March 28, 2024, 05:31:45 PM

Author Topic: WC 2010 - Match 54 - Round of 16: Brazil vs Chile  (Read 35158 times)

WC 2010 - Match 54 - Round of 16: Brazil vs Chile
« on: June 27, 2010, 11:04:49 AM »
Brazil-Chile preview

Brazil will be vying to beat Chile for the third time in three FIFA World Cup™ meetings, when the prize on offer will be a place in the quarter-finals. Whoever they are facing, the five-time champions come under pressure to win every match with unrivalled swagger. That is the price they pay for starting each tournament as favourites, the burden of their success down the years, yet they can expect stiff opposition from South American rivals who have been in fine form since Marcelo Bielsa took over at the helm.

Add in the carrot of a coveted berth in the last eight and all the ingredients are present for an open yet fiery encounter, not least since Chile lost 4-2 and 3-0 to Dunga’s charges in qualifying and will be desperate to turn the tables.

The match
Brazil-Chile, Round of 16, Ellis Park, Johannesburg, 28 June, 20.30 (local time)

A Seleção found life difficult against group-stage opponents Korea DPR and Portugal, struggling to find a way through a sturdy defensive barrier on both occasions. Despite dominating possession, Brazil had trouble picking out their forwards in dangerous positions and endured plenty of frustration. That is not a problem they are likely to find repeated against Chile, however, as Bielsa’s flamboyant side are unlikely to settle for cautious counter-attacking football.

Still, La Roja will need to keep things tight at the back. With the likes of Robinho, Kaka and Luis Fabiano sniffing out openings, Chile will require levels of commitment and organisation similar to those they displayed against Spain, when even down to ten men they managed to keep the European champions at bay – save for the two mistakes that cost them goals. They will nonetheless have to cope without Marco Estrada, sent off against Spain, and suspended duo Waldo Ponce and Gary Medel, while Brazil could be deprived the services of injured pair Felipe Melo and Julio Baptista.

Players to watch
Kaka (BRA) v Jorge Valdivia (CHI)

The Brazil playmaker remains an idol at Sao Paulo, where he first rose to prominence before setting sail for AC Milan, while his Chilean counterpart was an iconic figure for O Tricolor Paulista's regional rivals Palmeiras, firing 24 goals in 93 appearances between 2006 and 2008. Despite those contrasting club allegiances, the two players perform a similar function on the pitch and how they fare could well prove key to this game. Their vision, the quality of their passing and their set-piece pedigree could all potentially make the difference at either end, with neither defence noted for being porous or naive.

The stat
2 – Brazil and Chile have crossed paths on two previous occasions at this level, in the semi-finals at Chile 1962 and in the Round of 16 at France 1998. A Canarinho prevailed in both games, scoring four goals each time to triumph 4-2 and 4-1 – an omen, perhaps, for a feast of attacking football at Ellis Park Stadium.

What they said
"We’re going to need to learn to play against defensive sides as I think very few teams will want to play Brazil at our own game. A Seleção must start finding solutions to get around this problem, because from now on every match will be decisive,” Luis Fabiano, Brazil forward.

"Brazil have proved down the years that they’re a team to be feared, but in this World Cup they’ve also shown that in addition to their usual creative style they now boast combativeness and strength,” Marcelo Bielsa, Chile coach.

Voice of the fans
"It will be very difficult and we won’t have our two defenders Medel and Ponce (listed as the two best players at the World Cup by the Castrol Index). There ought to be a change with Suazo back in the side and he scored two goals against Brazil in qualifying. But Brazil will always be Brazil. May the best team win,” FIFA.com user Darilx (France).

The question
Chile have not overcome Brazil since a friendly in 1993, failing to carve out victory in their last 13 meetings. Will La Roja finally be able to end that run on the grandest stage of all?

Re: WC 2010 - Match 54 - Round of 16: Brazil vs Chile
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2010, 11:27:17 AM »
CHILE PEPPA

« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2010, 12:14:04 PM »
i feel chile might pull off an upset

« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2010, 03:20:11 PM »
hhhhmmm.....interesting.....two South American sides that know about each other.....very interesting....GO CHILE!!!  Easier for the Oranje!!!... :devil: :devil: ;D

« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2010, 05:25:17 PM »
Oh Gosh how ah would love for Chile tuh knock dem out

« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2010, 08:00:00 PM »
Me too but I can't see it.

Chile is the perfect team for this Brazil because they attack so openly. Plus they miss plenty chances and I don't know if Suazo is fit yet. It would take a perfect game for them for them to beat Brazil.

Incidentally the last six or seven games between these two is all wind for Brazil with Brazil racking up plenty goals.

« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2010, 08:11:32 PM »
Incidentally the last six or seven games between these two is all wind for Brazil with Brazil racking up plenty goals.

Agreed, Brazil dont even look like dey break ah sweat yet for this tournament....Ah hope that when dey hit 2nd gear....d gear box break down... :devil:

Offline willi

« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2010, 05:42:23 AM »
Chile missing 3 starters.

Brazil eating Chilli for lunch!

« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2010, 06:05:45 AM »

I checked to see what the results were between these two for the qualifiers and Brazil beat them on both occasions...ah well Chile ah would love for all yuh to knock out Brazil but it eh looking likely.....that said.....

GO CHILE!!!.... ;D

« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2010, 06:41:59 AM »

I checked to see what the results were between these two for the qualifiers and Brazil beat them on both occasions...ah well Chile ah would love for all yuh to knock out Brazil but it eh looking likely.....that said.....

GO CHILE!!!.... ;D

Dat's right, BrownSugar.....call dey name in yuh mout'.  Call it!  (and lemme go on de nex' tread and see if yuh callin' Holland name, too.)  :devil:

« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2010, 07:41:23 AM »

GO CHILE!!!.... ;D

Dat's right, BrownSugar.....call dey name in yuh mout'.  Call it!  (and lemme go on de nex' tread and see if yuh callin' Holland name, too.)  :devil:

:devil: :devil: ;D

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2010, 08:52:16 AM »
Seem like everybody on de same page so far.

Wonder if is cuz of leaving ah bad tase in we

mouth from dey lass game with Puttegal ? Go CHILE  !!!
« Last Edit: June 28, 2010, 08:54:20 AM by mwanasoka »
When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.

« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2010, 09:07:57 AM »
Seem like everybody on de same page so far.

Wonder if is cuz of leaving ah bad tase in we

mouth from dey lass game with Puttegal ? Go CHILE  !!!

I for one left room for collusion given d Portuguese link, but ah was hopin dey would at least make it interestin  :( brazil is mih side still doh

« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2010, 09:38:26 AM »
I hope Brazil puts on a show and makes a statement in victory - as a Brazil fan and for the good of the cup.

I mean Holland-Brazil is so much more of a match to look forward to than Holland-Chile...

« Reply #14 on: June 28, 2010, 09:40:34 AM »
Me too but I can't see it.

I eh look fuh yuh dey JDB...

« Reply #15 on: June 28, 2010, 09:54:39 AM »
CHILE!!!!!

« Reply #16 on: June 28, 2010, 10:21:15 AM »
This will be a low scoring game I feel. 1 - 0 Brazil.

« Reply #17 on: June 28, 2010, 10:26:06 AM »
I hope Brazil puts on a show and makes a statement in victory - as a Brazil fan and for the good of the cup.

I mean Holland-Brazil is so much more of a match to look forward to than Holland-Chile...

I hope Chile put it on them and this Brazil team looks as uninventive as they have been for the last year.

« Reply #18 on: June 28, 2010, 10:36:59 AM »

I doubt it. Chile defends well apart from that howler against Spain.

« Reply #19 on: June 28, 2010, 11:04:24 AM »

I doubt it. Chile defends well apart from that howler against Spain.

chile's attacking brand works to brazil advantage (i.e. counterattack)..it should be a very open game with a lot of goals

« Reply #20 on: June 28, 2010, 11:05:06 AM »
steups This should have been Brazil-Spain, Chile-Portugal so the South Americans teams could progress; I don't like them knocking out each other.

« Reply #21 on: June 28, 2010, 11:08:15 AM »
steups This should have been Brazil-Spain, Chile-Portugal so the South Americans teams could progress; I don't like them knocking out each other.

Well, the Europeans facing and knocking out each other too

« Reply #22 on: June 28, 2010, 11:11:36 AM »

Well, the Europeans facing and knocking out each other too

Yeah, I know I want them to be knocked out by South American teams so SA could show their quality.

Guess we'll have to wait for the Quarter finals, although I'm not so confident of Argentina beating Germany. Germany looks as though they could sweep aside all contenders (apart from Brasil).

« Reply #23 on: June 28, 2010, 11:23:39 AM »
ah expect a next handball from fabiano, maybe even to open the scoring. red card for chile as well.

« Reply #24 on: June 28, 2010, 11:54:52 AM »
Brazil winning this easy.

Kaka and Robinhio well rested.

Brazil better in possesion what will chile do press or sitback.

Brazil have tall men for set plays.

Chile can either sit back and defend and lose
Or try to attack and leave space in the back to lose more.

Given the tatics of Bielsa,

They will attack;

Brazil will destroy them

« Reply #25 on: June 28, 2010, 12:16:14 PM »
Brazil winning this easy.

Kaka and Robinhio well rested.

Brazil better in possesion what will chile do press or sitback.

Brazil have tall men for set plays.

Chile can either sit back and defend and lose
Or try to attack and leave space in the back to lose more.

Given the tatics of Bielsa,

They will attack;

Brazil will destroy them

you are right...bielsa will look to push men forward on the wings to try and keep maicon and bastos back, make them stay home instead of joining in the attack.  i cyah wait to see this game dred.

« Reply #26 on: June 28, 2010, 12:18:57 PM »
Brazil taking this easy easy. Is how much Chile collectin is the question.

« Reply #27 on: June 28, 2010, 12:20:52 PM »
This will be a low scoring game I feel. 1 - 0 Brazil.

Disagree ... with the low-scoring affair part.

« Reply #28 on: June 28, 2010, 12:21:45 PM »
Part of the openeing segment on espn was the throwing out of the fact that all teams so far in this round of 16 have scored, winners and losers alike.  Chile is about to buck that trend in a losing effort.

« Reply #29 on: June 28, 2010, 12:32:13 PM »
Nuff Brazil haters ...hmmm, I understand the frustration of assorted years, if dahis what it is - aside perhaps from an ARG fanbase haterade thing :)

Chile under Bielsa is capable of troubling Brazil for extended moments, and this match provides a classic platform as Bielsa's defining moment. Sadly, the combination of forces required fuh a Chilean victory today is unlikely to come off. Aside from facing Paraguay, Chile would be next in the pecking order to disturb the status quo of a Brazilian victory. Love Bielsa to de max, but today I can't be in his camp.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2010, 01:22:18 PM by asylumseeker »