April 16, 2024, 03:16:10 PM

Author Topic: WC 2010 - Match 35 - Group B: Nigeria vs South Korea  (Read 6900 times)

Re: WC 2010 - Match 35 - Group B: Nigeria vs South Korea
« Reply #30 on: June 22, 2010, 04:04:55 PM »
Have to admit that Yakubu looked good missing.  Such confidence.

Blessings
« Last Edit: June 22, 2010, 04:06:56 PM by Lower St. John »

Offline xixgon

« Reply #31 on: June 22, 2010, 04:23:29 PM »

Yes he missed this.

« Reply #32 on: June 22, 2010, 04:43:40 PM »

Yes he missed this.

honestly i change de channel after i see that. missing chances like that...u already know yuh losing de game.

« Reply #33 on: June 22, 2010, 05:15:24 PM »
Well I deliberately stay off the forum or any other source of football news and listened to the game on the radio.  I hear the commentator say, "that was the miss of the tournament!!"  so I dying to reach home so ah could see for mih self.

When I see the thing....well needless to say, ah was speechles....no seriously, HOW HE MISS THAT!!!...NO SERIOUSLY.  Why he turn he foot like that??!!....good lawd...

Ah glad for South Korea though....

Watchin plenty ah dese W. African sides reminds me of TT so much, our mental lapses, defensive let downs, attackin play, missed chances, ah guess de chips truly doh fall far from de block

Exactly.

Nigeria had no right being in dis position.

Me and Jah was discussing the same thing in another thread earlier.....Africans is really and truly we ancestors.  If we never knew it before, we know it now..... ;D

« Reply #34 on: June 22, 2010, 05:26:33 PM »

Yes he missed this.

Dis make me real laugh  :rotfl:

« Reply #35 on: June 22, 2010, 05:53:27 PM »
Yakubu is a goat

« Reply #36 on: June 22, 2010, 06:18:15 PM »
Have to admit that Yakubu looked good missing.  Such confidence.

Blessings

He learned from his captain
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/1jQG73v7X0U" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/1jQG73v7X0U</a>

« Reply #37 on: June 22, 2010, 06:26:49 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Wg_4GcYOD3A" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Wg_4GcYOD3A</a>

« Reply #38 on: June 22, 2010, 06:51:28 PM »
If that was in Trini he woulda get a "hoss yuh go miss yuh bday"....

« Reply #39 on: June 22, 2010, 06:58:50 PM »
Between dat miss and the goalkeeper's error on Korea second goal (after such an outstanding performance and still being one of the best 'keepers throughout the tournament to date) Nigeria was doomed.....but then the way they played so far they were doomed before this game anyway.  Hard luck, Africa. 

« Reply #40 on: June 22, 2010, 07:35:44 PM »
If allyuh feel we in the caribbean laid back and complaisant, then get ah load of africa! they have no pride, no shame, and they doh mind looking bad collectively.

« Reply #41 on: June 22, 2010, 07:48:39 PM »
Well I deliberately stay off the forum or any other source of football news and listened to the game on the radio.  I hear the commentator say, "that was the miss of the tournament!!"  so I dying to reach home so ah could see for mih self.

When I see the thing....well needless to say, ah was speechles....no seriously, HOW HE MISS THAT!!!...NO SERIOUSLY.  Why he turn he foot like that??!!....good lawd...

Ah glad for South Korea though....

Watchin plenty ah dese W. African sides reminds me of TT so much, our mental lapses, defensive let downs, attackin play, missed chances, ah guess de chips truly doh fall far from de block

Exactly.

Nigeria had no right being in dis position.

Me and Jah was discussing the same thing in another thread earlier.....Africans is really and truly we ancestors.  If we never knew it before, we know it now..... ;D
Missing that chance is one thing conceding that first goal to Korea is another. It is among the worst defensive lapses for the tournament.

The only way to learn in sports is through repetition. African and Caribbean teams do not spend enough time learning how to defend at all levels. I think it is our part of our football culture to favour attack over defence even though we don't possess the requisite skill to be so lopsided. Indiscipline is another trait we share and we have to work hard to root it out. We have to realise that even the most skillful countries like Brazil and Argentina require tactical discipline to succeed. That discipline must come from the coaches at youth level. Them thing real hard to learn later. Big,strong and fast is useless if yuh duncy.

« Reply #42 on: June 22, 2010, 07:52:11 PM »
We ancestors I like dat. We now know y we does miss so much.

« Reply #43 on: June 22, 2010, 08:12:43 PM »
Given the situation in the match, I think Martins' miss was far more costly as Nigeria had a chance to go in front. While Yakubu did his best imitation of Philbert Jones or Maurice Alibey (he used to miss some sitters too), at least, he was able make amends for it later and level the match with the penalty.

Martins, however, was not able to.

« Reply #44 on: June 22, 2010, 08:49:31 PM »
Maybe is jes me but a striker who is getting paid hundred of thousand of pounds a week doesn't just miss a sitter like that... something is rotten and it is not with the state of Denmark

« Reply #45 on: June 22, 2010, 10:08:13 PM »
At the end of the day, other than the penalty, Nigeria had one shot on target (first goal).
That's inexcusable at international level in a must win game.

« Reply #46 on: June 23, 2010, 04:16:57 AM »
At the end of the day, other than the penalty, Nigeria had one shot on target (first goal).
That's inexcusable at international level in a must win game.

When you watch them youth tournaments, them African youths shooting from all over the place.  It's no secret that Taye Taiwo have a deadly left foot........nobody watching this tournament alone would know that. Sad state of affairs.