March 28, 2024, 04:22:43 AM

Author Topic: T&T U-17 Women's Team Thread  (Read 50054 times)

Re: 2013 CONCACAF U-17 Women's Championship Thread
« Reply #30 on: October 29, 2013, 07:46:29 PM »
The Girls should have arrived in JA tonight.

Good Luck Ladies......do your best.

T&T U-17 Women's Team Thread
« Reply #31 on: October 30, 2013, 06:02:31 PM »
U-17 Women face off with U.S in CONCACAF opener.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Trinidad and Tobago’s Women Under 17 team will  face an uphill task in their opening CONCACAF final round qualifying encounter against United States at the Montego Bay Sports Complex from 6pm on Thursday.

The team, under head coach Marlon Charles, head into the tournament as Caribbean champions after defeating Haiti in the Caribbean Football Union final in Port-au-Prince earlier this month.

The US, runners up at the 2008 U-17 World Cup, are obvious favourites with their track record but T&T is hoping to pose a stiff challenge against a country that are also two time CONCACAF champions in this age group.

“We know it’s going to be a difficult assignment and some may say well it’s tough that we have to face the US in our opening game. But I actually think it’s not a bad thing that we are facing them this early in the competition,” Charles told TTFA Media.

“The girls are eager to get the game started. It’s a big challenge and an occasion by itself to face the United States and I expect that once we settle down early enough, we are not going to make life easy for them.

“Our approach will be based on the fact that we are here for a tournament in which two teams will advance to the World Cup. We will play smart and we will do our very best to bring our A-game on the day,” Charles added.

“When you look at our group, it also includes a giant in women’s football – Canada and Guatemala. We will take each game on its own merit.”

The winners and runners up of the two groups will advance to the semi-finals. The two finalists will then qualify for the 2014 FIFA Under 17 Women's World Cup in Costa Rica.

TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO U17 WOMEN’S TEAM PLAYERS

No / First Name / Last Name
1 REBECCA ANN ALMANDOZ
2 TAMARA JOHNSON
3 RENEE MIKE
4 NATISHA JOHN
5 AMAYA ELLIS
6 ABASHAI GUY
7 DENNECIA PRINCE
8 SUMMER ARJOON
9 ZOE SWIFT
10 JAHRA THOMAS
11 EDEN CHARLES
12 KHALINE JACOB
13 CHELSEA FREDERICK
14 CHEVONNE JOHN
15 COREL CARMICHAEL
16 KELSEY HENRY
17 MAYA MATOUK
18 JASANDRA JOSEPH
19 CHELCY RALPH
20 NICOLETTE CRAIG

STAFF / First Name / Last Name / Position
JINELLE JAMES Team Manager
MARLON CHARLES Head Coach
JOANNE CURTIS Assistant Coach
STEVE FREDERICK Goal Keeper Coach
SHELDON BRIDGEMAN Equipment Manager
ALLISON BROWNE Physiotherapist
KAMASHA ROBERTSON Sports Psychologist

Fixtures for the CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship Jamaica 2013

October 30 – November 9, 2013
at Montego Bay, Jamaica (Montego Bay Sports Complex)

FIRST ROUND GROUPS

Group A: Jamaica, Mexico, Haiti, El Salvador       
Group B: United States, Canada, Guatemala, Trinidad & Tobago

SCHEDULE
Times U.S. Eastern (local time in parentheses)

GROUP STAGE

Wednesday, October 30

Mexico vs. Haiti, 4:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m.)
Jamaica vs. El Salvador, 7:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m.)

Thursday, October 31
Canada vs. Guatemala, 4:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m.)
Trinidad & Tobago vs. United States, 7:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m.)

Friday, November 1
El Salvador vs. Mexico, 4:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m.)
Jamaica vs. Haiti, 7:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m.)

Saturday, November 2
Canada vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 4:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m.)
United States vs. Guatemala, 7:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m.)

Sunday, November 3
Haiti vs. El Salvador, 3:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m.)
Jamaica vs. Mexico, 6:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m.)

Monday, November 4
Guatemala vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 3:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m.)
United States vs. Canada, 6:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m.)

SEMIFINALS *

Thursday, November 7

SF #1:  Winner Group B vs. Runner-up Group A, 3:00 p.m. (3:00 p.m.)
SF #2:  Winner Group A vs. Runner-up Group B, 6:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m.)

THIRD-PLACE MATCH & FINAL *

Saturday, November 9

Loser SF #1 vs. Loser SF#2, 3:00 p.m. (3:00 p.m.)
Winner SF #1 vs. Winner SF#2, 6:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m.)

Re: 2013 CONCACAF U-17 Women's Championship Thread.
« Reply #32 on: October 30, 2013, 06:17:04 PM »
Good luck Princesses!!!

« Reply #33 on: October 30, 2013, 06:21:22 PM »
Tough group dread but is good exposure for the princesses. They need to try and survive this first game an avoid getting confidence shattered by a top-form and probably very fit US team. Fight them Warriors!

« Reply #34 on: October 30, 2013, 10:47:08 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/FZ6zBV7XJd0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/FZ6zBV7XJd0</a>

« Reply #35 on: October 30, 2013, 10:48:14 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZIsR9DkTArE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ZIsR9DkTArE</a>

« Reply #36 on: October 31, 2013, 05:54:01 PM »
T&T 0 vs USA 3 HT

« Reply #37 on: October 31, 2013, 05:55:19 PM »
Just sitting back and defending.

Game on Fox Soccer Plus and Fox Soccer Plus to go.

« Reply #38 on: October 31, 2013, 06:40:51 PM »
Horrible football.

This watch two minutes. Change channel. Can't even make a decent pass out of the area.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2013, 06:44:03 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #39 on: October 31, 2013, 07:01:46 PM »
T&T 0 vs USA 8

« Reply #40 on: October 31, 2013, 07:02:36 PM »
T&T coaches really need to gain experience on the international scene.

« Reply #41 on: October 31, 2013, 07:45:36 PM »
Guys allyuh serious. We played the strongest team in the tornament!

« Reply #42 on: October 31, 2013, 07:55:52 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/WsdNlA2hsnA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/WsdNlA2hsnA</a>

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #43 on: October 31, 2013, 09:01:49 PM »

Our girls did not defend. T&T did not aggressively try to close down the attack  even when the ball was in our penalty area.

« Reply #44 on: November 01, 2013, 03:01:22 AM »
U.S. U-17 Women defeats T&T 8-0 in CONCACAF U-17 Women’s opener.
USSOCCER.COM.

The U.S. Under-17 Women’s National Team opened play at the 2013 CONCACAF U-17 Women’s Championship with a rousing 8-0 victory against Trinidad & Tobago as seven different players scored a goal to lead the USA to a comfortable win at the Montego Bay Sports Complex.

Mallory Pugh led the way with two goals, including the opening score in the 32nd minute that finally broke the T&T bunker, and a blistering strike in the 81st minute that put a stamp on the match. Anika Rodriguez and Marley Canales also tallied first-half goals. Forward Madison Haley, who also had three assists including on both of Pugh’s goal, 14-year-old Civana Kuhlmann and defenders Zoe Morse and Natalie Jacobs found the net in the second half.

“I was really, really proud of our energy,” U-17 WNT head coach B.J. Snow said. “I thought the spirit of the team was excellent going into the game and sometimes the spirit can get the best of you when you start a qualifying tournament especially, when there are 14-, 15- and 16-year-olds involved. I was pleased to see them push through, build the game and continue to be patient, and when we got that first goal there was a big sigh of relief and then we could just play.

“The involvement of our team over 90 minutes was excellent,” he said. “We were able to find spaces to penetrate, whether it was the width or inside to find those pockets. Overall, I was very pleased.”

In the other Group B match, Canada defeated Guatemala 8-0, so both the USA and its northern neighbor sit atop the group with three points and tied on goal differential.

The top two finishers in each group will qualify for the semifinals. The teams will cross over with the first-place team in Group A playing second in Group B and vice-versa, with the semifinal winners earning CONCACAF’s two berths to the 2014 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup being held next March in Costa Rica.

Guatemala is up next for the USA on Saturday, Nov. 2, in a match that can be seen live on FOX Soccer Plus and online at FOX Soccer 2GO at 7 p.m. ET. Fans can also follow on ussoccer.com’s MatchTracker and on Twitter @ussoccer_ynt.

The USA dominated the match in the mid-80-degree heat with heavy possession while Trinidad often kept nine field players deep inside its own half. For more than 30 minutes, the U.S. found plenty of room down the flanks with some excellent ball movement, but either could not connect with a runner or shot right at T&T goalkeeper Nicolette Craig.

Pugh’s fancy bit of dribbling opened the flood gates for the young Americans as she ran onto a pass from Haley inside the penalty area, swiveled around Craig and slotted the ball home for a 1-0 lead.

Six minutes later, Rodriguez finished well as she laced home a rebound off of a Pugh shot that had struck the right post and rolled toward the top of the penalty area. Just three minutes before the break, Canales sent the USA into half with a 3-0 lead, as Haley poked the ball back at the top of the penalty area on the left side and she struck a left-footed shot that deflected off of a Trinidad defender and found the left corner of the net.

After setting up her teammates in the first half, Haley became the beneficiary to start the second with her first goal of the tournament. In the 52nd minute, Rodriguez powerfully dribbled into the left side of the box, gliding past a pair of Trinidad defenders before a rolling square pass to Haley, who took one quick touch and drilled the ball past Craig inside the left post for a 4-0 lead. Haley now has five international goals in six U-17 WNT matches.

Snow sent on the 14-year-old Kuhlmann on the 73rd minute and it took her less than eight minutes to find the net, stuffing her shot into the left corner after some nice work on the left flank from 61st minute substitute Maddy Schultz. It was Kuhlmann’s first international match at the U-17 level and of course her first goal. She is the youngest player ever to score for the U.S. U-17 Women’s National Team program in international competition.

Pugh made it 6-0 in the 81st minute with her blast from just inside the penalty area and then the Americans finished the scoring with two headers from its center-backs, both off Tegan McGrady corner kicks from the right side. The first came just a minute after Pugh’s second goal as Morse powered home her header and then Jacobs did her best Abby Wambach impression two minutes from time to cap the scoring.

With both the USA and Canada scoring eight times, goal difference in the second round of Group B games will take on added importance as Canada faces T&T and the USA takes on Guatemala.

Additional Notes:

•Pugh is the leading goal scorer on this U-17 WNT with eight career goals in only six games.
•The USA out-shot T&T 39-0 and had 16 corner kicks to T&Ts zero.
•This is the first major international tournament for this group of U-17 players.
•The age cut-off for the 2014 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup is players born on or after Jan. 1, 1997. Twelve of the 20 players on the roster were born in 1997, six were born in 1998 and two in 1999.
•U-17 WNT head coach B.J. Snow went with a 4-3-3 formation that featured a front line of Taylor Racioppi, Madison Haley and Anika Rodriguez.
•Rodriguez and starting midfielder Marley Canales are tied for the team lead with eight U-17 WNT caps.
•Maddy Schultz entered the match in the 61st minute for Racioppi. It marked Schultz’s third-career international appearance with the U-17s.
•The USA’s two 14-year-olds both saw the pitch in the second half as Frankie Tagliaferri joined Kuhlmann on the field for the final eight minutes after she replaced Mallory Pugh. It was the third international appearance for Tagliaferri.

-U.S. Under-17 Women’s National Team Match Report-

Match: U.S. U-17 Women’s National Team vs. Trinidad & Tobago
Date: Oct. 31, 2013
Competition: CONCACAF U-17 Women’s Championship
Venue: Montego Bay Sports Complex; Montego Bay, Jamaica
Kickoff: 6 p.m. CT
Attendance: 1,000
Weather: 86 degrees, humid, partly cloudy

VIDEO: - Trinidad & Tobago vs USA Highlights

Scoring Summary: 1 2 F
USA                         3 5 8
TRI                          0 0 0

USA – Mallory Pugh (Madison Haley)       32nd minute
USA – Anika Rodriguez (Mallory Pugh)     38
USA – Marley Canales (Madison Haley)     42
USA – Madison Haley (Anika Rodriguez)   52
USA – Civana Kuhlmann (Maddy Schultz)  76
USA – Mallory Pugh (Madison Haley)        81
USA – Zoe Morse (Tegan McGrady)          82
USA – Natalie Jacobs (Tegan McGrady)     88

Lineups:

USA: 1-Lauren Rood; 10-Ellie Jean (capt.), 9-Zoe Morse, 6-Natalie Jacobs, 12-Tegan McGrady; 2-Dorian Bailey, 4-Marley Canales, 17-Mallory Pugh (25-Frankie Tagliaferri, 83); 14-Taylor Racioppi (22-Maddy Schultz, 61), 3-Madison Haley, 19-Anika Rodriguez (11-Civana Kuhlmann, 73)

Substitutions Not Used: 5-Gabriella Carreiro, 7-Mia Gyau, 8-Kelcie Hedge, 13-Taylor Otto, 15-Zoe Redei, 18-Kat Hess

Head coach: B.J. Snow

TRI: 21-Nicolette Craig; 2-Tamara Johnson, 3-Renee Mike, 4-Natisha John (19-Chelcy Ralph, 62), 5-Amaya Ellis, 7-Dennecia Prince, 8-Summer Arjoon, 9-Zoe Swift (capt.) (10-Jahra Thomas, 90+3), 11-Eden Charles, 14-Chevonne John, 15-Corel Carmichael (17-Maya Matouk, 80)

Substitutions Not Used: 1-Rebecca Almandoz, 6-Abishai Guy, 12-Khaline Jacob, 13-Chelsea Frederick, 16-Kelsey Henry, 18-Jasandra Joseph

Head coach: Marlon Charles

Stats Summary: USA / TRI
Shots: 39 / 0
Shots on Goal: 16 / 0
Saves: 0 / 8
Corner Kicks: 16 / 0
Fouls: 11 / 7
Offside: 3 / 0

Officials:

Referee: Gillian Martindale (BRB)
Assistant Referee 1: Kimberly Moreira (CRC)
Assistant Referee 2: Yajaira Astacio Pena (DOM)
Fourth Official: Cardella Samuels (JAM)

Woman of the Match: Mallory Pugh

Re: Re: 2013 CONCACAF U-17 Women's Championship Thread.
« Reply #45 on: November 01, 2013, 03:58:41 AM »

That excuse gettin old now. I ain't expect to win but lookin at the poor football you have to shake yuh head.

We playing Canada next eh.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2013, 04:01:47 AM by D.H.W »

« Reply #46 on: November 01, 2013, 05:07:19 AM »
     The Coaches or the players?
« Last Edit: November 01, 2013, 05:10:10 AM by Coop's »

« Reply #47 on: November 01, 2013, 05:24:30 AM »

That excuse gettin old now. I ain't expect to win but lookin at the poor football you have to shake yuh head.

We playing Canada next eh.

That's not an excuse it's a fact,only yesterday ah man was telling me is parents in the US who don't know Soccer does take their kids to play Youth Soccer,these people are serious trust me.

« Reply #48 on: November 01, 2013, 06:02:41 AM »
Coops, nobody expecting our girls to beat USA or Canada.

But the way they play.

This team just won the Caribbean Cup and the way they playing is depressing.

Same set of excuses we keep hearing from de men side and Stehpen Hart came in and the team was playing differently, how, how !!!!!!

« Reply #49 on: November 01, 2013, 06:17:14 AM »

But the way they play.

Same set of excuses we keep hearing from de men side and Stehpen Hart came in and the team was playing differently, how, how !!!!!!

I think this is more of an indictment on the level of play in the Caribbean.  Keep in mind our sweeper is only 14 years old....  Invaluable experience for her and the rest of the team.  I eh making no excuses but let us not forgot the US will be the favorites to win the Youth World Cup. 

« Reply #50 on: November 01, 2013, 06:20:21 AM »
How much of the T&T players were born in the US and Canada?

This happening long time bro, not just this team.

Coops saying in de US all de parent involved and he right, but we importing them same US players, no?

« Reply #51 on: November 01, 2013, 06:46:15 AM »

But the way they play.

Sam,u can't compare our men's team with these girls,our men are Pros they are expose to high quality Football on a daily basis,they are expose to international Football more often than these ladies.

Why u all don't try and understand why our women/girls don't do well against world class opposition,first of all they are not treated like top class players,they don't constantly play in high quality leagues to gain any kind of experience,the highest form of Football they play is the Colleges league, who really cares about women Football and that's been going on for years but when they attend tournaments people expect positive results,what money does Women Football or these women/girls get financial or otherwise,what incentive is there for them to perform/train except going on a trip,i watch the highlights of the US game and our girls look like Cones out there,we have to come better than that against the US.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2013, 08:26:38 AM by Coop's »

« Reply #52 on: November 01, 2013, 08:19:46 AM »
I think Coops is right here.  Boys/Girls soccer follow the same protocols in the US.  It's massive.  Our players are not playing against the same competition level that the US girls are playing.  Keep in mind, the US is all about scholarships for college and parents here see soccer as an avenue for their kids education to be paid.  Parents invest heavily in their kids' soccer preparation and participation.  Summer camps cost $500 US and some of these kids go to 4 and 5 camps over the summer. 

The money being spent on soccer in the US is insane.  Also the reason why the US is to good at soccer has to do with something called Title IX.  Title IX was instituted in the US in the '70s to allow for equal opportunities for boys and girls.  Because most colleges in the US have "american football" which equates to 80-90 scholarships, title IX says they have to have the same number of scholarships for women.  Thus, the advent of all these soccer programs with 15 scholarships.  To be honest, girls don't even have to be that great but they get a full ride. 

All this to say, our players don't have the resources to compete.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #53 on: November 01, 2013, 09:30:38 AM »
Every goal with the exception of the first one was totally preventable. The young Princesses positioning on the defensive side of the ball is terrible (sorry to say). However all totally correctable. Playing a flat four with what looks like two other midfielders back there helping is cause for major confusion. We all realize the USA can intimidate just because they are the USA however we must remember we all are U17. The girls must remain as calm as they can despite the odds  and just play football.

You could see as the game wore on that our ladies became very dejected & could not wait until the game was over. Our keeper on more than a few goals made no attempt to dive after a ball. At least make an attempt to show your mates you are in the game get mad at your defenders to rile them up for allowing too much space for the USA forwards to attack.

Sitting back and just defending takes way too much energy out of a player. If you have the ball & are moving it around good things will happen. Constantly chasing is tough & one could see that our girls were getting demoralized with the whole situation on the pitch.

I will say this as the last corner kick goal was particularly bad !! Where was the defender that should be on the post. Soccer-101 coaches.

I could go on and on however that is not fair to the girls. it is up to the coaches to right the ship & correct it very quickly as Canada is a very strong squad as will want to show the USA that they have come to play. So expect an equally tough game. If i am behind the bench I give it everything I have to score and score again as they say the best defense is a good offence. We can debate this one until the cows come home however parking the bus atop of the 18 yard box is a recipe for disaster IMHO.

This current U17squad is all local as is the 20's. Only the senior squad has been bringing in two Canadians (Daniel Blair when she can get off work & of course Arin King). If the TTFA is truly serious about 2015 they need to infuse more dollars to each age group so they can go on more international friendlies to improve. With Canada hosting 2015 this is our best shot ever to qualify as with the increase of teams to WWC from 16 to 24 & an extra spot in Concacaf. This forumite says we can do it with the right resources.

In the mean time try to remain positive about the young Princesses as it's not their fault as they are following a game plan.

Good luck ladies versus Canada.

« Reply #54 on: November 01, 2013, 11:56:47 AM »
I will say this as the last corner kick goal was particularly bad !! Where was the defender that should be on the post. Soccer-101 coaches.

This current U17squad is all local as is the 20's.
I guess you are assuming the coaches did want someone on the last post.  Not saying that you aren't correct because I coach the way you suggested but not all coaches do.

This team is not all local.  Amaya Ellis is a 14 year old from Chicago and we have two other girls from the US as well. 

« Reply #55 on: November 01, 2013, 11:57:49 AM »
How the girls played had nothing to do with them.

Did you all watch the game or did you all see the highlights?

The Coaches or the players?

The coaches Coop's. Yes the players need it too, but the coaches need to learn.

Yesterday strategy was very cowardice.

Mind yo Anton Corneal there also imparting his knowledge and instructions too eh.

« Reply #56 on: November 01, 2013, 11:58:38 AM »

I guess you are assuming the coaches did want someone on the last post.  Not saying that you aren't correct because I coach the way you suggested but not all coaches do.

This team is not all local.  Amaya Ellis is a 14 year old from Chicago and we have two other girls from the US as well. 

Yes there are 3 foreign base players on this team, they joined the team on the 29th.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #57 on: November 01, 2013, 02:22:40 PM »

Yes there are 3 foreign base players on this team, they joined the team on the 29th.

There you go I am not up on the U17s as I should be & yes I watched the whole game from start to finish as I always do when they are online or  TV (satellite) ...

To get back to the corners ... you always have players on the posts for just that very reason the goal went in the way it did ... Cheers

Offline socalion

« Reply #58 on: November 01, 2013, 03:33:51 PM »
Question....why by all appearances many of  the local coaches take such a defeatist / we already beaten / we can't beat the u.s  nor canada mentality  can someone answer that???  damn it the tactical approach to yesterdays  game, was to say the least horrible  piss poor approach ....   i would have rather seen  a more assertive approach  against the united states ,   than  to apply such negative defensive tactics ........ even though the results may or may not be the same .. .....such a defensive approach against a team like the u.s  is inviting  undue pressure .... coach marlon charles and his technical staff need to take a serious look at their tactical game plans,, for the next  games

« Reply #59 on: November 01, 2013, 04:19:08 PM »
Question....why by all appearances many of  the local coaches take such a defeatist / we already beaten / we can't beat the u.s  nor canada mentality  can someone answer that???  damn it the tactical approach to yesterdays  game, was to say the least horrible  piss poor approach ....   i would have rather seen  a more assertive approach  against the united states ,   than  to apply such negative defensive tactics ........ even though the results may or may not be the same .. .....such a defensive approach against a team like the u.s  is inviting  undue pressure .... coach marlon charles and his technical staff need to take a serious look at their tactical game plans,, for the next  games

Ah finally someone who can pin the tail..........