April 17, 2024, 06:30:29 PM

Author Topic: Who is the Better Sports Commentator / Analyst  (Read 3296 times)

Offline jusbless

Who is the Better Sports Commentator / Analyst
« on: May 12, 2010, 07:16:23 PM »
Shaka Hislop  or Ato Boldon ;D

Re: Who is the Better Sports Commentator / Analyst
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2010, 07:25:43 PM »

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2010, 07:27:33 PM »
To say Boldon is internationally respected in Track is an understatement. He's a guru in his discipline. Hislop doesn't have that reputation

« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2010, 07:32:24 PM »
To say Boldon is internationally respected in Track is an understatement. He's a guru in his discipline. Hislop doesn't have that reputation

Case Closed..I could nah say it betta..

« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2010, 07:33:40 PM »
Shaka is great for football
Ato is great for track

;D :D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2010, 07:35:00 PM »
Ato all the way, Hislop needs more experience, I believe Dwight would have done a better job.

« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2010, 07:37:59 PM »
Ato all the way, Hislop needs more experience, I believe Dwight would have done a better job.

Dwight more articulate than Shaka  :rotfl:

« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2010, 07:39:14 PM »
No disrespect to Shaka but Ato is MORE known and celebrated globally for his Commentary in Track than Hislop in Football

I hope Hislop will continue his good work in commentary tho..

« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2010, 08:38:45 PM »
Stop riding ato nuts.what part ah he celebrated globally??

« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2010, 09:50:53 PM »
You clearly talking out ah either jealousy or ignorance.  Jah Gol said it best... Shaka still learning the ropes which is why ESPN have him confined to the studio and not live analysis.  In time I'm sure Shaka will grow into the role, he's already articulate and knowledgeable, he just needs to get rid of the gameday jitters.

« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2010, 05:21:35 AM »
You clearly talking out ah either jealousy or ignorance.  Jah Gol said it best... Shaka still learning the ropes which is why ESPN have him confined to the studio and not live analysis.  In time I'm sure Shaka will grow into the role, he's already articulate and knowledgeable, he just needs to get rid of the gameday jitters.

i would go with ignorance but just to prove me wrong. give me a list of people celebrated globally add ato name then shut me up...

« Reply #11 on: May 14, 2010, 03:36:35 AM »

« Reply #12 on: May 14, 2010, 09:18:58 AM »
i would go with ignorance but just to prove me wrong. give me a list of people celebrated globally add ato name then shut me up...

What??  This makes no sense.  Ato is both well-known and well-respected within the global track community for his accomplishments.  He may not be universally celebrated, but in the universe that is track I guarantee you that people know and respect him.  Me giving you or not giving you names not going to change that.

« Reply #13 on: May 14, 2010, 11:49:27 AM »
For years when I lived in Istanbul most people didn't know what TT was.

Occasionally I would meet the odd Turk who had heard of TT. I was shocked. Every time it turned out that they were Track fans and knew who ATo was. I got to so fed up of explaining what Trinidad and Tobago was EVERY TIME I met people which took about two minutes, because they had simply never heard of it - that I saved time and just said I was from Canada (being a citizen).

HOwever, thanks to ATo a few people had heard of us.
Things got a little (very little) better after the 2006 WC.

« Reply #14 on: May 14, 2010, 12:02:30 PM »

HOwever, thanks to ATo a few people had heard of us.

thanks to shaka, the world (especially Sweden) know very well who we are :devil:

but...
Both good in their own right because as long as they exposing us to the world and making some coin, I am cool with that...

dwight need to get a gig tho...

« Reply #15 on: May 14, 2010, 12:32:27 PM »
T&F is more of a niche sport, and Ato did what he had to do (both on & off the track)in order to become a household name in within that niche. 

Football is much larger and Shaka has done well both on and off the field, but he will have to climb many more  mountains in order to get to Ato's level comparatively.

« Reply #16 on: May 14, 2010, 12:59:15 PM »
dwight need to get a gig tho...

Dwight regularly works as an in-studio expert for Sky Sports, the UK's biggest Sports broadcaster. With all due respect to one of our best footballers, I am not sure public speaking is his thing.

However his style is impeccable  ;D

« Reply #17 on: May 14, 2010, 03:19:05 PM »

Mase sell Dwight he wardrobe or what?

« Reply #18 on: May 14, 2010, 03:30:25 PM »

Mase sell Dwight he wardrobe or what?

Dwight have a ways to go to beat back Don Cherry doh

« Reply #19 on: May 14, 2010, 03:52:21 PM »
Dwight have a ways to go to beat back Don Cherry doh

...or Craig Sager for that matter.  But yeah... I think Don Cherry taking home first prize.

« Reply #20 on: May 14, 2010, 05:08:44 PM »
Don Cherry will beat any and every challenger

Dat man have a suit made from ah sofa I did throw away in 1980 :devil:
« Last Edit: May 14, 2010, 05:11:06 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.