April 25, 2024, 10:15:00 AM

Author Topic: WC 2010 - Match 39 - Group D: Ghana vs Germany  (Read 7116 times)

WC 2010 - Match 39 - Group D: Ghana vs Germany
« on: June 23, 2010, 06:03:49 AM »
Ghana-Germany preview

Three-time world champions Germany had hoped for a rather different scenario ahead of their maiden appearance at Soccer City in Johannesburg. After beating Australia 4-0 but then losing 1-0 to Serbia in their Group D fixtures to date, however, Joachim Low's team are under severe pressure against the Black Stars, who beat the Serbs 1-0 and drew 1-1 with the Socceroos. The young German side enter the contest knowing they must win in order to be absolutely sure of a last-16 berth, whereas Ghana require only a draw to guarantee progress. In a section with everything still to play for, the parallel fixture pits Australia against Serbia.

The match
Ghana-Germany, Group D, Johannesburg (Soccer City), Wednesday 23 June, 20.30 (local time)

Ghana and Germany have crossed swords just once in the past, Germany cruising to a 6-1 victory in Bochum back in 1993 – a match that the Africans actually led at the break. An intriguing subplot is the potential meeting of the Boateng brothers. While the Palacios brothers have lined up alongside each other for Honduras, Jerome Boateng of Germany and Ghana's Kevin-Prince may line up against one another in Soccer City. "Obviously, the Germany game is a special one for me. But I can promise the Ghana fans this – I play to win, even against my brother, or my father or mother for that matter," Kevin-Prince recently told FIFA.com. However, on current form, the pair are unlikely to go head-to-head on the field itself. Kevin-Prince has played all but a few minutes of his country's games so far, but Jerome has yet to taste any action.

Players to watch
Per Mertesacker v Asamoah Gyan

The Black Stars are pinning their goalscoring hopes on 24-year-old Gyan, scorer of both their goals at the tournament so far from the penalty spot. The striker is likely to be marked by Per Mertesacker, solid at the finals up to now and starting the match with a definite height advantage at 1.98 metres to Gyan's 1.86.

The stat
0 – Three-time FIFA World Cup™ winners Germany have never failed to progress beyond the first group round of the tournament.

What they said
"There's no reason to change anything. We have to keep playing the same way. We played badly in 2008, but we’ve been good in both our games here at the World Cup. The pressure's on now, but there's always pressure in any case. We're well able to cope, and that includes the younger players. I'm not in the slightest bit worried that we might not win the game. We'll neutralise Ghana," Philipp Lahm, Germany captain

"I've spent all of my career in Germany. This is a very big match, and it's even more significant because of the permutations in the group. They're a strong and experienced team, but they have weaknesses in defence. We'll definitely create a chance or two," Hans Sarpei, Ghana defender

Voice of the fans
"I hope Germany beat Ghana easily. There has to be a chance of that, as Ghana have yet to score from open play, so they don’t look so good in attack. I'm saying it'll end 2-0 to Germany!" VfB4Life (Germany), FIFA.com user

"There's something a lot of the Germans are forgetting or don't know: Ghana's coach is Serbian – and that could be a headache. For the Germans, it'll be like banging their heads against a brick wall." serbus (Austria)

Have your say
Can Germany avert a disastrous and historic early exit? Will the Black Stars make it through to the last 16?

Re: WC 2010 - Match 39 - Group D: Ghana vs Germany
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2010, 10:55:04 AM »
I really torn between this game.

Germany is meh team but I have Ghana in the finals (I know madness).

« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2010, 11:01:47 AM »
Best case scenario is for Australia to beat Serbia (long shot) or they draw (more likely)

« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2010, 11:08:56 AM »
If Ghana draw they qualify.

« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2010, 12:11:14 PM »
If both games draw, Serbia goes through as second place and Germany is out based on head to head, right?

I seeing tables have Germany going through because of the goal difference but I think head to head is the first criteria nowadays.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2010, 12:35:36 PM by spideybuff »

« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2010, 12:30:30 PM »
Boateng vs Boateng
« Last Edit: June 23, 2010, 12:52:02 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2010, 12:37:00 PM »
If both games draw, Serbia goes through as second place and Germany is out based on head to head, right?

I seeing tables have Germany going through because of the goal difference but I think head to head is the first criteria nowadays.

GD before GA before H2H I believe

« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2010, 12:39:11 PM »
Boteng vs Boteng

Ah wonder what side dey mudder supportin?

« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2010, 12:54:08 PM »
Boteng vs Boteng

Ah wonder what side dey mudder supportin?

Nah! yuh wrong. Is wah side dey fadder supportin?

« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2010, 12:57:43 PM »
Kingson save they skin there. But Germany not looking too solid in the back either.

« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2010, 12:58:23 PM »
Ghana is looking good.....

Online Tallman

« Reply #11 on: June 23, 2010, 12:59:41 PM »
Why de ass dem Ghanaians doh shoot? Only pussy footin around de penalty area.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2010, 01:24:20 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #12 on: June 23, 2010, 01:00:27 PM »

GD before GA before H2H I believe
You right...

The official 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa regulations. Article 39, no. 5, reads:

The ranking of each team in each group will be determined as follows:

a) greatest number of points obtained in all group matches;
b) goal difference in all group matches;
c) greatest number of goals scored in all group matches.

If two or more teams are equal on the basis of the above three criteria, their rankings will be determined as follows:
d) greatest number of points obtained in the group matches between the teams concerned;
e) goal difference resulting from the group matches between the teams concerned;
f) greater number of goals scored in all group matches between the teams concerned;
g) drawing of lots by the FIFA Organising Committee.

« Reply #13 on: June 23, 2010, 01:03:22 PM »
Ghana looking as good as they've looked in the Cup so far.

« Reply #14 on: June 23, 2010, 01:07:22 PM »
Watch the German defenders standing at the posts as the foward heads wide of the goal.

« Reply #15 on: June 23, 2010, 01:08:05 PM »

Ah think they looking a little better, especially considering their opponents in this game.

Big up!

« Reply #16 on: June 23, 2010, 01:16:22 PM »

Ah think they looking a little better, especially considering their opponents in this game.

Big up!

Ha yeah that's what I meant- i.e. this is the best they've looked. 

« Reply #17 on: June 23, 2010, 01:17:22 PM »
Real football playing.

« Reply #18 on: June 23, 2010, 01:19:19 PM »
hesitation and indecision in the box cost Ghana so far. Funny eh the most unknown coach for an African Nation at WC, getting the best football from his team.

« Reply #19 on: June 23, 2010, 01:20:09 PM »
Ghana should not b in dis position dey should have dealt wit d kangaroos and done d nonesense. As it was said in d other thread dem Africans is really we ancestors.

« Reply #20 on: June 23, 2010, 01:21:56 PM »

Big up!

Ha yeah that's what I meant- i.e. this is the best they've looked. 

Oh, Gotcha!

Hope it stays so and serbia don't win, so my 2 teams get to go through lol

« Reply #21 on: June 23, 2010, 01:30:40 PM »
somebody coaching these negros not to shoot or kick de frigging ball or what?

a man get in clean in between the two german CBs and decide to cut outside. Another man have ah opportunity for a quick cross and dilly dallying.

i eh go lie boy, these africans sides is really arouse a Trinidad-fan-frustrated kinda feeling when i watching these games.

« Reply #22 on: June 23, 2010, 01:37:28 PM »

Oh, Gotcha!

Yeah I would like to see Ghana & Germany through, in this same order, and for Ghana to send England packing in  the next round. 

« Reply #23 on: June 23, 2010, 01:37:55 PM »
somebody coaching these negros not to shoot or kick de frigging ball or what?

a man get in clean in between the two german CBs and decide to cut outside. Another man have ah opportunity for a quick cross and dilly dallying.

i eh go lie boy, these africans sides is really arouse a Trinidad-fan-frustrated kinda feeling when i watching these games.

Kill Price Boateng dead he's flickin Ronaldinho....

« Reply #24 on: June 23, 2010, 01:38:52 PM »

Oh, Gotcha!

Yeah I would like to see Ghana & Germany through, in this same order, and for Ghana to send England packing in  the next round. 

That's exactly how I have it, although England was suppose to top their grou instead lol...

Ghana keeps squandering chances though  >:(

« Reply #25 on: June 23, 2010, 01:40:16 PM »
Gyan breed the defender norms norms.

« Reply #26 on: June 23, 2010, 01:43:15 PM »
what scenario has to happen for both Germany and Ghana to progress??

« Reply #27 on: June 23, 2010, 01:43:47 PM »
The current one. Both game need to draw.

« Reply #28 on: June 23, 2010, 01:47:04 PM »
The current one. Both game need to draw.

Well not anymore...let's hope Serbia lose now or maaybe ah draw could save Ghana  :-\

« Reply #29 on: June 23, 2010, 01:48:33 PM »

Oh, Gotcha!

ah know who Ghana sending packing!!  :devil: