April 28, 2024, 09:55:49 AM

Author Topic: Ato hails Team T&T  (Read 8795 times)

Ato hails Team T&T
« on: August 25, 2009, 10:51:09 PM »
Ato hails Team T&T
By: Kwame Laurence (T&T Express).

Gordon in elite company, says former sprint star

Ato Boldon is very proud of the Trinidad and Tobago team that competed at the 12th IAAF World Championships in Athletics, here in Berlin, Germany.

The former T&T sprint star told the Express he is particularly proud of 17-year-old Jehue Gordon, who finished fourth in the men's 400 metres hurdles final in 48.26 seconds, the clocking earning him second spot on the all-time junior (under-20) performance list.

"That, without question, is THE best performance by a T&T athlete, and the best performance ever by a T&T junior athlete--17 years old, World Championships, national record, final, and then the way in which he ran the final.

"It was the only time," the NBC commentator continued, "I ever had trouble keeping calm in the booth. And I have sat through six, seven world records now. It was the only time I had a problem just being quiet in the booth and just allowing what we are doing to happen.

"If Jehue Gordon never does another thing in his life, he is assured that what he did here is one of the best performances by a T&T athlete in history. I mean, Hasely (Crawford), me, Darrel (Brown), Dwight Yorke, (Brian) Lara--he's on that list already, at 17."

The men's 4x100m combination of Darrel Brown, Marc Burns, Emmanuel Callender and Richard Thompson snapped up silver for T&T, while Josanne Lucas (women's 400m hurdles) and Renny Quow (men's 400m) earned bronze.

"When I was asked to make my predictions," Boldon explained, "there are two things that I wrote down-- Josanne third and Renny third. I was really, really happy to see that Josanne finally broke that drought we have with no female medallists at Worlds or Olympics; and Renny Quow, because he trains sometimes at my facility at Miramar (Florida), so I do feel a real connection to what that young man is doing. He is going to be the next great 400 metres star for our country."

The men's sprint relay team clocked 37.62 seconds in the final.

"I did not think they were ready to run that fast this year. That makes us the third fastest country ever. That is proof that the sum is greater than the parts because none of them is running as fast as they have in their lifetimes, but they came together and had some good stick passing."

But Boldon said the T&T team could have run even faster in Saturday's championship race.

"I am more encouraged now that we need to put a programme in place. You can't run one, maybe two races for the entire year and then think you're going to come here and it's going to be perfect. And it was not perfect. Had it been perfect the outcome might have been different."

The women's 4x100m team advanced to the final, finishing seventh in the championship race.

"That's a big, big, big, big step," the 1997 200m world champion declared. "If anything shows that we can be best in the world, it should be the fact that the women have now made the final and the men were five metres from being world champions."

T&T had a total of seven finalists at the 2009 World Championships.

"This is what I dreamed about in 1992 . I have lived to see it. I said that Beijing was the best performance by a Trinidad and Tobago team in my lifetime. This team can make an argument overall for being the best performance by a Trinidad and Tobago team period," Boldon ended, "including the '64 (Olympic) team."

Re: Ato hails Team T&T
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2009, 05:43:23 AM »
all this setta rational -doin- your- job -professionally ting is overrated

the word to bawl in into the mike live on air is:
"ohgawdallyuhehseewhatdecuddrsmuntjusthappenndeyorwhaatrinbagoindeybackside"

ent jus bless? :devil:

« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2009, 05:51:55 AM »

lol :rotfl: :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2009, 06:27:04 AM »

Niceness

« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2009, 07:20:43 AM »

:rotfl: Ato, you have to record a new piece of commentary with the above and upload it to YouTube! You'll get more hits than Susan Boyle..

« Reply #5 on: August 26, 2009, 07:26:17 AM »

:rotfl: Ato, you have to record a new piece of commentary with the above and upload it to YouTube! You'll get more hits than Susan Boyle..

That would be so hillarious. He should get the original recording and overlay what he really wanted to say   "ohgawdallyuhehseewhatdecuddrsmuntjusthappenndeyorwhaatrinbagoindeybackside"

« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2009, 07:59:40 AM »

« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2009, 08:03:08 AM »

aye
allya watch it nuh
just like dat footballer who could not get ah contract because of what was said on this forum,
Ato might lorse he wuk :devil:
and dat gobe de HARDEST HARD ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: August 26, 2009, 08:10:32 AM »

« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2009, 08:20:39 AM »

now lets be realistic and translate that to freshwater....

"ohdarnit,didyouguyseewhatthegollyjusthappened,forrealtrinidyadandtobaygow..intheirbehinds!!" :devil:

« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2009, 08:27:01 AM »

oh gawd :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:, y d fuuck allyuh so boy :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:some ah we does wuk in office yuh know :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: does be teefin chance wit d people internet :rotfl: :rotfl: an' alyuh want to have man laffin hard hard in d people place, behave nah >:(, beheve >:( jeezan :rotfl: :rotfl: ;D

« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2009, 08:55:25 AM »
Ay all yuh take win boy - this is the best laugh I have had in a while.  :rotfl:

« Reply #12 on: August 26, 2009, 09:07:20 AM »
I wantr a video of that race.

« Reply #13 on: August 26, 2009, 09:37:57 AM »

Offline Aviator

« Reply #14 on: August 26, 2009, 09:58:16 AM »
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #15 on: August 26, 2009, 09:58:57 AM »

« Reply #16 on: August 26, 2009, 10:28:44 AM »
lol   archive this

« Reply #17 on: August 26, 2009, 10:35:45 AM »

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E34kITLzgXk

Allyuh notice how the Spanish commentators in that video was constantly bigging-up Trinidad & Tobago and reminding folks that two of the finalist Kerron Clement (originally) and Jehue Gordon are from Trinidad & Tobago?! 8)

Offline Aviator

« Reply #18 on: August 26, 2009, 10:40:01 AM »

Allyuh notice how the Spanish commentators in that video was constantly bigging-up Trinidad & Tobago and reminding folks that two of the finalist Kerron Clement (originally) and Jehue Gordon are from Trinidad & Tobago?! 8)

Mih spanish rusty no tail, but yes they were.

« Reply #19 on: August 26, 2009, 11:33:20 AM »
OK, I'll bite.

I hate to go down this road again, but not only did I mention Jehue and make them highlight him pre-race - Spanish TV did not, but I said on my broadcast that 1st and 4th were TNT born after the race was over.

« Reply #20 on: August 26, 2009, 11:36:03 AM »

Thank you. Gov't computer ah cyah watch it now, but ah go catch a glimpse when ah reach home

Niceness

« Reply #21 on: August 26, 2009, 11:40:33 AM »

I guess your Spanish real rusty because the commentators were speaking Italian.

« Reply #22 on: August 26, 2009, 11:49:04 AM »

lawdy  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: daaaaaaaaaaaavyjenny :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #23 on: August 26, 2009, 11:57:47 AM »

lawdy  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: daaaaaaaaaaaavyjenny :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

oh jesus christ... that is de best for de year... oh gaaaaaaaaaaaaard  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline Aviator

« Reply #24 on: August 26, 2009, 12:00:17 PM »

:'( :'( :'( :'(  Shame...shame...shame

In my own defence both languages are similar, so I could make out what the commentator was saying.

Ah blame socapro ;D He mislead mih
« Last Edit: August 26, 2009, 12:04:16 PM by Aviator »

« Reply #25 on: August 26, 2009, 01:06:27 PM »

:'( :'( :'( :'(  Shame...shame...shame

In my own defence both languages are similar, so I could make out what the commentator was saying.

Ah blame socapro ;D He mislead mih

Sorry guys, my Spanish rusty too! :rotfl:  :rotfl:

When them European folks say that all Caribbean folks sound alike and they cyah tell the difference between ah Trini & a Jamaican accent now we could fully understand why!  ;D

This forum is the best yes, ah deserve the Davy Jenny award for that one in truth!!  :chilling:
« Last Edit: August 26, 2009, 01:11:52 PM by Socapro »

Offline panjazz

« Reply #26 on: August 26, 2009, 02:29:39 PM »
Shudda read "trinbagoindeypwefen!!!"

« Reply #27 on: August 26, 2009, 02:50:57 PM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: oh gorm ,mih belly hurtin mih

ah wonder how aviator and soca pro go share that award

« Reply #28 on: August 26, 2009, 03:20:35 PM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: oh gorm ,mih belly hurtin mih

ah wonder how aviator and soca pro go share that award

They could sign up for some spanish classes together.  ;)

« Reply #29 on: August 26, 2009, 03:21:53 PM »

All yuh given d main pg some competition