April 16, 2024, 12:22:28 AM

Author Topic: Nicki Minaj Appreciation Thread  (Read 64462 times)

Nicki Minaj Appreciation Thread
« on: May 15, 2010, 12:39:34 PM »
Post any Vids or Pics people
Nicki Minaj was recently interviewed by Interview Magazine. You can read the article below and view the cute up close photos of Nicki Minaj that were taken in April here.

Nicki Minaj might have been born in Trinidad and raised in Jamaica, Queens, but the 25-year-old rapper and one-woman style tornado makes music like she comes from another planet. Minaj’s Harajuku Barbie aesthetic and penchant for autographing the breasts of her devoted female fans notwithstanding, she is arguably one of the strongest female voices to emerge in hip-hop in the last decade. “I don’t mind being called a weirdo,” says Minaj. “There are a lot of people in hip-hop who are probably never going to get what I do. But, by just being myself, I end up touching a lot more people who might never have paid much attention to a female rapper.” Minaj has worked hard to establish her own voice, writing all her own material and not leaning on sex appeal. “I made a conscious decision to try to tone down the sexiness,” she says. “I want people—especially young girls—to know that in life, nothing is going to be based on sex appeal. You’ve got to have something else to go with that.” It was Minaj’s oversize personality and kaleidoscopic raps that drew the attention of her new friend and mentor Lil Wayne, who signed her to his Young Money label in 2009. Since then, Minaj’s progress on her hotly anticipated debut album, Massive Attack (due out this fall), has been slowed only by her popularity as a collaborator. She’s popped up on tracks for artists such as Usher, Robin Thicke, and Mariah Carey. “One of the biggest highlights of this year was being onstage with Jeezy, Wayne, and Drake in the middle of Jay-Z’s set at Madison Square Garden,” says Minaj. “And not only did we do a song together, but I was in a video with Mariah Carey! I still haven’t gotten over that!”

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/SMp-d1yQVi8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/SMp-d1yQVi8</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/bzdIcpo8XYc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/bzdIcpo8XYc</a>
« Last Edit: July 09, 2010, 06:51:05 PM by Trini _2014 »

Re: nicki minaj Appreciation thread
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2010, 12:42:17 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/PMZ5s7o2F88" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/PMZ5s7o2F88</a>

Re: nicki minaj Appreciation thread
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2010, 12:45:03 PM »
appreciation ??..did she donate money to charity or for special need kids that should be appreciated ?..

or you want to appreciation someone based on Trini roots ?  :rotfl:

Easy now airman WE ARE  just  FANs
« Last Edit: May 15, 2010, 01:24:56 PM by Trini _2014 »

Re: Nicki Minaj Appreciation Thread
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2010, 12:45:23 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/3MItv-PTKaE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/3MItv-PTKaE</a>

« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2010, 01:10:54 PM »
I swear I like dis chick... her flow is so sick, plus she got that original cartoonish delivery.  Baddest female in rap hands down.  She don't do nutten for me other than that(don't find her sexy or attractive)... and I'm not into rap as much as I use to be... but I'm definitely feeling her.

« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2010, 01:30:50 PM »
AA wait is this the chick who was featured on the BET awards segment with street rappers and slim shady ? She is also on a hit song with some other rappers right now ?
if it is I like her style its sick and different .

IT IS f**king ehh

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kaJNfIB0BV8
« Last Edit: May 15, 2010, 01:34:56 PM by Quags »

« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2010, 07:08:51 PM »
who is this bitch. she wack trying to be like di original foxy brown dats all she a try.. this bitch is wack  I wouldnt even have her gave mi a hood job..

« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2010, 07:15:57 PM »
who is this bitch. she wack trying to be like di original foxy brown dats all she a try.. this bitch is wack  I wouldnt even have her gave mi a hood job..

stop fight her down please

« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2010, 08:53:29 PM »
Holy shit put down the haterade B.The girl just trying to make some cash.Shes free styling with the best in the bizness  .
one of the biggest songs this year ,so hate
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DVAAHU7v7GM&feature=related
« Last Edit: May 16, 2010, 09:23:25 AM by Quags »

« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2010, 07:38:27 PM »
 :devil:  :o :o: :beermug: :beermug:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/2ZCUtnuAXg8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/2ZCUtnuAXg8</a>

« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2010, 07:45:22 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/svFjmgdLi5M" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/svFjmgdLi5M</a>

« Reply #11 on: May 29, 2010, 08:11:42 PM »
hot

« Reply #12 on: July 01, 2010, 01:49:14 PM »
she should drop a soca tune for 2011.

« Reply #13 on: July 01, 2010, 07:16:34 PM »
foxy brown apprentice.

« Reply #14 on: July 02, 2010, 07:17:34 PM »
bess thing  :beermug:

« Reply #15 on: July 07, 2010, 04:52:09 PM »
foxy brown apprentice.

Foxy Brown THEN

Foxy Brown NOW

« Reply #16 on: July 09, 2010, 06:29:14 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/z1ZaRhRylMY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/z1ZaRhRylMY</a>

« Reply #17 on: July 09, 2010, 06:44:19 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/UAwtVoEVAD0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/UAwtVoEVAD0</a>

Offline 2cents

• FPL Vibes
« Reply #18 on: July 10, 2010, 08:49:46 AM »
There's another new chick comin also reppin trini....check her out....Karlie Redd

http://www.myspace.com/karlieredd
It's only kinky the 1st time

« Reply #19 on: July 10, 2010, 03:53:28 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/HGPRK75o5Kw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/HGPRK75o5Kw</a>

« Reply #20 on: July 10, 2010, 04:41:05 PM »
There's another new chick comin also reppin trini....check her out....Karlie Redd

http://www.myspace.com/karlieredd

much blessings to my trini sisters, they doing well  :beermug: miss redd is redd hot breds  :o

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #21 on: July 12, 2010, 06:45:37 PM »
Wish her success, hoping to see something other than the cartoon style rapping.

« Reply #22 on: July 12, 2010, 07:56:12 PM »

If it aint broke doh change it.

She got that style on lock

« Reply #23 on: July 19, 2010, 01:19:07 PM »

excuse me cartoon??

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Ie4g2QpRqn8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Ie4g2QpRqn8</a>
« Last Edit: July 19, 2010, 01:22:24 PM by Trini _2014 »

« Reply #24 on: July 19, 2010, 11:42:00 PM »

excuse me cartoon??

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Ie4g2QpRqn8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Ie4g2QpRqn8</a>

thats tight, her flow is getting better :beermug:

« Reply #25 on: July 24, 2010, 07:07:36 PM »
Nicki Minaj diss Lil Kim and Foxy Brown

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/B_NIV8IRML0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/B_NIV8IRML0</a>
« Last Edit: July 25, 2010, 08:47:15 AM by Trini _2014 »

« Reply #26 on: July 24, 2010, 09:56:48 PM »
nicky is a f**kin garbage how she fi diss  foxy brown when she biting foxy brown style..  foxy should box her rass dung. and trus mi foxy badd like dat..

« Reply #27 on: August 07, 2010, 05:33:16 PM »

Foxy Brown Says Nicki Minaj Is Winning

Foxy Brown and Nicki Minaj

Lil’ Kim may not be in Nicki Minaj’s corner, but her longtime rival Foxy Brown is riding for the Young Money diva.

The Ill Na Na raised eyebrows during her show at B.B. King Blues Club & Grill when she rapped, “I’m the only Trini chick that can kick yard shit,” causing concertgoers to speculate whether she was taking shots at Trinidadian rapper Nicki Minaj, but Foxy said she has no problem with female rap’s breakout star.

“I actually applaud Nicki for it,” she told MTV News. “I think she’s doing an incredible job of branding herself. When you’re a boss bitch, you give it up. Send her a Chanel bag or something. If you’re winning, you’re winning. That’s just how I see it.”

While she did give Minaj props, she also cautioned female MCs not to mess with her. “I’m a beast on that mic,” she warned. “I don’t really think they want any problems with that.”

Unlike the Queen Bee, Fox doesn’t feel her peers need to pay homage to her. “I’m not even in that category ’cause I’m still one of the youngest female rappers in the game,” she said. “[Other rappers] may feel like that because they’re older, but I myself am still young.”

« Reply #28 on: August 07, 2010, 09:46:35 PM »
Not my cup of tea, I personally find this type of hip hop truly non-progressive, the fact that two of these "women" (and use that term hesistantly) have TT roots, to me, is actually a bit shameful.  No disrespect to those who enjoy their music, carry on

« Reply #29 on: August 15, 2010, 08:52:06 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/oSCK2cBDxRM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/oSCK2cBDxRM</a>