well organised.
"As much as experience is invaluable, and I know that from my time at Hearts working with guys like Steven Pressley who upstairs are a step ahead, but there's a gamble with a very small squad that if some of the older players pick up injuries a fair amount of your budget ends up sitting in the stand.

"I have to weigh all these options up and I'm going down the line of getting a team in its mid 20s - hungry, less chance of getting injured, and recover quicker."

Most of the Rovers squad managed to come through the rigors of preseason training unscathed, with only Robert Sloan picking up an injury.

Sloan strained a calf muscle on the first night back and has not trained since. "It's annoying because it puts him two weeks behind everyone else," McGlynn said.

l ROVERS preseason schedule starts at home to Airdrie on Saturday before the visit of a more unfamiliar team to Stark's Park.
Norwich City, relegated from the English Championship last season, will be Raith's opponents on Tuesday evening in the club's second preseason friendly.
''It will be a different test for us, going into the unknown, because we won't know many of the Norwich players,'' said John McGlynn.

« Reply #13 on: July 10, 2009, 11:11:07 AM »
Hamilton site eh sayin nutten

« Reply #14 on: July 10, 2009, 12:14:40 PM »
Good for you Marvin!  You are an inspiration to me.  Darkness can never tread where the light shine. Jah know!!!

Andrews wins deal with Hamilton
« Reply #15 on: July 20, 2009, 04:39:38 PM »
Andrews wins deal with Hamilton
By Clive Lindsay (BBC Sport)

Former Rangers defender Marvin Andrews has won a one-year contract with Hamilton Academical after rejecting a new deal with Raith Rovers.

Accies have also concluded the paperwork on goalkeeper Tomas Cerny's £180,000 move from Sigma Olomouc after a successful loan spell last season.

And they will extend defender Trent McClenahan's contract by a year.

The 33-year-old Andrews helped Rovers win the Division Two title last term and earned a Trinidad & Tobago recall.

It had been Andrews' third spell with the Kirkcaldy club.

Now he will return to the Scottish Premier League, which he won with Rangers in 2005, having impressed in a bounce game against Queen's Park on Monday.

Andrews left Carib in his homeland for Rovers in 1997 and moved on to Livingston three years later.

Having signed for Rangers in 2004, he famously played on without surgery through a normally career-threatening cruciate ligament injury.

Andrews said it was his Christian faith that saw him through, but the injury caught up with him when it ruled him out of Trinidad And Tobago's 2006 World Cup campaign.

That summer, he returned to Rovers but left the club by mutual consent two years later because a troublesome cartilage problem required surgery that would prevent him playing for much of the season.

However, he signed again for the club in time to play the final 10 games of their title-winning and promotion season.

Andrews won his 100th cap in June as Trinidad and Tobago lost 3-2 to Costa Rica in a World Cup qualifier.

Meanwhile, on the day midfielder James McCarthy agreed a £1.2m transfer to Wigan, Accies have finally made Cerny a permanent signing after concluding negotiations with his former Czech employers.

Cerny, who had been interesting Swansea City, has played 59 times for Accies since arriving on loan in 2007.

However, Olomouc demanded a fee after Cerny agreed a two-year contract with Accies in April.

The fee is treble the club's previous record purchases - £60,000 paid for Paul Martin from Kilmarnock in 1988 and for John McQuade from Dumbarton in 1993.

Fellow 24-year-old McClenahan, who joined Hamilton in September after leaving Hereford, has won a new contract after playing 24 times last season.

McClenahan returned to his native Australia in May for an operation and Accies say he will put pen to paper when he arrives back from Sydney on Wednesday.

« Reply #16 on: July 20, 2009, 05:32:55 PM »
Scott Struthers (scott.sas@blueyonder.co.uk)

So I went on Hamilton site ask dem if dey signin Marv the joker above say

To my knowledge we have no plans to sign Marvin Andrews or is he with us.

D man either clueless or a liar.

Congrats Marv it sounding like it go b a longggggggggggg season as peeps predictin relegation. So like u need to BELIEVEEEEEEEEE from now.

« Reply #17 on: July 21, 2009, 07:08:43 AM »
 :applause: :applause: Congrats to Big Marv....Show them you aint done... ah few games under your belt back in the SPL and you will be solid for TnT.

« Reply #18 on: July 21, 2009, 07:21:57 AM »
Did they say their record transfer fee is £60,000?

« Reply #19 on: July 21, 2009, 11:01:53 AM »
Did they say their record transfer fee is £60,000?

Them is a small club only back in d SPL 2 yrs now.