April 19, 2024, 09:59:30 AM

Author Topic: WC 2010 - Match 57 - Quarter-finals: Holland vs Brazil  (Read 39058 times)

WC 2010 - Match 57 - Quarter-finals: Holland vs Brazil
« on: June 28, 2010, 02:58:47 PM »
Match 57 - Quarter-finals - 02 July
Nelson Mandela Bay/Port Elizabeth - Port Elizabeth Stadium

Head-to-Head

NED:BRA
wins 2:3
draws 4
goals 13:14

TEAM NEWS

Brazil will be without playmaker Elano, who is suffering from a bruised bone in his right ankle. Felipe Melo (ankle) and Julio Baptista (knee) are doubtful to make the starting line-up. Fellow midfielder Ramires is suspended, leaving coach Dunga with limited options.

The Netherlands go into the match with a clean bill of health and are expected to field the same line-up that beat Slovakia in their last 16 encounter.

Suspended: Ramires (Brazil); one booking from suspension: De Jong, Van Persie, Van der Wiel, Kuyt, Van der Vaart, Van Bronckhorst, Robben, Stekelenburg (Netherlands); Fabiano, Juan, Melo, Kaka (Brazil).

MATCH PREVIEW

The Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium hosts the teams ranked first and fourth in the world, in a fascinating quarter-final encounter. Will it be jogo bonito versus total football, or winning ugly at the expense of the beautiful game?

Brazil and the Netherlands have come to South Africa to win, not to entertain. Pragmatic, workmanlike and efficient may be dirty words in both countries, but coaches Dunga and Bert van Marwijk aren't listening. "We came here to win," said Van Marwijk. "If we can win with beautiful football then fine, but I said when I took this job that we would also have to learn how to win ugly games."

You can see Van Marwijk's point. In years gone by, the Dutch would delight and dismay in equal measure, but they head into Friday's match on a all-time national record, 23-game unbeaten run and have won all eight of their games in 2010. The likes of Robin van Persie, Wesley Sneijder and Rafael van der Vaart are yet to dazzle in South Africa, but the Dutch defence, cited as the team's weak spot before the tournament, has yet to concede a goal from open play (the two goals scored against them were penalties).

Dunga captained Brazil to World Cup glory in 1994 - beating the Netherlands along the way - with a team that was criticised for its negative approach, and is immune to sniping about his current side, perhaps with good reason. Only Germany and Argentina have scored more goals and, according to Fifa, Brazil have created more goal opportunities than any other side.

MATCH FACTS

Head-to-head

- This will be the 10th meeting between these sides. Brazil have won three to the Netherlands' two, with four draws.

- They have met at the World Cup on three previous occasions: the Netherlands reached the 1974 final thanks to a 2-0 win in the second group stage; Brazil won 3-2 in the 1994 quarter-finals; and the 1998 semi-final ended in a 1-1 draw, with Brazil progressing on penalties.
Netherlands

- The Netherlands have won four consecutive World Cup matches, equalling their best-ever run. The last time they managed this was in 1974, when they reached the final.

- Van Marwijk's side are on a 23-match unbeaten run, a record for the Dutch. Their last defeat was in September 2008 (a 2-1 loss to Australia in Eindhoven).

- They have only conceded four goals in their last eight World Cup matches, keeping four clean sheets in the process.
Brazil

- Brazil are competing in the last eight for the 16th time in 19 World Cups.

- The Brazilians have only lost one of their last 30 games. That came in their penultimate qualifier, a game played at altitude in Bolivia after qualification had already been achieved.

- They have participated in all 18 previous World Cups, and have won the most world titles (five).
MATCH OFFICIALS

Referee: Yuichi Nishimura (Japan)

Assistants: Toru Sagara (Japan) and Jeong Hae-sang (South Korea)

Fourth: Khalil Al-Ghamdi

« Last Edit: July 01, 2010, 01:34:36 PM by E-man »

Re: WC 2010 - Match 57 - Quarter-finals: Holland vs Brazil
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2010, 03:06:29 PM »
Brazil going down >:(

« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2010, 03:09:53 PM »
D.H.W boy like is me and you alone but say what...

GO ORANJE!!!

:praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying:

« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2010, 03:18:22 PM »
Nah, remember ah is ah wagonist..ah jump of the Brasil ship for this one and jump on the Orange badwagon...Ah just feeling this is their year   :beermug:

« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2010, 03:33:28 PM »
Brownsugar... we just letting allyuh get the first set of post in this thread...

because allyuh certainly wouldn't be getting the last  :devil:

« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2010, 06:19:44 PM »
Well let me not disappoint,

ORANJE!!

ORANJE!!

ORANJE!!

« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2010, 06:57:08 PM »
Well let me not disappoint,

ORANJE!!

ORANJE!!

ORANJE!!

Dise sour orange? How it yellow so?

« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2010, 07:01:43 PM »
Aye, aye, it too early....wait till about Thursday nah.... :devil: ;D

Offline rickstaa

« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2010, 08:32:57 PM »
Brasil is so beatable right now & they will be overconfident going into this game they GOING DOWN.........jus give the cup to Holland & send the rest ah teams home stop wasting time :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:

« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2010, 08:49:30 PM »
 :D

« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2010, 01:05:49 AM »
I have a feeling this game would be close, may even go to penalties. Robben would be a handful for Brazil.

« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2010, 05:31:40 AM »
I have a feeling this game would be close, may even go to penalties. Robben would be a handful for Brazil.

Yeah, he'll be a handful. Yuh know how yuh could take a fortune cookie and crush it into a handful of crumbs?
Wha is holland (mis)fortune fuh Friday?

« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2010, 05:33:02 AM »

Yeah, he'll be a handful. Yuh know how yuh could take a fortune cookie and crush it into a handful of crumbs?

Look it too early in the day eh.....

« Reply #13 on: June 29, 2010, 05:42:20 AM »

...well then doh get meh started!!  Besides, I have Tobagonian in meh, too, so I could battle wit de best! (so send dem.  You eh (and holland) ready)  :devil:

« Reply #14 on: June 29, 2010, 05:47:32 AM »

...well then doh get meh started!!  Besides, I have Tobagonian in meh, too, so I could battle wit de best! (so send dem.  You eh (and holland) ready)  :devil:

:challenge: :challenge: :duel: :duel:

I ready, let we take it outside!!!.... ;D

« Reply #15 on: June 29, 2010, 05:59:17 AM »

:challenge: :challenge: :duel: :duel:

I ready, let we take it outside!!!.... ;D

dem sword yuh have dey too short and too dull.......cyah even split a good dumpling wit dat.  :devil:

« Reply #16 on: June 29, 2010, 07:40:45 AM »
2-1 Brazil.

« Reply #17 on: June 29, 2010, 08:17:55 AM »
Khaka worried about disciplinary record..http://ctntworld.com/SportArticles.aspx?id=22150

« Reply #18 on: June 29, 2010, 04:43:28 PM »
too many south american teams i seeing here...some of them have to go home  ;D

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #19 on: June 29, 2010, 04:55:21 PM »

Orange Army all the way

« Reply #21 on: June 29, 2010, 08:14:56 PM »
Robben go be a handful..but Kaka and Robinho and Fabiano go be on the ground sleeping?  Is Brazil all the way!
IMHO

« Reply #22 on: June 30, 2010, 05:42:51 AM »
I pick Holland to win this game before the World Cup.

Crazy pick yes but I figure that the outright favourites rarely win the WC and if Brazil is going to get knocked out the only team that is likely is Holland. Their path seems even easier with either Ghana or Uruguay facing them in a potential semi.

In other words if Brazil win this game yuh could mark they name on the cup one-time. As much as I love Argentina and Diego this rounds this Brazil is a bad match-up for them and Brazil would roll them.

Spain would be an interesting clash but again the prospect of 1st and 2nd favourites both making it to the final just seems to o unlikely for me.

« Reply #23 on: June 30, 2010, 11:22:20 AM »
Am I the only one that thinks this Brazilian team is boring.....?? Dem so boring me aint know half of d players and dont really care to

I just feel like this is an assembled engine of unknown car parts from Eastern Europe with d gearbox about to smoke up.

I'm certain for Brazilian supporters this is one of d least exciting teams...imagine no Ronaldinho....steups....
« Last Edit: June 30, 2010, 11:24:06 AM by rotatopoti3 »

« Reply #24 on: June 30, 2010, 11:33:19 AM »
Am I the only one that thinks this Brazilian team is boring.....?? Dem so boring me aint know half of d players and dont really care to

I just feel like this is an assembled engine of unknown car parts from Eastern Europe with d gearbox about to smoke up.

I'm certain for Brazilian supporters this is one of d least exciting teams...imagine no Ronaldinho....steups....

Like how Ronaldinho was so exciting in 06, he had yuh off yuh seat :devil:

« Reply #25 on: June 30, 2010, 11:36:02 AM »

if u want excitement there is FIFA 10 and road to world cup available on XBOX and PS.

« Reply #26 on: June 30, 2010, 11:37:18 AM »
Interesting how de peeps who bumpin dem gum on dis thread is all de Holland jock straps...oops...supporters.

We'll see if dem go still be flappin dem beak come Friday  :devil:

« Reply #27 on: June 30, 2010, 11:41:18 AM »

We beat dis topic to death. So far Dunga proving he was right, but it only takes one slip.

Re: Brazil Legend Pele Criticises Dunga and Diego Maradona
« Reply #28 on: June 30, 2010, 11:49:32 AM »
Brazil Legend Pele Criticises Dunga and Diego Maradona

Brazil legend Pele has once again come out with strong criticism for Argentina coach Diego Maradona, questioning how his Albiceleste side has been playing in this World Cup.

The outspoken former World Cup hero also had harsh words for his own team, and in particular Canarinha boss Dunga.

Pele and Maradona have had several verbal sparring matches throughout this tournament, with insults ranging from professional to the very personal.

And the Brazilian was at it against as he spoke to German newspaper Der Tagesspiegel.

"What kind of football is that which tries to control the game with a forward?" he posed rhetorically, referring to the pivotal role Lionel Messi has in the Albiceleste side.

"I don't have a problem with Maradona, I just do not think he is a good coach. He has an outlandish lifestyle and rarely is that a positive thing for the team."

The Brazilian went on to criticise countryman Dunga, saying that he believed the current Selecao style of play was unacceptable.

"I myself was a forward and I always wanted to score goals. That was the most important thing, because it encouraged the fans. The current team on the other hand plays on the counter attack, it does not control the ball well.

"The will and the domination to control the opponent and have the ball are no longer there."
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pele is ah real backside bordering on being a dunce..why he dont coach a side then talk.

« Reply #29 on: June 30, 2010, 11:51:52 AM »
^^ If maradona wins the world cup I will not be surprised if Pele refuse to admit he was wrong.