April 28, 2024, 12:18:30 PM

Author Topic: CIC / St. Mary's 1972 Football Memories  (Read 11607 times)

CIC / St. Mary's 1972 Football Memories
« on: August 24, 2009, 02:11:36 PM »
Been meaning to scan and post these images for some time.

CIC memories from 1972.

Re: CIC / St. Mary's 1972 Football Memories
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2009, 02:12:34 PM »

the type setters got their cut and past mixed up here .. lol

« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2009, 02:13:30 PM »

« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2009, 02:15:35 PM »

« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2009, 05:07:24 PM »
When boycotts against blacklists worked:

"For these five games our three players: Woodley, Leiba and Nancoo, had been looking on bitterly from the substitutes bench, and although a fight had been going on the Ministry of Education stood firm on their resolution not to let the boys play although they were re-admitted to classes. The players of the team, then took the situation into their hands and an ultimatum to the Sports Master, Mr. Khan, demanding that their team mates be allowed to play or there was going to be a boycott of the game against San Fernando Tech. by the entire team. It was decided that they should play after some wrangling and it was a shocked and pleasantly surprised crowd which saw the dramatic, unexpected appearance of the "defiant ones", as they were dubbed by the press."

Offline Trevor

« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2009, 11:58:19 AM »
CIC 1971 goalkeeper was a real good looking guy.

Trevor Leiba

« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2009, 12:04:36 PM »

Trevor Leiba

::)

« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2009, 12:07:01 PM »

Trevor Leiba

Can't remember what he looked like. I only see the back of him picking the ball out the net  ;D

« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2009, 12:18:38 PM »

Trevor Leiba

Can't remember what he looked like. I only see the back of him picking the ball out the net  ;D

oh shim Observer   :rotfl: ...so it wasn't just in fete-match den...tun d pic, lemme see if ah make'im out.. :devil:

Offline Trevor

« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2009, 01:55:33 PM »
Observer,

To my recall, not many goals were scored on him. 

Maxg,

Keep quiet! I do not believe you ever beat him in a game – not even one played in Tranquility school yard.

« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2009, 05:26:35 AM »
I remember a time when Leiba make a 'U' turn in the air to save a goal.  But I never did figure our why he was diving in the wrong direction to begin with  ;D

Those were good days oui!

I also remember going to the church to prayer before the matches.  A setta a non-Christians and Christians in a RC church ...

Offline Trevor

« Reply #11 on: August 28, 2009, 07:46:10 AM »
Pecan,

Many people remind me about that save of me turning in mid year.  Maybe I should keep the myth alive that I did turn in mid year.  However, I must admit I did not turn in mid year; I was very much on the ground.  When I coach young keepers today, I tell them about that particular save and the importance of being on the ground, having good balance, and using deep knee bending in order to change direction quickly. 

What occurred – Leroy Spann struck a shot that deflected off Keith Lookloy.  I was moving to the left, and due to the deflection, I had to dive back right to make the save.

« Reply #12 on: August 28, 2009, 07:57:14 AM »

I also remember going to the church to prayer before the matches.  A setta a non-Christians and Christians in a RC church ...

The power of football eh?

« Reply #13 on: August 28, 2009, 08:03:00 AM »

The power of football eh?

Nah d best I ever c was after d coup rasta and all was in d Cathedral of Immaculate ...

« Reply #14 on: August 28, 2009, 08:07:19 AM »
Pecan,

Many people remind me about that save of me turning in mid year.  Maybe I should keep the myth alive that I did turn in mid year.  However, I must admit I did not turn in mid year; I was very much on the ground.  When I coach young keepers today, I tell them about that particular save and the importance of being on the ground, having good balance, and using deep knee bending in order to change direction quickly. 

What occurred – Leroy Spann struck a shot that deflected off Keith Lookloy.  I was moving to the left, and due to the deflection, I had to dive back right to make the save.

awww hawww so yuh make that save round November and not in June as the legend does go?

« Reply #15 on: August 28, 2009, 11:10:44 AM »
Trevor all joke aside you were a boss keeper. It is a pity Tech. of that era was unstoppable. Who could forget the Tech. QRC game at the Oval. Dam! What an exhibition. St Mary's though had a nice balanced squad and could have been more competitive were it not for the ban.

« Reply #16 on: August 28, 2009, 12:25:33 PM »
good one pecan.

where are they now?

« Reply #17 on: August 28, 2009, 01:39:41 PM »

Trevor Leiba

You take win,they go leave me alone from now on,ah loving it!!!!!   

« Reply #18 on: August 30, 2009, 12:00:08 PM »
good one pecan.

where are they now?

ask Trevor . .I think he keeps in touch with some of the team.  Luciano died last year.

« Reply #19 on: August 30, 2009, 04:49:09 PM »

Trevor Leiba

Is this a Davy Jenny award nomination man .

« Reply #20 on: August 30, 2009, 05:15:31 PM »

Trevor Leiba

technically it is Award that should be named in honour of another fella on the old board who died, think he was in DC. Tallman and dem go know the man..kool fella buh used to hit we some reverse head shots..yuh always ask yuhself  "wha side of the circle he jump off"...ah tink Saga mighta dun cop Dave Jenny ahready doh

« Reply #21 on: August 30, 2009, 05:35:45 PM »

Trevor Leiba

technically it is Award that should be named in honour of another fella on the old board who died, think he was in DC. Tallman and dem go know the man..kool fella buh used to hit we some reverse head shots..yuh always ask yuhself  "wha side of the circle he jump off"...ah tink Saga mighta dun cop Dave Jenny ahready doh

TC?

« Reply #22 on: August 30, 2009, 05:37:50 PM »

Trevor Leiba

I think his name was TC. Doc would know. Sad when he passed away. Pro used to pong him. Cah remember why now :-)

« Reply #23 on: August 31, 2009, 04:21:58 AM »

Trevor Leiba

I think his name was TC. Doc would know. Sad when he passed away. Pro used to pong him. Cah remember why now :-)

TC was similar to arrow. He dealt almost exclusively in one-liners.

Offline Trevor

« Reply #24 on: August 31, 2009, 06:53:14 AM »
Observer,

Thanks for your kind words.

Trevor

« Reply #25 on: August 31, 2009, 07:13:49 AM »
Thanks Pecan
T. Leiba was the best, right Trevor
those were some good times
That is when I left TnT

Saga is OK we go still remember ya most famous thread about tight short pants :devil:
« Last Edit: August 31, 2009, 07:20:24 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #26 on: August 31, 2009, 07:21:47 AM »
Trevor all joke aside you were a boss keeper. It is a pity Tech. of that era was unstoppable. Who could forget the Tech. QRC game at the Oval. Dam! What an exhibition. St Mary's though had a nice balanced squad and could have been more competitive were it not for the ban.

rumour had it that at least of of the Tech players was over-aged ...

« Reply #27 on: August 31, 2009, 08:12:43 AM »

Ah think ah remember the riot that they talk about in the article,ah was 11 at the time the CIC minibus get turn over and thing, Ah cant remember what start it but ah remember a man grabing mih carib and pelting it into the CIC crowd.

« Reply #28 on: August 31, 2009, 08:14:37 AM »

Lets be honest if you were to check every school in T&T in dem times you would have found an overage player. It may still be so.

« Reply #29 on: August 31, 2009, 08:26:06 AM »

Lets be honest if you were to check every school in T&T in dem times you would have found an overage player. It may still be so.

True ... but when you lose, you often find external reasons to help off-set the disappointment.   :D

Ah think ah remember the riot that they talk about in the article,ah was 11 at the time the CIC minibus get turn over and thing, Ah cant remember what start it but ah remember a man grabing mih carib and pelting it into the CIC crowd.

that mini-bus was a VW mini-van.  My dad use to drive it and everybody use to squeeze into it.  It had 8-track player and the most popular cassette was Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass ... lol