April 23, 2024, 02:05:53 PM

Author Topic: Wounded Caledonia looking for $180,000.  (Read 4020 times)

Wounded Caledonia looking for $180,000.
« on: April 24, 2011, 07:02:38 AM »
Wounded Caledonia looking for $180,000.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

"This CFU tournament is not designed for teams like Caledonia AIA to qualify for," head-coach Shabazz declared following his team's unfortunate 1-0 CFU Caribbean Club Champions Cup loss to Haitian champions Tempete on Good Friday at the Larry Gomes Stadium.

"With no prize money at stake, playing in this competition is more a question of a club being ambitious rather than it making economic sense," Shabazz said.

"It will cost us just under $200,000 in airfare, accommodation and so on to get to Haiti for the return leg. So far, we have just $20,000, but we have meetings this week with our sponsors NLCB, the Neal & Massy Group of Companies and several Government ministries, and hope to raise the funds."

That is the reality check facing AIA following their first sojourn into Caribbean level competition. The club from the impoverished Morvant-Laventille region have qualified for the Champions Cup for the first time, after also finishing a best-ever second in the 2010-2011 Trinidad & Tobago Pro League.

It should have been a happy moment, they having replaced the regular qualifiers and traditionally rich clubs like Joe Public and San Juan Jabloteh this time around. However, it seems Shabazz's problems have only just begun.

Caledonia AIA are a goal down, and short some $180,000 to go to Haiti on May 7 for the return leg of their tie against Tempete. AIA were unfortunate losers.

The first-leg was settled in just the fourth minute when Tempete struck on the counter attack through their captain Junior Charles, who beat Caledonia goalkeeper Victor Thomas to a ball on the right of the penalty area, before chipping the ball into the net. Caledonia AIA defender Akim Armstrong may have gotten a touch when trying to clear the danger.

Mere seconds earlier, Tempete goalie Guerry Romondt was caught out of position and forced to furiously back-peddle into his penalty area. But Caledonia striker Kevon Woodley let the visitors off the hook when he hit an attempted chip straight at the Tempete goalie.

Romondt immediately launched a counter-attack which resulted in Tempete's winning goal. Caledonia then went on full attack and Woodley even hit the left base of the goal a few minutes later, but AIA could not retrieve the situation. However, Shabazz still feels there is hope for a win in Haiti.

"It leaves us with our back against the wall, a position we are very accustomed to be in. At one point in the local league we were sixth, but we finished second," Shabazz said. "We outplayed the opponent and had four clear chances and a few other half-chances which we didn't take. They had two chances, and scored once."

Shabazz hopes to overcome Tempete in the second leg and at least get to the CONCACAF stage of qualifying where each team is guaranteed US $40,000 to travel to each away fixture. But for a poor team, Shabazz feels that the CFU leg is pure hell.

"When you consider that the three Caribbean teams which qualify for the CONCACAF Champions League still have to go through a playoff before entering (the competition proper), a group stage is an open insult to Caribbean football," Shabazz declared.

"Especially when you consider that the president of the CFU is also the president of CONCACAF. At least the Caribbean champions should advance directly to the open round in CONCACAF. Even blindfolded, Ray Charles could see that."

Re: Wounded Caledonia looking for $180,000.
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2011, 07:29:07 AM »
Shabazz hopes to overcome Tempete in the second leg and at least get to the CONCACAF stage of qualifying where each team is guaranteed US $40,000 to travel to each away fixture. But for a poor team, Shabazz feels that the CFU leg is pure hell.

"When you consider that the three Caribbean teams which qualify for the CONCACAF Champions League still have to go through a playoff before entering (the competition proper), a group stage is an open insult to Caribbean football," Shabazz declared.

"Especially when you consider that the president of the CFU is also the president of CONCACAF. At least the Caribbean champions should advance directly to the open round in CONCACAF. Even blindfolded, Ray Charles could see that."

Good one Shabazz, I am surprise you said this, didn't know you had such big balls, hope Jack reads it.

And I agree with Shabazz here.

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2011, 12:37:08 PM »
As a matter of curiosity, one wonders who finances Haitian champions Tempete!

« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2011, 02:16:25 PM »
As a matter of curiosity, one wonders who finances Haitian champions Tempete!

Is his multiple choice?  Arright? How about ...

1. Baby doc
2. Uncle doc
3. Uncle Jackula
4. Baby Jackula.

Beats me, but good question.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2011, 07:09:47 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2011, 04:47:18 PM »
Why he just couldn't win and stop sounding like he just drink a aloes punch.

« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2011, 08:25:27 PM »
Opportunity equals Investment. Now tell me you lose your home Game and as a businessman , If you cant get the job done at home will I invest $1 80. 000. to send a team to Haiti knowing that the odds will be against me.
 Especially in this guava season

« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2011, 06:21:51 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/XGHjpTNmMyI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/XGHjpTNmMyI</a>

« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2011, 04:48:04 AM »

Good one Shabazz, I am surprise you said this, didn't know you had such big balls, hope Jack reads it.

And I agree with Shabazz here.

He only acting out of fustration because the situation affects him directly.  He should show some real balls and talk about all the dotishness happening in T&T football... but he wouldn't go there bc he is part of it too.

« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2011, 09:10:56 AM »
This situation has a very real negative impact on T&T football. Regardless of the defeat, look at the situation.

Caladonia's biggest challenge and focus is money not the competition. In UK, qualifying for Europe is an income generator, here it breaks your bank. Upon qualification, EVEN FOR THE QUALIFYING STAGES, concacaf should fund the travel costs. Otherwise, you will never see the smaller teams benefit from real international competition. I have no idea how Haiti and other countries manage, but hear this: Like it or not, Caladonia are representing T&T. The government should sponsor the team! 

European football is the dream of most English teams....here, concacaf just provides a major headache. The clubs need financial support so they can focus themselves on game preperation. Instead of giving money to Niki Menaj, Anil should place funds aside for next years concacaf campaign. Lets get serious here. T&T represent!!

« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2011, 10:00:38 AM »
This situation has a very real negative impact on T&T football. Regardless of the defeat, look at the situation.

Caladonia's biggest challenge and focus is money not the competition. In UK, qualifying for Europe is an income generator, here it breaks your bank. Upon qualification, EVEN FOR THE QUALIFYING STAGES, concacaf should fund the travel costs. Otherwise, you will never see the smaller teams benefit from real international competition. I have no idea how Haiti and other countries manage, but hear this: Like it or not, Caladonia are representing T&T. The government should sponsor the team! 

European football is the dream of most English teams....here, concacaf just provides a major headache. The clubs need financial support so they can focus themselves on game preperation. Instead of giving money to Niki Menaj, Anil should place funds aside for next years concacaf campaign. Lets get serious here. T&T represent!!

Why should the government sponsor the team... does the British government sponsor Liverpool, United et al?  What would be the government's return on that investment?  Caledonia not representing T&T, they representing T&T football... said another way, the TTFF.  Let the TTFF sponsor them, or let them hit up corporate sponsors.  Anil didn't "give money to" Nikki Minaj, he invested in her and got a return on that investment by selling tickets to the performance.  I all for social programs but institutionalized welfare shouldn't be the path down which we point our sporting bodies.

« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2011, 12:15:02 PM »
FS, I support what Bakes said with respect to gov't involvement with club football. Where will it end. Every team will want gov't sponsor. That can't happen. They already supporting DF, Fire Services, TTEC, WASA, POLICE, UTT. If AIA can't come up with the money to participate in the competition, they should recluse themselves. That is just the hard reality. That 180, thous. can go towards the players salary for next season. A couple years ago NE Stars was in the same position and their management courageously said they can't afford to participate.

Don't be fooled by Haitian poverty. There are some extremely rich Haitians among the 9 million population. Quite a few make their money in the Florida area. There are some who are into football and extend a very helping hand to individual team, youth team or national team.

Again forgive me if I bring up the race issue in football. Who participate mostly in the TTFF organized football. Who owns the teams. Do they have money? Jack, john williams. Jabloteh was supported by Duprey. All the others have little or next to nothing.

« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2011, 01:05:20 PM »
I believe that concacaf participation promotes T&T football to some degree. Govt sponsorship for the two qualifying teams can assist sports promotion in T&T.

The Nikki Menaj concert lost money, big time. It did not promote sport. Many youths couldn't afford the exhorbitant ticket prices. So how does this concert justify support from MSYA?

« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2011, 01:47:14 PM »
Any concacaf tournament should be funded by the federation including: 

Airfare
Accomodation
Meals

I would hold back on saying a stipend but the above should be included.

Offline Trinidad Sports Reality

« Reply #13 on: May 04, 2011, 02:35:49 PM »
Up to now i aint see anyone post to score for the game in Haiti

« Reply #14 on: May 04, 2011, 03:35:52 PM »
I believe that concacaf participation promotes T&T football to some degree. Govt sponsorship for the two qualifying teams can assist sports promotion in T&T.

The Nikki Menaj concert lost money, big time. It did not promote sport. Many youths couldn't afford the exhorbitant ticket prices. So how does this concert justify support from MSYA?

I'm not here to justify the investment in the concert, but the bottom line is that the Ministry paid the performer, then sold tickets to the performance.  That is an investment, I'm sure they weren't selling tickets at a price and number below that which was necessary to turn a profit.  Whether the profit materialized or not is tangential to the issue... they still went into it with a mind to making a profit, as with any other investment, whether it pans out or not is beyond one's control.

There is no such correlation with sponsoring these private football clubs to the degree that you're suggesting.  Do clubs share gate receipts or corporate sponsorship dollars with the government?  The public?  I understand where you're coming from, assistance to struggling clubs is a good thing for government to take a look at, but 90% of the Pro League "struggling"... as Deeks asked, where will it end?  Next thing you know Government underwriting the Pro League.

« Reply #15 on: May 05, 2011, 09:13:05 AM »

I'm not here to justify the investment in the concert, but the bottom line is that the Ministry paid the performer, then sold tickets to the performance.  That is an investment, I'm sure they weren't selling tickets at a price and number below that which was necessary to turn a profit.  Whether the profit materialized or not is tangential to the issue... they still went into it with a mind to making a profit, as with any other investment, whether it pans out or not is beyond one's control.

There is no such correlation with sponsoring these private football clubs to the degree that you're suggesting.  Do clubs share gate receipts or corporate sponsorship dollars with the government?  The public?  I understand where you're coming from, assistance to struggling clubs is a good thing for government to take a look at, but 90% of the Pro League "struggling"... as Deeks asked, where will it end?  Next thing you know Government underwriting the Pro League.

I agree with yuh tuh a point.   I doh believe in Gov't sponsorship and all that stuff with the public's money.  However, Anil and the gov't had no right to be involved in the Nikki Menaj concert.  What was to be the return on investment?  Surely not money because to my knowledge, there was a private promoter involved as well. 

No trini gov't has any demonstrated any competence to make any money on that type of stuff, so while I don't support the gov't paying for Cali, I cannot support the Nikki Menaj stuff as well. 

All that said, the gov't because of it's socialist nature, has a role to play in sports.  We can't have it both ways, if yuh support Nikki Menaj and put money in her pocket which does absolutely nothing for the people of T&T, providing "some" not "all" support to Cali does make some sense.

« Reply #16 on: May 05, 2011, 10:58:43 AM »
I agree with yuh tuh a point.   I doh believe in Gov't sponsorship and all that stuff with the public's money.  However, Anil and the gov't had no right to be involved in the Nikki Menaj concert.  What was to be the return on investment?  Surely not money because to my knowledge, there was a private promoter involved as well. 

No trini gov't has any demonstrated any competence to make any money on that type of stuff, so while I don't support the gov't paying for Cali, I cannot support the Nikki Menaj stuff as well. 

All that said, the gov't because of it's socialist nature, has a role to play in sports.  We can't have it both ways, if yuh support Nikki Menaj and put money in her pocket which does absolutely nothing for the people of T&T, providing "some" not "all" support to Cali does make some sense.

Read my post again... I never said I supported the concert, I drew a distinction between sponsoring teams like Cali, and acting as a de facto concert promoter.  Whatever your feelings about the government getting involved in the latter, it's still a far more fiscally-sound venture than just giving money to private professional clubs.  Gov't didn't "support" Nikki Minaj, as much as they hired her to try and make some money in the name of "culture".

« Reply #17 on: May 05, 2011, 11:50:22 AM »

Offline Trinidad Sports Reality

« Reply #18 on: May 05, 2011, 01:05:46 PM »
yea i saw it on the papers this morning that they pushed it back

« Reply #19 on: May 05, 2011, 03:48:11 PM »
yea i saw it on the papers this morning that they pushed it back

What!!! Shabazz have weight boy!! He get them  to push back the game!!!!!!!! :devil:

« Reply #20 on: May 05, 2011, 07:22:34 PM »
He had to put down some tears in the commission of inquiry.