March 29, 2024, 01:18:49 AM

Author Topic: Cornell Glen Thread.  (Read 31125 times)

Cornell Glen Thread.
« on: March 11, 2010, 02:42:41 PM »
... Any news since the morale crushing injury to his knee again several months ago?
 :'(
« Last Edit: December 30, 2015, 04:31:46 AM by Flex »

Re: Cornell Glen ....
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2010, 02:48:55 PM »
... Any news since the morale crushing injury to his knee again several months ago?
 :'(

COSIGN

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2010, 02:53:17 PM »
He is with the San Jose Earthquakes on a pre-season tour of England. So far dey play West Ham and Tottenham Hotspur's development side. He played de full game against Tottenham yesterday.

« Last Edit: March 11, 2010, 03:02:03 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2010, 03:22:11 PM »
Yes!!!!!!!
Latas .... Keep following these threads please.

« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2010, 03:31:31 PM »
Yes!!!!!!!
Latas .... Keep following these threads please.

COSIGNNNNN

« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2010, 08:18:19 PM »
Let Cornell play an attacking mid-field!!!

« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2010, 11:49:44 PM »
Let Cornell play an attacking mid-field!!!
smh . where you get this idea from?  The man is a pure forward

« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2010, 10:24:22 AM »
Bab,
           He has skill, he has ball control and speed. He may not have the vision of Latas, but I will like to see them try him at that position. We have a little time to experiment. In the last WC campaign, which mid-field was able to consistently(with confidence)  take the  ball outside our area to the opposing team area and make dangerous passes or create unease. ZERO.

« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2010, 12:19:54 PM »
men still talking about cornell

was not good enough to deliver the goods in qualification

we need different players

« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2010, 04:25:34 PM »

What you smoking fella??? FYI cornell was the only forward tuh score in the hex, with the exception of kerry baptiste who scored in the final game against mexico!

cornell scored 4 goals in the semis and one in the hex, of which he only played two hex games. and i'll tell yuh this much, if cornell glenn was the one who was playing for wigan athletic , instead of another striker we know, he woulda have @ least 4 goals in the prem by now, as oppossed to none.

« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2010, 05:27:57 PM »

What you smoking fella??? FYI cornell was the only forward tuh score in the hex, with the exception of kerry baptiste who scored in the final game against mexico!

cornell scored 4 goals in the semis and one in the hex, of which he only played two hex games. and i'll tell yuh this much, if cornell glenn was the one who was playing for wigan athletic , instead of another striker we know, he woulda have @ least 4 goals in the prem by now, as oppossed to none.

Yuh preach they brother well said he should be in the premiership tearing it up....

« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2010, 06:57:50 PM »

i agree here however he is no attackin mid. and as for control and the ability to pass thats reaching. run like a mad man at a defense... now thats our boy.

« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2010, 09:27:46 PM »

i agree here however he is no attackin mid. and as for control and the ability to pass thats reaching. run like a mad man at a defense... now thats our boy.
Did you watch the game against england? the fella passin and ball controll was impeccable! and i'll go further to say, if stern had ah little patience on that play, he would've been the first trini tuh score ah goal in the world cup, that's BC he got ah boss pass from cornell glenn and was caught off side.

« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2010, 09:06:54 AM »
I wouldn't say his control is impeccable but he is a lil greedy and he def aint no attacking mid.... we does get so desperate that anytime we have any kinda attacking player we wanna put him in the attacking mid position so he can be our next midfield general .... we say so about  scotty , kj , stern, carlos as well as cornell.
The man aint no attacking mid none of these guys are .... but knee injury or not he is the best attacking option we have aggressive , quick and hungry and based on what we have he is the first option we have to look to when we start searching for forwards for whatever our next campaign will be.... since leonson and nixon we have not had a quick forward..... we have to go to him!

« Reply #14 on: March 13, 2010, 01:37:53 PM »
is this for the next world cup ??? Cornel Glen ??? well yes ! all yuh good oui ...men still trying to fix broken houses instead ah building new ones .... His time has passed ..... time to build a new house

« Reply #15 on: March 13, 2010, 02:56:10 PM »
is this for the next world cup ??? Cornel Glen ??? well yes ! all yuh good oui ...men still trying to fix broken houses instead ah building new ones .... His time has passed ..... time to build a new house

Breds , cornell glenn iz only 28.

« Reply #16 on: March 13, 2010, 04:32:17 PM »
Which means he will be 32 come Brazil 2014...

Love Glen... He aint no midfielder.. maybe a good right wing man.

« Reply #17 on: March 14, 2010, 02:04:58 PM »
Bab,
           He has skill, he has ball control and speed. He may not have the vision of Latas, but I will like to see them try him at that position. We have a little time to experiment. In the last WC campaign, which mid-field was able to consistently(with confidence)  take the  ball outside our area to the opposing team area and make dangerous passes or create unease. ZERO.

If its like a Kieran Richardson type, you cant do that in the National team level. Cornell will have to change his game entirely to be a looking to be intinctive is whether to pass or attack, run back to play help defense, be able to knock bigger attackers off the ball, etc.  You have to train for that daily like you in a club but International football you only meeting for a few days then play. That's too much to expect from him.

« Reply #18 on: March 19, 2010, 02:24:20 PM »
In preseason action March 17

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ri2rXpDzoxw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ri2rXpDzoxw</a>

« Reply #19 on: March 19, 2010, 04:00:39 PM »
That look like a fowl on Glenn when he take on that man on the line.

« Reply #20 on: March 19, 2010, 08:47:18 PM »
Is a spanner he ketch dey yes lol

« Reply #21 on: March 20, 2010, 02:38:51 PM »
ahhhhhh yes d proverbial spanner d beat of a champion 18 secs is a nice time to wait to see it lol

« Reply #22 on: March 20, 2010, 09:56:04 PM »

ah fowl or ah foul?  ;D :beermug:

« Reply #23 on: March 20, 2010, 10:13:36 PM »

Daiz Glen? I don't think so. Glen is #17.

Glen scores against Timbers
« Reply #24 on: March 21, 2010, 07:00:01 AM »
Thompson helps Timbers to 1-1 draw with MLS' San Jose
portlandtimbers.com

A late equalizer by defender Scot Thompson helped the Portland Timbers to a 1-1 draw against Major League Soccer’s San Jose Earthquakes in preseason play Saturday at Buck Shaw Stadium. The exhibition concluded Portland’s third week of preseason.

With the Timbers down 1-0, Thompson entered the match in the 75th minute as a substitute. Five minutes later, he netted his first goal of the preseason in the 80th minute to level the score and deliver the first goal against the Earthquakes in six preseason matches.

Forward Cornell Glen scored for San Jose, who opens its MLS regular-season schedule next week against defending-champion Real Salt Lake. Glen converted a 25-yard shot in the 71st minute to land the first goal against the Timbers in preseason.

Facing their second MLS opponent in consecutive weeks, the Timbers battled back from a one-goal deficit in the second half. Substitute midfielder Rodrigo Lopez served the free kick which found Thompson at the top of the six-yard box. Thompson, who gained the advantage on his marker, was able to knock the ball into the back of the net, and preserve the Timbers’ unbeaten preseason record.

Portland held strong defensively in the first half. Goalkeeper Steve Cronin, who played his collegiate career at Santa Clara University and at Buck Shaw Stadium, recorded two key saves in the opening period. In the 42nd minute, he punched away a dangerous 25-yard shot by Earthquakes midfielder Bobby Convey aimed at the top corner of the frame.

Forward George Josten, who assisted the Timbers’ game-winning goal last week against the Seattle Sounders FC, provided Portland’s best scoring chance in the first stanza. A throw-in by defender Quavas Kirk in the 13th minute found Josten inside the box, and Josten headed a shot just wide of the near post.

Midfielder Ryan Pore forced San Jose goalkeeper Andrew Weber into a timely save in the opening minutes of the second half.

For the second straight game, the Timbers fought off a late push by their opponent in the second half. Much like the preseason match against Seattle on March 11, the Earthquakes had the last chance just before the final whistle; Convey’s free kick into the box was headed just over the cross bar.

The Timbers resume preseason training camp Monday in Portland and will face the Vancouver Whitecaps in their next preseason test on Friday, March 26, in Tukwila, Wash. The team begins its regular-season slate Saturday, April 17, at PGE Park against the Rochester Rhinos.

Notes: The Timbers improve to 2-0-1 in preseason, including a 1-0-1 mark against MLS sides … Midfielder Tony McManus made his preseason debut for the Timbers Saturday, entering the match as a sub in the second half. He had missed the first two preseason matches while recovering from offseason surgery … Defender Ian Joy wore the captain’s armband for the Timbers against San Jose.

Lineups:
POR: GK Cronin (Pyzdrowski, 80), D Kirk, D Keel, D Danso (Thompson, 75), D Joy, M Nimo (Lopez, 56), M Marcelin, M Gaudet (McManus, 45), M Pore, F Josten (DeMartin, 69), F Obatola (Cameron, 82)

SJ: GK Weber, D Beitashour, D Corrales, D Hernandez, D Opara, M Convey, M Luiz (McDonald, 75), M Robles (Sanchez, 75), M Gjertsen (Jesse, 63), F Alvarez (Glen, 45), F Johnson (Amarikwa, 78)

Scoring Summary:
SJ: Glen, 71
POR: Thompson (Lopez), 80

« Reply #25 on: March 21, 2010, 10:03:47 AM »
Keep it up Glen. Stay healthy and keep in touch with Latas.  :beermug:

« Reply #26 on: March 21, 2010, 10:33:41 AM »

ah fowl or ah foul?  ;D :beermug:

I click the video looking for a yard bird

« Reply #27 on: March 21, 2010, 12:24:57 PM »
Apparently he netted twice, one was disallowed

here's his post game interview

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/W9Tcw_wtMaU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/W9Tcw_wtMaU</a>

« Reply #28 on: March 21, 2010, 05:14:03 PM »

Isn't he part of the 16 that took Jack/TTFF to court??  Keeping in touch with Latapy wouldn't help him.... :whistling:

« Reply #29 on: March 22, 2010, 06:53:34 AM »

Isn't he part of the 16 that took Jack/TTFF to court??  Keeping in touch with Latapy wouldn't help him.... :whistling:

Preach sista dey need a lil reminder.