March 28, 2024, 07:42:54 AM

Author Topic: Biggest Disappointment?  (Read 25359 times)

Biggest Disappointment?
« on: June 27, 2010, 10:00:11 PM »
So which player in your opinion has been the biggest disappointment?

I know who mine is, and was it expect or unexpected?

Re: Biggest Disappointment?
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2010, 10:51:05 PM »
Rooney

Offline black chinee

« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2010, 05:23:38 AM »
ROOOOOOOONEY have England in ROOOOOO-ins

« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2010, 10:27:04 AM »

:rotfl: iz not only he fault.

« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2010, 10:28:59 AM »

of course it is. He went there as their big player and talisman...and he didn't show up at all. If england went there trying to build around Steven Gerrard or with no player considered better than the rest, they would have performed better.

But...because they try to build everything around Rooney and spent the whole World Cup trying to get him going, they lose sight of the fact that it had other players on the team.

« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2010, 10:46:45 AM »
Fifa officials in almost every world cup !!
« Last Edit: June 28, 2010, 10:49:34 AM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2010, 10:55:15 AM »
D ref, look like he making the finals and winning too, right now he undefeated

« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2010, 11:04:00 AM »
ENT!!!!!!!!!!!     Cr-ack...cr-ack  pow!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2010, 11:48:39 AM »
Ah HAVE to (gladly) say is really a toss-up between fifa, the refs and rooney!  ;D

« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2010, 11:54:50 AM »
Rumor has it the future wasn't written so well and he have a bushy beard, living in a trailor and marking line on a small pitch.

« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2010, 11:56:31 AM »
in no particular order:

• lippi
  • evra
  • de unbalanced american media coverage of USA's chances
  • de unbalanced expectations for england's chances in general and rooney's in particular
  • adidas - for a sh*tty ball resulting in a record-low goal tally
  • china - for supplying de vuvuzela at a low cost to a mass of idle (waggonist) fans largely ignorant of football culture

didn't include the following as disappointment implies some expectations:

• domenech
  • terry

« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2010, 12:02:12 PM »
Good job ribbit

« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2010, 12:05:26 PM »
De lead post ask which PLAYER was de biggest disappointment and I seein all kinda talks bout unbalanced media coverage, fifa officials, and unbalanced england expectations.

1 - Robinho - hasn't done a thing yet

2 - Cristiano Ronaldo - maybe unfair as it's difficult to shine when the opposition not named North Korea knows you're the ONLY scoring threat

3 - Josey Altidore & Clint Dempsey - came with big hype and ended with no delivery

4 - Nicholas Anelka - Straight up Flopped

5 - Samuel Eto'o - Did nothing

Honourable Mention - Yohann Gourcuff - really thought this was his stage to shine.  Reading what went on behind the scenes, perhaps not surprising he had a really awful first game

« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2010, 12:22:03 PM »
Fifa officials in almost every world cup !!

But yuh shouldn't be disappointed about something yuh expecting. Yuh should be prepared fuh it.

That sound kinda good actually. Ah go copyright that  :-\

« Reply #14 on: June 28, 2010, 12:24:23 PM »
I see Mango Chow , D.H.W and Brownsuga reading this thread title and wiping tears with the American flag  :D  ...

« Reply #15 on: June 28, 2010, 12:26:37 PM »
Biggest Disappointment has to relate to the biggest expectation and that is

ROONEY :devil:

hands down

« Reply #16 on: June 28, 2010, 12:36:03 PM »
I see Mango Chow , D.H.W and Brownsuga reading this thread title and wiping tears with the American flag  :D  ...

Eh??  ??? :-\

« Reply #17 on: June 28, 2010, 12:40:05 PM »
De lead post ask which PLAYER was de biggest disappointment and I seein all kinda talks bout unbalanced media coverage, fifa officials, and unbalanced england expectations.

palos, the lead post has conditions the thread title lacks. this ambiguity mean ah go write wdf ah want  :devil:

here's a next player:

obafemi martins

« Reply #18 on: June 28, 2010, 12:41:40 PM »

2 - Cristiano Ronaldo - maybe unfair as it's difficult to shine when the opposition not named North Korea knows you're the ONLY scoring threat

3 - Josey Altidore & Clint Dempsey - came with big hype and ended with no delivery

Honourable Mention - Yohann Gourcuff - really thought this was his stage to shine.  Reading what went on behind the scenes, perhaps not surprising he had a really awful first game

Palos I respectfully disagree with a bunch of these brodda.

1. Robinho has looked the livliest of the Brazilian attackers at times, particularly in game 1.
2. CR7 has two MOM awards and is clearly the deadliest man on the pitch
3. Jozy was the US' biggest threat and Dempsey earned their penalty with a nice lil nutmeg.
4. Agree
5. The guy I htink scored 2 goals. Can't be considered a flop with 2 goals in 3 games.

Rooney with zero impact or goals in 4 games is much more justifiable.

« Reply #19 on: June 28, 2010, 12:44:08 PM »

of course it is. He went there as their big player and talisman...and he didn't show up at all. If england went there trying to build around Steven Gerrard or with no player considered better than the rest, they would have performed better.

But...because they try to build everything around Rooney and spent the whole World Cup trying to get him going, they lose sight of the fact that it had other players on the team.

Is d strategy dat was flawed plus d man 2 execute the strategy was flawed. Then it cyah be a big dissapointment.

« Reply #20 on: June 28, 2010, 12:46:15 PM »

1. Robinho has looked the livliest of the Brazilian attackers at times, particularly in game 1.
3. Jozy was the US' biggest threat and Dempsey earned their penalty with a nice lil nutmeg.
4. Agree
5. The guy I htink scored 2 goals. Can't be considered a flop with 2 goals in 3 games.

was Jozy more of threat than Donovan ?

and Jozy was expected to score atleast one goal but did not so that = flop

« Reply #21 on: June 28, 2010, 12:57:04 PM »

4. Agree

Respeck bro.

I have high expectations of Robinho and to me he hasn't done anything anywhere close to his abilities IMO

Me eh know who givin FIFA MOM awards but most of these awards appear to be popularity contests instead of who has actually done something on the pitch.  Messi is the most deadliest man on the pitch when he plays and you can see it clearly.  Ronaldo might be deadly but he gettin snuffed out and restricted to spectacular long range efforts to try and be effective.  Just my opinion

Josey might have been ARGUABLY the US biggest threat (I would agree wit Sando and say Donovan) but what did he deliver?  And is not like he Messi like in mashin up teams or he didn't get chances.  Dempsey is a football abortionist.

Yuh could score 2 penalty and be deemed a flop.  This is Samuel Eto'o we talkin about.  He was extremely disappointing for me.

I didn't have any expectations of any English player so for me, I cyah be disappointed in any players I didn't expect anything from.

« Reply #22 on: June 28, 2010, 01:08:50 PM »
Messi  :devil: no goals yet!!!

« Reply #23 on: June 28, 2010, 01:26:40 PM »

I went through the trouble of engaging you on another thread to come over here and come to a realization....ah hadda gih yuh yuh credit, though.  Yuh ketch meh.  I dint realize what a jackass yuh was on jackass talk until now. 

« Reply #24 on: June 28, 2010, 01:28:28 PM »
I feel like some players have underachieved much more than those ppl you named.

-Kalou
-Anybody on France's team but esp Ribery, Evra, Anelka
-Rooney, Gerrard
-Angel De Maria
-Kaka
-Anybody from Italy

« Reply #25 on: June 28, 2010, 02:27:44 PM »
Van Persie supposed to be fresh and ready to go.. most rested forward at the WC with that injury layoff.
Nicklas Bendtner - big facking mouth.
Torres - to date.
Ribery - not a fan, but with all the hoopla around him.. he flopped.
Milos Krasic really expected more

« Reply #26 on: June 28, 2010, 06:09:00 PM »
De poster wasn't specific in the title so you could just about put any disappointment that you know of or experience, anything that comes to mind for eg; sports, politics, personal situations and the list could go on and on....

Is that so?   ???

So why after the title Biggest Disappointment? did he specify this in his post?

So which player in your opinion has been the biggest disappointment?

I know who mine is, and was it expect or unexpected?
« Last Edit: June 28, 2010, 06:12:51 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #27 on: June 28, 2010, 06:14:52 PM »

« Reply #28 on: June 28, 2010, 06:25:54 PM »
The entire france squad

good team on paper, but allowed deyself to get distracted wid unnecessary bachanal

« Reply #29 on: June 28, 2010, 06:52:48 PM »
Me eh know who givin FIFA MOM awards but most of these awards appear to be popularity contests instead of who has actually done something on the pitch.  Messi is the most deadliest man on the pitch when he plays and you can see it clearly.  Ronaldo might be deadly but he gettin snuffed out and restricted to spectacular long range efforts to try and be effective.  Just my opinion

This is the first WC Fifa has let the fans that log on to their website decide the MOTM (like UEFA does for CL). It IS a popularity contest, and all the female fans and waggonists vote Ronaldo by default. Yet another bad decision by the boys at FIFA