June 18, 2013, 04:05:42 PM

Author Topic: Jamaica Football Thread.  (Read 38969 times)

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
Re: Jamaica Football Thread.
« Reply #420 on: October 08, 2011, 09:39:36 AM »
Database guru propels local football

Friday, October 07, 2011

Print this page Email A Friend!

A comprehensive Jamaican football database website will be officially launched and it hopes to cover every nook and cranny involving information on anything involving football.

Welcome to the Jamaica Football Database (JFDB) (www.jfdb.info), that will provide sports enthusiasts, agents, coaches, administrators and everyone who has a love for statistics, a complete information centre on Jamaican football.

[Hide Description] BLAIR... to be a First World country in football, we must display what we have
[Restore Description]
1/1

Michael Blair, creator and mastermind behind the database, thinks this will provide Jamaican and football fans from around world a gateway inside our at their your fingertips.

Blair, also the creator of Jamaica Soccer League (www.jsleague.net) will merge both sites eventually.

"One of the reasons why I started this site is to assist Jamaica, as a lot of us think that we are so far into football and we are a third world country. Basically, to be a first world country in football we must display what we have," said Blair.

He noted: "We don't have information for players on any other website. It is to get Jamaica, the clubs and the players more exposed to the wide world."

The site is nicely laid out and easy to access. Information is readily available on every player registered in each parish; the number of clubs; the number of players for each parish; information on club administrators, referees and even Jamaican players plying their trade overseas.

"Jamaica Football Database actually gives you details about the players, statistics, transfers, matches results and reports, fixtures and is getting better everyday. It has Facebook and Twitter interaction," noted Blair.

"The site has been done around for three years now but has been redefined and redesign by Verstartech, courtesy of Noel Brown. The expense of this site is endless. It has unlimited amount of information on it," he added.

But for the authenticity of the information on the website, Blair said it is very accurate and trustworthy. "The parish associations have the right to enter all the data, edit and transfer the players within the parish.

"The info is updated by the parish associations which choose to use this site free of cost. The associations used it has their first form of registration," he pointed out.

"It is very useful and it is nice to see the parish associations get on board to help stamp out dishonesty which spoils the fun of football with illegal players.

"We have found more than 40 players playing since the parish association started to cross-check information which include birth certificate for player under the age of 20. These players are found and put on a blacklist," said Blair, a former team manager of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF).

A look at the database shows the Kingston and St Andrew Football Association (KSAFA) having 8,346 players registered. St Catherine is next with 3,995 and Clarendon, 2,506.

No other parish association has more than 1,000 players registered, with the next best being Portland with 988 players.

The database also revealed that St Catherine has the most clubs registered, 88, while Clarendon has 60 and KSAFA, 42.

More remarkably, information is also available on 138 overseas-based Jamaican players at 185 clubs over the world.

A total of 263 referees are on site as well, with 52 registered to KSAFA and 42 to St Catherine. Hanover has only two.

"The site also shows you the most viewed persons, club or anything; which parish, referee, staff... it's good to know who is watching who," noted Blair.

It has taken Blair hours of his spare time and sometimes time he doesn't have to build a world-class site like this.

As for its sustainability, Blair will depend on the parish associations to provide and update the necessary information as currently, he cannot afford a team to keep it going.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sports/Database-guru-propels-local-football_9848718#ixzz1aCmk2rDG
Hard work is the key to success

Online Socapro

• Monkey know which tree to climb! :-)
« Reply #421 on: October 11, 2011, 09:54:28 AM »
Oral Tracey of TVJ Sports Commentary gives his opinion on current Reggaeboyz squad: 
http://www.televisionjamaica.com/Programmes/SportsCommentary.aspx/Videos/12948

Anything sounds familar?!!

« Reply #422 on: October 12, 2011, 07:20:25 AM »
Honduras 2-1 Jamaica game played in the Honduras October 11 2011
----------

LA CEIBA, Honduras— Jamaica went down 1-2 to Honduras here at the Estadio Municipal Ceibano to record their fifth consecutive defeat.

Striker Jerry Bengtson put the home team ahead in the second minute of play, but Jamaica rallied and got their just reward on the stroke of half time when Demar Phillips placed a perfect left-footed free-kick into the top corner of the goal.

However, 11 minutes into the second half Mario Martinez secured victory when he rifled home with the aid of a deflection, after he danced inside from the right flank and let fly a wicked left-footer from 25 yards.

Played in front of a full house on the northern coastal city of La Ceiba, Jamaica were stunned immediately on Panamanian referee Roberto Moreno's first whistle.

Jamaica charged forward from the kick off but lost possession and were not able to recover on the counter attack as the ball was played down the right flank to veteran Julio Cesar de Leon, who relayed a pass to Roger Rojas. The striker slipped a pass through to Martinez on the right and he easily turned inside Shavar Thomas before centering for Bengtson to tap home easily, much to the enjoyment of the home crowd.

Jamaica gradually clawed their way back into the contest and created the better openings thereafter, but Marvin Elliott, who was making his debut, as well as Phillips and Jason Morrison failed to make use of their opportunities.

Elliott could consider himself unlucky as after twice going close with side-footed efforts, he saw his goal-bound header from inside the penalty area being inadvertently blocked two yards off the goalline by teammate Dane Richards.

Moments later Phillips could not turn home a point blank chance after an amazing defensive error deep inside the penalty box.

However, the left sided player was to make amends and he did after Omar Cummings was fouled just outside the 18-yard box on the right.

Phillips curled home the resulting free kick with aplomb, as Moreno sent the teams to their dressing rooms for the half time break.

Jamaica started the second half much more alert then the first half but soon lost their sting, as the home side assumed the ascendancy.

Goalkeeper Dwayne Miller had to be alert to turn Bryan Bekeles’ short from inside the area around his near post.

The home side piled on the pressure and were duly rewarded when fortune favoured Martinez with his strike.

Phillips went close with another long range free kick, but Jamaica could not create any serious openings, and in fact, had it not been for superb play by Miller, the score line could have been wider.

On at least three occasions he was exposed by his defenders, but stood like a giant to keep the score respectable.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/Reggae-Boyz-suffer-fifth-straight-defeat#ixzz1aZinHeR5
« Last Edit: October 12, 2011, 08:12:59 AM by Reggaefan »

Online Socapro

« Reply #423 on: October 17, 2011, 08:41:06 AM »
Oral Tracey of TVJ Sports Commentary rates Reggaeboyz in their last match vs Honduras: 
http://www.televisionjamaica.com/Programmes/SportsCommentary.aspx/Videos/12999

Online Socapro

« Reply #424 on: November 02, 2011, 03:14:34 PM »
Oral Tracey commenting on money problems in JA football league:  http://www.televisionjamaica.com/Programmes/SportsCommentary.aspx/Videos/13426

« Reply #425 on: November 02, 2011, 08:53:17 PM »
shit side...

Online Socapro

« Reply #426 on: November 02, 2011, 10:18:21 PM »
shit side...

Somethings never change!!   :devil:

We've already confirmed that over 17,000 times on this thread!!
« Last Edit: November 02, 2011, 10:25:42 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #427 on: November 03, 2011, 02:54:45 AM »
Oral Tracey commenting on money problems in JA football league:  http://www.televisionjamaica.com/Programmes/SportsCommentary.aspx/Videos/13426
Stuepsssss! oral tracy is ah kakahole! jamaiaca has ah great team, they just on ah losing streak right now. saw the same team @ readbulls areana in the gold cup and they beat honduras with ah B team @ that, and quite convincingly.

right now whitmore is bleeding players, and really, that's what friendlies are for, it's for learning and screening players, but when come to competitive games JA alaways do quite well.  love him or hate him, hats off to whitmore, one of the best caribbean coaches in yrs.   i wish him all the best.        boss coach , great team.       

PS: ah still hate Reggae faggot, jah queendom , and jerkoff 2099.   :pissedoff:
« Last Edit: November 03, 2011, 02:57:53 AM by just cool »

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #428 on: November 04, 2011, 07:23:15 PM »
Sealed deal! - Red Stripe confirmed as title sponsors of NPL

BY HOWARD WALKER Observer staff reporter walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com

Friday, November 04, 2011

RED Stripe was yesterday confirmed as title sponsors of the National Premier League (NPL), but the financial details of the three-year deal was frustratingly shrouded in secrecy.

The much-anticipated press launch of the event at the Spanish Court Hotel was defeating for journalists in their attempts to decipher the sponsorship code, or the finer financial details of the agreement.

[Hide Description] Brewing Partnership: Renato Gonzalez (second right), managing director of Red Stripe and Edward Seaga (centre), chairman of the Premier League Clubs Association (PLCA) pose with Red Stripe products and footballs, signifying the alliance of both entities. Looking on (from left) are Carvel Stewart, PLCA deputy chairman; Dale Spencer, acting president of the Jamaica Football Federation, and Jomo Cato, head of marketing at Red Stripe. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)
[Restore Description]
1/1

After countless questions from different angles about how much the sponsorship was worth, Renato Gonzalez, the Brazilian managing director of Red Stripe; Jomo Cato, head of marketing at Red Stripe, and Edward Seaga, chairman of the Premier league Clubs Association (PLCA), all refused to give a direct answer.

"We won't go into the specific detail of the funding," was Gonzalez's terse response.

"This contract is much bigger than just the numbers. It is what we are putting into the communities, that's what is important," he said.

Said Seaga: "Every year we have completed our sponsorship programmes higher than the previous year and this year is no different. It will be higher than last year, significantly. The cash portion will be better."

Telecommunication giant Digicel was the last title sponsors of the league, ending a three-year $150 million deal at the end of the 2010/2011 season.

Since then, the PLCA had been unable to secure a sponsor and the season actually started without a major sponsor, but with several associate sponsors.

Beverage company Red Stripe has come on board to quench the financial thirst of the ailing Premier League clubs who were struggling to stay afloat with an annual budget of some $20 million.

"I woke up this morning with a smile on my face. It is definitely a great day for us all. As a Brazilian, there are many things that make me feel great about Jamaica. Out of many, one people! Out of many, one beer! One love!

"Today is a day that two major Jamaican passions come together again. Our Premier League football and our Red Stripe beer," Gonzalez exulted.

"This is an exciting journey that will be extremely positive for all parties. Red Stripe is an iconic Jamaican brand and one that we love dearly. Football is a global passion and the Premier League is deeply loved as well," said Gonzalez.

Red Stripe, according to Cato, will be focusing on three areas mainly -- the clubs, improved television broadcast and community activation.

"The feeling today is that we are living a marketer's dream. Today we kickoff what I know will be a tremendous partnership with the PLCA," said Cato.

"Firstly, we want to dramatically improve the consumer experience. We want a partnership that works; it is not just a sponsorship. We are on a mission that is much deeper than sponsorship.

"It's about listening to our fans and celebrating our passion for the 'beautiful game' and making sure whatever we do, it lifts the quality of football in Jamaica, together with the PLCA," he added.

Cato said fans can expect changes in the way they come to the communities to celebrate this game.

"Expect changes in the way the games are presented and a major change in working with the PLCA to showcase the players and the talents in Jamaica," he added.

Meanwhile, Seaga said negotiations were ongoing from last year and they were not unaccustomed to Red Stripe being a football sponsor.

"It has happened before and now it is happening again. It has taken us two months into the season to complete it," said Seaga.

With the deal now completed, the 12 clubs will be getting their regular funding at the end of every month. Additionally, they will be getting retroactive money from September when the league began.

"From the delay has come something we believe is a better product in terms of the funding and what the project will do and elevating the image of Red Stripe, the image of the PLCA and football in Jamaica," noted Seaga.

"We welcome the sponsors and the plans that they have. We look forward to a new beginning with Red Stripe at the helm," he added.

Red Stripe has previously supported football as a main sponsor of the national senior team and the Red Stripe Champions Cup between 2004-2007.

Most recently, they were associate sponsors of last season's Flow Champions Knockout Cup.

Red Stripe will be the fourth title sponsor in the past six years after long-time sponsors Wray and Nephew ended their association, somewhat abruptly, in 2006.

The liquor company was replaced by investment entity Cash Plus for the start of the 2007 season, but their association was cut short after Cash Plus crashed under a host of investigations and was deemed to be operating illegally.

Digicel took over, but their three-year deal expired last season.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/Red-Stripe-confirmed-as-title-sponsors-of-NPL_10088527#ixzz1cn0TE5dI

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #429 on: November 04, 2011, 07:29:22 PM »
Monday night game coming to Red Stripe NPL
Published: Friday | November 4, 2011 0 Comments
Portmore United's Tyrone Sawyers (left) and Reno's Nicholi Findlayson flank Erin Mitchell, brand manager, Red Stripe, during the beverage company's official announcement of their National Premier League title sponsorship, at the Spanish Court Hotel, New Kingston, yesterday - Contributed.

Robert Bailey, Gleaner Writer

Monday night Red Stripe National Premier League football is set to become a reality as the Premier League Clubs (PLCA) and Red Stripe, newly acquired title sponsors of the top football championship here, are currently ironing out the details to extend the playing days.

Edward Seaga, chairman of the PLCA, said his organisation was exploring the options of staging one game per month on a Monday.

"We are going to try it," said Seaga in an interview with The Gleaner, following Red Stripe's announcement of their three-year title sponsorship of the NPL, during a press conference at the Spanish Court Hotel yesterday.

"It could be a good thing from what the figures say about potential audience, and as far as we are concerned we are going to look at it very seriously," Seaga said.

"It would have to be one game per month because the others (games) are on Sunday and we can't have two games for the week, and we can't abandon Sunday games," said Seaga, who is also the president of the NPL champion club Tivoli Gardens. "We will have to take out one of the Sunday games and make it into a Monday night game."

Continuing, Seaga added: "We can also take advantage of the fact that on a Monday night there are a lot more spectators at home that have nothing to do in sports and, therefore, is a good time to have a game."

Jomo Cato, head of marketing of Red Stripe, said his organisation welcomes the move because it fits into their marketing strategy and intent to profit from television broadcasting, and will help to attract a lot more spectators to the game.

"We think it will be another opportunity for us to bring something fresh and innovative to football," Cato said.

"It think it will also be a big boost for the fans because we also want to lift the experience that they have at games, and also have them view the games if they are at home."

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20111104/sports/sports4.html

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #430 on: November 04, 2011, 07:41:44 PM »

« Reply #431 on: November 04, 2011, 09:49:54 PM »
WHO CARES???

« Reply #432 on: November 05, 2011, 04:48:20 AM »
WHO CARES???
Come on omar, shame on you, it's ah football forum and regional football is just as important as european football IMO, who mind you, does taunt our players with banana peals and monkey chants. 

never mind de arseholes like RF and co, i still rate ja football, plus they have the only pro league other than us who offer other caribbean players an opportunity to showcase their talent., just ask latas and lewis.

i love caribbean sport period, it's the trolls and the tribalist who does drive me nuts and not the country it self...   keep it classy nah dan, after all, yuh don't have tuh stoop tuh other ppl's level tuh get even.

Online Socapro

« Reply #433 on: November 06, 2011, 12:17:46 AM »
WHO CARES???
Come on omar, shame on you, it's ah football forum and regional football is just as important as european football IMO, who mind you, does taunt our players with banana peals and monkey chants. 

never mind de arseholes like RF and co, i still rate ja football, plus they have the only pro league other than us who offer other caribbean players an opportunity to showcase their talent., just ask latas and lewis.

i love caribbean sport period, it's the trolls and the tribalist who does drive me nuts and not the country it self...   keep it classy nah dan, after all, yuh don't have tuh stoop tuh other ppl's level tuh get even.

JC yuh need to stop trying to force men here who don't care to start caring about Ja football just because you do!

Do you think they rate or care about our football?

If so then why isn't there a T&T football thread on the Reggaeboys board then?

Just think about that!!

Some of us care but don't expect all of us to, especially men like Sam, Big Mag & Dinho with the right priorities!!  ;D

« Reply #434 on: November 06, 2011, 05:51:36 AM »
WHO CARES???

JC yuh need to stop trying to force men here who don't care to start caring about Ja football just because you do!

Do you think they rate or care about our football?

If so then why isn't there a T&T football thread on the Reggaeboys board then?

Just think about that!!

Some of us care but don't expect all of us to, especially men like Sam, Big Mag & Dinho with the right priorities!!  ;D
Here we go again with you misconstruing another post of mine. why me bro?? all i was saying to omar is to keep it classy. it doh make no sense stooping to the level of fools, and not bc some jamaicans don't respect us and show us any kind of consideration means that we should follow suit.

like i said before, RF, arseh@le 2099, and the other miscreants are not indicative of every Jkan, but let me just say one thing, if i was the owner of this site, dem men would've been banned a long time ago, bc it's obvious that they have noooo love for T&T football.

i realize ah long time ago, taking ah fool seriously could only mean one thing.................

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #435 on: November 06, 2011, 07:20:20 AM »
Young J'can signs with Bayern Munich

Sunday, November 06, 2011

YOUNG Jamaican footballer Kevaughn Atkinson has sign a five-year contract with top European club Bayern Munich for an undisclosed fee and will join the German giants in January.

Atkinson, 16, a former Calabar High student from the Craig Butler-led Phoenix Football Academy in Jamaica, was signed from Austrian Bundesliga 2 outfit USK Anif.

[Hide Description] Kevaughn Atkinson (background) with his Phoenix Academy Jamaican teammates Kyle Butler (centre) and Leon Bailey in Austria.
[Restore Description]
1/1

Atkinson, who is playing senior football for Anif and has scored 13 goals from nine games, was elated when he spoke to the Sunday Observer via Skype on the Internet from Austria.

"I feel very good. It's a dream come true for me. I have been preparing for this for a while. It feels very good to sign for a professional team and every Jamaican must just be focused if they want to be a professional footballer," said Atkinson.

The young footballer, while being wooed by Germany's most successful club, was taken to the Allianz Arena in Munich, with a capacity of 69,000.

The stadium will be the venue for the 2012 UEFA Champions League final.

"It was pretty cool. It's a big stadium with some special lights," said Atkinson, referring to Bayern stadium which is the first of its kind with full changing lighting on the outside which transforms the venue to look like a glass full of lights.

In September when the Sunday Observer broke the story about Butler and his four youngsters in Austria, he said then that his pioneering move into Austria -- next door footballing powerhouse Germany -- was to provide a bridge and window of opportunity for Jamaicans players.

That dream is now a reality for Butler and the Phoenix Academy.

"They (Bayern Munich) send persons to come look at him and they said they wanted to gobble him up early before anybody else wanted him. We made the decision because Bayern Munich is one of the top five clubs in the world," said Butler.

"The boys are really performing good here because they now that the boys back home are depending on their performances to get in," Butler added.

Atkinson, or 'Sharky', as he his called by his peers, was highlighted in an Austrian newspaper for his exploits.

"This is phenomenal. A big newspaper did an article on him headlined 'Sharky, the Boy with the killer instincts'. He is just a goalscoring machine," said Butler.

And while Atkinson has got his dream move, the other Phoenix Academy boys are doing very well.

Another former Calabar student, Romario McKnight, 16, will be leaving Austria for France next week for a trial stint with top club Lille and said he is "all set for next week' and confident of performing well.

Meanwhile, Leon Bailey, 14, who in 2010 as a 12-year-old remarkably won MVPs in three different age categories in the KSAFA Under-13, Under-15 and Under-17 leagues, is creating waves in the Austrian Under-15 league.

Bailey, a former Kingston College student, has rattled in an amazing 54 goals in just eight matches. He was set to play another match yesterday and promised to score at least five goals.

The youngster, looking relaxed via Skype, said his hard work is paying off, although he misses home.

"... If you want to be a professional footballer you have to do what you have to do, sacrifice," noted Bailey.

Kyle, 13, Butler's son, is equally impressive despite not scoring so many goals. He is the Under-15 team captain and is fourth in the league in scoring and top in assists.

Most of Bailey's goals are a result of his vision. "It's great I am enjoying the football up here," said the former St George's College student.

Kyle, who is a big Manchester United fan and idolises the Barcelona pair of Cesc Fabregas and Xavi Hernandez, said he will now be a fan of Bayern Munich since his friend Atkinson is joining them.

Butler, who was banned by KSAFA for taking them to court over an affiliation dispute in 2007, cannot participate in any organised football activity in Jamaica until the ban is lifted.

But the former Jamaica College Manning Cupper will be arranging a for his Phoenix Under-19 team to tour Austria between January 3-20 where they will play five matches in an effort to expose more youth.

"We will sit back and watch them fight over them," said Butler, in anticipation that several clubs will be interested in signing these players.

Kevaughn Atkinson (background) with his Phoenix Academy Jamaican teammates Kyle Butler (centre) and Leon Bailey in Austria.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/Young-J-can-signs-with-Bayern-Munich_10104891#ixzz1cvmz7oT7

Offline Trini _2018

« Reply #436 on: November 06, 2011, 07:32:23 AM »

YOUNG Jamaican footballer Kevaughn Atkinson has sign a five-year contract with top European club Bayern Munich for an undisclosed fee and will join the German giants in January.

Atkinson, 16, a former Calabar High student from the Craig Butler-led Phoenix Football Academy in Jamaica, was signed from Austrian Bundesliga 2 outfit USK Anif.

[Hide Description] Kevaughn Atkinson (background) with his Phoenix Academy Jamaican teammates Kyle Butler (centre) and Leon Bailey in Austria.
[Restore Description]
1/1

Atkinson, who is playing senior football for Anif and has scored 13 goals from nine games, was elated when he spoke to the Sunday Observer via Skype on the Internet from Austria.

"I feel very good. It's a dream come true for me. I have been preparing for this for a while. It feels very good to sign for a professional team and every Jamaican must just be focused if they want to be a professional footballer," said Atkinson.

The young footballer, while being wooed by Germany's most successful club, was taken to the Allianz Arena in Munich, with a capacity of 69,000.

"It was pretty cool. It's a big stadium with some special lights," said Atkinson, referring to Bayern stadium which is the first of its kind with full changing lighting on the outside which transforms the venue to look like a glass full of lights.

In September when the Sunday Observer broke the story about Butler and his four youngsters in Austria, he said then that his pioneering move into Austria -- next door footballing powerhouse Germany -- was to provide a bridge and window of opportunity for Jamaicans players.

"They (Bayern Munich) send persons to come look at him and they said they wanted to gobble him up early before anybody else wanted him. We made the decision because Bayern Munich is one of the top five clubs in the world," said Butler.

"The boys are really performing good here because they now that the boys back home are depending on their performances to get in," Butler added.

Atkinson, or 'Sharky', as he his called by his peers, was highlighted in an Austrian newspaper for his exploits.

"This is phenomenal. A big newspaper did an article on him headlined 'Sharky, the Boy with the killer instincts'. He is just a goalscoring machine," said Butler.

And while Atkinson has got his dream move, the other Phoenix Academy boys are doing very well.

Another former Calabar student, Romario McKnight, 16, will be leaving Austria for France next week for a trial stint with top club Lille and said he is "all set for next week' and confident of performing well.

Meanwhile, Leon Bailey, 14, who in 2010 as a 12-year-old remarkably won MVPs in three different age categories in the KSAFA Under-13, Under-15 and Under-17 leagues, is creating waves in the Austrian Under-15 league.

Bailey, a former Kingston College student, has rattled in an amazing 54 goals in just eight matches. He was set to play another match yesterday and promised to score at least five goals.

The youngster, looking relaxed via Skype, said his hard work is paying off, although he misses home.

"... If you want to be a professional footballer you have to do what you have to do, sacrifice," noted Bailey.

Kyle, 13, Butler's son, is equally impressive despite not scoring so many goals. He is the Under-15 team captain and is fourth in the league in scoring and top in assists.

Most of Bailey's goals are a result of his vision. "It's great I am enjoying the football up here," said the former St George's College student.

Kyle, who is a big Manchester United fan and idolises the Barcelona pair of Cesc Fabregas and Xavi Hernandez, said he will now be a fan of Bayern Munich since his friend Atkinson is joining them.

Butler, who was banned by KSAFA for taking them to court over an affiliation dispute in 2007, cannot participate in any organised football activity in Jamaica until the ban is lifted.

But the former Jamaica College Manning Cupper will be arranging a for his Phoenix Under-19 team to tour Austria between January 3-20 where they will play five matches in an effort to expose more youth.

"We will sit back and watch them fight over them," said Butler, in anticipation that several clubs will be interested in signing these players.

Kevaughn Atkinson (background) with his Phoenix Academy Jamaican teammates Kyle Butler (centre) and Leon Bailey in Austria.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/Young-J-can-signs-with-Bayern-Munich_10104891#ixzz1cvmz7oT7

what we lack in trinidad is vision
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/sh8SeGmzai4" target="_blank" class="new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/sh8SeGmzai4</a>

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #437 on: November 06, 2011, 07:59:15 AM »

[Restore Description]
1/1

what we lack in trinidad is vision

This academy is really good. to think of it they did not get any government assistance until this year. while they are pumping more and more players into European big clubs. The attention is still center around Fifa gold project in Kingston and real Madrid academy in Montego bay. I think the phoenix academy built by Jamaican, will be great for the Jamaica football team just like racers track club for Jamaica track team.
« Last Edit: November 06, 2011, 08:11:03 AM by jahkingdom »

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #438 on: November 12, 2011, 01:10:15 PM »
 :cursing: :cursing: Why did this have to happen against T&T. The Reggae Boyz #1 Caribbean football rivals whom I very much wanted Jamaica's Reggae Boyz to meet in the HEX. Now my wish won't come true which means I will have to revise this poll since Guyana is not on the list:
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=54637.0

As for the downfall of T&T's football. I remember when a thread was posted about Jamaica's Reggae Boyz whom were in a similar, but not this bad situation.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=28791.0;topicseen

And is it possible to get a report from BM and SM whom were at the match. ;D

jjbrown

« Reply #439 on: November 12, 2011, 02:42:15 PM »
:cursing: :cursing: Why did this have to happen against T&T. The Reggae Boyz #1 Caribbean football rivals whom I very much wanted Jamaica's Reggae Boyz to meet in the HEX. Now my wish won't come true which means I will have to revise this poll since Guyana is not on the list:

As for the downfall of T&T's football. I remember when a thread was posted about Jamaica's Reggae Boyz whom were in a similar, but not this bad situation.

Why are you being nice all of ah sudden, why yuh not laughing yuh nuts off? i would if i was you.

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #440 on: November 12, 2011, 04:46:25 PM »

Why are you being nice all of ah sudden, why yuh not laughing yuh nuts off? i would if i was you.
I know you would. Hence the reminders.
Keeping with that perspective T&T most recently, it seems has a rational fear of been embarrassed or laughed at.  So T&T have chosen to play teams in their league or below their league. In other words: teams that T&T can beat, simply to build on the hype that T&T is still a top football nation.   .

http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/senior-team-news/fixtures-results.html

But Jamaica have braved the laugh and scorn of T&T and the footballing World even being given a new moniker "The Reggae Toyz". So while Jamaica was losing matches against good competition. The Reggae Boyz were also getting the occasional result and lifting regional titles which slowly push up their ranking into the top six of CONCACAF's power nations. And a spot into the semi-final round of the qualifiers for the 2014 World Cup.
So now, all the Reggae Boyz have to do for the next few months is continue to experiment and whatever the result; win, lose or draw. The Reggae Boyz will be prepared for the 2014 Road to Brazil. ;D

So there is nothing really to laugh about,       

jjbrown

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #441 on: November 19, 2011, 10:31:01 AM »
U-19s take first step to Europe today

HW

Saturday, November 19, 2011

THE Craig Butler-led Phoenix Academy will have trial game today to select an Under-19 team for a series of matches in Germany and Austria in January.

The training session will be held at the National Water Commission (NWC) facility at Mona, starting at 10:00 am.

The selected Phoenix Under-19 team will leave Jamaica on January 3 and will play their peers at German giants Bayern Munich, Borussia Dortmund plus Austrian clubs Rapid Vienna, Austria Vienna, Red Bull Salzburg and Anif.

Those summoned are goalkeepers Andre Davis, Shawn Lawes, Ryan Jackson; defenders Jhamie Hyde, Demarco Andrews, Andre Wilson, Ian Wilson, Orlando Wallace, Romario Sewell, Tarquin ‘John Terry’ Smith, Amoy Brown, Odane ‘Starbwoy’ Walters, Gershon Winter, Kemar Reid, Lamar Aiken, Tevin Jackson; midfielders Damion Tully, Travis Blagrove, Courtney Henry, Ramone Hilton, Maverick ‘Skilly’ Smith, Michael Brown, Ashani Oliphant, Khachief Mills, Shaski Daley, Chevone Marsh, Tadre Henry, Dennis Chung; strikers Mark Blidgen, Romario Williams, Michaelous Martin, Leonardo Brown, Jason Wright, Bashir Badru, Christopher McKoy, Raheem Henry, Akeem Higgins, Joseph Clarke

According to Butler, this tour will open more doors for young Jamaicans. Only recently, 16 year old Kevaughn Atkinson from the academy was snapped up by German giant Bayern Munich.

The youngsters are scheduled to play their first match against Anif on January 6 before tackling Grodig the following day.

They will have a rest day on January 8 before playing Red Bull Salzburg on the ninth, before travelling to Germany to play Bayern Munich on the 11th and Borussia Dortmund on the 12th.

They return to Austria for an appointment with Rapid Vienna on the 14th, Austria Vienna the 16th and then return to Salzburg for a few days of sight-seeing.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/U-19s-take-first-step-to-Europe-today#ixzz1eAZgtedl

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #442 on: November 19, 2011, 10:58:59 AM »
Local television network to air St Catherine leagues

THE St Catherine Football Association (FA) has struck a deal with the RJR Group that will see league games being broadcast delayed on Television Jamaica Sports Network (TVJSN) starting November 19.

The matches will be aired at 10 'o clock each Saturday morning with repeat broadcasts two times each week for the rest of the season. Re-broadcast days will be announced. This is a further boost for the LIME-sponsored St Catherine League which is in its second of a three-year $15m deal.

Peter Reid, president of the St Catherine FA, was delighted for the additional exposure of the leagues.

"I am very glad that and this is great for St Catherine football with the desired exposure to wider Jamaica. The clubs will be better for the exposure and people will have a better understanding of football in the parish," said an elated Reid.

"Thanks to our sponsor LIME for taking this initiative because they have raised the bar from last season and this is further evidence that we are working together as a team. The entire Jamaica will be able to look at football in the parish properly packaged," he added.

The entire St Catherine Football Association season, which has been sponsored by LIME over three years, comprises three major competitions -- Major League, Division One and the Lincoln 'Happy' Sutherland Knockout.

The Division One competition kicked off earlier with newly promoted Watson Grove, Central League winners Old Harbour Bay, Cumberland, Albion United, Treadways, Waterford, Upfront United, Flamingo, Travellers and Benbow United (winners of the North League) vying for the title.

The Major League will comprise Spanish Town Police, last season's Division One champion Frazier's Whip, former champion Black Lion, Portsmouth, Christian Pen, Tru-Juice, Wanderers, McCook's Pen, Rodwood, Dunbeholden and DB Basovak.

Meanwhile, 31 teams entered the 'Happy' Sutherland Knockout and it is now down to the last eight following some stunning upsets over the last two weeks.
Premier League outfit, Portmore United are odds on favourite to lift the KO title following their impressive 12-0 hammering of Ensom City in the second round. Premier League record goalscorer, Roen Nelson, netted four times.

« Last Edit: November 19, 2011, 11:01:58 AM by jamaica2099 »
jjbrown

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #443 on: November 22, 2011, 06:21:33 PM »

Sport
J'can teen 'baller signs with French giant Lille

Howard Walker

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

ANOTHER young Jamaican from Phoenix Academy, Romario McKnight, has signed a three-year contract with top French side Lille after impressing in a two-week trial.

McKnight, 16, a former Calabar High School midfielder, is a part of Austrian outfit Anif and is the second player from the Craig Butler-led Phoenix Academy to sign with a top European club.

[Hide Description] MCKNIGHT... it’s a dream come true for me
[Restore Description]
1/1

About two weeks ago, 16-year-old Kevaughn, Atkinson also from Calabar, signed for German giant Bayern Munich in a five-year deal.

The details of the contract are still being worked on, said Butler, and the youngster should be joining the French outfit in January.

When contacted via Skype, McKnight was very elated.

"I played a couple of games and I think they liked my stamina and my skill level," McKnight told the Observer.

"It's a dream come true for me and I am just working to set the stage for other Jamaicans. They just have to stay focused and remember that you have to make a lot of sacrifices," was his advice for other young aspiring Jamaican footballers eyeing the professional ranks.

As for the language, McKnight has no problem, saying "I speak French fairly well" as he spent time in the French-speaking side of Canada.

Lille are the current French champions and this season signed former Chelsea and Liverpool player, Joe Cole.

Lille are currently third in the standings on 25 points behind leaders Paris St Germain and Montpellier on 30 each.

They are playing alongside Italian giant Inter Milan and CSK Moscow in the lucrative UEFA Champions League.

Meanwhile, Butler said his motivation to help young footballers be the best they can be comes out of the the lack of opportunities that stifled the promising career of one of his favourite schoolboy footballers and Jamaica College teammate, Richard 'Pot Cover' McDonald.

"That has being an inspiration for me... he didn't get the chance (and) to me he could have been the answer to Jamaica's goalscoring problems in the '80s. He was strong, skilful, intelligent and just didn't get the opportunity," said Butler.

"Every time I see a young kid, I remember 'Cover' and just want to give them the opportunity," said Butler.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/J-can-teen--baller-signs-with-French-giant-Lille_10220851#ixzz1eU1r7SHb

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #444 on: January 12, 2012, 06:01:08 PM »
Jamaican youngsters to join Ajax - Butler
Published: Thursday | January 12, 2012 1 Comment

Leighton Levy, Gleaner Writer

Jamaican teenagers Kyle Butler and Leon Bailey are to join Dutch football powerhouse Ajax Amsterdam. So says Craig Butler, Kyle's father and head of player development and coach of the Under-15 programme at Austrian soccer club USK Leube Anif. Butler is also president of the local-based Phoenix Academy.

Butler says he is not yet in a position to reveal the terms of the respective agreements, but the players will be at Ajax and the Phoenix Academy will benefit from them.

Thirteen-year-old Kyle is a former student of St George's College while Bailey, 14, formerly attended Kingston College. Both players currently play in the Austrian Bundesliga Two, where they have been making their mark.

Describing the boys' moving to Ajax as the biggest breakthrough in local football, Butler said he was overwhelmed by the development.

"I am jumping through the roof," said Butler, even while expressing particular joy for young Bailey. "From Cassava Piece to Ajax Amsterdam, I can die now."

According to the 43-year-old Butler, the boys were seen while playing for Anif during an indoor five-a-side tournament recently and two clubs - German Bundesliga club Mainz and Ajax - contacted him expressing interest in the two teenagers.

Anif, he said, drew with Mainz and lost 2-1 to Ajax during the tournament, but because of the teens' impressive play, Humphrey Nijjman, agent for retired Dutch international striker Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink, as well as the head scout of Mainz, made direct contact with him.

Over the ensuing weeks, Butler and the clubs, who campaigned aggressively, exchanged emails and other correspondence, he said, but in the end they settled on Ajax.

"Ajax will do more for Jamaica. The idea of total football will help them to learn quicker and they can pass that on to other players in Jamaica," Butler argued. "The boys will travel to Holland in about two weeks to tour Ajax facilities and see about securing appropriate lodging for their stay in the Dutch capital."

This latest agreement follows on the heels of two other Jamaican teens who have reportedly been signed to other super clubs in recent times through the efforts of Butler, Anif and the Phoenix Academy. Romario McKnight reportedly signed a three-year deal with French giants Lille in November last year. The 16-year-old former student of Calabar High School also played for Anif under Butler's guidance and was the second teen from that club who had been picked by a powerful European soccer club.

Two weeks prior to McKnight's signing, another Calabar High student, KeVaughn Atkinson, signed a five-year deal with German giants Bayern Munich.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20120112/sports/sports2.html

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #445 on: January 19, 2012, 08:11:57 AM »
Red Stripe widens view on Premier League
Published: Thursday | January 19, 2012 0 Comments
Head of marketing at Red Stripe, Jomo Cato, reveals the nine camera angles from which games will be captured for the Red Stripe Premier League TV show, which starts on January 23 with the end-of-round final. - Contributed

Ryon Jones, Gleaner Writer

The Premier League Clubs Association (PLCA) and Red Stripe Premier League (RSPL) sponsors, Red Stripe, have joined forces to develop what they hope will be a football package of the highest quality, which they intend to showcase to an international audience.

Chairman of the PLCA, Edward Seaga, pointed out at the press launch to highlight Red Stripe's plans for the league - held Tuesday night at the company's head office - that despite the beer company and the other sponsors' influx of cash into the league, it is necessary to reach an international market to generate more funds.

"What Red Stripe is doing is good and what the other sponsors are doing is good, but put all of them together and that can't support the league," Seaga expressed to The Gleaner.

"That is why we want to bring the attractiveness of the performance on screen up to a level where we can sell the games abroad, as to make it successful we have to go abroad," he added.

The initial target market will be the diaspora in the United States and the Caribbean.

"Those are the two starting points, and we know that with the game being lifted that market will increase substantially and it will become a marketing venture for us," Seaga further expressed.

More cameras added

In an effort to showcase the game in the best possible way, Red Stripe will have nine cameras present at matches earmarked for television coverage, which is the minimum requirement of some international stations.

"We have added more cameras and we are also working with other sponsors to develop the stadiums in Jamaica, so that we can showcase more of the games," Jomo Cato, head of marketing, Red Stripe, shared.

"We don't have enough stadiums that can, for example, do night games and getting people out in the evenings is a big growth opportunity for football," he added.

Starting with the second end-of-round final, to be contested on Monday at the Anthony Spaulding Sports Complex, Red Stripe will be having weekly Monday night games, which are slated to start at 9:00.

"Monday is a great night for at home viewers. We know that we easily have about 500,000 people looking at television, we want to take that up to probably 700,000 if we can," Cato disclosed. "So the audience is there to make connection with, but beyond that we believe that there are more opportunities to showcase football by taking it into more nights than once."

Managing director of Red Stripe, Renato Gonzalez, pointed out that Red Stripe's involvement in local football was something being clamoured for by their consumers and community.

"We also believe at Red Stripe that it is a role for our company to give back to the community, so we could not have a better opportunity than to get together with the Premier League and give back to Jamaica," he outlined.

Minister without portfolio in the Office of the Prime Minister, with responsibility for sports, Natalie Neita-Headley, took the opportunity to encourage other corporate entities to get on board and support sports locally.

"I am using this opportunity to invite all the companies in Jamaica, please, adopt a sport," Neita-Headley pleaded. "It can only augur well for the development of careers, employment, business development, community unity and nation building. I want to endorse and big up Red Stripe. This is a bold move on behalf of Red Stripe, and Monday night I will certainly be at Arnett Gardens," she added.

Red Stripe signed on as title sponsors of the Premier League in November last year.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20120119/sports/sports6.html

Offline jamaica2099

• n/a
« Reply #446 on: January 19, 2012, 01:00:15 PM »
Ricketts: We have to be ambitious

Having received a bye during the previous round of CONCACAF qualifying, Theodore Whitmore’s young Jamaica side will need to be at their best to negotiate a four-team group that includes the mighty USA and take another step towards the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™. Given the Caribbean nation have been absent from the finals since 1998, Donovan Ricketts, the team’s veteran goalkeeper, spoke to FIFA.com about their chances of ending their drought.

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/news/newsid=1570687/index.html
« Last Edit: January 19, 2012, 01:03:36 PM by jamaica2099 »
jjbrown

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #447 on: January 22, 2012, 07:05:20 PM »
Mattocks off to big new challenge
Published: Sunday | January 22, 2012 0 Comments
Major League Soccer commissioner Don Garber (right) welcomes Darren Mattocks, the number two player drafted by the Vancouver Whitecaps FC during the 2012 Major League Soccer Super Draft at the Kansas City Convention Centre on Thursday, January 12, in the United States.- AP

Robert Bailey, Sunday Gleaner Writer

Former Bridgeport High Manning Cup star, Darren Mattocks, left the island yesterday for a pre-season training camp with Major League Soccer (MLS) outfit Vancouver Whitecaps.

The 21-year-old Mattocks, who was selected second overall by the Whitecaps in the MLS Super Draft last week, said he is ready for whatever challenge he might encounter and is looking forward to a very productive season in Canada.

"I have been away from competitive football for about a month now but I think I am in pretty good shape and so I am going there with a mindset to work very hard," said Mattocks. "I am also eagerly anticipating this new challenge in my career because it is my dream to play professional football," he said.

Mattocks, who signed a lucrative three-year endorsement contract with the MLS prior to being drafted, said he does not know much about the Whitecaps' organisation and its players, but he has been in constant dialogue with the team's coaches.

optimistic

"I am going to go there to work very hard and to build a good chemistry with my teammates and also to score a lot of goals this season for the Whitecaps," said Mattocks, who scored 39 goals in 47 career matches for collegiate powerhouse University of Akron in the state of Ohio.

Mattocks, who led Akron to the NCCA National Division One Championships in 2010, also helped Bridgeport to win Manning Cup title in 2006.

"I am a winner because everywhere I go I have been winning trophies and hopefully I can help Vancouver to win the MLS," Mattocks said.

He also stated that one of his main goals in the MLS next season is to break fellow countryman Damani Ralph's rookie-year goalscoring record.

"I think I am good enough to become the rookie of the year and I also want to break the MLS rookie goalscoring record of 11 goals, which is presently held by my good friend Damani Ralph," he said.

Mattocks, who was called up for the first time to the senior Reggae Boyz team for a four-day training camp last month, added that he hopes to be a part of the national set-up for the World Cup qualifiers later this year.

"It is my dream to play for my country at the highest level and especially since this year is a World Cup qualifying year.

"I just hope that the coaching staff will recognise my hard work and give me a call-up," Mattocks said.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20120122/sports/sports6.html

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #448 on: January 22, 2012, 07:10:54 PM »
Brown for trial at Aston Villa
Published: Sunday | January 22, 2012 4 Comments
Rusea's High's Brian Brown. file

Nodley Wright, Sunday Gleaner Writer

Rusea's High schoolboy, Brian 'Rambo' Brown Jr, could be on the verge of making a dream move into the ranks of professional football when he departs for England later this week.

The 19-year-old will depart for England on Thursday to begin a three-week trial stint with Premier League club Aston Villa. Brown's time with Aston Villa means that he will have to pull out of the Reggae Boyz's training camp later this week in preparation for three friendly matches in February.

"He was invited to the national squad, but we had to inform them that he will be leaving the island for a trial in England," confirmed Anthony 'Follies' Williams, Brown's coach at Rusea's.

"Brian (Brown) will be at Aston Villa where he will remain for about three weeks. They have requested his presence and will be responsible for his airfare, accommodation and everything else," Williams explained.

News of the expected departure of schoolboy football's most prolific scorer in schoolboy football over the past two seasons and the leading all-time goal scorer for Rusea's High for Aston Villa will come as a surprise to many who were told at the end of the schoolboy season that Brown would be concentrating on his academics. Brown was said to have turned down opportunities from a number of Red Stripe Premier League clubs, including Montego Bay United.

"There were a lot of local offers for him from Red Stripe Premier League teams as well as scholarship offers from American universities including Harvard. He was more focused on getting an education, so he decided to stay with his local club, Montpelier, while focusing on qualifying himself academically," Williams confirmed.

Williams is happy for the player he has nurtured into a top-quality player and one who was a thorn in the flesh of opposing defenders in the just-concluded schoolboy football season, finding the back of the net 38 times and over 60 for the past two seasons.

"Based on the circumstances, it is a good move for him. I think he is set for great things and at 19 years old and with a big break such as this, it is now or never," said Williams of the son of the former Seba United star of the same name, Brian Brown.

The powerfully built youngster who is known for his strength, speed, hard work and his ferocious left-foot shots will leave with the blessings of the school community, according to Williams.

supportive school community

"Brian Brown collected his particulars from the British High Commission last Tuesday and is due to depart the island on Thursday coming. The school community, the principal and everyone are very supportive of him and we know he will give of his best," a pleased Williams said.

Last season, another Jamaican, Omar Cummings, had a successful trial stint at Aston Villa under the watchful eyes of then coach Gerard Houllier, but he was unable to take up the offer due to his failure to secure a work permit. Should Brown succeed at this club, he will join another Caribbean standout, Trinidad and Tobago's Dwight Yorke, who moved to the club as a 19-year-old and shone for them before gaining super stardom at Manchester United.

Currently, only two home-grown Jamaicans, Ricardo Gardner (Bolton Wanderers) and Ricardo Fuller (Stoke City), are with Premier League teams.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20120122/sports/sports23.html

Offline jahkingdom

• Strictly The Best
« Reply #449 on: January 22, 2012, 07:13:17 PM »
Portmore duo set for MLS trial stints

SW

Sunday, January 22, 2012

THE Portmore United duo of Andrew Vanzie and Alanzo Adlam are set for trials with two US Major League outfits.

Vanzie, 21, the former daCosta Cup player at Garvey Maceo High and a key midfielder at Portmore, is scheduled to strut his stuff for the Seatle Sounders.

Vanzie has also represented Jamaica at the Under-23 level and made his debut for the senior team in an international friendly against Ecuador in Quito last September.

Twenty-two-year-old Adlam, an Excelsior High Manning Cup player who has also represented the Under-20 and Under-23 teams, is due to do his stint at DC.

Adlam has been instrumental to a resurgent Portmore United in the Red Stripe Premier League, having scored eight goals so far to propel him to joint leading scorer with four other players.

Portmore United chairman Wayne Sinclair, said "this is a fantastic opportunity for Andrew and Alanzo".

While it's the philosophy of Portmore to develop and trade players for the international markets, it is always difficult to part with players who are key to the team's domestic ambitions.

"Though it is always a challenge to replace such a key part of your setup, we continue to support our core philosophy of putting the personal and professional development of our players ahead of what may be the best interests of the team," said Sinclair.

"We have the depth to continue our successful run so far this season, and sincerely hope that these trials will result in a permanent move for both players," he added.

Vanzie, who departed the island last Tuesday, is expected to be at the Sounders for four weeks, while Adlam is set for a two-week stint with DC United and will leave for Washington tomorrow.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/sport/Portmore-duo-set-for-MLS-trial-stints_10610591#ixzz1kEurKjD3