March 28, 2024, 04:01:03 PM

Author Topic: WC 2010 - Match 45 - Group G : Portugal vs Brazil  (Read 9272 times)

WC 2010 - Match 45 - Group G : Portugal vs Brazil
« on: June 25, 2010, 04:13:57 AM »
Portugal-Brazil preview

Since 4 December 2009, when the Final Draw dictated the groups here at the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™, Portugal versus Brazil in Group G has been among the most eagerly anticipated games of all 48 first-phase encounters. With two rounds of matches already played, that feeling remains firmly intact, with the Portuguese still yet to seal qualification and top spot at stake for both sides.

And though 25 June’s game in Durban is only the pair’s second meeting at the finals of the global game’s biggest showpiece, the two nations’ shared history makes it very much a match between familiar foes.

The match
Portugal-Brazil, Group G, Durban – Friday, 25 June, 16.00 (local time)

Not only are Brazil and Portugal the first- and third-placed sides in the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking, the teams both go into this heavyweight duel on the back of two of the best performances so far at South Africa 2010. A Verde e Amarelo put in a clinical display when sinking Côte d’Ivoire 3-1, while Carlos Queiroz’s charges cut loose to record a 7-0 victory over Korea DPR.

A Seleção’s 100 per cent start has already guaranteed them a Round of 16 berth and Dunga’s men need just a draw to secure top spot. For Portugal, whose goal difference is nine goals better than the Ivorians, the only way they can exit the competition is via defeat against Brazil and enough goals from Didier Drogba and Co against Korea DPR to make up the shortfall.

Missing from the big occasion will be Kaka, suspended after receiving a red card against the Elephants – this after a fine performance which featured two assists. Fellow attacking midfielder Elano, scorer of two goals so far, is an injury doubt as is Portugal’s Brazil-born schemer Deco.

Players to watch
Fabio Coentrao v Maicon

Given the attacking bent of Brazilian right-back Maicon and Portugal’s left-back Fabio Coentrao, a high-octane contest of skill and lung power is sure to ensue on Friday. Indeed, the Inter Milan defender has already got off the mark at the finals with a stunning strike against Korea DPR, while the Benfica flyer was an integral part of Portugal’s demolition of the same opponents.

The stat
0 — Neither Brazil nor Portugal have tasted defeat in the year 2010: Dunga’s team have won five of five games, while the Lusitanians have won four and drawn two of their six encounters. In addition, A Seleção are enjoying a run of eight consecutive wins while their upcoming opponents are unbeaten in 18. Perhaps tellingly, Portugal’s last reverse was a 6-2 humbling by Brazil on 19 November 2008.

What they said
“Our team’s reputation will also be on the line. Our final group position is at stake, but more importantly we first have to seal our place in the next round. For that reason it’s vital that we’re totally focused and totally determined. That’s because everything we did right against the North Koreans – the goals we scored and the hard work we put in – doesn’t necessarily mean we’ll now beat Brazil,” Carlos Queiroz, Portugal coach.

“It’s another tough match, like every World Cup game. Our plan is to keep getting stronger with each game, like we did in 2002 (in Korea/Japan). In terms of technical ability, Portugal are on a par with Brazil. Cristiano Ronaldo is a great player, but we don’t intend to man-mark him. We’ll have to keep an eye on all their players,” Lucio, Brazil captain and centre-back.

Voice of the fans
“Portugal have somehow managed to defy the statistics over the last few games. When we think we’ll win, we draw! And when we think about drawing we normally win, though we normally don’t think we’re going to lose. I honestly don’t know what might happen. We may not have the best attack in the world but I do think we’ve got the best defence. And if, as the saying goes, the best form of attack is a good defence, then I predict a win for Portugal over Brazil,” dnasaldanha, FIFA.com user.

The question
With Brazil be able to click without Kaka? Or will Cristiano Ronaldo and Co dominate proceedings in Durban?
« Last Edit: June 25, 2010, 04:16:52 AM by Bitter »

Re: WC 2010 - Match 45 - Group G : Portugal vs Brazil
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2010, 07:16:28 AM »
go Portugal :wavetowel:

« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2010, 07:48:13 AM »
Brasil all the way! Their defense too good.

« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2010, 07:59:42 AM »
Lucio will rough up Ronaldo!

« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2010, 08:04:02 AM »
Julio Baptista... BIG STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2010, 08:15:43 AM »
I was excited to watch this game eh.
... and then Harkes start talking...

« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2010, 08:15:57 AM »
Ah watin tuh see a rolly polly in the Cup-wey it gone.Come on somebody on Brasil hit somebody with a polly!

« Reply #7 on: June 25, 2010, 08:17:50 AM »
I was excited to watch this game eh.
... and then Harkes start talking...

Yep! I cringe every time I hear him pronounce the word Martin. It sound like it does tie up his tongue!

« Reply #8 on: June 25, 2010, 08:22:29 AM »
Ah see Pepe aint learn nothing since his muggin on the field!

« Reply #9 on: June 25, 2010, 08:30:12 AM »
Ah listening to this game on the radio.  The commentator (TV 6 coverage) just remarked.....

"This game was supposed to be a mouth watering meal of international football.  We are still waiting by the table munching on the bread rolls...."   ;D ;D

I real like these TV 6 commentators, I look forward to them every 4 years....

« Reply #10 on: June 25, 2010, 08:30:48 AM »
so close

« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2010, 08:40:20 AM »
Brazil playing most of the football...Portugal looking dangerous on the counter. 

« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2010, 08:42:33 AM »
Brazil playing most of the football...Portugal looking dangerous on the counter tackles

« Reply #13 on: June 25, 2010, 08:45:31 AM »
Smart move by Dunga somebody go grt send off b4 dis game ends.

« Reply #14 on: June 25, 2010, 08:47:47 AM »
this has to be the brasil team with the highest number of men with 2 names: felipe melo, michel bastos, dani alves, luis fabiano, julio baptista, gilberto silva, julio cesar.

« Reply #15 on: June 25, 2010, 08:51:03 AM »
this has to be the brasil team with the highest number of men with 2 names: felipe melo, michel bastos, dani alves, luis fabiano, julio baptista, gilberto silva, julio cesar.

all d cool single names taken

« Reply #16 on: June 25, 2010, 08:52:48 AM »
I think it is just more common to use two names now.

Gilberto Silva used to be Gilberto and Julip Baptista used to be Baptista back in the day.

« Reply #17 on: June 25, 2010, 08:52:59 AM »
Portugal playing 10 behind the ball and looking to counter. Like dem is North Korea. Really surprised that Portugal not really looking to play beyond the counter. Ah well! Good to see Brazil being patient and not being drawn into the trap and allowing themselves to be exposed.

« Reply #18 on: June 25, 2010, 08:56:36 AM »
Portugal playing 10 behind the ball and looking to counter. Like dem is North Korea. Really surprised that Portugal not really looking to play beyond the counter. Ah well! Good to see Brazil being patient and not being drawn into the trap and allowing themselves to be exposed.

Portugal safe with a draw and they hoping Spain finish 2nd in their group.

« Reply #19 on: June 25, 2010, 08:57:12 AM »
game real wild & boring at the same time yes...

« Reply #20 on: June 25, 2010, 09:02:08 AM »

Juan was lucky to escape red on that hand ball- that woulda brought Portugal out of their shell.  

I think red cards are too cheap in the game today, and they ruin alot of games....but it's hard to justify that one unless the ref figured that the play was high enough up the field, the ball would have run out wide a bit, and that Juan had cover running behind him so that it wasn't necessarily a clear goal scoring opportunity...I dunno- that's alot of assumptions.  

« Reply #21 on: June 25, 2010, 09:11:00 AM »
Did he just say a west indian fast bowler ?

« Reply #22 on: June 25, 2010, 09:23:56 AM »
Michel Bastos is one sh*tong dread... Hard to believe he's the best left back in Brazil...

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #23 on: June 25, 2010, 09:24:05 AM »
they playing for a draw
0-0

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #24 on: June 25, 2010, 09:25:12 AM »
BORINGGGGGGGGG
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #25 on: June 25, 2010, 09:27:47 AM »

« Reply #26 on: June 25, 2010, 09:43:37 AM »
Baptista boy. D man who has a spot on this team instead of Ronaldinho. Nice Dung-a. Nice

« Reply #27 on: June 25, 2010, 09:45:43 AM »
Baptista boy. D man who has a spot on this team instead of Ronaldinho. Nice Dung-a. Nice

i tempted to think this too, but when yuh study it properly.. Baptista spot is on the bench, Ronaldinho was never coming this tournament to sit down on no bench. You could imagine that scenario?? All now so is "why Ronaldinho not starting", "Why he eh bring on Ronaldinho" in Dunga ears..

« Reply #28 on: June 25, 2010, 09:46:47 AM »
Sad to say, but this game real poop down  :(

« Reply #29 on: June 25, 2010, 09:46:53 AM »
But the man giving you a spark off the bench if you need it. Baptista giving yuh...well yuh just see it.