April 26, 2024, 08:46:39 PM

Author Topic: South Africa will be the first host nation in WC history...  (Read 6319 times)

South Africa will be the first host nation in WC history...
« on: December 05, 2009, 04:29:39 AM »
that fails to advance from its group.

Group A
    South Africa
    Mexico
    France
    Uruguay

That is my prediction.

Anyone agree/disagree? Thoughts?

Re: South Africa will be the first host nation in WC history...
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2009, 09:11:38 AM »

Group A
    South Africa
    Mexico
    France
    Uruguay

That is my prediction.

Ah tell yuh stop fighting up with which team making it or not......worry about by how much yuh team going to get licks by..... :devil:

« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2009, 09:44:48 AM »
Zeppo, yuh know yuh a lot more tolerable these days.

You don't incessatly post solely about the USA anymore like we cared.

« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2009, 09:12:55 AM »

Group A
    South Africa
    Mexico
    France
    Uruguay

That is my prediction.

Ah tell yuh stop fighting up with which team making it or not......worry about by how much yuh team going to get licks by..... :devil:

COSIGNNNNNNNNNN. Imagine Eng v USA d only came where I cyah stand both sides d distain 4 both ah dem just about =

« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2009, 12:14:17 PM »
Ah wonder who is not getting out of this group?  :devil:

GROUP C
England
USA
Algeria
Slovenia

« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2009, 01:11:00 PM »

GROUP C
England
USA
Algeria
Slovenia

England cause we bussing they tail like in Brazil....1950... No way england with they unimaginative squad beating our US squad! Yuh forgetting we have Howard, Donovan and that ass Dempsey!

« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2009, 02:11:08 PM »
 thought this was a forum for trinis..so many 'we' talking about USA team beating people.. ???
if you live in the US and born trinbagonian- are you a trini or american?
as far as I know 'we' don't have a team in the world cup..

« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2009, 03:02:14 PM »

Group A
    South Africa
    Mexico
    France
    Uruguay

That is my prediction.

I agree. But I think they might come third in their group though. Back in the day (94 say), that would have been enough to scrape into the second round.  :whistling:

« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2009, 03:13:04 PM »

Group A
    South Africa
    Mexico
    France
    Uruguay

That is my prediction.

I agree. But I think they might come third in their group though. Back in the day (94 say), that would have been enough to scrape into the second round.  :whistling:

Yeah true...what a joke that system was....comparing goal difference across groups- absurd.   

« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2009, 03:16:18 PM »

Not for all 3rd placed teams.

« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2009, 03:23:44 PM »

Not for all 3rd placed teams.

Lol, true.

South Korea didnt get through...they had Germany and Spain in their group.

Russia didnt get through either...their group was Brazil and Sweden (and Cameroon).

On the other hand....

Group A
USA
Switzerland
Romania
Colombia

Wouldn't South Africa love to be in that group...They'd fancy their chances of coming second  ;)

« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2009, 03:24:34 PM »
i just find it funny how usa think algeria is a push over...usa better think again.

« Reply #12 on: December 07, 2009, 06:44:46 PM »

GROUP C
England
USA
Algeria
Slovenia

England cause we bussing they tail like in Brazil....1950... No way england with they unimaginative squad beating our US squad! Yuh forgetting we have Howard, Donovan and that ass Dempsey!

I take dis as sarcasm and nothing else  :D

« Reply #13 on: December 07, 2009, 11:46:25 PM »
i just find it funny how usa think algeria is a push over...usa better think again.

nah....I think Iran taught them that lesson about underestimating their opponents......well....at least it taught their TEAM that lesson.  Their fans, on the other hand.....

« Reply #14 on: December 08, 2009, 12:43:03 AM »
Yeah, so I was making up my mind to cheer for the US in the name on CACACAF solidarity (a huge step for me) until one of my co-workers pissed me off. The man want to argue with me bout how the US could win the whole WC. And wanted to bet me that dey would at least win their goup, beating England. Uh huh...

« Reply #15 on: December 08, 2009, 02:23:57 AM »

Lol.. agreed.  Most accounts I've read have them reacting to Algeria like "who??"

I wonder if they recognize this is the same Algeria used to be manners-ing Morocco 10-15 yrs ago when Morocco was in its prime?  Granted they've slipped of late but Algeria's pedigree is there.

« Reply #16 on: December 08, 2009, 03:29:51 AM »
Mixed reaction as hosts face tough draw

To say that South Africans greeted Friday's draw in mixed fashion would be something of an understatement, for opinion is already raging in the streets, bars and, of course, the media.

Cape Town's Weekend Argus Saturday lead was among the more negative: "Bafana Bafana were handed a draw from hell when grouped with France, Mexico and Uruguay for next year's World Cup."

But some fans have tried to put a positive spin on the challenges of Group A, where the World Cup hosts must face three sides ranked in FIFA's top 20.

(continue)

« Reply #17 on: December 08, 2009, 05:15:19 AM »
Yeah, so I was making up my mind to cheer for the US in the name on CACACAF solidarity (a huge step for me) until one of my co-workers pissed me off. The man want to argue with me bout how the US could win the whole WC. And wanted to bet me that dey would at least win their goup, beating England. Uh huh...

De CONCACAF solidarity stop by the stars and stripes for me....as soon as their fans stop being so arrogant that's when I'll cheer for them...until then.....and this real, real hard for me eh....

GO ENGLAND!!! (it's akin to being between a rock and a hard place  ;D)

« Reply #18 on: December 10, 2009, 06:02:57 PM »
Watch Mexican referee Acuna or the one from El Salvador get South Africa games.  :whistling:
Remember Korea Spain 2002 hahahaahah  :chilling:
South Africa getting through that group.  :cheers:

« Reply #19 on: December 10, 2009, 08:27:29 PM »
Go England!!

« Reply #20 on: December 12, 2009, 08:54:43 AM »
thought this was a forum for trinis..so many 'we' talking about USA team beating people.. ???
if you live in the US and born trinbagonian- are you a trini or american?
as far as I know 'we' don't have a team in the world cup..

nah we could afford to talk bout de US team here...after all TnT play dem 2 practice/scrimmage match (dat ah witness live, regrettably) in de lead-up for dem to qualify

ah now really read yuh post boss....so if yuh living here in de US and yuh shit side (TnT) eh qualify for de people WC....yuh is ah traitor (or something like dat) if yuh backing the US to do good in the WC, daiz what yuh mean?

« Reply #21 on: December 12, 2009, 10:10:53 AM »
no, what I am saying is that so many seem to identify with the US...just interesting- that's all
no stress ;D

« Reply #22 on: January 04, 2010, 10:13:48 AM »

GROUP C
England
USA
Algeria
Slovenia

USA & Algeria

« Reply #24 on: June 03, 2010, 07:46:12 PM »
Poll: Will South Africa advance at World Cup?

It doesn't matter.  An African nation (finally) hosting this tournament for the first time is enough for Africa to be proud.  All these polls and pole takers can go f**k themselves.  :beermug: