April 24, 2024, 05:21:56 PM

Author Topic: Alvin Corneal Articles  (Read 50336 times)

Re: Egypt huge stepping stone
« Reply #30 on: October 07, 2009, 08:32:32 AM »
Jamaica(2001 Argentina) once played to a 0-0 Tie with 3rd place finishers Egypt  with 1 point -5 GD ,.
TnT played to a 0-0 Tie (with Paraguay) 1 point -4 GD. Jamaica Mathematically have done
better , by virtue of tying with a third place finisher . :applause: 
we even won the best GK award for the Tournament and Argentina which gave us 5 nil in the
grouping stage , hammered paraguay 5 nil in the final . :P

You have to try wayyyyyy better than that to get ah argument  :shameonyou:

Offline nunu

« Reply #31 on: October 07, 2009, 08:35:54 AM »
Jamaica(2001 Argentina) once played to a 0-0 Tie with 3rd place finishers Egypt  with 1 point -5 GD ,.
TnT played to a 0-0 Tie (with Paraguay) 1 point -4 GD. Jamaica Mathematically have done
better , by virtue of tying with a third place finisher . :applause: 
we even won the best GK award for the Tournament and Argentina which gave us 5 nil in the
grouping stage , hammered paraguay 5 nil in the final . :P

You have to try wayyyyyy better than that to get ah argument  :shameonyou:
who looking argument with you donkey?  :rotfl:

« Reply #32 on: October 07, 2009, 08:47:10 AM »
This game needed the long passes from defence to the two strikers, in order to eliminate the effectiveness of the midfield stars of Paraguay.

As figured, is the technical staff does have them players playing so!! And Corneal here validating that bullshit. Possession, possession, possession, possession!!!!! Ah setta 50/50 passes from defence to forwards could never work in today's game against good opposition. Especially not when we doh have accurate passers. Wha' wrong with these people boy!!??

I wish the odds were as good as 50/50 passes.  They just have absolutely no play if they sit there and just tell the players to do that.  

2 forwards up front with about 4-5 players around them and the plan is to pass long ball to them?  That is ridiculous. Then when you consider many of the passes are off, its just not worth it as a strategy.  Our senior team use that strategy and when ever I see that I just think....they did not plan or study their opponents to work on their weaknesses.

How hard is it for a coach to go to sleep and wake up the next morning and say "guys ah have the plan for this game, whenever you get the ball make ah long pass from defense to the forwards and see if yuh could score"

That is just giving back the ball to the opponents and it's another wave of attacks coming in we direction

Alvin Corneal Articles
« Reply #33 on: April 04, 2010, 07:58:05 PM »
T&T Cup plays big part in development
By Alvin Corneal (T&T Guardian)

To many of us, the future of our football seems to be based upon the recent past and the present state of affairs, vis-a-vis World Cup results and a presence of a new slate of technocrats at the helm who are attempting to improve the quality of the current stars. Both aspects of assessment are relevant to the future, the first being an analysis of what went wrong and how it should be corrected. The second is the positive move by the present coaching staff to look towards a number of youngsters for a better performance at the training sessions and matches leading up to the Digicel Gold Cup tournament in Martinique later this year. But we should not ignore that the development process must take place in the teenagers who are now being given the opportunity to express themselves and demonstrate how the large number of young coaches are working towards a better class of footballer for the next decade.

The T&T Cup, an age group tournament which was inaugurated in 2001 with a group of 64 clubs who were exposed to the use of the country’s prestigious stadiums, has been much of a success story in terms of the number of young football players getting a chance to be exposed to the national stage through an organised method. No doubt, the participation by the Pro League clubs, plus the large number of community teams, brought out an increased number of kids playing the game and by extension, offering more options for the selection process at the national level. It is interesting to note that more than 85 per cent of the selected national youth teams over the past seven years have been players from teams in the T&T Cup tournament.

Further to that, the actual squads which were chosen to represent this country in Korea in 2007 at the world Fifa U-17 finals, plus the U-20 Fifa finals in Egypt in 2009, consisted of more than half of the former T&T Cup participants. The T&T Football Federation, through its special advisor Jack Warner, had the foresight to give the green light for this project, which also benefitted by the recent embrace of this now fully-expanded tournament by the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs, through the honourable Minister Gary Hunt. What was created here is an exciting tournament which is organised free for all the age group clubs in T&T to play in the country’s stadiums, an honour which only the recognised clubs and national teams were able to enjoy in the past.

The management of the country’s top clubs, such as Joe Public FC, W Connection FC, Jabloteh FC and Super Star Rangers, led the way into showing the value of this type of competition being used as a catalyst for a better football program at the international level. Clearly, the feeder system has worked for the clubs across the land and if one is to judge by the increasing number of teams for the year 2010, we should not be surprised if this country is engaged in youth football activity in every town, village and city within the next few years. Thankfully, the fans of the clubs have given support to the project over the years, but the sports lovers should be encouraged to show appreciation to the youngsters who may one day make the people of this country proud. The tournament begins tomorrow at seven venues across T&T and runs toward the finals on April 11 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Sports Minister Gary Hunt presenting the 2009 championship trophy.

« Last Edit: January 02, 2017, 06:26:13 AM by Flex »

T&T Cup ??
« Reply #34 on: April 06, 2010, 10:39:50 AM »
Ok so I see that this T&T cup is taking place this week at venues all accross Trinidad and Tobago. My question is....how do you get invited to participate in this and similar tournament ?? or is it open to any team who i willing to paricipate ??

Imagine my great surprise when on Friday I am being told that players from our team are being asked to play for amother team in this competition....
How come I or the coach were not made aware of this tournament....and given the opportunity to participate....

Well i am not going to whine about it I am going to call the cell phone no. on the application form(that i was able to get my hands on) and speak to Alvin Corneal himself and ensure that I our team is a part of this competition...and any others that might come up in the future.

And we wonder why football is going nowhere under the Warners and Corneals of today.

Re: T&T Cup plays big part in development
« Reply #35 on: April 06, 2010, 10:45:05 AM »

« Reply #36 on: April 06, 2010, 10:55:19 AM »
http://ttcup.com/

Thanks E-Man...a pitty that I had no one to give me this information before I had to ask fir it. It really is who know you.

Long Live Soca Warriors.net

« Reply #37 on: April 06, 2010, 12:38:51 PM »
20 players per team minimum?  :o

« Reply #38 on: April 06, 2010, 12:53:49 PM »
http://ttcup.com/

Thanks E-Man...a pitty that I had no one to give me this information before I had to ask fir it. It really is who know you.

Long Live Soca Warriors.net

:beermug: Cosignnnnnn

Is T&T ready to host the women’s U-17 World Cup?
« Reply #39 on: August 25, 2010, 05:45:15 AM »
Is T&T ready to host the women’s U-17 World Cup?
By Alvin Corneal (T&T Guardian)

I wonder how many people in this country are aware that we are hosting the Fifa Women’s World Cup tournament in T&T from September 5-25? It will not surprise me if the majority does not know of this extremely important opportunity which was handed to our country, especially remembering that we were host to a similar competition only nine years ago. But unlike the previous occasion, this event has not been given the publicity which events of this magnitude have enjoyed when they are hosted elsewhere. Having attended at least 25 of these events across the world and experienced the level of marketing and advertising which was done by the host countries during that period, it is almost painful to understand why the same process was not utilised here. We have heard about the tournament through a couple press conferences, then the draw for the Championships, all of which was preceded by the employment of a Norwegian coach Even Pellerud, whose duty was to turn the quality of our football “water into wine,” and little snippets of TV adverts and newspaper clipping about the progress of our national team through the preparatory period. One member of the local organising committee, when asked about the reason for the absence of information which should have been shared with the public, the response was tantamount to the belief that it was sufficient.

Maybe we have viewed this event solely in the context of our national team being prepared to win three or four matches, as opposed to our country making an impression to the sporting world. This is an opportunity to show that we are capable of turning this huge international competition into the most impacting feature address made by the government and people of this country to the entire universe. A means by which to show off our maturity, our ability to organise, our country’s impressive economy, the friendliness of our people, added to the numerous reasons why members of the business sector and tourists from every corner of earth, can visit with us and participate in any way which suits their fancies.Because of the fact that we have taken responsibility to host this event, which was done more than two years ago, we must now understand that thousands of visitors will attend this tournament. They will be here, to not only support their own national U-17 women squads but to enjoy the ambience of an attractive city with its skyscrapers hanging over the heads of all as we hustle and bustle through the narrow, but comfortable streets to shop, to eat, to take pictures and most of all to understand the culture of this multi-racial society.

The fact that we boast of our seaside resorts, will take them to our beaches, especially on the sister isle of Tobago, the adventure and novelties of riding waves, eating coconuts, shark and bake, and getting a close up view of the underwater reefs of Buccoo. Some will wish to rent a car and drive through the country in search of our species of birds, our rainforest, our pitch lake, and so many other things for which we are famous. Those are some of the reasons why they visit the country. The football tournament is only the catalyst to expose our beautiful country to an unsuspecting, but inquisitive world. However, not a single billboard across the highways, the street corners, on the sides of our transport vehicles, on the “T” shirts with the tournament logo which should already be on sale at the sides of the major street corners, in the department stores, and especially at the airports. What of the memorabilia such as symbolic caps with the colours of the T&T flag with one of our innovative catch phrases for which we are famous. Where can the visitors find a road map which has the clarity needed to take them wherever they wish to go, including the stadia, the country’s areas of attraction, the major hotels, and even the use of clean toilets in each city, town and village?

What is probably the most essential responsibility undertaken by our government will be security, particularly when there will be approximately three hundred and fifty young ladies under seventeen who will spend three weeks in different parts of the country? I do not need to reiterate the absolute need for special attention to be paid to our guests, whose parents may or may not be with them, and knowing what has been an unusual and unacceptable type of behavior in recent times, we must treat this aspect of our commitment as priority. I am consoled by the recent announcement that our stadia will be ready, so we no longer have to worry about the venues for the matches. We are particularly weak in our maintenance habits, hence the reason why the stadium fields and overall facilities are not always in good shape. It is my sincere hope that everything will fall into place before the end of the month. Our government must take responsibility for each aspect of this auspicious event. We are proud to host it, but we must be even more proud to ensure that the professional management of the event will send the message to the world that we are a growing, matured society with visions of being first world sometime in the future.

Fifa officials arrive for Under 17 World Cup
« Reply #40 on: August 25, 2010, 05:46:09 AM »
Fifa officials arrive for Under 17 World Cup
T&T Guardian

With the Fifa U-17 Women’s World Cup less than two weeks away, several Fifa officials are expected to arrive in T&T between today and tomorrow to lend support to the Local Organising Committee (LOC). The World Cup kicks off on September 5, with an opening match between T&T and Chile. Following concerns expressed by Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs Anil Roberts on Monday, deputy CEO of the LOC, Nataki Kerr, said work was taking place assiduously to ensure the facilities are world class.

Kerr said one year of preparations all comes down to what takes place during the event. “We will not fail the fans of the beautiful game and the nation.” Over the next week, the officials will be touring the five venues and are expected to work in collaboration with the Ministry and the LOC. Chairman of the LOC, Oliver Camps, said the infrastructure work has been almost completed.

“Our stadia will be ready to host the fans and teams and our airports will be ready to welcome the influx of visitors.” Sixteen teams will be participating in the event, which will feature matches at the Hasely Crawford Stadium; the Larry Gomes Stadium in Arima; the Manny Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella; the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva and the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet. For Tickets: Call 800-fans.

Re: Is T&T ready to host the women’s U-17 World Cup?
« Reply #41 on: August 25, 2010, 08:17:27 PM »
Hope this tournament turn out to be a successful...best of luck to our Soca Princesses

'C' grade for T&T World Cup grounds
« Reply #42 on: August 26, 2010, 04:36:21 AM »
Not up to standard
By Ian Prescott  (T&T Express)

THE pitches at the five local stadia which will host the 2010 FIFA Under-17 World Cup have been given only a Grade C rating by FIFA pitch consultant John Lockyer.

Lockyer has been in Trinidad and Tobago for the last eight days, overseeing pitch improvement ahead of the start of the football tournament which is being hosted here from September 5-25.

Englishman Lockyer was the expert in charge of the 2010 FIFA World Cup's pitch management programme, where he was responsible for the surfaces at all 10 World Cup stadia in South Africa. He successfully performed a similar rescue exercise when unusually cold winter conditions left the South African pitches in an unprepared state for the tournament.

In Trinidad and Tobago, major work has to be done on the playing surface at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, where the Soca Princesses will play the opening match against Chile on September 5. And even though the surfaces at the Manny Ramjohn, Larry Gomes, Ato Boldon and Dwight Yorke stadia are fairly good, they are not up to the standard which FIFA, the governing body for world football, require for a World Cup. Lockyer is here offering consulting services to the Local Organising Committee (LOC) free of charge.

"We are at this stage, 65 per cent ready and we are working to finish the other 35 per cent between Wednesday and Thursday of next week. It 's a close finish. It's a challenge for all of us, but we will make our country proud," declared Felix "Baldy" Hernandez, the LOC chairman of facilities. "We are working at a pace, and despite all the rumours, the World Cup will come off successfully."

Hernandez said further: "We started very late, mainly due to the approval of funding. Contracts were awarded over the weekend and all contractors are working 24-seven to make sure that we are ready for the World Cup."

The venues needing the most work currently are the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Tobago, which recently had part of the roof blown off, and also the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain, where the opening and closing matches will be played.

Hernandez stated that a lot of work also had to be done on almost all of the training venues which include those at St Mary's ground, Queen's Royal College ground, the University of the West Indies and other venues. There was major concern about the state of dressing rooms as well.

At the stadiums, Hernandez said that major work will be done on bringing flood lighting up to international standard. Major remedial work will have to be done to dressing rooms and international media facilities, while the Ministry of Health require certain stipulations concerning medical infrastructure, and have also demanded the upgrade of food serving areas because of poor maintenance over the years.

"The maintenance and remedial work at the stadia will cost about $15 million," Hernandez said. "The ground preparation costs in the region of six million dollars, and we will also need to bring in specialist equipment which will cost another two million dollars.

"Painting of the stadiums is also a major task , we will have to paint the venue, including dress rooms and so on and that will cost approximately $3.5 million."

Finally, Hernandez said that while problems associated with the venues cannot be tackled in two weeks, the LOC will be concentrating on the major ones, and are confident of doing a more than adequate job.

« Reply #43 on: August 26, 2010, 05:36:41 AM »
this hustle down thing again. dem stadium should have been fixed long time, everybody know them pitch need laying over again, and d stadia fallin apart. d larry gomes aint even finish since last WC                             

« Reply #44 on: August 26, 2010, 06:26:50 AM »
and this should serve as a testament to those that live abroad. We have a WC in about 2 weeks and trust me nobody knows about it, de stadia not finished and everyone seems lost at the 23rd hour. With this in mind I give you just how exactly shit is run in TNT. Yes I am in Trinidad so I get to talk. Anyone that think things are different please correct me. The national senior team also falls prey to our slow buildup climatic mentality where we only really get hold of an idea after it has begun. Waggonism.  Is like yuh want de country to become more americanised to get past certain of these unattractive characteristics that we have but at the same time why become america when everyone wants to leave there and come back to paradise in de sun... what an oxymoron.

« Reply #45 on: August 26, 2010, 06:55:26 AM »
I know I ready 2 keep my money in my pocket.

« Reply #46 on: August 26, 2010, 03:56:10 PM »
This is real crap. It just goes to show where the TTFF/Jack's priorities lay. All this last minute hustling for this tournament is because of the election. Wherever Jack goes so does the TTFF. Because of the empahasis on the election, the tournament take second place. Now the facilities not up to tournament standards. There is no excitement for this tournament. This is our young women playing a WC and TT is totally disinterested. Why?

« Reply #47 on: August 26, 2010, 04:16:48 PM »
Listen...I would agree that the exposure is not where it should be but I have a quick fix.

All they want is a full stadium so we will look good on TV.

School starting next week....have them girls make one pass in a few schools under pappy show ting.

Hype it up as a big lime/tour.

Bam...children want to go and parents have to take them.

Serious question here.....will alcho be sold at these games? Cause if not, you eliminating a certain section of the population ( the few football fans who looking for lime but who not on watching lil girls play)

Football is an experience, entertainment, a lime, not a observation exercise.

I kinda worried about the turnout, but I feel people will get excited when they see the other nations arrive and put on performances.

« Reply #48 on: August 26, 2010, 04:21:51 PM »
doh worry, i going and start work in the DY stadium sat or sun morning depending when we get the boat.

BTW the pitch looking nice - took a walk on it wednesday

« Reply #49 on: August 26, 2010, 04:27:30 PM »
Sammy,
            Are you the official SWN reporter in Bago :devil:?????

« Reply #50 on: August 26, 2010, 04:27:44 PM »
When JW is in other countries leading the FIFA inspection committees who says he is more stringent or less stringent with the standards than when at home and TTFF is the host federation.

The fellah doing the pitch upgrades for free. Wonder how many kickbacks he got doing the work for FIFA in other countries and now JW's calling in a favor. Who says I'm too cynical.

Offline makaveli

Re: 'C' grade for T&T World Cup grounds
« Reply #51 on: August 26, 2010, 05:49:29 PM »
Not up to standard
By Ian Prescott  (T&T Express)

Hernandez stated that a lot of work also had to be done on almost all of the training venues which include those at St Mary's ground, Queen's Royal College ground, the University of the West Indies and other venues. There was major concern about the state of dressing rooms as well.

At the stadiums, Hernandez said that major work will be done on bringing flood lighting up to international standard. Major remedial work will have to be done to dressing rooms and international media facilities, while the Ministry of Health require certain stipulations concerning medical infrastructure, and have also demanded the upgrade of food serving areas because of poor maintenance over the years.

"The maintenance and remedial work at the stadia will cost about $15 million," Hernandez said. "The ground preparation costs in the region of six million dollars, and we will also need to bring in specialist equipment which will cost another two million dollars.

"Painting of the stadiums is also a major task , we will have to paint the venue, including dress rooms and so on and that will cost approximately $3.5 million."

Finally, Hernandez said that while problems associated with the venues cannot be tackled in two weeks, the LOC will be concentrating on the major ones, and are confident of doing a more than adequate job.

The washroom facilities and food stalls at these stadiums are disgusting. The fact that we have to wait until a major tournament comes along to do repair work is utter non sense. How much yuh willing to bet after the tourney these same facilities fall back into the state they were in before hand.

« Reply #52 on: August 26, 2010, 05:57:35 PM »
was on the flight with the u17 girls and the coach to Miami yesterday.  They must be having a training camp in Ft. Lauderdale area to prepare for the world cup
« Last Edit: August 26, 2010, 05:59:28 PM by Babalawo »

« Reply #53 on: August 26, 2010, 06:09:44 PM »
was on the flight with the u17 girls and the coach to Miami yesterday.  They must be having a training camp in Ft. Lauderdale area to prepare for the world cup

Yes you can catch them playing Ireland on Saturday

Central Broward Regional Park, Lauderhill, FL
T&T Women's U-17 vs Ireland
Sat, August 28, 5:30pm – 7:30pm

« Reply #54 on: August 26, 2010, 07:26:48 PM »
This is real crap. It just goes to show where the TTFF/Jack's priorities lay. All this last minute hustling for this tournament is because of the election. Wherever Jack goes so does the TTFF. Because of the empahasis on the election, the tournament take second place. Now the facilities not up to tournament standards. There is no excitement for this tournament. This is our young women playing a WC and TT is totally disinterested. Why?

I stand corrected. I can clearly see this being very plausible.

« Reply #55 on: August 26, 2010, 08:08:38 PM »
stadiums in a reeeealllll mess.

I gather DY real good compare to the rest as the HSC officer was telling me the state of those in Trini. (i've only been to DY, she have only been to those in trini)

the stadia was allowed to become dilapidated, and now is real pressure to fix them up for the WC.

Anyhow, is plenty work, and is 24 hr operations to get them back up. i think we can make it though.... - we have too  :-\

the good news is that after the games, the refurbishment and maintenance of the stadia will continue.

On a side note, i dunno how Brown Sugar and the rest of bagonians does deal with sea blast nah. if u see corrosion going on in that place.........pressure.

« Reply #56 on: August 26, 2010, 08:21:11 PM »
Arhmmm...i skim through all de articles and ting..so I dunno if i miss it ....buh....

De money for dese upgrades coming from where?

And....didnt the HCS get a massive upgrade before the England game? How much of a state could it have gotten since den?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #57 on: August 26, 2010, 08:29:34 PM »
This is real  :bs:

« Reply #58 on: August 26, 2010, 08:42:33 PM »
HCS toilet forever stink forever not working.

they move from antiquated toilet to cheap substandard rusty urinal.

Good move on the upgraded toilets and concessions.....remember for the england game they said water used to leak from the ice melting in the concession area, flowing into the dressing rooms.

« Reply #59 on: August 26, 2010, 08:48:20 PM »
HCS toilet forever stink forever not working.

they move from antiquated toilet to cheap substandard rusty urinal.

Good move on the upgraded toilets and concessions.....remember for the england game they said water used to leak from the ice melting in the concession area, flowing into the dressing rooms.

not to mention , d buller men that like to peek over , when u using the toilet / urinal . because of how low the d boarder is between each toilet
« Last Edit: August 26, 2010, 08:49:58 PM by D.H.W »