March 28, 2024, 03:05:44 AM

Author Topic: Brazil star Ronaldinho doubtful for World Cup squad  (Read 8371 times)

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
Brazil star Ronaldinho doubtful for World Cup squad
« on: February 09, 2010, 10:43:29 AM »
Brazil star Ronaldinho doubtful for World Cup squad

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/8506394.stm

Ronaldinho could miss the World Cup after being omitted from Brazil's final warm-up friendly ahead of the summer tournament in South Africa.

He will not face Ireland at Arsenal's Emirates Stadium in London on 2 March.

The AC Milan star, 29, has not played for Brazil since the start of 2009, but his improved recent form has encouraged supporters to call for his return.

But coach Dunga has resisted pressure from the fans and local media in Brazil to recall the ex-Barcelona forward.

The 1994 World Cup winning captain has kept faith with Michel Bastos (Lyon), Juan and Doni (both Roma), Kleberson (Flamengo) and Gilberto (Cruzeiro).

Former Manchester City forward Robinho, who is now on-loan at Santos, has been included in the squad as has Liverpool midfielder Lucas. But there is no place for Manchester United midfielder Anderson.

Ronaldinho won the World Cup in 2002 and famously knocked out England at that tournament after lobbing keeper David Seaman with a second-half free-kick.

Brazil legend Pele was another who called for Ronaldinho to return to the fold.

Ronaldinho has appeared 87 times for his country, scoring 32 times.

He was also twice named World player of the year in 2004 and 2005 and has won the prestigious Ballon d'Or (european player of the year) once.
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
Re: Brazil star Ronaldinho doubtful for World Cup squad
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2010, 10:46:31 AM »
Brazil squad to face Ireland:

Goalkeepers: Julio Cesar (Inter Milan), Doni (Roma).

Defenders: Maicon (Inter Milan), Daniel Alves (Barcelona), Gilberto (Cruzeiro), Michel Bastos (Lyon), Juan (Roma), Lucio (Inter Milan), Luisao (Benfica), Thiago Silva (AC Milan).

Midfielders: Gilberto Silva (Panathinaikos), Josue (Wolfsburg), Felipe Melo (Juventus), Lucas (Liverpool), Kaka (Real Madrid), Ramires (Benfica), Elano (Galatasaray), Julio Baptista (Roma), Kleberson (Flamengo).

Forwards: Robinho (Santos), Adriano (Flamengo), Nilmar (Villarreal), Luis Fabiano (Seville).
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2010, 11:18:09 AM »
It must have a way for one of them names to get changed and put in "teets"

Teets playing ball!

« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2010, 11:22:29 AM »
Teets playing ball!

lmao

« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2010, 11:26:58 AM »
On paper that is not a scary Brazil team (by their standards), but Dunga has managed to bring the best out of squads with less talent than has been seen previously.  

Robinho- out of form
Kaka- out of form
Luis Fabiano- Just returned from injury
Giberto Silva- over the hill?
Josue- role player
Lucas- speculative and inconsistent at best
Elano- disappeared
Kleberson- still alive?
Ramires- unproven
Julio Baptista- inconsistent
Adriano- unproven for some time

Still think Ronaldinho will sneak his way in the roster, if he continues to perform at the current level (and better).  He'll get a pre tournament camp call up, and play his way into the mix...

« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2010, 11:35:16 AM »
i agree with leaving him out of this one..

let the man feel he still have to work his way into the side.

yuh eh see 3 months of form and he done start back palancing already?

as soon as this world cup done i feel he overs with serious football.

« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2010, 11:42:30 AM »

Have to admit, that is a great addition to the Trini vocabulary. 

« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2010, 12:00:47 PM »
On paper that is not a scary Brazil team (by their standards), but Dunga has managed to bring the best out of squads with less talent than has been seen previously.  

Robinho- out of form
Kaka- out of form
Josue- role player
Elano- disappeared
Kleberson- still alive?
Ramires- unproven

Still think Ronaldinho will sneak his way in the roster, if he continues to perform at the current level (and better).  He'll get a pre tournament camp call up, and play his way into the mix...

hadda disagree with ya on a few there
Gilberto doing his thing with Panathinkaikos....it aint Arsenal or a big name team but they in Champions' League every yr so ya know he competeing at a high lvl throughout

Elano is the same...we may not see these men play but they doing well...not to say they warming bench...
and we know Galatasaray is a good side

Ramires performed well when he get his chance...so ya cah hate on him
He decent and could ball

Adriano is Adriano...we know what he capable of and he producing in Brazil..done talk!

Josue there long time...so no questions there

lucas and Kleberson kinda have me wondering...
tho kleberson is a WC winner so ya cah doubt the ability...
Lucas....i eh know...
julio baptista and Robinho somehow get in even tho they real struggling...
but they goin on name...cah hate o that

with that said...i aint a brazil fan...the total opposite...ITALY
so this aint a biased view at all

« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2010, 12:23:41 PM »

Teets playing ball!

Cosignnnnnnn

Have to admit, that is a great addition to the Trini vocabulary. 

Cosignnnnnnnnnn

« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2010, 12:36:49 PM »

hadda disagree with ya on a few there
Gilberto doing his thing with Panathinkaikos....it aint Arsenal or a big name team but they in Champions' League every yr so ya know he competeing at a high lvl throughout

Elano is the same...we may not see these men play but they doing well...not to say they warming bench...
and we know Galatasaray is a good side

Ramires performed well when he get his chance...so ya cah hate on him
He decent and could ball

Adriano is Adriano...we know what he capable of and he producing in Brazil..done talk!

Josue there long time...so no questions there

Right right, I hear you....just tough to follow some of these fellas outside of the mainstream leagues in Europe, especially when they left the spotlight due to age or questionable form...

« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2010, 12:38:10 PM »
i find it real hard to picture Lucas in a brazil jersey.

Possibly the most unbrazilian brazilian ever to get a pick. Must be why dunga like him.

« Reply #11 on: February 09, 2010, 12:40:58 PM »

Robinho- out of form
Kaka- out of form
Josue- role player
Elano- disappeared
Kleberson- still alive?
Ramires- unproven

Adriano rediscovered his form in the Brazilian Serie A last year. He led Flamengo the title for the first time in a good few years, and I think he ended up as top scorer.

« Reply #12 on: February 09, 2010, 12:56:50 PM »

Teets playing ball!
Straight up!! 

« Reply #13 on: February 09, 2010, 01:17:49 PM »
Dunga will get kidnapped if he does not pick Ronaldhino.

plain and simple

he will be in the squad.

« Reply #14 on: February 09, 2010, 04:58:44 PM »
Lucas is shite and Robinho has ALWAYS been WAY overrated. The world finally seeing that Kaka eh all dat. Scorin a setta penalty and claimin you are Milan's talisman.

But on the real Dunga just using this as a motivational tool. Nobody cares about this game.

Real happy to see Thiago Silva get call up. Men playin real ball too. Cyah believe Pato can't make the side either. I rather play Diego than Robinho

« Reply #15 on: February 09, 2010, 06:07:23 PM »
At one point Ronaldinho was benching regular fuh Milan so it's not like he cyah make the Brazil squad. But Dunga wouldn't call him up if he feel Ronaldinho being a distraction.
If he think he will go there and sneak out to dance the Brazilian Tango in ah night club or do the horizontal dance on some willing South African he won't pick him

Lucas is shite and Robinho has ALWAYS been WAY overrated. The world finally seeing that Kaka eh all dat. Scorin a setta penalty and claimin you are Milan's talisman.

But on the real Dunga just using this as a motivational tool. Nobody cares about this game.

Real happy to see Thiago Silva get call up. Men playin real ball too. Cyah believe Pato can't make the side either. I rather play Diego than Robinho

That not gonna happen.

For the most part for Juve Diego been playing enough Kaka

« Reply #16 on: February 09, 2010, 06:51:16 PM »

Nah man, Robinho on form is pressure. 

Kaka is a big player, not so much the dancing Brazilian that many like to see, but pace and technique for days - and he used to score way more than just Penalties- doh talk that...but he's reeling from a long standing hernia condition (that he developed at Milan...too much man pulling his stones  ;D kidding) ...but it has serious ramifications on his training- he missed quite a few games this season, and it looks like it's screwing up his performance on the field.   

Not a fan of Diego- always missing a step at the int'l level in my opinion.

I think Pato might be currently injured....

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #17 on: February 09, 2010, 08:33:11 PM »
I so mad right now I might as best just let this one slide
I LOVE THIS GAME BETTER THAN I LOVE THIS GAME

« Reply #18 on: February 09, 2010, 08:47:14 PM »
Robinho is overrated, he better than Denilson but similar in productivity for the most part...I rather play Nilmar ahead of him but the current system only allwos for 1 forward and 2 men playing behind Fabiano (Kaka and Robinho right now).  Hopefully it will be Kaka and Ronaldinho at the world cup...diego is a club player.

« Reply #19 on: February 10, 2010, 02:31:14 PM »
Diego real not gettin any love in this thread boy. Jah.

On the real though, Robinho looks and plays like a small man and adds very little value. Yuh cyah be dat and have a bad attitude.

Flames for he

« Reply #20 on: February 10, 2010, 03:14:29 PM »
Diego real not gettin any love in this thread boy. Jah.

On the real though, Robinho looks and plays like a small man and adds very little value. Yuh cyah be dat and have a bad attitude.

Flames for he

LOL  :rotfl:

« Reply #21 on: February 10, 2010, 03:22:57 PM »

Kaka is a big player, not so much the dancing Brazilian that many like to see, but pace and technique for days - and he used to score way more than just Penalties- doh talk that...but he's reeling from a long standing hernia condition (that he developed at Milan...too much man pulling his stones  ;D kidding) ...but it has serious ramifications on his training- he missed quite a few games this season, and it looks like it's screwing up his performance on the field.   

Pato is currently sh!t, daz what. Very overrated.

Robinho is much better for Brazil than he is for any club.

« Reply #22 on: February 10, 2010, 03:33:09 PM »

Brethren that high grade you smoking i need some please!! :beermug:

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #23 on: February 10, 2010, 08:53:17 PM »
Ah must cosign that one Fordy. Ah feel that ting he smoking go real sell in trini.

« Reply #24 on: February 10, 2010, 09:08:32 PM »

lol Coming from an Inter man, I'll take that with a grain (pound) of salt  ;D

Agree with you on the Robinho point. 

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #25 on: February 10, 2010, 09:32:30 PM »
If ah beat have dunga so spiteful Ronnie lucky he didn't do him ah John Terry. He might have killed him

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #26 on: February 12, 2010, 02:45:31 PM »
Ah guess Dunga not watching this game against Udinese and taking notes. He might just tune in the 2nd half

« Reply #27 on: February 12, 2010, 07:59:52 PM »
If ah beat have dunga so spiteful Ronnie lucky he didn't do him ah John Terry. He might have killed him

The Phrase Horna-man has been replaced with "a John Terry"
I like it.

« Reply #28 on: February 14, 2010, 08:50:04 PM »
Ah guess Dunga not watching this game against Udinese and taking notes. He might just tune in the 2nd half
He was in true form for that game!!! Disguised passes, accurate long passes to the forwards (in stride) and of course clever & tricky on the ball. He was a gem to watch. If he does not make the team for this WC, I wouldn't support Brazil in protest. That's a really tough stand to take.....please Dunga, do the right thing :praying:

Offline onlikecorn

• vibes it up
Ronaldinho @ world cup??
« Reply #29 on: April 22, 2010, 03:01:32 AM »
Ronaldinho says he is convinced he will be part of the Brazil squad that will win this summer's World Cup finals in South Africa.

Ronaldinho was a key member of Brazil's side at both the 2002 and 2006 events - helping them to win the tournament in 2002 - but has not made an impression on Brazil coach Dunga and could miss out on this year's tournament.

However, the AC Milan playmaker says that he is not fearing for his place in the squad.

"I will go to the World Cup and I will win it,'' he said in an article in Chi. "Recently I have had problems with the national team, but it hasn't been my fault.

"I can't imagine a World Cup without Ronaldinho on the field. It seems impossible to me when I think of not playing.

"I feel bad, really bad. Therefore, I can safely say I will make my country proud in the World Cup and, above all - with my team-mates - I'll win it."

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/world-cup/story/_/id/775070/ce/uk/?cc=5901&ver=us

Sounds a bit cocky to me. . . . but i think the brazil team may have a boost . . but at the same time they make it to the world cup without him . .so i dont know what to think. . .but it doesnt really matter to me. . i dont like brazil anyway . . . but the more entertainment at the world cup the better. . so i say play de man  . . haha ..
allyuh should try this in de us, uk and canada. . .actually works. . . use it instead of google. . and get free ting. . i get real free ting already....