March 29, 2024, 05:43:21 AM

Author Topic: WC 2010 - Match 50 - Round of 16 : USA vs Ghana  (Read 49907 times)

Re: WC 2010 - Match 50 - Round of 16 : USA vs Ghana
« Reply #390 on: June 27, 2010, 06:07:34 AM »
waaaaay check pong he get  ::)  :D

« Reply #391 on: June 27, 2010, 06:35:08 AM »
Good win fuh Ghana..dey representing their continent well..It would be a good game between them and Uruguay. US needs to solve their problem of conceding early goals

« Reply #392 on: June 27, 2010, 07:46:28 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/gBzBCfAFh-g" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/gBzBCfAFh-g</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/gHLC3-DviFg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/gHLC3-DviFg</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/3OYWRdVxCyc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/3OYWRdVxCyc</a>
« Last Edit: June 27, 2010, 07:49:34 AM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #393 on: June 27, 2010, 08:16:38 AM »
Whining on nuff ting in DC, probably a bit harder and more vigorously w/Ghana's victory

Happy for Ghana, hope they can upset Uruguay as they rep. the mother land, it will be tough thoughas their starting right back and center back (younger Mensah) will be out on suspension.

Yuh sure Mensah will be out?  Ah know Ayew have two cards and will have to sit.

Chris sullivan is the only American commentator I truly respect-he knows his football and he is not a homer. He would have been a welcome addition to these espn broadcast.

Christopher Sullivan is Canadian.

Young Mensah, the back of shirt says Jonathan to distinguish him from capt Mensah, so said the caption on the coverage when he received the yellow, would be great if they were wrong.

Yes, CS is Canadian, but I think you get the point re-the nature of his commentary and how interwoven both countries are from the perspective of the major leagues

I really eh know where allyuh gettin' allyuh information but......

Christopher Sullivan (born April 18, 1965 in Redwood City, California)........

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christopher_Sullivan_(soccer)

Sullivan grew up in Northern California and was an all-American at the University of Tampa, in Division II, in the mid-1980s. He turned professional and played in Europe (France, Sweden, Denmark, Hungary and Germany), Mexico and the United States. Sullivan played 19 times for the U.S. national team, including coming on as a substitute in two matches during the 1990 World Cup in Italy, which ended a 40-year absence of the American team from the tournament.

http://goal.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/07/24/an-american-voice-in-the-worlds-game/

....unless he pull a Barrack Obama (because we all know he was really born in Kenya)

Thanks for the education Mango, makes the point even more poignant

« Reply #394 on: June 27, 2010, 10:04:29 AM »
leave it to two clown wid Trini blood lines to f#$K it up for de US

« Reply #395 on: June 27, 2010, 02:18:03 PM »

dais why we ha dem dey :rotfl:

« Reply #396 on: June 27, 2010, 02:28:37 PM »

Harsh.

Unlike American football a "turnover" in football hardly ever changes a game.  In this case Clark turn it over at midfield but Boateng still had to negotiate the entire defensive half of the US field in order to score.  In doing so there was no defensive cover... Clark and DeMerit were the only two who were close.  Where was the center half Bocanegra?  And what of Howard... that was a poor goal to give up near post, not like it had blistering pace on it, he was just caught flat-footed.

And then Findley... Heskey kick the ball straight at Howard belly and he get rave up fuh being a great keeper by Harkes et al.  In this case Findley try to pick out near post and required a damn good reflexive kick save from Kingson in order to keep the ball out the net.  Why no kudos to Kingson for the same, but instead blame for Findley?  These two... and Bradley by extension is all the critics harping on.  They need to harp on the fact that the US needed a fluke against England; a near miracle against Slovenia... and a last ditch effort against Algeria to even be where they were.  Clark and Findley hardly fack up anything for them, more than they reach they level.

« Reply #397 on: June 27, 2010, 03:06:30 PM »
lol!!...real irony

btw..it had two yankee with african surnames one is ah wicked defender and de nex one is ah decent striker
dem fellahs injured or wha?

one does wear wolverine style sideburns...I coulda swear he workin was in the 1st rounds

« Reply #398 on: June 27, 2010, 04:46:10 PM »
To all my haters, ah job well done!!!....... :cheers: :cheers:

p.s. whey FF??

Whining on nuff ting in DC, probably a bit harder and more vigorously w/Ghana's victory

Happy for Ghana, hope they can upset Uruguay as they rep. the mother land, it will be tough thoughas their starting right back and center back (younger Mensah) will be out on suspension.

As for sensationalist commentary, these guys need to take a page out of chris sullivan's book on FSC, they have come along way, no doubt, but still a long way to go, grow with the game guys, your football culture is just beginning to grow

Well ah now recovering... ah wine whole weekend in DC... and now is time to wine in this thread....

TAKE WAIST USA!!! TAKE WAIST!!   

« Reply #399 on: June 27, 2010, 05:32:43 PM »
To all my haters, ah job well done!!!....... :cheers: :cheers:

p.s. whey FF??

As for sensationalist commentary, these guys need to take a page out of chris sullivan's book on FSC, they have come along way, no doubt, but still a long way to go, grow with the game guys, your football culture is just beginning to grow

Well ah now recovering... ah wine whole weekend in DC... and now is time to wine in this thread....

TAKE WAIST USA!!! TAKE WAIST!!   

And you have the right aviator!

« Reply #400 on: June 27, 2010, 05:40:40 PM »

Harsh.

Unlike American football a "turnover" in football hardly ever changes a game.  In this case Clark turn it over at midfield but Boateng still had to negotiate the entire defensive half of the US field in order to score.  In doing so there was no defensive cover... Clark and DeMerit were the only two who were close.  Where was the center half Bocanegra?  And what of Howard... that was a poor goal to give up near post, not like it had blistering pace on it, he was just caught flat-footed.

And then Findley... Heskey kick the ball straight at Howard belly and he get rave up fuh being a great keeper by Harkes et al.  In this case Findley try to pick out near post and required a damn good reflexive kick save from Kingson in order to keep the ball out the net.  Why no kudos to Kingson for the same, but instead blame for Findley?  These two... and Bradley by extension is all the critics harping on.  They need to harp on the fact that the US needed a fluke against England; a near miracle against Slovenia... and a last ditch effort against Algeria to even be where they were.  Clark and Findley hardly fack up anything for them, more than they reach they level.

As meh boy 100% Barataria would say:

sense.

« Reply #401 on: June 27, 2010, 06:06:04 PM »
It will be stronger when I get over.  Just call me freedom just like a waving flag...So wave your flag.... ;D

You fuhgetting yuh up in Viking territory... careful which flag yuh waving dey enuh, lol

Str8 up....yuh know?   ;D

« Reply #402 on: June 27, 2010, 06:43:53 PM »
Love this from a fan in The Daily Mail

"Oh dear, how sad - never mind
Obviously Ghana learned to play the English game of football better than the Americans
They've watched Beckham for a year - and still learnt nothing
Maybe they should stick to their girls games, such as rounders (baseball), netball (basketball) and rugby (football) - where they have to wear suits of armour in case they they get a little bruise
Maybe they should also shut up and stop telling the world they're better at everything than anyone else?
It would have been even better if they'd lost (at soccer) to North Korea"
- steve
, Far away from the Madding Crowd and Beyond the Blue Horizon (Tenerife), 26/6/2010 20:12

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/worldcup2010/article-1289853/WORLD-CUP-2010-USA-1-Ghana-2-AET--Asamoah-Gyan-shoots-Black-Stars-history-books.html#ixzz0s6VP2yJQ

« Reply #403 on: June 27, 2010, 06:46:54 PM »
June 27, 2010

US-Ghana Sets (American) Viewing Records for Men's World Cup

By THE ASSOCIATED PRESS

Filed at 8:02 p.m. ET

JOHANNESBURG (AP) -- The United States' 2-1 loss to Ghana in extra time, which eliminated the Americans from the tournament in South Africa, was the most-watched men's World Cup game in both households and viewers.

Saturday's game, which began at 2:30 p.m. EDT on ABC, received an 8.2 fast national rating, ESPN said Sunday. It was seen in 9,455,000 households and by 14,863,000 viewers. Only the 1999 Women's World Cup final, featuring the United States and China at the Rose Bowl, averaged more households (11,307,000) and viewers (17,975,000) for a soccer game.

The U.S.-Ghana game was also the third highest-rated men's World Cup game on record, behind only the 1994 final between Italy and Brazil (9.5 rating) and the round of 16 game that same year between the United States and Brazil (9.3 rating). The 1999 Women's World Cup final delivered an 11.4 rating.

http://www.nytimes.com/aponline/2010/06/27/sports/AP-SOC-WCup-US-Ratings.html?_r=1

« Reply #404 on: June 27, 2010, 11:06:07 PM »

dais why we ha dem dey :rotfl:

Finley will never see the like of the US squad again after not showing up and Davies coming back.  Clark might never have a chance with that big blunder.  He's the Richard Green of the US.

« Reply #405 on: June 28, 2010, 09:32:08 PM »
June 28, 2010

World Cup Ratings Certify a TV Winner

By RICHARD SANDOMIR

For the ESPN empire and Univision, any questions about the return on their investment in the World Cup are being answered by viewers. On Saturday, the United States’ loss to Ghana was seen by 14.9 million on ABC — an American record for the tournament — and an additional 4.5 million on Univision.

That’s 19.4 million viewers for a Round of 16 game on a Saturday afternoon at 2:30 p.m. Eastern — the same number that Fox averaged over six prime-time games for last year’s World Series.

“That’s phenomenal,” said Stephen Master, the vice president for sports at the Nielsen Company. “If the U.S. had kept going, to the quarters and semifinal, you would have gotten really big numbers.”

Master compared the viewership for the United States-Ghana game with February’s gold medal Olympic game, won by Canada over the United States, which attracted an average of 27.6 million viewers. “It was colder, with people not outside, but this was summer,” he said.

Then, on Sunday, Argentina’s win over Mexico was seen by 9.4 million Univision viewers, a record for any program on Spanish-language television in the United States. An additional 5.5 million watched on ABC.

Also on Sunday, 7.9 million watched Germany beat England on ESPN and Univision.

Executives of both companies said that the tournament’s performance had exceeded their expectations — a considerable claim given ESPN’s assertion that its World Cup marketing campaign was the biggest one it had ever mounted for a single event (and that includes some of its self-congratulatory anniversaries).

“This is a good, sound financial proposition for us,” said John Skipper, ESPN’s executive vice president for content. “We have the 2014 rights in Brazil, at a favorable time that gives us a favorable financial opportunity.” Rio de Janeiro’s time zone is one hour later than New York’s, pushing games to prime time and ad rates higher.

Cesar Conde, the president of Univision Networks, said, “We’re bringing in more revenue than in any previous World Cup.” That is a good development because the company’s rights fee is much larger than ever before.

Each media conglomerate acquired a package of rights from FIFA that features both World Cups and Women’s World Cups through 2014. ESPN paid $100 million, Univision $325 million.

Through 52 games, ESPN’s average viewership is up 58 percent to 2.86 million; Univision’s is 2.1 million, up nearly 9 percent. Figure, then, that about five million are watching the games, comparable to the N.B.A. playoffs, excluding the finals
, and the Stanley Cup finals. And, as Master said, the games have all been shown in daytime in the United States.

“If you consider that, the World Cup numbers are fantastic,” Master said.

ESPN executives say there are various signposts of the South African World Cup’s success: a 28 percent increase from 2006 in ratings for games not including the United States team; a 38 percent jump in the rating for men 18 to 49; and a 29 percent increase in ratings in Hispanic households, which does not seem to have hurt Univision.

The World Cup is also proving to be a laboratory for viewers watching the games streamed on ESPN3.com (as well as on UnivisionFutbol.com); a reason ESPN.com traffic is up 70 percent over its traditional annual peak of online mania during the N.C.A.A. men’s basketball tournament; and a hotbed for out-of-home viewing in bars and restaurants.

Glenn Enoch, ESPN’s vice president for integrated media research, said that the data he had seen suggested that 50 percent more people — beyond the 2.86 million viewers measured by Nielsen — were watching the World Cup on televisions outside their homes, on ESPN3.com, on mobile devices and on radio.

“We’ve seen an 18 percent lift in our out-of-home ratings in the East Coast,” he said.

He added that ESPN’s investment in the World Cup was “an investment in the future.”

Enoch said, “There is a growing interest in soccer, and there’s certainly growth in the Hispanic population.” How much of the post-World Cup afterglow will be reflected in Major League Soccer attendance and viewership remains to be seen.

ESPN’s devotion to the World Cup may be serving as its audition for the Olympics. ESPN and NBC are the leading bidders for the rights to the 2014 and 2016 Winter and Summer Games, which will probably be auctioned next year. Skipper has vowed to carry everything live from the Olympics if ESPN wins, regardless of the time.

Of course, there are far more sports at an Olympics and many more entrenched audiences to satisfy.

“I’m told median age for the World Cup viewers is 37, and the Olympics 52,” said Brad Adgate, the senior vice president for research at Horizon Media, an advertising agency, indicating that the network that could reach younger viewers had an advantage. “The Olympics are a remnant of the cold war, and the World Cup is part of the country’s ethnic diversity, the way this country is gradually moving.”

E-mail: sandor@nytimes.com

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/06/29/sports/soccer/29sandomir.html?ref=sports

---------------------------------------------
Tempting to say "so what... who cares if more Americans are watching what the world already know, the best sporting event in the world."  I personally think it's wise to resist such temptation, the more people watching the game in the US means the more likely we are to see more football broadcast in the US... that's huge.  Imagine a couple months ago there was an EPL match on Fox, not FSC, but FOX, network (free) TV.

Personally this is great news to see the numbers for the games... now ESPN should realize that next time they could step up and get not only the EPL games from FSC, but La Liga and Serie A from GOL as well.  Better broadcasts (at least the visuals) are guaranteed... and for those in TnT, possibly even more games streamed from ESPN International.  Speaking of 'streaming'... for those of us who happen to be at work or wherever, this also means more football on the computer, via ESPN3.com.

Good times.

« Reply #406 on: June 28, 2010, 09:38:15 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/gBzBCfAFh-g" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/gBzBCfAFh-g</a>

These Irish can be some right condescending bastards when they ready dred.

That aside... their comments about Kingson's are in keeping with the praises everyone's heaping on him.  It is well-known that many good keepers seem to hit their stride later on in their careers, seems Kingson has started a similar late peak.  I'm sure he's already played himself into a bigger contract, and some good buffer money for Martinez and Wigan.

« Reply #407 on: June 29, 2010, 05:29:35 AM »
But aye, aye Bakes like yuh take over from Zeppo??   :devil:

Speaking of which has anyone seen or heard from our illustrious US supporter??  Zeppo, let we know yuh alright nah....besides its no fun to be hater if there's no one to torment.... come out, come out where ever you are....:devil: ;D

« Reply #408 on: June 29, 2010, 06:02:16 AM »

Speaking of which has anyone seen or heard from our illustrious US supporter??  Zeppo, let we know yuh alright nah....besides its no fun to be hater if there's no one to torment.... come out, come out where ever you are....:devil: ;D
he an' shotta12 lil busy right now

« Reply #409 on: June 29, 2010, 06:04:31 AM »

Both of them on a 3-way call to a suicide hot line.

« Reply #410 on: June 29, 2010, 07:29:03 AM »

I know suicide iz a serious ting but  :rotfl:

« Reply #411 on: June 29, 2010, 07:31:34 AM »
ha ha i was in DC so I now see the sunday papers.

NY Post still have it!

« Reply #412 on: June 29, 2010, 07:38:23 AM »
ha ha i was in DC so I now see the sunday papers.

NY Post still have it!

It will be smart when dey strt 2 dominate it. C Y d haterade was sharing like water in a desert.

« Reply #413 on: June 29, 2010, 07:38:46 AM »
I'm getting a picture that the New York Post come like the Blast up there.

« Reply #414 on: June 29, 2010, 09:39:58 AM »
The new york post is ah forkin tabloid!! plus they have a knack for puttin their foot in their mouth and arse @ the same time! it's nothing new with them to offend minorities, or unfamiliar nonamerican, ghetto american culture.

i and most black ppl stopped buying the rag.... oh i mean the post, they went too far about ah yr ago with ah real racist front page article, and that was the final straw. next on the chopping block would be the daily news. the post is ah real bias northern cracker news paper @ best with the daily news not far behind.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2010, 10:06:28 AM by just cool »

« Reply #415 on: June 29, 2010, 09:46:19 AM »
The new york post is ah forkin tabloid!! plus they have a knack for puttin their foot in their mouth and arse @ the same time! it's nothing new with them to offend minorities or unfamiliar nonamerican ghetto american culture.

i and most black ppl stopped buying the rag.... oh i mean the post, they went too far about ah yr ago with ah real racist front page article, and that was the final straw. next on the chopping block would be the daily news. the post is real bias northern cracker news paper @ best with the daily news not far behind.

Yeah the new york post and daily news have no substance at all in it.. like the sun and the news of the world in the UK..

what front page article was that JC like i miss that one.

« Reply #416 on: June 29, 2010, 09:57:42 AM »
I go dead yes...

You f**king alexi lalas, u made the US lose today !! u jinxed the f**king team with all your shit trash talking other teams ... even the ref didn't give a single decision for the US probably because of his annoyance at u f**king lalas..... BUT at least as a consolation we all got to see ur pathetic facial expression...

heard your interview on ESPN last night you ginger c**t, easy route to the semis for the U.S? "good riddance to bad rubbish" "the english have delusions of grandeur" haha.

beaten by the 32 ranks team in the world straight out mud huts. haha

Some how this i fail to see the humor in his/her rantings. just real backward mainsteam ignorant britsh arrogance. "BEATEN BY THE 32 RANKED TEAM IN THE WORLD ( STRAIGHT OUT OF MUD HUTS)"   totally un called for! :o

THE IRONY of it all. 24 hrs later his 8th ranked team would join them out the competition, and the same 32nd ranked team "straight out of mud huts" was to go to the QF in front of the mighty brits. :yapping:

« Reply #417 on: June 29, 2010, 10:02:57 AM »
The new york post is ah forkin tabloid!! plus they have a knack for puttin their foot in their mouth and arse @ the same time! it's nothing new with them to offend minorities or unfamiliar nonamerican ghetto american culture.

i and most black ppl stopped buying the rag.... oh i mean the post, they went too far about ah yr ago with ah real racist front page article, and that was the final straw. next on the chopping block would be the daily news. the post is real bias northern cracker news paper @ best with the daily news not far behind.

Yeah the new york post and daily news have no substance at all in it.. like the sun and the news of the world in the UK..

Omar yuh give meh ah job dey meh boy, but thank god ah found it right away.
http://joemygod.blogspot.com/2009/02/new-york-post-hits-new-low-with.html

« Reply #418 on: June 29, 2010, 10:04:35 AM »
This article makes a little more sense.

U.S. soccer has a long way to go

POSTED:

June 29, 2010  By Bob Ford

Inquirer Sports Columnist

The eternally half-full glass that is the United States men's national soccer program had another occasionally interesting run through the World Cup. It was certainly more interesting than four years before, when the team was dismissed with hardly a whimper, but still fell far short of the promise made in 2002, when the U.S. team advanced to the quarterfinal round.

As usual, it is difficult to tell if the team - and more broadly, the level of the sport - is still going steadily forward in this country after it was bounced in the second round of the finals by a Ghana squad that is talented but hardly among the game's elite.

Consider: If prior to the tournament, the U.S. team was assured of advancing further than powerful sides like Italy, France and Greece, and of going just as far as England and regional rival Mexico, that might be an outcome the U.S. Soccer Federation would have accepted sight unseen.

But also consider: If given the knowledge that the United States would have a lead for only three minutes of the 390 minutes it would play, would fail to get a goal from a striker for the second straight World Cup finals, and would display an unfortunate tendency to run about without urgency until really pressed, and that might not be as good a showing.

That is what happened, however. The U.S. team did win its group by the fickle mathematics of the round-robin, but needed a dying-light goal from Landon Donovan against a spotty Algerian team in the final group game to avoid elimination and utter embarrassment.

Had the U.S. gone into the second round and found itself matched up against a world power, but played well in a losing effort, the players could have come home with their heads high and their mission mostly accomplished.

Instead, the U.S. was eliminated by Ghana for the second straight World Cup, and they didn't play their best in doing so. They continued their habit of sleepwalking through the first half, fell behind Ghana, rallied decently in the second half to tie, then lost in overtime, when the U.S. looked totally gassed.

"It happens. What are you going to say?" said team captain Landon Donovan, who had three of the team's five goals in the finals.

If that shrugging acceptance is disappointing, it is also not unusual during Donovan's reign as the face of the team and man most responsible for imparting the urgency, not to mention shepherding the ball through the midfield. It would be wrong to blame Donovan entirely for the team's personality, but it's a factor that is hard to ignore.

"Big players play in big minutes. Today, unfortunately, we didn't have enough of those players," said goalkeeper Tim Howard, who had a solid tournament and deserved a better fate.

Head coach Bob Bradley might have lost his best chance to make a real splash in this World Cup when striker Charlie Davies was injured in an automobile accident last year. Davies, in combination with Jozy Altidore, would have given the U.S. a more dangerous set of forwards. They might even have scored a goal.

As it was, the strikers didn't do so, as they haven't since Brian McBride put one in the net against Mexico on June 17, 2002. The U.S. has played nearly 14 hours in World Cup finals matches since that goal, which, by any measure, is a long shutout being pitched against its primary goal scorers.

"That is the greatest challenge in the game, to have someone who can consistently score goals," Bradley said.

Developing a pool of those creative talents has been difficult, and in the words of former national team coach Steve Sampson - who suffered his own embarrassment in France in 1998 - the United States is a "nation of midfielders."

The structured climb up the ziggurat of the national soccer program leads the best young players through elite club teams, youth academies, resident programs, and age-group national teams. That process turns out very sound athletes who are strong on fundamentals and discipline, but can't seem to muster the brilliance in the box of players from those nations whose stars rise from barefoot matches in the street or endless games of pickup in the park.

Those other nations also have the advantage of placing their best athletes on the soccer field. That is not the case in the United States, and a circumstance that doesn't look likely to change any time soon.

Still, that doesn't mean the U.S. can't keep improving and can't put together a squad that needs more than luck and overachieving to really compete for the world's greatest sporting prize.

The soccer federation would do well to rethink some its methods, however, and the result from South Africa should add some motivation. Of course, the result from Germany four years ago should have done the same thing, and the U.S. showed up again this time with essentially the same team-building philosophy and the same indeterminate style of play.

When the best result of the tournament - judging things by world rankings and the level of opponent - is a 1-1 draw with England on a goal that was hardly earned, then it's time for the U.S. soccer hierarchy to put away the noisemakers and get back to work.

« Reply #419 on: June 29, 2010, 10:20:54 AM »

Omar yuh give meh ah job dey meh boy, but thank god ah found it right away.
http://joemygod.blogspot.com/2009/02/new-york-post-hits-new-low-with.html

Maaaaaan lewwe doh even WASTE we energy on de ny post......I does rel shake meh head when I see black people spendin' dey money on dat trash.....rel clueless.....YEARS ago I meas up to 14 - 15 years ago, my union wouldn't even allow people to come on our work site wit dat paper in dey hand.