March 28, 2024, 10:06:56 AM

Author Topic: Being coached by Bob Bradley finally catches up to U.S.  (Read 16239 times)

Being coached by Bob Bradley finally catches up to U.S.
« on: June 27, 2010, 08:51:14 AM »
Being coached by Bob Bradley finally catches up to U.S. 
By Brooks Peck

It was bound to happen and against Ghana it did, perhaps a bit earlier than it really should have. The U.S. just fell behind one too many times and their exciting run worth a lot of praise came to an end against a solid Ghana team that deserved the 2-1 win in extra time.

Still, it's difficult to ignore the glaring problems that set this U.S. team up for what can reasonably be seen as premature failure. They fought incredibly hard and showed amazing resilience, but in the end, many of the reasons the U.S. is now out of the World Cup can be traced back to coach Bob Bradley.

Coaches are often made into scapegoats and the targets of misguided frustration, but in the case of Bradley it's clear that blame is deserved. In the Ghana game alone, his mistakes were blatant and lethal.

[Photos: More images from the United States' loss to Ghana]

Instead of sticking with the lineup that got them a win over Algeria, he reinserted midfielder Ricardo Clark, who was culpable for England's quick goal against the U.S. in their opening match and all speed but no finish striker Robbie Findley. As a result, the U.S. ended up allowing yet another early goal in just the fifth minute of play off a ball given up by Clark, who then earned a yellow card two minutes later. Bradley finally realized his mistake and pretty much admitted it by substituting Clark in just the 30th minute. Findley, meanwhile, blew a fantastic chance to score by kicking the ball right at the goalkeeper. He was substituted at halftime for Benny Feilhaber, who made an instant impact that could have been just as useful in the first half. That left just one substitute to use after the half in a match that would end up going to extra time.

These issues are hardly new, though. As far back as the World Cup qualifying campaign, the U.S. has been giving up early goals -- a clear sign of poor preparation -- and both Clark and Findley have been proving their shortcomings, as have other players that Bradley stubbornly stuck with time and time again. And so the early goals kept coming, the wrong players kept sneaking into the starting XI, and against Ghana -- a team that only scored off of two penalty kicks in the entirety of the group stage -- it ended. After the match, Landon Donovan said the U.S. was just "too naive," which can really only be taken as a critique of their unacceptable preparation for a team they were favored to beat.

The Fire Bob Bradley campaign has been around for years now and has only been dismissed by the U.S. federation because the team kept rolling along in spite of its coach and his chronic mismanagement. Now that the rolling has stopped and U.S. fans are left frustrated over a favorable path to a World Cup semifinal squandered, it's time to thank Bradley for his commitment and the successes that he did bring and finally bring on a manager who can fully realize the potential (which, to be clear, is far from limitless) this squad has. Or at the very least won't constantly serve as a handicap to a national team ready to mature.

Re: Being coached by Bob Bradley finally catches up to U.S.
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2010, 09:11:48 AM »
Man doh post dem kinda articles without prefacing them. Dah man Brooks Beck is a blogger. Yuh giving the man's substance-less opinion credence.The man didn't present any cogent analysis of why Bradley should be fired. Leave Brooks and his foolish opinion where it belongs deep out in cyber space.

« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2010, 09:49:37 AM »
Man doh post dem kinda articles without prefacing them. Dah man Brooks Beck is a blogger. Yuh giving the man's substance-less opinion credence.The man didn't present any cogent analysis of why Bradley should be fired. Leave Brooks and his foolish opinion where it belongs deep out in cyber space.

Sense

« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2010, 09:59:53 AM »
Blasted ingratitude. He had dem doing a lot better than most people realise.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2010, 10:03:27 AM »
Bradley  :o  :o  :o This is the Best American Coach, I admire this man, he has full control over his squad.

USA aint firing him anytime soon rest assured of that.

« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2010, 10:12:16 AM »
Nothing is wrong with fans demanding more and being critical of the national coach (Bradley). Its part of the growing passion for the game that was not even evident in America more than 10 years ago

« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2010, 10:13:52 AM »
Nothing is wrong with fans demanding more and being critical of the national coach (Bradley). Its part of the growing passion for the game that was not even evident in America more than 10 years ago

Except when the opinions reveal are lack of understanding of the game and are stated as gospel, that is part of learning the game

« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2010, 10:17:28 AM »

Except when the opinions reveal are lack of understanding of the game and are stated as gospel, that is part of learning the game

well there you go...your opinion is one that says they dont understand and their opinion will say differently because they expected more. Who or what constitues which opinion is correct ?

« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2010, 10:19:29 AM »

well there you go...your opinion is one that says they dont understand and their opinion will say differently because they expected more. Who or what constitues which opinion is correct ?

It is often said that opinions cannot be incorrect, but if one is making an opinion based on insufficient information/data, isn't it likely to be a misconstrued opinion?  That's my point here re-the bloggers view on Bradley and the US team.

« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2010, 10:25:02 AM »

It is often said that opinions cannot be incorrect, but if one is making an opinion based on insufficient information/data, isn't it likely to be a misconstrued opinion?  That's my point here re-the bloggers view on Bradley and the US team.

yes an opinon can be misconstrued ..However this is not one and I dont see the insufficient data ..all i see is a blogger who has opinions triggered on the sentiments of his teams underperformed against Ghana. He mentioned the Coach made wrong tactical changes which was echoed by football analysts on TV ( so the blogger is not the only one being critical of Bradley) Others (maybe like yourself) may have the opinion that Bradley did great with the US team at the world cup

« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2010, 10:30:51 AM »

yes an opinon can be misconstrued ..However this is not one and I dont see the insufficient data ..all i see is a blogger who has opinions triggered on the sentiments of his teams underperformed against Ghana. He mentioned the Coach made wrong tactical changes which was echoed by football analysts on TV ( so the blogger is not the only one being critical of Bradley) Others (maybe like yourself) may have the opinion that Bradley did great with the US team at the world cup

Sense Sando, don't disagree w/most of what you state.  I'd highlight one thing above though and that is the bloggers "sentiments" which to me represent an emotional assessment and thus insufficient attention paid to the facts regarding Bradley's success or lack thereof w/the US team, hence my comment

« Reply #11 on: June 27, 2010, 11:11:07 AM »
everyone wants someone to blame for a loss, the fact it was not USAs nite, it was written somewhere that Ghana would go threw. US dominated but could not score. Findley, Demps, many many others were wasteful infront of goal. Ghana wanted to win more and they did the work on the field and their homework on this USA side.

« Reply #12 on: June 27, 2010, 11:37:11 AM »
everyone wants someone to blame for a loss, the fact it was not USAs nite, it was written somewhere that Ghana would go threw. US dominated but could not score. Findley, Demps, many many others were wasteful infront of goal. Ghana wanted to win more and they did the work on the field and their homework on this USA side.

Yoo hoo!! SHITTA 12....why yuh hiding from the next thread??.....yuh should take yuh pound like a girl man...

« Reply #13 on: June 27, 2010, 12:54:52 PM »
Actually, I found Bradley did very well in this game especially.

US were getting overrun by Ghana in trhe first half.  Bradley recognised that and subbed Ricardo Clarke and brought on Maurice Edu before the half ended.

A slight shift in formation, matched Ghana in midfield and voila.  USA dominated the remainder of regular time.

As for the blogger's criticism of Findley....he neglected to mention how much opportunities Clint Dempsey wasted...but he focusing on the ONE chance Findley had in 2 matches.  That alone is enough to reveal his obvious bias.

I don't think Bradley made any mistakes in this match.  Yes he subbed Clark in the 30th minute but to me that was to his credit.  Findley was a direct replacement for the injured Charlie Davis who would have played in Bradley's system but for the unfortunate & tragic autombile crash.

Gyan's goal was worthy of winning a world cup elimination match.  Ghana got a second wind in extra time and the US were spent physically after chasing the game for the majority of the 90 minutes.

You have no idea how much it takes out of you having to come from behind in consecutive games.  Coach Bradley is the least of USA worries IMO.

« Reply #14 on: June 28, 2010, 10:32:17 AM »

Instead of sticking with the lineup that got them a win over Algeria, he reinserted midfielder Ricardo Clark, who was culpable for England's quick goal against the U.S. in their opening match and all speed but no finish striker Robbie Findley. preparation for a team they were favored to beat.

It funny eh, but they sound like typical Trinis: one concede an early goal and the next one have speed, skill and cah finish.

What they expected with Trinis on they side? That is how they describe us in their scouting reports most likely.

« Reply #15 on: June 28, 2010, 11:02:31 AM »
They ran out of gas.  They spent too much of the World Cup chasing games- the emotional roller coaster after the Algeria game probably took alot out of them as well.  That game was like a World Cup final in itself as far as they were concerned. 

There's someting to be said about them giving up an early goal in 3 of their 4 matches.  The thickness of the crossbar in the Algeria match prevented it from being 4 out of 4.  I dunno how much of that is Bradley's fault. 

« Reply #16 on: June 28, 2010, 11:07:32 AM »

"....US dominated but could not score....."......us dominated?! WTF game YOU was watching?

« Reply #17 on: June 28, 2010, 11:15:32 AM »

"....US dominated but could not score....."......us dominated?! WTF game YOU was watching?

« Reply #18 on: June 28, 2010, 11:16:10 AM »
IMHO Bradley has done well with the US Team. Gold Cup, Confederation Cup, World Cup.

He created a very good team spirit.
He got the best out of the players qualities.
The squad was always Organized
Managed to create a very attack minded US team.
He made excellent adjustments in games.

What more do they want from a coach? Beyond that USA do not have the special individual that can make a difference at the highest level.
Then again England, Italy, France were suppose to have those players and well you fill out the rest.

« Reply #19 on: June 28, 2010, 11:39:12 AM »
IMHO Bradley has done well with the US Team. Gold Cup, Confederation Cup, World Cup.

He created a very good team spirit.
He got the best out of the players qualities.
The squad was always Organized
Managed to create a very attack minded US team.
He made excellent adjustments in games.

What more do they want from a coach? Beyond that USA do not have the special individual that can make a difference at the highest level.
Then again England, Italy, France were suppose to have those players and well you fill out the rest.

...not to mention, Observer, that the usa is just not really as good as they think they are.  I totally respect what their strengths are and on any given day, they can surprise some teams the way they surprised perennial underachievers portugal and Spain and to their credit, during the first half of the Brazil game last year.  However, when you look at the types of players they put out on a field and match them up against the types of players they come up against, they are hardly in their opponents' league.  I listen to how alexi lalas condescendingly refers to the usa as having lost to Ghana like Ghana is some shit side that come from nowhere.  Anybody looking at the first half of that Ghana game can see that there was/is a huge Grand Canyon-esque gap between the quality of the two sides.  The only thing that narrowed that gap during the game was the tactics, but in the end, it was the superior quality of the individual that catapulted Ghana into the Quarters.....The usa don't have playes like Javier Mascherano, Steven Gerrard, Wayne Rooney or Gabriel Heinze, much less the upper, upper echelon of the top players in the world.  Players that can really change a game, when all things are square and equal on a playing field.  The usa, while dominant in concacaf, are still yet to find themselves on an even playing field as far is comparing their individual talent to other contries is concerned.  Cyah blame bob bradley fuh dat.   

« Reply #20 on: June 28, 2010, 12:11:49 PM »
I agree! people are writing articles as though the US squad just needs tweeking
to become World beaters.

« Reply #21 on: June 28, 2010, 12:17:38 PM »
to become World beaters.

lalas seems to just love saying about england "they're just not that good" a fact that most of the british personalities (steve mcmanaman, etc..) have been ready to admit, to their credit. Not the americans.  They honestly see themselves as being on par with a Brazil, a Germany, a Netherlands.   As long as they keep seeing it that way, they will continue to cry like they did on Saturday.  Jurgen Klinsmann said it Saturday, but in a nice way that they have to go and get people that are more a part of this game, people of colour, so to speak, to develop their game.  I know they heard what he was saying, but I am sure they feel he talkin shit. 

« Reply #22 on: June 28, 2010, 12:18:28 PM »
Bradley made wrong decisions with starting Clarke instead of Fielhaber in the Ghana game. Also when a team concede goals so early in so many repeated games then the coach has to take blame regardless of the team current global pedigree. Doh worry about what any blogger or Lalas you dislike/hate is saying instead cast your opinion on the game that is in front your eyes

« Reply #23 on: June 28, 2010, 12:21:59 PM »
to become World beaters.

lalas seems to just love saying about england "they're just not that good" a fact that most of the british personalities (steve mcmanaman, etc..) have been ready to admit, to their credit. Not the americans.  They honestly see themselves as being on par with a Brazil, a Germany, a Netherlands.   As long as they keep seeing it that way, they will continue to cry like they did on Saturday.  Jurgen Klinsmann said it Saturday, but in a nice way that they have to go and get people that are more a part of this game, people of colour, so to speak, to develop their game.  I know they heard what he was saying, but I am sure they feel he talkin shit. 

Besides mc manaman what other british media house or personality have said that England is not just that good prior to the WC ? (since you want to call it fact lol ) Also what exactly did Klinsman say for you to believe that he meant "people of colour" ?..Try anser these questions before Christmas  :D

« Reply #24 on: June 28, 2010, 12:27:39 PM »
to become World beaters.

Besides mc manaman what other british media house or personality have said that England is not just that good prior to the WC ? (since you want to call it fact lol ) Also what exactly did Klinsman say for you to believe that he meant "people of colour" ?..Try anser these questions before Christmas  :D

First off, all the post game british analysts, like andy gray, the other fella on fsc (can't remember his name) said it and I didn't say they said it BEFORE the WC.  They said it after they got their lunch handed to them yesterday.  They admitted they were not good enough.  something the americans are still yet to do. Secondly, Klinsmann specifically said they need to look to the inner cities to find their talent.  That hardly describes talent pool for discovering white people in america and I know you know that.

« Reply #25 on: June 28, 2010, 12:32:26 PM »
to become World beaters.

Now if it was me who say it, I biased.... :devil:

« Reply #26 on: June 28, 2010, 12:37:13 PM »
to become World beaters.

Now if it was me who say it, I biased.... :devil:

No yuh overdose on haterade  :rotfl:

« Reply #27 on: June 28, 2010, 12:39:23 PM »
to become World beaters.

First off, all the post game british analysts, like andy gray, the other fella on fsc (can't remember his name) said it and I didn't say they said it BEFORE the WC.  They said it after they got their lunch handed to them yesterday.  They admitted they were not good enough.  something the americans are still yet to do. Secondly, Klinsmann specifically said they need to look to the inner cities to find their talent.  That hardly describes talent pool for discovering white people in america and I know you know that.

:D Now look at how you continue to make a fool of yourself..when you say the americans are not good enough..what exactly are you saying because everyone knows america is not a powerhouse .now if you mad that the americans is one of the respected teams in the world then you could fight that between you and yourself for years to come  :D..and you can only fool yourself to believe that the british media really think they are not good enough..but yuh can ride on Mcmanaman statement to prove your opinion. I see more british fans coming to that realisation since the germany game but not enough fuh me or you to come out here saying "it is fact"..Now cool down my brother with yuh black superior complex ..I wanted to hear you admit that your understand of Klinsman statement means people with colour so now i can better understand most of your posts in here

« Reply #28 on: June 28, 2010, 01:16:22 PM »
to become World beaters.

:D Now look at how you continue to make a fool of yourself..when you say the americans are not good enough..what exactly are you saying because everyone knows america is not a powerhouse .now if you mad that the americans is one of the respected teams in the world then you could fight that between you and yourself for years to come  :D..and you can only fool yourself to believe that the british media really think they are not good enough..but yuh can ride on Mcmanaman statement to prove your opinion. I see more british fans coming to that realisation since the germany game but not enough fuh me or you to come out here saying "it is fact"..Now cool down my brother with yuh black superior complex ..I wanted to hear you admit that your understand of Klinsman statement means people with colour so now i can better understand most of your posts in here

"......lalas seems to just love saying about england "they're just not that good" a fact that most of the british personalities (steve mcmanaman, etc..) have been ready to admit, to their credit. Not the americans.

Asshole... You really cyah read.  I am not stating that it is a "fact" that the british media as a whole has relented/acquiesced/capitulated/admitted to the english team being inferior.  the media personalities I am talking about is solely the personalities covering the world cup on the channels I am watching....like fsc.   The only "fact" that I am stating is that england were not good.  Plain and simple

Steve mcmanaman was the one who said it without equivocation immediately after the game and all the other media personalities (that I am watching on television) have pretty much admitted the same....after the game.  I couldn't care less what they were saying before it. 

I could understand your jackass talk if I said "it is a fact that the british media have admitted that england were not that good..." but that is not what I said. 

asshole....you really cyah read.  I am not stating nor have I ever stated that the "everyone" respects usa as any powerhouse.  I really don't know what they see them as, and I don't care.   I am commenting on how the americans are seeing themselves, based on their reaction to this WC performance and what their expectations seemed to have been and how they viewed their opponents in Ghana clearly before and even AFTER the loss and AFTER the gap in talent between the two teams was clear for all the world to see.  WTF are YOU talking about??

Last but not least, even if I had or have a black superiority complex, it isn't what I am projecting as much as you fighting up yuh self to try and find it.  But just to give you a little insight, when people in america refer to the "inner cities", especially when it comes to "finding talent" in sports, they are referring to "people of colour."  And, in america, as I told you you are aware of already but only playing asshole to look fuh ole talk, "people of colour" does NOT refer to blacks "only".  There may have been a time, sometime ago when that may have been the case, but now it means anyone that is not white........But anyhow....I have faith in yuh that yuh really can read but just feel like being today's asshole. Give that baton back to its rightful owner, jed.

« Reply #29 on: July 28, 2011, 12:59:30 PM »
Bye bye Bob Bradley!