March 28, 2024, 01:58:01 AM

Author Topic: Where is Batman and Robin ?TnT needs help  (Read 16434 times)

Where is Batman and Robin ?TnT needs help
« on: September 24, 2010, 10:04:09 PM »
Any word on the progress  of the new COP  and his sidekick doing in reducing crime in TnT?  Are there concrete plans or initiatives which are  evident by the public since  these high priced 'super cops' were hired  to combat crime?
« Last Edit: January 09, 2015, 04:57:43 PM by AB.Trini »

Re: How is Batman and Robin doing in TnT?
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2010, 10:41:02 PM »
Any word on the progress  of the new COP  and his sidekick doing in reducing crime in TnT?  Are there concrete plans or initiatives which are  evident by the public since  these high priced 'super cops' were hired  to combat crime?

HE EH WUK A WK YET

« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2010, 10:48:47 PM »
The man now reach. He will need time to engage the stakeholders before announcing any new strategies. I did hear one from him comment on the news today about making the police doing the small things more consistently to regain the trust of the public.

« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2010, 06:27:21 PM »
HOLY COW Batman: "got it ; this  could be the answer to help us solve the crime riddle for what we have been hired; You know Batman  we are the government's anti crime fighting plan; if we don't solve the riddle, we will be the scapegoats  and no one will blame the government..so Batman let's look at this issue that all the islands seem to be facing.

Caribbean crime wave linked to US deportations
[/b][/size][/size][/size]
By MIKE MELIA (AP) – 1 day ago

SAN JUAN, Puerto Rico — The crime was horrifying enough — a nightclub owner, hacked to death with a machete, was found buried in pieces. But what really outraged people was that the accused killer had been deported from the U.S. to his native Grenada as a convicted felon.

As a foreign-bred criminal, the suspect never should have returned to the close-knit tropical nation, relatives of the victim and others said. Islanders called for more vigilance over deportees by the government, which says it needs help from Washington to handle the return of hardened convicts.

"I hope that my brother did not die in vain and something can be done to monitor these criminal deportees," said Gemma Raeburn-Baynes, a sister of the nightclub owner, Michael Raeburn-Delfish.

The United States has deported thousands of convicted criminals to the Caribbean annually since 1996, when Congress mandated that every non-citizen sentenced to a year or more in prison be kicked out of the country upon release. In all, the U.S. is responsible for about three-quarters of the region's returning criminal deportees, with the United Kingdom and Canada accounting for most of the other ex-cons arriving in the islands.

It's a phenomenon that also afflicts many parts of Central America, where street gangs that grew out of Los Angeles spread to the region through massive deportations. Brutal and powerful, the "Maras" are blamed for rampant violent crime, extortion and more recently acting as enforcers for drug cartels.

In the Caribbean, governments say deportees are exacerbating crime in nations with high levels of violence such as Jamaica. On the smaller islands such as Grenada, once considered idyllic havens from gang violence, officials say the returning deportees are partly to blame for increasingly bold and sophisticated crimes and homicide rates soaring to record levels.

The United States is attempting to defuse tensions with island governments by exploring programs to help them reintegrate deportees. During a visit to Barbados in June, Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton said the U.S. is no longer ignoring complaints that have topped the Caribbean's diplomatic agenda for more than a decade.

U.S. officials say privately that the deportations cannot be blamed for the increase in violent crime, but declined to discuss the issue on the record, saying the U.S. does not want to hurt relations with Caribbean governments with which it cooperates on other issues.

The man accused in the machete attack in Grenada, Ronald Michael Phillip, 55, was deported from the United States on July 6, 2000, the day after leaving a state prison in Uncasville, Connecticut, where he had spent more than six years.

Island police know only the rough outline of his life abroad: Phillip moved overseas in 1986 and lived in Canada and Brooklyn, New York, before moving to New London, Connecticut. He was arrested in December 1993 on assault and drug charges.

But the officer who found Raeburn-Delfish's severed head and limbs in three shallow pits on Sept. 5 said the nature of the murder led him to believe the suspect was a practiced killer.

"He had a level of experience with dealing with dead people or animals," forensics expert Trevor Modeste said. "We don't usually have crime like that. We don't usually have planned and executed murders."

Modeste said his suspicions were confirmed when Phillip, known locally as Ronald de Ally, boasted to police that he killed and buried two people in the United States who were never found.

Grenada police spokesman Troy Garvey said that claim has not been verified. Garvey said investigators' focus is on solving Raeburn-Delfish's slaying, but they will pass anything they learn about crimes in the U.S. to the appropriate jurisdiction.

Raeburn-Delfish was Phillip's landlord, but no motive has been established in the slaying. Phillip, who is charged with murder, did not have an attorney at his first court appearance.

At the heart of the problem is the disparity of wealth between the United States, where migrants often learn their criminal ways, and their poor homelands, where jobs are scarce and police resources are limited. Moreover, islanders who often left their native lands as children return to countries they barely recognize, with no remaining family.

Jean Nemorin, 47, who returned to Haiti in 2008, more than three decades after he arrived in the United States with his family at age 11, said there is a stigma attached to people like him when locals learn of their criminal past, making it tough to find work or a place to live.

"I struggled to feed myself for the first six months," Nemorin said. He declined to describe his conviction in the United States but said he is crime-free today, operating a moto-taxi in Port-au-Prince that he bought with money from relatives overseas.

The biggest impact has been in heavily populated countries like Jamaica, where deportees are suspected in several violent crimes each week, according to Leslie Green, an assistant police commissioner.

But smaller islands are increasingly leading the calls for help from Washington. A Grenada government spokesman, Richard Simon, said they lack the counseling, monitoring and housing services needed to absorb deportees with serious criminal records.

In Dominica, at least one criminal deportee is suspected in a recent pair of brazen, daylight robberies by masked men, Security Minister Charles Savarin said.

In St. Lucia, an island of 170,000 people that received 18 criminal deportees from the U.S. last year, Security Minister Guy Mayers said some of the convicts were apparently recruited into local drug rings that exploit their contacts from overseas prisons.

"We are not responsible for them becoming monsters," Mayers said. "We need support to be able to rehabilitate these people."

In 2007, the U.S. launched a pilot program managed by the United Nations' International Organization for Migration to help reintegrate deportees. The $3 million project provided services including career counseling and housing assistance in Haiti, Guyana and the Bahamas.

U.S. officials say they hope that effort will be the starting point for a regional discussion, but no money has been assigned so far to keep the program going.

Island governments say the deportee issue will remain a sticking point with Washington until they see more action.

« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2010, 07:53:05 AM »
Very interesting read.

« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2010, 10:48:59 AM »
But ehhee.... how come no-one eh making noise or asking about public accountability/ Since these high priced experts crime crusaders,  come into dodge city, the expectations was that deliver, clean up or else....

Big money, big house and big expenses to rid the nation of crime and yet with each day I still reading of the gun related deaths.... gang...drugs.... and crime.... It seems that  no-one eh blaming this government fuh dat...

What is the timeline  for results? what will be indicators that  the job is been completed effectively/

Holy crap Batman...... same sh...t different pile.

« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2010, 12:30:47 PM »
de f**king ink on de people passport immigration status eh dry yet and you looking for dem to make meaningful changes  steups

« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2010, 01:58:20 PM »
de f**king ink on de people passport immigration status eh dry yet and you looking for dem to make meaningful changes  steups

i have to agree wid you here TC. i will give dem at least 4 months again to see if he really make a difference

« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2010, 02:42:51 PM »
But ehhee.... how come no-one eh making noise or asking about public accountability/ Since these high priced experts crime crusaders,  come into dodge city, the expectations was that deliver, clean up or else....

Big money, big house and big expenses to rid the nation of crime and yet with each day I still reading of the gun related deaths.... gang...drugs.... and crime.... It seems that  no-one eh blaming this government fuh dat...

What is the timeline  for results? what will be indicators that  the job is been completed effectively/

Holy crap Batman...... same sh...t different pile.

breads is like a month or so the man now come, Plus your original post was made the same week the man arrive i believe, which makes it barely a month
« Last Edit: October 23, 2010, 02:44:55 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2010, 04:38:23 PM »
Nah what allyuh want tuh wait until what people forget the details of this deal with the government? nah
people didn't take long to jump all over Latapy for poor performance? people did not take long to criticize the last government for hosting the summits ; no-one wanted to even think about possible positive spin offs nah....
so leh we eh wait least we forget. ACCOUNTABILITY should be at the forefront for all political agendas. Public taxpayers money cyar ride out so/

« Reply #10 on: October 23, 2010, 04:39:07 PM »
Nah what allyuh want tuh wait until what people forget the details of this deal with the government? nah
people didn't take long to jump all over Latapy for poor performance? people did not take long to criticize the last government for hosting the summits ; no-one wanted to even think about possible positive spin offs nah....
so leh we eh wait least we forget. ACCOUNTABILITY should be at the forefront for all political agendas. Public taxpayers money cyar ride out so/

you is evidence for evolution

« Reply #11 on: October 23, 2010, 04:44:25 PM »

[/quote
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
And you is boss..... :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: you have all the right answers. Look ah just making a flipping point that we have to keep knocking  for accountability. The last government eh provide none and see what happened? let we eh make the same flipping mistakes again and again, :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying:

I have some family in the force and yuh know  dey say the "De man ent even come out on a roadblock yet"
« Last Edit: October 23, 2010, 04:46:32 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #12 on: October 23, 2010, 04:48:55 PM »

[/quote
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
And you is boss..... :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: you have all the right answers. Look ah just making a flipping point that we have to keep knocking  for accountability. The last government eh provide none and see what happened? let we eh make the same flipping mistakes again and again, :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying:

I have some family in the force and yuh know  dey say the "De man ent even come out on a roadblock yet"

Yuh and yuh family dunce.

Why should the Police Commissioner ococme out ona  road block when he eh even learn all de nuances yet?  steups

« Reply #13 on: October 23, 2010, 04:57:15 PM »

/quote
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yuh and yuh family dunce.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why should the Police Commissioner ococme out ona  road block when he eh even learn all de nuances yet?  steups

Why yuh does always have to bring a discussion to a personal attack; Do you know me or my family? The statement was meant to be a hyperbole or an expression to show that even in the simplest form, his presence is not  readily apparent.
 I done the pissing contest....... But again I reiterate, ACCOUNTABILITY? where is the plan to  reduce CRIME in TnT? Like everything else where are the concrete plans for improvements?
« Last Edit: October 23, 2010, 08:14:22 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #14 on: October 23, 2010, 05:07:12 PM »

so in a few weeks what do you want to see happen?

« Reply #15 on: October 23, 2010, 05:30:33 PM »
The Police Commish have to find a way to increse public confidence in the police, develop relationships so people will want to report crime, make sure those who report the crime are not killed by the criminals they passing info on etc.  He does not need to be at no road blocks.

He needs to hold police accountable for acts that are contrary to law and order and he has to make sure the police do their jobs correctly when they do make arrests so criminals eh walking free on technicalities etc.  evidence eh disappearing and guns and ammo accounted for.

After he do dat if he find time eh could go on ah road block  (???)

« Reply #16 on: October 24, 2010, 07:22:49 PM »
This is how you get out there and fight crime;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RLZQ3OLEJWE&feature=related

« Reply #17 on: October 24, 2010, 10:13:31 PM »
This is how you get out there and fight crime;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RLZQ3OLEJWE&feature=related

ah go send Batman and Robin to fack you,,,I have connections in Gotham...hey justcool, send de caped crusaders to Alberta so this man can get a piece...Holy Smokes Batman yu talk a load of shit!

« Reply #18 on: October 26, 2010, 10:24:38 PM »
Keep on with the immature, juvenile and denegration of others as oppose to  rendering focus on the issue at hand
Mr. T.C. Your attempts at humor through sexual innuendo is uncalled for and without merit. handle the topic with some maturity and focus on the issue rather than trying to minimize the seriousness of the situation with these statements.

Meanwhile the crime situation continues unabated and a malaise and callousness continues without accountability and affirmative action. This situation is no longer a matter to joke about; people's sense of well being, people's fears and people's safety are constantly  shaken each and every time we read or hear about these outrageous crimes.

What reassurances have we received that  all that is humanely possible is being done or that a plan is in place to be enacted upon to curb this  pandemic that is casting a dark shadow over the land? How can the public help the  forces that are entrusted to serve and protect?  How can citizens take up the fight to protect and to assist the enforcers of the law for the good of all?

In choosing to illustrate the urgency of the situation through the use of an allusion to  two 'crime crusaders' Batman and Robin, I intend to simply  illustrate  how traumatic and how serious it was for  the folks in the fictional Gotham  and to the citizens of TnT, that both required  outside intervention to protect its citizens; unlike the fictional characters, we do not have an  alter ego in Batman, but we have  two hired professionals with expertise who have  taken a  personal challenge to come to our country and to shed some knowledge, expertise to assist in alleviating a situation that  is seemingly getting worse.  Both these men should be applauded for their intent and  display of moral imperative to do what is right  in their chose profession. The fundamental question is this task/ challenge within the realm of these two? or do they have the means to affect change ?

Or is the situation so big that we need "superheroes" to change  the situation in Trinidad?

"Alan Grant, a member of the creative team for Batman: Shadow of the Bat, feels that Batman is one of the most heroic characters ever created because he is a mortal man who, despite horrific life events, has chosen to do something about the state of his society.

He is perhaps the only genuine hero amongst all of them. People say Batman is this dark, vengeance-driven, obsessed character, but that’s not Batman in my eyes. That’s just the fuel which drives Batman. The trauma of his parent’s death is what motivates him and forces him to go on, but what makes him Batman is a decision. He took a decision to be a good guy, which is a decision in life not too many people do take. He is a self-made character. He didn’t get superpowers, he’s not a cyborg, he made a choice to be what he is. He is motivated by the terrible thing that happened to him when he was a kid, but that’s not the thing that defines his character. What defines his character is his decision to do something. (qtd. in Curtin 37)

The choice to fight crime is one which shapes every aspect of Bruce’s existence. After his parent’s death, Wayne spends his entire life becoming mentally and physically superior in order to wage a war against the criminal element of Gotham. In the newer continuum of the series, Batman fights crime with an arsenal of odd weapons (such as the razor sharp "Batarangs") but loathes the use of guns. To the surprise of many current readers, this was not always the case. When Batman was first introduced, he wore a holster and gun beneath his cape. This characterization was more in keeping with the detective part of his persona, but editors at DC decided it might be better that he not carry or use one because of the effect it might have on young readers (as well as the fact that it fit more logically with his origin, since his parents were gunned down in cold blood). That is not to say that Batman always shied away from using lethal force. But, in most story lines, Batman is more concerned with capturing the criminal element and letting the law decide each person’s fate.
"

Batman and Robin we need you to stop  these  seemingly daily occurrences in the land.

5 murders
By Stories by Akile Simon

Story Created: Oct 25, 2010 at 11:51 PM ECT

Story Updated: Oct 25, 2010 at 11:51 PM ECT

THE MURDER figure jumped to 398 last night with the killing of a man at Boundary Road, San Juan.

The latest victim remained unidentified up to press time but police said the man was shot dead at the scene.

His killing follows the murder of a 21-year-old Laventille man on Sunday, and the deaths of three other people who died from gunshot injuries at hospital also on Sunday.

Felix Marshall, of Desperlie Crescent, Laventille, was found on Sunday evening with multiple gunshot wounds about the body on a staircase along Pump Trace, Picton Road, Laventille.

The incident occurred around 6 p.m. and the victim was pronounced dead on arrival at the Port of Spain General Hospital. A motive is yet to be established for the killing.

In the other cases, Claudette Nurse, 50; Anthony Welch, 20; and Derrick Lewis, 41; all succumbed to gunshot injuries they sustained two weeks ago in separate incidents in Petit Valley, Diego Martin and Cocorite at the Intensive Care Unit of the Port of Spain General Hospital.

On July 15, Welch, of Duval Avenue, Diego Martin was about to enter a Chinese restaurant in the area when a gunman approached and opened fire around 1.45 p.m.

Alexander was taken to the Port of Spain General Hospital where he was treated for gunshot injuries to the stomach. Officers are calling on relatives of the victim to come forward in an attempt to positively identify him so an autopsy can be conducted.

On October 15, Nurse was travelling in a vehicle towards her home at upper Stour Drive, Petit Valley, around 9.15 p.m. when a group of men liming along the roadway opened fire on the car, before escaping. The victim was shot in the head and also taken to the Port of Spain General Hospital.

Western Division officers said they are also investigating similar shooting incidents in which gangs from the area have indiscriminately fired shots at strange vehicles entering the area.

Lewis, police said, was shot and wounded at Harding Place in Cocorite while walking towards his home around 3.25 a.m. on October 16.

According to police, the victim, of Harding Place, had just left Water Hole village where he and other persons were liming, to make his way home when he was shot in the head and chest by unknown assailants.

Officers from the Joint Army and Police patrol who were in the area responded to the report and found Lewis lying on the roadway and took the victim to the Port of Spain General Hospital where he was treated and warded until his death.

The comparable murder toll for last year stood at 436.

« Last Edit: October 26, 2010, 11:01:38 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #19 on: October 27, 2010, 07:04:40 AM »
I hear all he doin is goin Police Funerals.

« Reply #20 on: October 27, 2010, 07:37:31 AM »
That murder at Boundary Road took place while the CoP was hosting a community meeting not too far away......

« Reply #21 on: October 27, 2010, 01:47:41 PM »
That murder at Boundary Road took place while the CoP was hosting a community meeting not too far away......

^^ lol,, he shoulda smell the killers and run out and stop them  :)

anyhow, I think the govt should use traffic tickets as a means to make money to pay traffic cops special bonuses. Give them incentives to get out there and charge ppl.
 I mean the gangsters and killers uses the roads as well...clamp down on traffic offenses and they sure to catch a few ppl well. Everybody wins , police get money for working harder, ppl are forced to observe the law, criminals arent as free to roam the place willy nilly.

« Reply #22 on: October 27, 2010, 02:20:49 PM »
he have ah next one to go to
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uO2MbnQGI-s

« Reply #23 on: October 27, 2010, 08:50:57 PM »
he have ah next one to go to
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uO2MbnQGI-s

This 1 happen in d area I live and I knew d guy from d days I worked police. Thank God a fella on d street have cameras so evryting was recorded.

« Reply #24 on: November 02, 2010, 09:52:51 PM »
And the  the beat goes on..... we need divine intervention. As retirement leaps closer to reality ah having ah hard time dealing with all this at this age in life.
« Last Edit: November 02, 2010, 10:17:51 PM by AB.Trini »

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #25 on: November 03, 2010, 05:38:04 PM »
And the  the beat goes on..... we need divine intervention. As retirement leaps closer to reality ah having ah hard time dealing with all this at this age in life.

Are you planning on returning home upon retirement, AB ?

« Reply #26 on: November 11, 2010, 05:12:36 AM »
Batman and co strikes!

GIBBS CATCHES SPIES

...uncovers illegal tapping of phones, monitoring of text messages and e-mails
By Lennox Grant

An early-morning police raid, ordered by Police Commissioner Dwayne Gibbs, on a secret snooping agency within the National Security Ministry has brought to light an extensive list, including Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and private citizens, whose phone calls, text messages and e-mails have been monitored over five years.

Special Branch and Anti-Corruption Investigation Bureau officers, who locked down the St Vincent Street, Port of Spain, offices of the Security Intelligence Agency (SIA) at 6 a.m. on October 23, also found $5.9 million in a fireproof safe and a stash of firearms.

In a shock response to the discovery of an elaborately equipped and well-funded "intercept suite" within the SIA, the People's Partnership administration, as disclosed in Government documents made available for viewing yesterday, has:

• fired Nigel Clement, director of both the Strategic Services Agency and the SIA

• retained two Canadian technology security experts to sweep for further evidence of the tapping of phone, text and e-mail messages, and to develop a secure communications network for use by the Prime Minister and top officials

• begun a review and reorganisation of State security apparatus to discover exactly which agencies are doing what and to clarify their lines of reporting

• drafted for tabling in Parliament tomorrow a bill to outlaw interception of private communication, unless authorised by the order of a High Court judge.

The National Security Council, chaired by the Prime Minister, though weekly briefed by National Security Ministry agencies, had been, until two weeks ago, kept in the dark about the existence and the activities of the SIA "intercept suite".

Documents detailing investigators' findings listed dates and times and brief reasons for interception of the electronic communications people targeted under a variety of titled "operations". The targets include politicians of all parties, independent senators, trade unionists, High Court and Appeal Court judges, county councillors, business people, academics, media people, lawyers in private practice and popular comedians.

What remains unknown to officials is who received the information gathered from such sources and what use was made of it.

But they say the SIA, with some 200 staff, has operated out of various safe houses, and ran private companies as fronts for its channelling of millions of dollars of cash to people described as "informants".

The discovery of deep-secret telecommunications snooping by SIA heightened curiosity about which other agencies have been tapping into private talk and electronic chat.

Immediately before the firing of Special Anti-Crime Unit of Trinidad and Tobago (SAUTT) director Brig Peter Joseph, Prime Minister Persad-Bissessar had charged SAUTT had tapped her own phones and that of others.

Hard evidence of this has not come from sweeps of SAUTT systems, however. In one document reviewed yesterday, a SAUTT technical manager last September called on all staff to remove from the system all compromising material at this critical time while SAUTT is under scrutiny.

It was in response to the 1990 security failings connected with the coup attempt that the SSA had been enacted by Parliament in 1995. Under the SSA Act, President Max Richards yesterday signed the order revoking the appointment of Clement.

On April 1, the Patrick Manning Cabinet had appointed Clement, a former Coast Guard officer, the director of both the SSA and the lesser-known SIA. Government documents showed a July 2009 Cabinet decision to amalgamate the SSA, the SIA and the Police Special Branch into a single unit.

This decision had apparently not been implemented by last month when the Special Branch, with the ACIB, busted the SIA and proceeded up a wider investigation involving telecommunications intercepts, millions of unaccoun- ted cash dollars, and unregistered firearms.

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar is expected to address the issue in Parliament tomorrow.

Source: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/GIBBS_CATCHES_SPIES-107113978.html

« Reply #27 on: November 11, 2010, 05:37:50 AM »
I now reading this in the papers.....what is the SIA??   ??? :-\

« Reply #28 on: November 11, 2010, 06:37:56 AM »
I now reading this in the papers.....what is the SIA??   ??? :-\

PENA?

Offline Boodsy

« Reply #29 on: November 11, 2010, 06:41:23 AM »