April 18, 2024, 07:02:32 PM

Author Topic: Nicki Minaj Appreciation Thread  (Read 64499 times)

Re: Nicki Minaj Appreciation Thread
« Reply #30 on: August 15, 2010, 08:54:52 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/pSFyrrhKj1Q" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/pSFyrrhKj1Q</a>

« Reply #31 on: August 19, 2010, 07:30:55 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/evb75wSSMHA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/evb75wSSMHA</a>

Wicked remix....

« Reply #32 on: August 20, 2010, 09:17:05 PM »
Not my cup of tea, I personally find this type of hip hop truly non-progressive, the fact that two of these "women" (and use that term hesistantly) have TT roots, to me, is actually a bit shameful.  No disrespect to those who enjoy their music, carry on

I wouldn't go as far as to say that it's shameful, but I feel you on a certain level.  When I listen to most mainstream "party" hip hop, the less and less I'm enamored of it... It's good for a beat to nod yuh head, and tuh throw some hip behind something in a dance, but other than that I kinda shake my head at the content...how negative, narrow minded and egotistical alot of it is, and how it glorifies a lot of things that are just not productive and in many ways destructive....

Really difficult to take it seriously, and hence be proud of a connection to Trini...

But ah guess Nikki doing her thing, and it is talent in its own right..... so big up to her....

« Reply #33 on: August 22, 2010, 08:53:37 AM »
Not my cup of tea, I personally find this type of hip hop truly non-progressive, the fact that two of these "women" (and use that term hesistantly) have TT roots, to me, is actually a bit shameful.  No disrespect to those who enjoy their music, carry on

I wouldn't go as far as to say that it's shameful, but I feel you on a certain level.  When I listen to most mainstream "party" hip hop, the less and less I'm enamored of it... It's good for a beat to nod yuh head, and tuh throw some hip behind something in a dance, but other than that I kinda shake my head at the content...how negative, narrow minded and egotistical alot of it is, and how it glorifies a lot of things that are just not productive and in many ways destructive....

Really difficult to take it seriously, and hence be proud of a connection to Trini...

But ah guess Nikki doing her thing, and it is talent in its own right..... so big up to her....

Sense Kicker, what school you went to boy?  ;D

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #34 on: September 13, 2010, 10:57:00 PM »
minaj repping yard hard boy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6giXgG6qQzo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oz-u6I9bbSQ

etc.....

is this another foxy :devil:
« Last Edit: September 13, 2010, 11:06:44 PM by jahkingdom »
Hard work is the key to success

« Reply #35 on: September 16, 2010, 04:42:57 PM »
minaj repping yard hard boy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6giXgG6qQzo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oz-u6I9bbSQ

etc.....

is this another foxy :devil:

by collaborating with two  reggae artist you say that

« Reply #36 on: September 16, 2010, 04:44:46 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/e0fE7yT966Q" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/e0fE7yT966Q</a>

« Reply #37 on: September 16, 2010, 04:46:13 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/szNtLTLNmSI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/szNtLTLNmSI</a>

« Reply #38 on: September 16, 2010, 04:54:31 PM »
Hip hop star to launch ‘Localize Itt’
Cherisse Moe

Nicki Minaj
Cherisse Moe

One of the world’s biggest female hip hop artistes, Nicki Minaj, is coming to Trinidad. Minaj, 25, who has Trinidadian parentage, will be the headline act at a concert to officially launch the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs “Localize Itt” Campaign. Minaj, whose real name is Onika Maraj, will touch down on local soil on September 21. The show, carded for September 23 at the Queen’s Park Savannah, also would see a cast of local supporting acts.

Sport Minister Anil Roberts made the announcements on Monday during a news conference at the Hyatt Regency Trinidad, Port-of-Spain. Roberts said the campaign was aimed to, among other things:(1) Create an awareness of local goods and services available to the public. (2) recycle revenue back into the economy. (3) Provide the public with a broader range of product choices and competitive pricing. (4) Promote patriotism among the youth.

Roberts stated it was Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and his ministerial colleagues who had inspired him to pursue the campaign, which, he said, was in the making for about a year. He said: “Minister Vassant Bharath said ‘buy local, eat local, think local, be local...’ Minister Jack Warner said, ‘I have visited over 193 countries across the globe and none is as sweet as T&T...’ Minister Chandresh Sharma said, ‘Real Government is local,’ “Listening to my friends and colleagues in our People’s Partnership Government speaking passionately about their individual visions for the respective portfolios has inspired me to act.” Roberts added that the campaign could serve to help reduce crime, youth delinquency and domestic violence by creating “a more caring and compassionate society.”

He said: “The change that will take place in T&T will call for all our resources. It will require the support of every citizen. “It will re-ignite patriotism and exude a confidence and self belief which many of us might have forgotten existed.” He said the multi-faceted campaign would include a television series, school tours and food and trade fairs. Roberts said the initiative also would promote public and private sector investment and encourage local manufacturers to “step up their game” in the production of goods and services.

Minaj an ‘obvious choice’

Meanwhile, chief executive officer of Hypro Ltd and D Project Records, Darryl Braxton—the man responsible for bringing the artiste to Trinidad—said Minaj was an obvious choice, given her strong Trinidadian roots. He said Minaj would perform for “about 35-45 minutes.” However, Braxton said, the cost to bring the “Your Love” singer was still “being worked out.” He also shied away from divulging ticket prices for the upcoming event but promised that all would be revealed soon. “I have high hopes that the show would be a success. I started a buzz. Even before we announced it my phone has been ringing off the hook. I’m confident it will be successful,” he added.

« Reply #39 on: September 16, 2010, 07:14:38 PM »
what she comin to sing? as far as i know, she only have one single 'your love' dat big down here.  d rest of her tunes is collabos. so she comin to sing verses of songs over recordings?  ???

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #40 on: September 16, 2010, 11:02:14 PM »
lauuud :rotfl:. i like niki as a female, her first free style was crazy  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vr_jArpYhfQ. after that other than "your love" every thing else is garbage.
Hard work is the key to success

« Reply #41 on: September 17, 2010, 05:06:47 AM »
what she comin to sing? as far as i know, she only have one single 'your love' dat big down here.  d rest of her tunes is collabos. so she comin to sing verses of songs over recordings?  ???

the thing is Trinidadians don't follow underground hip hop just main stream nikki has released underground mixtape albums and released tracks on mix tape CDS etc ....

« Reply #42 on: September 17, 2010, 11:24:55 AM »
who is this bitch. she wack trying to be like di original foxy brown dats all she a try.. this bitch is wack  I wouldnt even have her gave mi a hood job..

how yuh downin the gyul so,relax yuh fukkin self.the title ah the thread is appreciation.....and if u eh wuh she jock u cock...u gay.

« Reply #43 on: September 17, 2010, 05:23:57 PM »
Honestly I ain't big hip-hop fan, and I here nor there with Niki. She has right to have her days in the sun. Good luck to her. If she has a song that I like, I will certainly patronize her. I hope she can do something with the Trini artistes(Machel, Kees, Shurwayne and some of the Chutney artistes also). I hope she makes plenty money in all her endeavours. One thing though. She is certainly from the bam bam family!!!!

« Reply #44 on: October 09, 2010, 05:01:19 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/zRvLb1Ok04U" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/zRvLb1Ok04U</a>

« Reply #45 on: October 10, 2010, 11:05:13 AM »
she real weird dred  :-\
her flow sick tho

« Reply #46 on: October 10, 2010, 02:16:34 PM »
nicki sexy

« Reply #48 on: October 11, 2010, 05:13:50 AM »
Allyuh can't tell me nutten about Ms. Maharaj... Nikki is the baddest thing to happen to rap in a long time, certainly the most influential female to hit the scene since Li'l Kim.

I suspect Google will render the question a breeze... but a 1,000 cyber points to the man who could tell me the significance in music history, of the backing track sampled in this song.

« Reply #49 on: October 11, 2010, 08:58:26 AM »
I think I might actually know this.

first video played on MTV?

« Reply #50 on: October 11, 2010, 10:43:58 AM »

Yeah... always thought it was a weird choice of a song.  Of course back then we didn't use to get MTV in Trinidad as yet... not for another 5 yrs or so.  Great interpolation by Will.I.am., but what else is new.

Slightly off-topic... but the soca version of "I Got A Feeling" is no joke, that song mash up Miami whole weekend whenever it was played.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/vUm0kSbSgig" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/vUm0kSbSgig</a>
« Last Edit: October 11, 2010, 10:45:35 AM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #51 on: October 23, 2010, 08:00:23 PM »
not a bit bakes yuh way way off topic >:(  yuh could delete that post now
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/hsd8UmcP5kg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/hsd8UmcP5kg</a>

« Reply #52 on: October 25, 2010, 03:15:54 PM »

Yeah... always thought it was a weird choice of a song.  Of course back then we didn't use to get MTV in Trinidad as yet... not for another 5 yrs or so.  Great interpolation by Will.I.am., but what else is new.

Slightly off-topic... but the soca version of "I Got A Feeling" is no joke, that song mash up Miami whole weekend whenever it was played.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/vUm0kSbSgig" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/vUm0kSbSgig</a>

Yep!!!!!!

« Reply #53 on: October 25, 2010, 09:05:46 PM »
Back to the appreciation  8)

« Reply #54 on: October 25, 2010, 11:18:50 PM »
Nicki Minaj Live In Trinidad Oct.30.2010

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sDjNWNB6sUc&amp;feature=player_embedded" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sDjNWNB6sUc&amp;feature=player_embedded</a>

« Reply #55 on: October 27, 2010, 11:24:14 AM »
Minaj hopes to work with Machel, Destra
Cherisse Moe
Published: 25 Oct 2010
Photo: Kristian De Silva
Cherisse Moe

Hip hop’s newest female superstar, Nicki Minaj, says she one day hopes to collaborate with soca heavyweights Machel Montano and Destra Garcia. The Trinidadian-born, American-based artiste, who was christened Onika Tonya Maraj, made the revelation during Boom Champions 94.1fm’s Pink Friday promotional event, held at the Brian Lara Promenade, on Friday. Minaj’s voice was met with thunderous applause from scores of excited fans who gathered at the Port-of-Spain venue to take in the show. “I’ve never been so excited in my life... I would love to collaborate with Machel and Destra...I love them,” said Minaj. “I just cannot wait to come down.” Minaj, 25, who recently bagged the best new artiste and best female hip hop artiste awards at BET’s Hip Hop Awards in Atlanta, will headline Saturday’s Localize Itt Tour to take place at the Queen’s Park Oval, St Clair.

The event is being staged by the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs in collaboration with D Project Records. After a Guardian August 25 report that the popular singer was coming to Trinidad, Minaj had released several Twitter statements, saying that she was not contracted to perform in Trinidad. Much to the delight of local fans, however, she has since confirmed that she would be the headline act for Saturday’s concert. Minaj, who left Trinidad at the tender age of five, added that she was excited to eat some “good old Trini food” and hear the accents of “my people.” And although Minaj’s unique style has earned her worldwide respect as a female hip hop artiste, she confessed that she was “a little afraid” of the crowd’s reaction, as she did not know if Trinidadians were familiar with her songs.

The screams and applause from those present at the promenade, however, quickly set the record straight. “I came to Trinidad when my grandmother died, but this would be a different time,” Minaj said. “I wanna say thank you to all the djs who are playing my music... This is my coming home party. I’m in love with you guys!” Earlier, the crowd was treated to performances by some of the country’s biggest soca and reggae artistes, including Swappi, 3 Suns, Makaveli and the Millionaire Family, Isacha, King David, Benjai, Nebula 868 and Terri Lyons. And for her impressive Nicki Minaj impersonations, Kenisha Johnson walked away with a VIP ticket, as well as a prize for free make up on the night of the show. A thrilled Johnson, who turned 15 on Saturday, told the Guardian that winning the ticket was “the best birthday gift,” as she was Minaj’s biggest fan.

« Reply #56 on: October 27, 2010, 11:34:43 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/YHxbmIexeSk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/YHxbmIexeSk</a>

Online lefty

« Reply #57 on: October 27, 2010, 11:43:18 AM »

« Reply #58 on: October 27, 2010, 03:06:05 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/YHxbmIexeSk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/YHxbmIexeSk</a>

Crazy !..this was boomchampions to comegood and they disappoint

« Reply #59 on: October 27, 2010, 08:23:43 PM »
Minaj hopes to work with Machel, Destra
Cherisse Moe
Published: 25 Oct 2010
Photo: Kristian De Silva
Cherisse Moe

Hip hop’s newest female superstar, Nicki Minaj, says she one day hopes to collaborate with soca heavyweights Machel Montano and Destra Garcia. The Trinidadian-born, American-based artiste, who was christened Onika Tonya Maraj, made the revelation during Boom Champions 94.1fm’s Pink Friday promotional event, held at the Brian Lara Promenade, on Friday. Minaj’s voice was met with thunderous applause from scores of excited fans who gathered at the Port-of-Spain venue to take in the show. “I’ve never been so excited in my life... I would love to collaborate with Machel and Destra...I love them,” said Minaj. “I just cannot wait to come down.” Minaj, 25, who recently bagged the best new artiste and best female hip hop artiste awards at BET’s Hip Hop Awards in Atlanta, will headline Saturday’s Localize Itt Tour to take place at the Queen’s Park Oval, St Clair.

she did say in the radio interview that she is booked and rhel busy with the upcoming album so I hope people dont read this and think a collaboration with machel and destra is coming tommorow