April 19, 2024, 06:53:49 PM

Author Topic: WC 2010 - Match 55 - Round of 16: Paraguay vs Japan  (Read 10348 times)

WC 2010 - Match 55 - Round of 16: Paraguay vs Japan
« on: June 27, 2010, 02:46:46 PM »
Match 55 - Round of 16 - 29 June
Referee Frank DE BLEECKERE (BEL)
Tshwane/Pretoria - Loftus Versfeld Stadium

Head-to-Head

PAR:JAP
wins 2:1
draws 3
goals 7:4

Paraguay-Japan preview

History will be made whatever the outcome when Paraguay meet Japan in the Round of 16 – for whoever prevails in Pretoria will advance to the FIFA World Cup™ quarter-finals for the first time. Having gone beyond the group stage on three of their past seven finals appearances, Gerardo Martino's Paraguay will be determined to build on their success in finishing top of Group F against a Japan side through to the knockout phase for the first time on foreign soil.

The match
Paraguay-Japan, Tshwane/Pretoria (Loftus Versfeld Stadium), 29 June, 16.00

Previously famed for their tenacious rearguard, Paraguay are not just about defence, their 4-3-3 formation including the vastly-experienced Roque Santa Cruz in attack alongside Borussia Dortmund duo Lucas Barrios and Nelson Valdez. Yet they also carry a scoring threat from midfield as Enrique Vera and Cristian Riveros showed when each scored in their 2-0 win over Slovakia. Opponents Japan have shaken off the lacklustre form they showed in the build-up to this tournament to defeat Cameroon and Denmark en route to the last 16.

Coach Takeshi Okada's tactical gamble has paid off in style, with Keisuke Honda thriving in a new attacking role. Behind him, Yasuhito Endo and Kakoto Hasebe have bossed the midfield and Japan showed against Denmark that their armoury includes a distinct set-piece threat – two of their three goals coming direct from free-kicks. Of course their tireless approach also gives them a seeming edge in fitness over some of their rivals. While there is likely to be no change in the Japan lineup, Paraguay have to make do without defensive midfielder Victor Caceres through suspension although centre-back Antolin Alcaraz could return after sitting out the last game through an ankle injury. It is the two sides' first match-up at the FIFA World Cup but they are by no means strangers having met six times previously. The South Americans have recorded two wins to Japan’s one, though the Asians prevailed in the most recent friendly in 2003.

Players to watch
Justo Villar v Keisuke Honda

Injured in the opening minutes of Paraguay's Germany 2006 campaign, Villar has been seeking to make amends this time and conceded just one goal during the group campaign. The 32-year-old Paraguay captain, however, will have to be wary of Japan's danger man Honda, the midfielder-turned striker who has scored twice so far. The 25-year-old CSKA Moscow man has quickly become Japan's new talisman over the past months, scoring six goals which led to six wins.

The stat
4 –South Africa 2010 marks the fourth FIFA World Cup for the 35-year-old Denis Caniza, who made his tenth finals appearance for Paraguay in the 0-0 draw with New Zealand. Hot on his heels are Roque Santa Cruz and Julio Cesar Caceres, who each made seven appearances during the past two FIFA World Cups.

What they said
"With their pace and agility, Japan are a team hard to play against. They have players who can change the direction of a game so we have to come out very focused and keep running throughout the game," Roque Santa Cruz, Paraguay forward.

'Paraguay's defence is compactly organised. They have physical strength but are also good on the ball. I think they will be difficult opponents," Yuki Abe, Japan midfielder.

Voice of the fans
"Paraguay has the players to advance and has experience especially playing with the likes of the Brazil and Argentina. But Japan also has a lot of talent – it will be a good match," FIFA.com user Vinnie-ECU.

The question
Having managed their first FIFA World Cup wins on foreign soil, can Japan continue their history-making run?
« Last Edit: June 28, 2010, 03:01:36 PM by E-man »

Re: WC 2010 - Match 55 - Round of 16: Paraguay vs Japan
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2010, 11:06:25 AM »
Preview to be posted

Match 55 - Round of 16 - 29 June
Referee Frank DE BLEECKERE (BEL)
Tshwane/Pretoria - Loftus Versfeld Stadium

Head-to-Head

PAR:JAP
wins 2:1
draws 3:3
goals 7:4

Nobody givin this game any luv.

« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2010, 11:14:02 AM »
japan taking this

« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2010, 11:18:29 AM »
Ah hope this is the early game so I can sleep in.

« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2010, 11:19:34 AM »
japan taking this

Doh be so sure 'bout dat nuh.......Paraguay eh go be no pushover, Jed. 

« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2010, 02:56:53 PM »
we seeing penalties!

« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2010, 06:21:08 PM »
I backing the Samurais.....

GO JAPAN!!!

« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2010, 07:04:45 PM »
Paraguay will take this one!!

« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2010, 08:58:30 PM »
I like both of these teams, but I think japan a little more beatable further down the line, so I going with paraguay to take it all the way to the end as a dark horse. I hope I ent blightin them like I blight all the other teams i like :)

« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2010, 08:40:39 AM »
yuh does know when ah game borin or off d radar boy

« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2010, 08:48:06 AM »

LOL.....I following mih Samurais man....

GO JAPAN!!

« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2010, 08:51:43 AM »
Paraguay going home!

« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2010, 09:16:33 AM »

GO JAPAN!!

cool cool listenin on radio (91.1 fm), sometimes d commentators does sound like dey ready to go home an' sleep. yuh could imagine if I was listenin on 105 fm dey done eh givin yuh no atmosphere from d stadium aready an' on top ah dat is man like Selwayne an' corneal commentating...........coulda be worse doh.....dey could have dave lamy

« Reply #13 on: June 29, 2010, 09:51:33 AM »
EXTRA TIME.....

ah could do with ah lil penalty kicks excitement here

« Reply #14 on: June 29, 2010, 09:53:41 AM »

GO JAPAN!!

cool cool listenin on radio (91.1 fm), sometimes d commentators does sound like dey ready to go home an' sleep. yuh could imagine if I was listenin on 105 fm dey done eh givin yuh no atmosphere from d stadium aready an' on top ah dat is man like Selwayne an' corneal commentating...........coulda be worse doh.....dey could have dave lamy

As much as ah cyar stand TV 6's half time "antics" ah taking een the commentary on their radio feed on 87.7fm.  As for 105.1 fm dais thing to shoot yuh self in the head for....

« Reply #15 on: June 29, 2010, 09:55:30 AM »
i recording this game to maybe check after work. it good or a defensive struggle?

i backing the japs.

« Reply #16 on: June 29, 2010, 10:00:15 AM »
As for 105.1 fm dais thing to shoot yuh self in the head for....

u tellin me, I find for trinis dem to damn unexcitable :(, doh get mih wrong yuh know 91.1 commentry commin from bbc an it good it jus dat d game borin and from what d sayin d football itself real poor
« Last Edit: June 29, 2010, 10:27:02 AM by lefty »

« Reply #17 on: June 29, 2010, 10:19:09 AM »
This game is painful to watch.

« Reply #18 on: June 29, 2010, 10:20:40 AM »
Maybe the only attempt on goal with feet will be a PK. So many darn headers ...

« Reply #19 on: June 29, 2010, 10:23:05 AM »
i recording this game to maybe check after work. it good or a defensive struggle?

i backing the japs.

This game is like a boxing match in the lower weight divisions.
Both teams showing lots of activity, but neither has the power to knock the other one out.
So after 15 rounds we'll go to the judges scorecards.

« Reply #20 on: June 29, 2010, 10:25:32 AM »
Japan do not deserve to win this game ... overelaboration to the max ...

« Reply #21 on: June 29, 2010, 10:30:37 AM »
1st game to go to penalties

« Reply #22 on: June 29, 2010, 10:30:57 AM »
I'm thinking Japan will die by the Sword of the Samurai. Paraguay to win on PKs ... in honour of Salvador Cabanas.

« Reply #23 on: June 29, 2010, 10:36:17 AM »
Japanese kpr looks like he has the world on his shoulders ... meanwhile Villar looks relaxed. Bring it!
« Last Edit: June 29, 2010, 10:44:59 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #24 on: June 29, 2010, 10:36:52 AM »
2-2

« Reply #25 on: June 29, 2010, 10:37:25 AM »
You think anybody have the stones to do a Dwight Yorke chip down the center?

« Reply #26 on: June 29, 2010, 10:38:17 AM »
I LOVE PK's!! Paraguay winning this!!

« Reply #27 on: June 29, 2010, 10:39:04 AM »
You think anybody have the stones to do a Dwight Yorke chip down the center?
nah yuh mad ;D

« Reply #28 on: June 29, 2010, 10:40:18 AM »
first choker