<< < (26/28) > >>

boss:

--- Quote from: Tallman on January 25, 2012, 07:45:57 PM ---

--- End quote ---

Tallman:
Moviemaker Roger Alexis lives his dream
By Dixie-Ann Dickson (T&T Guardian)

It was about eight years ago that Roger Alexis, the local genius behind the movie. I’m Santana The Movie, began using his rent money to invest in his dream as a producer and director of short movies.

“I started making local movies without any money because it was something I’d always loved.” As he continued to make great strides within the film industry, Alexis said he took his rent money and invested it into his productions. Officially showcasing his talent in 2005, Alexis said he produced short films, including dramas, comedy and contemporary films, like The Sorcerer. After growing from strength to strength, he entered the T&T Film Festival on four occasions, from which he benefited tremendously. “I received two grants of $20,000 and $50,000 from the T&T National Film Company to assist in some of my productions, one called Herman Tales.” Alexis felt that he had graduated from requesting grants; he felt confident that his Santana product would sell itself. “I believe I graduated from asking for grants because I think that my product was good enough to face the corporate community.”

Alexis’ instincts did not fail him as he got a local investor, Ian Pantin, who then marketed the Santana product to other corporate entities that came onboard. “I did some work for Pantin, manager of popular soca artistes Bungi Garlin and Faye-Ann Lyons, for Soca Monarch last year. “Pantin, who was satisfied with my work and liked my product, offered me a partnership arrangement. I took him up on the offer eventually.” The idea grew from a Santana television show into a $60,000 budget feature film.” I’m Santana is the first local film to use puppet animation and the first local film to be distributed at multiple locations simultaneously. The film, which was created, written and directed by television news cameraman Alexis, is a full-length series based on his popular Santana Puppet Series of Shorts which have garnered more than six million views on its YouTube channel. Lexo TV is owned in partnership with Pantin, executive producer of I’m Santana, and Alexis, the voice of Santana.

Job-creating film
Like the production Home Again, currently being filmed in Trinidad and which features American actress Tatyana Ali, Will Smith’s cousin in Fresh Prince of Bel Air, Alexis’ production also employed other local services. From hiring a crew of four, a cast of nine to equipment and car rentals, Alexis admitted it was tough keeping within budget. Rental equipment, he said, cost between $6,000 and $7,000, a crane used to mount the camera is about $800 a day and rental of vehicles for a week cost between $1,500 and $1,600. On average, he said, his total spend on his voice actors was $10,000; special effects would cost roughly $20,000. Alexis said he was thankful he had talented friends who worked with him. He explained that his friends also assumed multiple responsibilities, which helped to reduce cost. Kevin Maturin, who did the sound, Sheldon Buckmire for cinematography, and Michael Richards, who did special effects, also doubled up on other duties. “I initially was reluctant to turn it into a feature film because I was concerned about the budget.” Alexis, who is in his fourth and final year in film programming at University of the West Indies, also did courses in audio visual, videography and lighting, where he applied all of those skills to make Santana a success.

“I took the risk by leaving my job, but so far, it has paid off.”

Promoting Santana
Ian Pantin, Alexis said, was very instrumental in marketing and promoting the Santana product. He said Pantin approached both Caribbean Cinemas 8 at Trincity Mall and Digicel IMAX at One Woodbrook Place to show the movie. Explaining the process, he said, Pantin created a press kit with a trailer to present to the head management in Puerto Rico for approval. Unfamiliar with the Santana characters, the Puerto Ricans’ approval was dependent on local manager Sharon Warrick.

Warrick, in turn, did her own research by checking the online version and seeking advice from her staff.

Luckily for Alexis, he already had a audience among the staff. The idea was sold. Even though Digicel IMAX at One Woodbrook Place was not familiar with the product, they still welcomed the opportunity, as well as National Cinema in San Fernando. He said MovieTowne was the only cinema that did not take up the offer. “The management of MovieTowne told us that they were already booked and if we wanted to show the film, we should try the T&T Film Festival.” “But since the launch of the movie on January 25, many of the cinemas were sold out. “I understand that the movie is still showing and it is difficult to obtain tickets. We are not international distributors, so our approach was a little different…we had to build relationships and we were successful.” Proud about his team achievements, Alexis said the seven-month production is now a great success.

Going foreign
Besides being schooled about certain aspects within the film industry, it’s Alexis innate talent that pulled him through his challenges. “Seventy per cent of the puppetry was controlled by me. Puppetry required a particular skill, so while I had some people doing voicing, I had to do most of the puppetry.”

Finding talent to handle puppetry was difficult to get. In addition to finances, the weather also set the team back in meeting its deadlines. To catch up, some parts were filmed over. Tight budgets, limited available talent and marketing blocks has not deterred Alexis. He’s aiming for a sequel. His long-term vision is to produce other films: comedy, science fiction with some drama and pure drama. “It’s actually easier to do a production with humans than puppets.” He said there is a market for the local film industry, but it needs content. Alexis advised anyone who is launching out to do some work for free first and market the product. The returns are assured. Alexis said his aim is to leverage his regional and international presence that he built through his online showing of Santana to further push the product.

Brownsugar:
I forget about this yes.....ah have to make a date....

Socapro:
The movie was shown in London this weekend.

Saw it last night and had a good laugh, very entertaining!  :beermug:

www.socanews.com | events | I'm Santana: The Movie

Brownsugar:

--- Quote from: Socapro on April 14, 2012, 08:36:30 PM ---The movie was shown in London this weekend.

Saw it last night and had a good laugh, very entertaining!  :beermug:

www.socanews.com | events | I'm Santana: The Movie

--- End quote ---

I missed it while it was showing here.....steups!!   :(

Navigation

[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

[*] Previous page

Go to full version