March 28, 2024, 05:47:48 AM

Author Topic: Donovan: Wayne Rooney is "Worn Out"  (Read 2792 times)

Donovan: Wayne Rooney is "Worn Out"
« on: May 13, 2010, 05:04:37 PM »

link
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/world-cup/story/_/id/785926/ce/uk/?cc=5901&ver=us

Donovan: Rooney is ''worn out''
May 13, 2010
Email Print Share
By Soccernet staff

United States midfielder Landon Donovan believes a long season is catching up with a ''worn out'' Wayne Rooney ahead of the World Cup finals in South Africa.

Landon Donovan
GettyImagesLandon Donovan was a hit at Everton when he played there on loan.

Donovan, who will lead the United States against England in their World Cup opener in Rustenburg on June 12, thinks that Rooney is tired after playing 49 games for club and country and cites that as a reason why he has been troubled by an ankle and groin injuries in recent weeks.

''Rooney is a top player. In my opinion, he is one of the best players in the world right now,'' Donovan told Yahoo!. ''But the other part of it is that he has played a lot of games and he is tired. He is probably worn out.

''Injuries are a part of that. Things happen when players are tired. When they just keep adding games to the schedule, it makes it difficult.

''Any time you come into a World Cup, because of the timing of it, big players who play a lot of games in Europe are coming right at the end of their season, so it is always an interesting dynamic how to balance that.''

Donovan saw the pressure on Rooney and his England team-mates first hand last season when he spent a part of the campaign on loan with Everton and says he believes all the pressure will be on the USA's Group C rivals in South Africa.

''Of course, there is more pressure on the English players,'' he added. ''If we don't do well in the World Cup, people care for a little bit. But if England doesn't do well in the World Cup, it is absolutely devastating to their country, their families, to their people.

''That is something they [England] live with. I don't know if they look at it that way, but that is how I look at it.''

« Last Edit: May 13, 2010, 05:43:42 PM by AirMan »

Re: Donovan: Wayne Rooney is "Worn Out"
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2010, 05:41:35 PM »
the psychological warfare has begun ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2010, 05:44:14 PM »

:D I wonder what would be Rooney response

« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2010, 11:26:17 PM »

scoring a hat-trick against usa. lol imagine

« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2010, 12:49:50 AM »

To wear out all the defenders he come in contact wit in June. Well.....at least try to wear dem out!

« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2010, 07:40:47 AM »
I'm no England fan, but ... Steups ... STEUPS!!!

« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2010, 03:16:27 PM »
But if England doesn't do well in the World Cup, it is absolutely devastating to their country, their families, to their people.

''That is something they [England] live with. I don't know if they look at it that way, but that is how I look at it.''

Daz true talk dey.

One positive from an England perspective is they have plenty experience dealing with devastation in this regard.  So they'll be well prepared when it happen again in South Africa

« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2010, 07:49:17 PM »
To bad Donovan you will never be able to say that about your self because you play in the cosy MLS (Major League Shit)!

« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2010, 06:37:52 AM »
But if England doesn't do well in the World Cup, it is absolutely devastating to their country, their families, to their people.

Daz true talk dey.

One positive from an England perspective is they have plenty experience dealing with devastation in this regard.  So they'll be well prepared when it happen again in South Africa

« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2010, 07:44:27 PM »
To bad Donovan you will never be able to say that about your self because you play in the cosy MLS (Major League Shit)!

You do realise that Donovan essentially just played through a straight 14 months of football right?

Talk about getting defensive. Wow. God forbid that anybody suggests that Ingerland's last hope is going into the World Cup tired ::)

« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2010, 06:45:10 PM »
He looked tired no raas today. :devil:

« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2010, 06:47:20 PM »

3 goals in they c**t.

« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2010, 06:53:33 PM »
3 goals in they c**t.

Juss dis evening ah saying ah have tuh call yuh... ent seeing yuh arung ah say dey tief yuh?

« Reply #13 on: May 24, 2010, 08:42:48 PM »

You do realise that Donovan essentially just played through a straight 14 months of football right?

Talk about getting defensive. Wow. God forbid that anybody suggests that Ingerland's last hope is going into the World Cup tired ::)

Actually I wouldn't consider what they play in the MLS football. He just get a taste of real football and he runnin his yap. And if you say is 14months how many of those months did he play against quality opponents? And why he not tired?
« Last Edit: May 27, 2010, 09:20:54 PM by giggsy11 »

« Reply #14 on: May 24, 2010, 09:03:36 PM »

3 goals in they c**t.

AA look who!......................capo long time no see wahis d good :beermug:

« Reply #15 on: May 26, 2010, 07:11:09 AM »
Wonder what Donovan saying after last night.