Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: TSTT hires Lara, Yorke for Beyonce concert.  (Read 2239 times)
Sam
Hero Warrior

Police face and dog heart.

View Profile
« on: February 05, 2010, 07:10:21 AM »

TSTT hires Lara, Yorke for Beyonce concert
Cherisse Moe (Guardian)

MAJORITY state-owned TSTT yesterday confirmed that a company owned by West Indies cricket icon, Brian Lara, was one of the main contractors for its February 18 concert with Beyonce, one of the biggest musical stars in the world.

LAY Management, a company jointly owned by Lara and local football icon Dwight Yorke, has been retained by TSTT to help in the coordination and logistics associated with the event infrastructure, said TSTT spokesman Graeme Suite. TSTT’s executive vice-president of mobile services, Lisa Agard, said LAY Management would assume responsibility for the venue minus stage, sound and lights when the country’s largest telecommunications provider signs the contract.

Most of the work involved in putting on the show — including the stage, sound, lights, accommodation, transportation and security—will be handled by events manager Sean Burkett, who has done similar work on TSTT concerts involving top recording artistes Kanye West, Rihanna, Anita Baker and John Legend. Beyonce is coming to Trinidad with an entourage of 80 people, including her band, dancers, security and technical advisers.

Questioned on the possibility the show, expected to be one of the largest ever in the country, could be moved to the Queen’s Park Oval from the Savannah, Agard said: “Commercially, it makes much better sense to have the concert at a venue with pre-existing infrastructure like the Oval rather than having to build the infrastructure from scratch.”

Whichever venue is eventually agreed, Agard said TSTT was hoping for a sold-out crowd of 25,000: 4,000 VVIP tickets at $1,600 each; 8,000 VIP tickets at $1,000 each and 13,000 general admission tickets at $450 each. Suite, meanwhile, dismissed reports TSTT was pulling back from its involvement in the 2010 Carnival because of its sponsorship of the Beyonce concert.

He also dismissed claims TSTT was spending $10 million to bring Grammy award-winning R&B songstress Beyonce to perform in this country. Suite described as “ludicrous” and “grossly inaccurate,” a report in another newspaper that TSTT was putting a $10 million dent in the public’s purse to bring the superstar to T&T.

Suite said while he could not divulge the financial details of the agreement, “we can categorically state that the report is false and the union’s estimates are grossly exaggerated and inaccurate.” Suite also dismissed claims by president of the Communications Workers’ Union (CWU), Joseph Remy, that the cost of staging the event would affect any settlement of the collective agreement with the union.

“The hosting of the concert will in no way impact or compromise the eventual settlement of the collective agreement with the CWU,” he said. “Both parties met before the Industrial Court since November last year. The court is still hearing the mater and will make its decision.”

The Venue

Suite also said the venue for the concert had not yet been finalised. With respect to ticket sales, Suite said contrary to reports, the VVIP tickets were not sold out, as the company was distributing them in batches. He said the majority of tickets for the concert were priced at $450-$500, the average price of Carnival fetes and would not take away from people’s disposal for Carnival.

By the way, this was me at the age of 6.

Trinimassive
Hero Warrior

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2010, 10:46:47 AM »

Imagine Lara and Dwight have ah company called LAY management

Real clever. Lara And Yorke. LAY

Ah guess that slightly better than Brian And Dwight. BAD

Either way ah guess is just they chemistry that they name work out but with dey reputation I ent want no
LAY or BAD Management Huh

Andre
Hero Warrior

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2010, 11:28:12 AM »

now which one ah dem go try to bull beyonce?

she real lighten up and fix up the nose in recent times. coupled with the expensive blondish weave she could pass for wha they like.

« Last Edit: February 05, 2010, 11:32:37 AM by Andre » Logged
boss
Hero Warrior

When I grow up I want to be Dennis Lawrence

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2010, 12:16:33 PM »

I've never promoted a concert in my life, but I would have thought that the VENUE would be the second thing to be decided (after the performing act). But what do I know?  Huh

Real clever. Lara And Yorke. LAY
Ah guess that slightly better than Brian And Dwight. BAD

Rolling on the floor laughing
DeSoWa
Hero Warrior

Life. Passion. FOOTBALL!

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2010, 12:24:42 PM »

she real lighten up and fix up the nose in recent times. coupled with the expensive blondish weave she could pass for wha they like.

Lighting does play ah big part in how ah picture come out..so it ent have to be she doing something...I does have some pic of me looking 2 shades lighter or darker depends on weather it have natural light or bright lights...also it could be airbrusing and photoshop.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ojDopTolNcU

Hopefully TTFF gets their act together by 2018
davidephraim
Do Good and Live!!
Hero Warrior

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2010, 02:36:29 PM »

whatever dat is count me in cause De body ready.Kiss Kiss

elan
Go On ......Get In There!!!!!!!!
Hero Warrior

WaRRioR fOr LiFe!!!!!

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2010, 03:37:54 PM »

As good as Beyonce is, I feel if Machel open up for she the concert go finish when Machel done. Machel drop real big chune this season and people dying to see him live.

"It matters not what you can do, If you cannot do it when it matter"
just cool
Hero Warrior

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2010, 03:40:41 PM »

Eh andre, as ah former club employee i get tuh see all dem ppl live and direct, and i have to say in her defence, that iz the gyul real color dread,

and if yuh think she red, then yuh should see she mudda, that oman almost white! i think the earlier picture is probably ah sun tan picture for ah photo session on the beach, but that beyonce gyul up close is ah real real red bone!

just cool
Hero Warrior

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 05, 2010, 03:42:41 PM »

As good as Beyonce is, I feel if Machel open up for she the concert go finish when Machel done. Machel drop real big chune this season and people dying to see him live.
Yuh drinkin again?? yuh eh find it too early in the day for dat??! wait till after dinner nah dread.

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
Jump to: