April 18, 2024, 01:59:13 PM

Author Topic: High Court seeks TTFF accounts in Warriors 2006 World Cup bonus case.  (Read 2883 times)

High Court seeks TTFF accounts in Warriors 2006 World Cup bonus case.
By Denyse Renne (T&T Express).

OPEN BOOKS

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) have been ordered to open their accounting books for a thorough inspection by the High Court of T&T.

The order was made on Monday afternoon by High Court Judge Devindra Rampersad as he presided in the San Fernando High Court

Rampersad gave the TTFF until December 13, at 10 a.m., to have the books tendered.

This latest ruling pushes 16 members of the Trinidad and Tobago national team at the 2006 World Cup Finals, fondly known as the Soca Warriors, a step closer to receiving money they claim is owed to them based on a promise made by TTFF special adviser and FIFA vice-president Jack Warner.

The books to be tendered include all commercial revenue associated with the players in their build-up to the 2006 FIFA tournament, which was held in Germany.

The players who filed the lawsuit against the TTFF, and by extension Federation president Oliver Camps, are Brent Sancho, Marvin Andrews, Shaka Hislop, Kelvin Jack, Atiba Charles, Cyd Gray, Ian Cox, Avery John, Chris Birchall, Aurtis Whitley, Collin Samuel, Evans Wise, Anthony Wolfe, Cornell Glen, Kenwyne Jones and Stern John.

Warner has also been named in the suit.

At Monday's hearing, the TTFF through their attorneys offered a collective interim payment through the courts of $1 million.

But this figure was dismissed by attorneys representing the footballers, since the players in their lawsuit had requested an interim payment of roughly $1.8 million each and their share of the $88 million which the TTFF claimed to have received as World Cup commercial revenue.

Sources affiliated with the TTFF say they will be using all legal options in a bid to block this latest move. It is expected attorneys representing the TTFF will soon approach the courts.

Monday's High Court decision came on the heels of an article which appeared in the London Guardian newspaper.

In the article, former T&T goalkeeper Hislop took a stab at Warner, accusing the current Minister of Works and Transport of reneging on promises made during the World Cup campaign.

"Warner made promises," Hislop said. "We were told we would get 50 per cent of all the commercial money. When we were eventually told what that would be it was TT$5,000 [£492.86] a man , which we knew it could not be.

"There were contracts made that we signed with Adidas and a number of other companies around Trinidad and Tobago.

"The TTFF was happy to brag about the size of those contracts. We made our feelings known and questioned Jack Warner's accounting skills. The TTFF is about Warner and almost no one else," added Hislop.

The article further quoted Hislop as saying he felt let down, despite the national team's qualification for the World Cup.

"It was our proudest moment as a football nation and once the offer was made of TT$5,000 a man we felt desperately let down. It was a slap in the face of everything we had done and how we had made the country feel," Hislop said.

Earlier this month, the TTFF 's application for a stay was dismissed by Appeal Court Judge Rajendra Narine.

The TTFF had appealed Rampersad's July 29 order requesting they honor their bonus agreement with the players.

Rampersad had also ordered the TTFF to absorb the legal costs on behalf of the players.

The matter started when court proceedings were filed in November 2008, at the Port of Spain High Court, where the 16 players demanded the High Court enforce the judgement of the London-based Sport Dispute Resolution Panel (SDRP).

The SDRP had ruled in May 2008 that under the terms of a contract--agreed by Warner--the Soca Warriors were owed 50 per cent of all 2006 World Cup commercial revenue.

However, the TTFF claimed that a breach of confidentiality by the players meant they (TTFF) were no longer obligated by the agreement.

Following weeks of arguments, Rampersad ruled in favour of the players. However, the TTFF and Camps appealed the decision, hoping to have it nullified.

Attorneys Om Lalla and Kelvin Ramkissoon appeared on behalf of the TTFF, while attorneys Dave DePeiza and George Hislop are seeking the interest of the footballers.

Re: High Court seeks TTFF accounts in Warriors 2006 World Cup bonus case.
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2010, 05:34:47 AM »
At Monday's hearing, the TTFF through their attorneys offered a collective interim payment through the courts of $1 million.

Ah find it surprising that they finally start tuh offer more money tuh settle....sounds like they have cocoa in d sun and desperation is setting in......

Let see by next week whether they will up there offer

« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2010, 05:47:20 AM »

Ah find it surprising that they finally start tuh offer more money tuh settle....sounds like they have cocoa in d sun and desperation is setting in......

Let see by next week whether they will up there offer

With that said is this an offer or they saying that's what I think about allyuh.....

« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2010, 07:30:56 AM »
High Court seeks TTFF accounts in Warriors 2006 World Cup bonus case.
By Denyse Renne (T&T Express).

OPEN BOOKS

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) have been ordered to open their accounting books for a thorough inspection by the High Court of T&T.

The order was made on Monday afternoon by High Court Judge Devindra Rampersad as he presided in the San Fernando High Court

Rampersad gave the TTFF until December 13, at 10 a.m., to have the books tendered.

This latest ruling pushes 16 members of the Trinidad and Tobago national team at the 2006 World Cup Finals, fondly known as the Soca Warriors, a step closer to receiving money they claim is owed to them based on a promise made by TTFF special adviser and FIFA vice-president Jack Warner.

The books to be tendered include all commercial revenue associated with the players in their build-up to the 2006 FIFA tournament, which was held in Germany.

The players who filed the lawsuit against the TTFF, and by extension Federation president Oliver Camps, are Brent Sancho, Marvin Andrews, Shaka Hislop, Kelvin Jack, Atiba Charles, Cyd Gray, Ian Cox, Avery John, Chris Birchall, Aurtis Whitley, Collin Samuel, Evans Wise, Anthony Wolfe, Cornell Glen, Kenwyne Jones and Stern John.

Warner has also been named in the suit.

But this figure was dismissed by attorneys representing the footballers, since the players in their lawsuit had requested an interim payment of roughly $1.8 million each and their share of the $88 million which the TTFF claimed to have received as World Cup commercial revenue.

Sources affiliated with the TTFF say they will be using all legal options in a bid to block this latest move. It is expected attorneys representing the TTFF will soon approach the courts.

Monday's High Court decision came on the heels of an article which appeared in the London Guardian newspaper.

In the article, former T&T goalkeeper Hislop took a stab at Warner, accusing the current Minister of Works and Transport of reneging on promises made during the World Cup campaign.

"Warner made promises," Hislop said. "We were told we would get 50 per cent of all the commercial money. When we were eventually told what that would be it was TT$5,000 [£492.86] a man , which we knew it could not be.

"There were contracts made that we signed with Adidas and a number of other companies around Trinidad and Tobago.

"The TTFF was happy to brag about the size of those contracts. We made our feelings known and questioned Jack Warner's accounting skills. The TTFF is about Warner and almost no one else," added Hislop.

The article further quoted Hislop as saying he felt let down, despite the national team's qualification for the World Cup.

"It was our proudest moment as a football nation and once the offer was made of TT$5,000 a man we felt desperately let down. It was a slap in the face of everything we had done and how we had made the country feel," Hislop said.

Earlier this month, the TTFF 's application for a stay was dismissed by Appeal Court Judge Rajendra Narine.

The TTFF had appealed Rampersad's July 29 order requesting they honor their bonus agreement with the players.

Rampersad had also ordered the TTFF to absorb the legal costs on behalf of the players.

The matter started when court proceedings were filed in November 2008, at the Port of Spain High Court, where the 16 players demanded the High Court enforce the judgement of the London-based Sport Dispute Resolution Panel (SDRP).

The SDRP had ruled in May 2008 that under the terms of a contract--agreed by Warner--the Soca Warriors were owed 50 per cent of all 2006 World Cup commercial revenue.

However, the TTFF claimed that a breach of confidentiality by the players meant they (TTFF) were no longer obligated by the agreement.

Following weeks of arguments, Rampersad ruled in favour of the players. However, the TTFF and Camps appealed the decision, hoping to have it nullified.

Attorneys Om Lalla and Kelvin Ramkissoon appeared on behalf of the TTFF, while attorneys Dave DePeiza and George Hislop are seeking the interest of the footballers.

What suit Warner name in d one he have to collect from Bradford? Well like d know I ready to tell them about there accurate coverage of this story they not answering the phone in the newsroom but I WILL KEEP TRYING.

« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2010, 07:49:04 AM »
D GLEANER REPORT MORE ACCURATE

PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad (CMC):

President of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) Oliver Camps said yesterday he was awaiting word from his legal team after the TTFF had been ordered by the High Court here to pay one million dollars (US$166,660) to its 2006 World Cup Squad.

Camps told a local radio station that he had not yet seen the judgement handed down late Monday, and was waiting to hear from his lawyers on the matter.

But the British Guardian newspaper in a report yesterday said that the ruling, released late on Monday, was the beginning of the end of a long legal process that had seen TTFA special adviser and FIFA Vice President Austin Jack Warner accused of repeatedly failing to deliver on promises made to the national team.

The judgment also calls for formal accounts relating to the period leading up to and including the 2006 World Cup to be prepared by the TTFF, accompanied by a verifying affidavit.

The newspaper said that this would be a crucial element in the players' struggle to receive the 50 per cent of all income the TTFF promised them, that was received from commercial sponsorships and from FIFA in relation to their World Cup appearance
 four years ago.

The Guardian said it had seen the judgment of an Arbitration hearing aThe newspaper report quotes Shaka Hislop, the goalkeeper at the 2006 World Cup as saying that "Warner made promises. We were told we would get 50 per cent of all the commercial money.

"When we were eventually told what that would be it was TT$5,000 (US$833) a man, which we knew it could not be. There were contracts made that we signed with Adidas and a number of other companies around Trinidad and Tobago.

"The TTFA was happy to brag about the size of those contracts. We made our feelings known."

« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2010, 10:01:58 AM »
Jack eh paying nobody, watch and see. He will pay, but very little.

High court, low court, Jack is boss !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

NOT that I agree, but its all politics....

« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2010, 10:13:32 AM »
He might not pay any players but i sure he will be paying somebody to make sure the books not revealed...

« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2010, 06:59:46 PM »
Open de blinkin' books. Open dem!!!!

Whey de morney gone! Leh we see wha' really going orn fuh all dese years. And yes ... I dare Scamps, Rodent or Jackula to burn dem papers or hide de information and see if dey do geh dey backside lock up in Golden Grove. Feel we shchupid nah. And let some dutty money try to pass by de judge and yuh go see. We watchin'.  >:(

Coops, whey yuh. Say sometin'.

« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2010, 09:12:50 PM »

Whey de morney gone! Leh we see wha' really going orn fuh all dese years. And yes ... I dare Scamps, Rodent or Jackula to burn dem papers or hide de information and see if dey do geh dey backside lock up in Golden Grove. Feel we shchupid nah. And let some dutty money try to pass by de judge and yuh go see. We watchin'.  >:(

Simple equation open d books of jail for Scamps.

« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2010, 01:45:15 AM »
One of the problems for TTFF is that Groden said in an newspaper interview in 2008 that KPMG are preparing accounts. Townley will direct that statement to the judge. Groden would have to produce, or admit that he was lying.

« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2010, 04:54:01 AM »

I like Jack i eh have nothing to do with that,you want me make jail too,allyu jailing people i too old for that. :rotfl:

« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2010, 07:38:50 AM »
One of the problems for TTFF is that Groden said in an newspaper interview in 2008 that KPMG are preparing accounts. Townley will direct that statement to the judge. Groden would have to produce, or admit that he was lying.

DEY GO SAY IS A MISPRINT LIKE D PENSION.

« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2010, 08:49:34 AM »

He said it as far back as 2006.  He issued a press release at the start of the dispute stating that the accounts would be audited by KPMG and revealed for all to see....well we still waiting....

« Reply #13 on: December 02, 2010, 08:53:56 PM »

He said it as far back as 2006.  He issued a press release at the start of the dispute stating that the accounts would be audited by KPMG and revealed for all to see....well we still waiting....

U remember d new KPMG?