May 25, 2013, 12:13:18 AM

Author Topic: Mauled to death by pitbulls  (Read 1304 times)

Mauled to death by pitbulls
« on: May 09, 2011, 05:41:58 PM »
printshare0 comments   Mon, May 09, 2011 - 3:03 PM
PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad – A 46-year-old security guard was mauled to death by four pit bulls as she made her way to work today, police have confirmed.

They said Denise Rackhal, a mother of two, was attacked by the dogs as she walked along a street in Edinburg 500 in Central Trinidad.

Initial reports indicate that the dogs were able to escape from their owner’s residence because the gate to the premises had not been fully secured.

The owner of the dogs is said to be a police officer.

This is the third occasion that dogs have attacked and seriouisly injured persons here within the last four months. A four-year-old boy is now recovering in hospital after he was attacked by two dogs.

Trinidad and Tobago parliament has approved of the Dangerous Dogs Act, but the legislation has never been enacted. (CMC)

Re: Mauled to death by pitbulls
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2011, 08:08:06 PM »
printshare0 comments   Mon, May 09, 2011 - 3:03 PM
PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad – A 46-year-old security guard was mauled to death by four pit bulls as she made her way to work today, police have confirmed.

They said Denise Rackhal, a mother of two, was attacked by the dogs as she walked along a street in Edinburg 500 in Central Trinidad.

Initial reports indicate that the dogs were able to escape from their owner’s residence because the gate to the premises had not been fully secured.

The owner of the dogs is said to be a police officer.

This is the third occasion that dogs have attacked and seriouisly injured persons here within the last four months. A four-year-old boy is now recovering in hospital after he was attacked by two dogs.

Trinidad and Tobago parliament has approved of the Dangerous Dogs Act, but the legislation has never been enacted. (CMC)

So as usual laws exist, but enforcement, the true test of morality and willpower, are  non-existent in T&T.

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2011, 10:01:41 AM »
Gone to the dogs
By Raffique Shah

Story Created: May 14, 2011 at 11:47 PM ECT

(Story Updated: May 14, 2011 at 11:47 PM ECT )

THERE was a time when every dog owner in Trinidad needed a "dog licence" to own or keep a dog. Back then, everyone I knew who kept dogs owned "pot hounds", also known as "common dogs" or "mongrels". My father, like everyone else in our village who kept dogs, would go to the police station or court (I was too young to know details), pay a dollar and get a licence.

He was obligated to secure that licence around the dog's neck and ensure that the dog did not roam the streets. If it did and it bit someone or was found roaming by the municipality's "dog catchers", he would have to pay a fine to retrieve "Rover", or whatever dog we owned. Sometime in the 1950s, or maybe early 1960s, some government decided to remove the "dog licence" law, and the bicycle licence law (yes, there was that, too) from the statute books.

Now, I know the law can be an ass at times. But in this instance, our colonial masters saw the need to regulate the ownership and control of the colony's dog population. Since there were few, if any, specially bred canines at the time, that law had little to do with so-called dangerous dogs. All dogs can be dangerous. Have you ever encountered a pack of pothounds chasing after you? I have, on many occasions. As recently as ten years ago while biking, I was a victim of a pothound attack, hitting one big fella broadside and falling at high speed, fracturing five ribs in the process.

I took my injuries as a man. I did not sue the dogs' owner (a farmer who came to my aid), and I worked hard to recover quickly from the worst injuries I had suffered in my 55 years (at the time). Still, I have seen Trinidad descend from a well-regulated dog-ownership regime into a canine mess, in which people own pit bulls and similar breeds as a show of might, and where the stray dogs population has skyrocketed to the point where noxious dog turds litter the country's roads, streets and even the yards of non-dog owners.

Indeed, if there is an odour by which one can identify a country, Trinidad's would be the stench of dog shit! Ah lie? It pollutes the air in city streets and country lanes. Dogs left free to roam, which is the norm across the country, find only the cleanest spots on roadways or in someone's premises to "offload" their crap. Perish the thought that the owners would clean up after them. This is Trinidad, not England or some other civilised country where loose dogs or strays are the exception. Here, they rule—dogs, and their delinquent owners who have less sense than their canines.

With the arrival of "breeds", we have encountered another kind of lawlessness—unimaginable irresponsibility. When I used to run as a form of exercise, on numerous occasions, I encountered jacka---- proudly escorting their monsters. The canines wore no muzzles and the leashes looked as fragile as kite twine. In such circumstances, instead of focusing on my pace or enjoying the "high" that distance runners do, I, and I imagine many others like me, would adopt the dog-battle mode. My stance was such that I was prepared to battle both dogs and owners.

Not everyone is like me. Mostly, people are afraid of dogs, a fear that exposes them to greater danger. It seems that dogs sense when people fear them, hence they become emboldened, more likely to attack. Other dogs, like pit bulls and Rottweilers, are deadlier since they are bigger, stronger and fiercer than pot hounds, and their owners invariably train them to attack. The results have been a kind of carnage that has intensified within recent times.

The shredding to death of that poor security guard last week was the latest in a series of dog attacks that should tell us that something must be done to stop this madness. No amount of money can bring comfort to Denise Rackal's now motherless children. The sheer horror of how their mother died would stay with those children for the duration of their lives. The boy who was mauled in Palmiste a few weeks ago may recover from his physical wounds, but he will remain mentally scarred for life. The same holds true for other victims of dog attacks.

What is required now is not resurrecting the ten-year-old Dangerous Dogs Act. Government—and the society—must examine the wider issue of dog ownership. I suggest we return to the colonial law that will compel all owners of dogs to register and license their animals. Further, all licensed dogs must wear their permits on their collars. Any dog caught without licence or collar should be deemed a stray. It should be immobilised by tranquillizer dart and euthanised.

Further, an owner who allows his dog, be it a poodle, pothound or pit bull, into a public place without proper restraint (muzzle, leash) and unsupervised should be charged with a criminal offence. If a dog attacks a human being in a public place, its owner must be penalised severely—as in compensation and aggravated and exemplary damages. Even if someone is attacked on the owner's premises, once he is invited or is there on legitimate business, the owner must be liable.

Some of these suggestions may seem to be unduly harsh. But we cannot allow irresponsible dog owners to deny us the simple pleasures of life. Coping with bandits and rapists is bad enough. Having to deal with dog attacks is unacceptable.

« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2011, 10:30:11 AM »
What's sad is that most of what he's suggesting here is already the law in the US.  You don't have to hang the license around the dog's neck, but simply put, people don't let their dogs stray... and if they do they're rounded up with a quickness.  The dogs aren't "immobilized" by tranquilizer... that's nonsense to suggest that, police can't even shoot straight but they go put tranquilizer gun in a dog-catcher hand?  And where they getting money for the drug? Just send a man with a dog-catching noose like everywhere else.

Other than that Shah spot on, as usual.

« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2012, 04:49:17 AM »
'SAVE OUR PITBULLS'
By NEWSDAY STAFF Monday, April 23 2012

IN A MOVE that is sure to upset and outrage persons who have fallen victim to maulings by dogs in general and pitbulls in particular, almost 1,000 dog lovers including children staged a protest at the Queen’s Park Savannah yesterday calling for the repeal of the Dangerous Dogs Act in its present form.

The protesters, including those from the social pressure group Students Protesting Animal Rights (SPAR) are calling on Government to repeal the Act and bring legislation to deal with and regulate dog owners. They say the Act in its present form is too harsh on the dogs themselves.

“We want this law dropped as it is too draconian and harsh. Save our pitbulls. We support laws to give effect to responsible dog ownership...but this law in its present form is too draconian and may even be deemed discriminatory,” stated a dog lover who did not give his name.

The dog owner sported a t-shirt with a drawing of a pitbull on the front with the words, “My Dog is Innocent”.

On April 17, a release from the Ministry of the Attorney General stated that the Act, which aims to prohibit dogs which pose a threat to safety, will come into effect on August 1, and owners of dogs deemed dangerous under the Act — including the pitbull terrier, the fila brazileiro and the Japanese tosa — have until then to implement certain things including insuring each dog for up to $250,000 to not be in breach of the law.

However, dog lover and activist Tim Lum Kin yesterday said that the Fila and Tosas are not bred or kept locally and that the only dog being targetted by the Act is the pitbull terrier, of which he said, there are some 500,000 in this country.

“As such, what they want to implement come August 01, is nothing short of draconian, harsh and can even be deemed as discriminatory,” Lum Kin said.

It was revealed during the protest yesterday that a petition drive was underway with the hope that 20,000 signatures could be affixed to a petition calling for the repeal of the Act which would be sent to President George Maxwell Richards. The Dangerous Dogs Act, SPAR claimed in a release given out during yesterday’s protest, is a duplicate of the 1996 UK Dangerous Dog Act which was repealed in the UK in October 2011 after the UK Government spent millions of dollars after attacks by dogs increased.

SPAR members said there is a great risk that some dog owners, rather than spend money to insure their pets, will rather choose to turn the animals loose on the street and abandon them.

This they warned, could lead to unintentional attacks on persons especially if the dogs abandoned are those from security companies where the animals would have received selective training in aggression towards humans and other animals.

SPAR also said similar legislation has been repealed in developed countries including the UK, Canada, the Netherlands, Italy and Spain.

The group is also saying that it would support any legislation to make ownership of dogs in general and pitbulls in particular more controlled and regulated.

Also lending her voice in support of pitbulls is president of the organisation Animals Are Human Too and Congress of the People (COP) member Nalini Dial. She said negligent dog owners, not so-called dangerous dogs themselves, are the real reason there have been several attacks against children and adults in Trinidad and Tobago.

Dial is urging Government to amend the Dangerous Dogs Act before its scheduled proclamation on August 1. “Negligent owners (are) the problem. Irresponsible owners...You can have a dog to protect your place and people may consider it dangerous. You must have your fences secured. It is not the animal’s fault,” Dial declared in a previous interview with Newsday.

The release from the Ministry of the Attorney General which announced August 1 as the date the Dangerous Dogs Act becomes law, said the Act comes after years of attacks by pitbulls, some of which have been fatal.

Most recently, Jeremiah Harrypersadsingh, six, was hospitalised with severe face injuries after an attack by a pitbull which has since been destroyed by its owner. He would now require follow-up facial surgeries to deal with a horrible mass of scars left from the mauling.

The Act calls for licensing of dangerous dogs at a fee of $500 annually per dog, once certain conditions have been satisfied. Additionally, dangerous dogs may not be sold, bred and may be destroyed by the Ministry of Local Government.

All persons who own dangerous dogs must licence them and comply with the Act within three months of proclamation, or by November 1. It will be a summary offence to keep or own a dangerous dog.

The penalty for violation of this offence is set out as a fine of $50,000 and imprisonment for one year.

« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2012, 07:39:53 AM »
A permit? Workable and understandable.

Cant be sold or bred? So what happens when my dog dies....I left to rely on the bandit repelling capabilities of my koi fish?

Control has to be placed on irresponsible OWNERS. Of ANY breed of dog. A random pothound could rush and attack and kill someone...in fact the muddle of breeds makes it more likely that the temperament of the dog would be unstable.

But no...they prefer to copy and paste legislation that was repealed in the UK.....so badly that two dog breeds that scarce if not non existant locally on the list.

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2012, 07:48:34 AM »
'SAVE OUR PITBULLS'
By NEWSDAY STAFF Monday, April 23 2012

IN A MOVE that is sure to upset and outrage persons who have fallen victim to maulings by dogs in general and pitbulls in particular, almost 1,000 dog lovers including children staged a protest at the Queen’s Park Savannah yesterday calling for the repeal of the Dangerous Dogs Act in its present form.

The protesters, including those from the social pressure group Students Protesting Animal Rights (SPAR) are calling on Government to repeal the Act and bring legislation to deal with and regulate dog owners. They say the Act in its present form is too harsh on the dogs themselves.

“We want this law dropped as it is too draconian and harsh. Save our pitbulls. We support laws to give effect to responsible dog ownership...but this law in its present form is too draconian and may even be deemed discriminatory,” stated a dog lover who did not give his name.

The dog owner sported a t-shirt with a drawing of a pitbull on the front with the words, “My Dog is Innocent”.

On April 17, a release from the Ministry of the Attorney General stated that the Act, which aims to prohibit dogs which pose a threat to safety, will come into effect on August 1, and owners of dogs deemed dangerous under the Act — including the pitbull terrier, the fila brazileiro and the Japanese tosa — have until then to implement certain things including insuring each dog for up to $250,000 to not be in breach of the law.

However, dog lover and activist Tim Lum Kin yesterday said that the Fila and Tosas are not bred or kept locally and that the only dog being targetted by the Act is the pitbull terrier, of which he said, there are some 500,000 in this country.

“As such, what they want to implement come August 01, is nothing short of draconian, harsh and can even be deemed as discriminatory,” Lum Kin said.

It was revealed during the protest yesterday that a petition drive was underway with the hope that 20,000 signatures could be affixed to a petition calling for the repeal of the Act which would be sent to President George Maxwell Richards. The Dangerous Dogs Act, SPAR claimed in a release given out during yesterday’s protest, is a duplicate of the 1996 UK Dangerous Dog Act which was repealed in the UK in October 2011 after the UK Government spent millions of dollars after attacks by dogs increased.

SPAR members said there is a great risk that some dog owners, rather than spend money to insure their pets, will rather choose to turn the animals loose on the street and abandon them.

This they warned, could lead to unintentional attacks on persons especially if the dogs abandoned are those from security companies where the animals would have received selective training in aggression towards humans and other animals.

SPAR also said similar legislation has been repealed in developed countries including the UK, Canada, the Netherlands, Italy and Spain.

The group is also saying that it would support any legislation to make ownership of dogs in general and pitbulls in particular more controlled and regulated.

Also lending her voice in support of pitbulls is president of the organisation Animals Are Human Too and Congress of the People (COP) member Nalini Dial. She said negligent dog owners, not so-called dangerous dogs themselves, are the real reason there have been several attacks against children and adults in Trinidad and Tobago.

Dial is urging Government to amend the Dangerous Dogs Act before its scheduled proclamation on August 1. “Negligent owners (are) the problem. Irresponsible owners...You can have a dog to protect your place and people may consider it dangerous. You must have your fences secured. It is not the animal’s fault,” Dial declared in a previous interview with Newsday.

The release from the Ministry of the Attorney General which announced August 1 as the date the Dangerous Dogs Act becomes law, said the Act comes after years of attacks by pitbulls, some of which have been fatal.

Most recently, Jeremiah Harrypersadsingh, six, was hospitalised with severe face injuries after an attack by a pitbull which has since been destroyed by its owner. He would now require follow-up facial surgeries to deal with a horrible mass of scars left from the mauling.

The Act calls for licensing of dangerous dogs at a fee of $500 annually per dog, once certain conditions have been satisfied. Additionally, dangerous dogs may not be sold, bred and may be destroyed by the Ministry of Local Government.

All persons who own dangerous dogs must licence them and comply with the Act within three months of proclamation, or by November 1. It will be a summary offence to keep or own a dangerous dog.

The penalty for violation of this offence is set out as a fine of $50,000 and imprisonment for one year.

someone shoulda leggo a few of dem pitbulls in that protest and see what happen.

« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2012, 08:15:06 AM »
The law is silly , any dog can be a dangerous dog. So what happens if a dog that not on the list attack someone? . 250,000 insurance? Why only 3 breeds ?  So responsible owners have to pay the price now?

I can see people will have to kill their dog , because they don't have the money which is sad
« Last Edit: April 23, 2012, 08:16:47 AM by D.H.W »

« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2012, 10:32:43 AM »
So responsible owners have to pay the price now?

That is the very unfortunate part,, Peter have to pay for Paul. Pitt's recently get banned in ontario for that reason... highly irresponsible owners like in the case of dinhos story

Did I read that right? it have half a million pit bull in T&T??.....de population is only 2 million people and way less is dog owners,,fellahs coastin with 12 and 13 ah dem dog in dey yard or wha?
Little known Fact:: Oh gaardoo ah reach 9200 posts
Ah movin like mih pardner west coast

« Reply #9 on: April 23, 2012, 11:26:32 PM »
So responsible owners have to pay the price now?

That is the very unfortunate part,, Peter have to pay for Paul. Pitt's recently get banned in ontario for that reason... highly irresponsible owners like in the case of dinhos story

Did I read that right? it have half a million pit bull in T&T??.....de population is only 2 million people and way less is dog owners,,fellahs coastin with 12 and 13 ah dem dog in dey yard or wha?

Used to have plenty "pompek" when it was fashionable, then yuh start to see pompek pothound until Manning bring in the cantonese.
Probably going to see pibull pothound soon an maybe less cantonese.

« Reply #10 on: May 16, 2012, 02:56:35 AM »
MAULED
Dogs attack pregnant woman, undergoes surgery to save arm
By Susan Mohammed (T&T Express).
Story Created: May 15, 2012 at 10:58 PM ECT

A PREGNANT woman underwent emergency surgery yesterday to save her arm after she was mauled by three dogs.

Two of the dogs are mixed with the pitbull breed.

Kurleen Cooper, 36, who is five months pregnant, yesterday complained she was not feeling any movement in her womb after she was attacked by the dogs at Pt Fortin.

The dogs tore the flesh off her left arm and bit her on the head, hands, inner leg, left ear and stomach.

Cooper's family said they were told by doctors last night the surgery would attempt to reconstruct the damaged arm or amputate it. 

Cooper is the mother of three other children, aged six, seven and 17.

She was walking along South Central Road, Pt Fortin shortly after 8 a.m. after dropping her children to school and was heading back home.

She was passing a house owned by businessman Ronnie Maharaj when one of the dogs ran out from the property and charged at her.

Maharaj buys and sells fish and was said to have acquired the dogs after he was robbed a number of times.

The two other dogs, which are mixed with the pitbull breed, followed and leapt on Cooper and knocked her down.

The dogs bit Cooper about her body, and the pregnant woman fought back, she told relatives.

Cooper's sister, Kurlet Cooper Julien, said: "She told me that she was fighting back. She told me when she got the bites, she actually bit one of the dogs. She was kicking the dogs. Because she was kicking, they bit the inner part of her legs."

Police were told that the dogs were "called off" by one of Maharaj's employees.

Cooper was rescued from the roadside by a passerby and residents from the area, who contacted the police and the Emergency Medical Services.

She was rushed to the Point Fortin Area Hospital for treatment, where her wounds were bandaged and she was given a tetanus shot.

She was later transferred to the San Fernando General Hospital and her condition was listed as "serious". 

"She told doctors that she is not feeling the baby. They checked and there was movement, but when she came to the hospital, she said she felt something was wrong with the baby. The family is traumatised. I wouldn't even wish this on my worst enemy," said Julien.

The dogs were loose in the yard, and there is no gate installed to the front of the house, according to an employee of Maharaj who was at the Point Fortin Police Station assisting investigations yesterday.

However, June Garib, Maharaj's wife, said when she left for work at 5 a.m., the three dogs, along with three others they own, were chained at the back of the house.

"When I came home I saw the dogs tied. I asked if anyone let go the dogs and they said 'no'. I don't know if it's my dogs that bit the lady."

« Reply #11 on: May 16, 2012, 05:02:43 AM »
Mixed breed again.

And how dey go have dogs like that in an open yard?  :banginghead:
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Re: Re: Mauled to death by pitbulls
« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2012, 05:19:12 AM »
Mixed breed again.

When I see that on news I could not believe that, is people so that should pay the insurance not the responsible owners, rel slackness.

« Reply #13 on: May 16, 2012, 10:38:33 AM »
mash the dogs mashup the owner all ah going to the hospital .

« Reply #14 on: May 16, 2012, 12:43:32 PM »
Mixed breed again.

When I see that on news I could not believe that, is people so that should pay the insurance not the responsible owners, rel slackness.

d owners responsible until until somethin happen then? a prominent judge owns a house in my n'hood..one way in one way out and his house u must pass to come in and go out...he has a pitbull mix and a pitbull and oftentimes one or d other does b liming outside A CLOSED GATE...and sometimes when one is walking the gate is ajar...tired complain to d man himself and he would always swear that d dogs locked up...i have no sympathy to owners. none.

« Reply #15 on: May 16, 2012, 03:57:53 PM »
Mixed breed again.

d owners responsible until until somethin happen then? a prominent judge owns a house in my n'hood..one way in one way out and his house u must pass to come in and go out...he has a pitbull mix and a pitbull and oftentimes one or d other does b liming outside A CLOSED GATE...and sometimes when one is walking the gate is ajar...tired complain to d man himself and he would always swear that d dogs locked up...i have no sympathy to owners. none.

De dogs musbe have control of de gate.

« Reply #16 on: May 16, 2012, 07:24:22 PM »
Mixed breed again.

De dogs musbe have control of de gate.

CO-SIGNNNNN

« Reply #17 on: June 02, 2012, 05:50:21 AM »
Woman fined $200 after dogs maul boy, 4
By Newsday Staff Saturday, June 2 2012

IN finding her guilty of failing to muzzle two vicious dogs who mauled four-year-old Ezekiel Renne-Cambridge, a magistrate yesterday told Vidya Emrith she ought not to return the dogs to her home in Palmiste, San Fernando where the attack took place last year.

Magistrate Alicia Chankar advised Emrith, 57, to heed the pending enactment of the amended Dangerous Dogs Act which takes effect on August 1.

Chankar, presiding in the San Fernando Magistrates’ Court, imposed the maximum fine of $200 on Emrith, a businesswoman of Palmiste. The new law imposes stiffer penalties but is only applicable to pitbulls, Japanese Tosa and Fila Brasileiro breeds. There are calls for the law to be reviewed to include all dangerous dogs.

Chankar told Emrith she had came perilously close to being charged with contempt for failing to disclose to the court where her German Shepherd mixed Akita, and pure-bred German Shepherd dogs were being kept.

On April 12, 2011, the dogs ran out of Emrith’s yard at Cinnamon Court, Palmiste, and attacked Ezekiel on Chrisse Street. So bad were the injuries, the boy spent several months at San Fernando General Hospital.

The dogs bit Ezekiel on his back, hands and thighs so viciously, Chankar commented, that the boy would not be able to engage in activities as most boys his age do.

The police led evidence that when they went to Emrith’s home on April 13 and asked where the two dogs were, she refused, but replied, “I would die for my dogs.”

Emrith was charged by Cpl Kelvin Samarroo with permitting the dogs to go at large without a muzzle contrary to Section 16 of the Dangerous Dogs Act.

A trial was conducted in which Samaroo testified that when he visited Emrith at her home, the dogs were not at the house and a police photographer was unable to obtain photographs. Emrith refused to reveal where they dogs were sent.

Ezekiel’s grandmother, Yolande Renne, also testified and described the dog attack. She wept when she spoke about how the larger German Shepherd kept biting her grandson though she kept hitting the dog on its legs.

Emrith defended the charge and denied her dogs were vicious, but admitted they had attacked two people before Ezekiel and one of them was a boy. The same dogs killed another dog in the neighbourhood.

Corporal Russell Ramoutar, who prosecuted the case, asked Emrith to tell the court where the dogs were kept, and she refused to answer at first. Pressed by the magistrate to answer, Emrith said they were being kept at a home for animals. She told the court she could not reveal its location.

In her ruling, Chankar said it was not about who physically let the dogs out, but why, after two previous attacks, the dogs were not muzzled.

Chankar said, “I find you guilty Ms Emrith, for failing to muzzle those dogs. If, after the previous incidents, the dogs were muzzled, this would not have happened to young Cambridge. I did not want the grandmother to go through the trauma of revealing the injuries listed in the medical certificate, but young Cambridge, though back to school, cannot engage in activities boys his age would engage in.”

After Emrith’s attorney Azeem Mohammed pleaded for leniency, Ramoutar told Chankar his only concern was whether the businesswoman had gotten rid of the dogs.

“What guarantee (do) we have that Ms Emrith would not collect the dogs and bring them back?” Ramoutar asked the court.

Chankar said while she did not have the authority to order Emrith to disclose where the dogs were, she hoped Emrith would not retrieve the dogs and take them back to her home.

“I hope you will keep in mind the new Dog Act that is on the way, and that you feel a sense of responsibility as a dog owner, to take precaution.” Chankar then called Renne who was sitting in court. The magistrate expressed the court’s sympathy for Ezekiel’s injuries. She asked Renne if she had anything to say and the woman replied, “I would not like to see those dogs back. My grandson was attacked from behind. People in the area do not want those dogs back again.”

Emrith apologised to Renne and said, “I want you to know that I cared for your grandson, more than I was concerned for the dogs.”

Chankar, in ordering Emrith to pay the fine forthwith, commented that it would take time before Ezekiel is healed of the wounds.

“As a mother myself,” Chankar added. “I feel great sympathy for this child, because he is deprived of what a normal five-year-old child would engage in.”Ezekiel’s relatives expressed relief that the trial was over.

“It’s like a huge burden off our shoulders, as all the time we had the impression that the dogs were more important,” said a relative, who did not want to be named.

Relatives called Ezekiel a “walking miracle.”

“You ever see a dog run over by a vehicle, Ezekiel was looking just like that. His intestines were ripped out, his bladder hanging out.

When you look at his back a hunk of tissue was outside, the doctor told us he was bitten just a fraction away from his spinal cord. One bite narrowly missed his navel. His hands, his face, his neck, all over his body. I prayed that his eyes weren’t damaged,” a relative recalled.

Ezekiel spent more than two months in and out of the San Fernando General Hospital (SFGH) and last July he travelled to Miami for further treatment. He is expected to return to Miami in August for more tests.

“We know God brought him from very very far and today we pray for inner healing because we don’t know how long it will take before he is completely healed.”

With the Dangerous Dogs Act now under review, relatives expressed the view that heavy fines should be imposed on irresponsible dog owners.

Vidya Emrith

« Reply #18 on: June 02, 2012, 08:55:35 AM »
Dog bites human......dog needs to be destroyed. Simple. Only extenuating circumstances should be if the dog was unreasonably provoked or defending its master or property (as in burglaries)

And why did the accused attend court wearing a jacket and a nightdress?  :rotfl:

« Reply #19 on: June 07, 2012, 02:57:02 AM »
AG: New laws for all dogs
Thursday, June 7 2012
T&T Newsday

ATTORNEY GENERAL (AG) Anand Ramlogan yesterday disclosed Government will no longer be proclaiming into law the Dangerous Dogs Act, passed in 2000, on August 31.

In its place, Government will bring a new law to Parliament in the next three to four months that “does not aim to prohibit or eliminate certain specific breeds of dogs”, but aims for, “responsible management, ownership and control of dogs.”

Addressing the post-Cabinet news conference, Ramlogan said Cabinet approved a position paper drafted by the Law Reform Commission which was “at variance” with the Dangerous Dogs Act 2000.

Recalling the Act aimed for “an elimination, outright ban and prohibition on certain dogs which are specified”, the new legislation, “seeks to promote and ensure public safety with an accent on responsible management and control of dogs.”

He was confident that this will, “strike the right balance between public safety being of paramount importance to the Government and the constitutional right of persons to have a pet and own a dog of their choice.”

Noting some citizens might be concerned that existing penalties for victims of dog attacks were too small, Ramlogan said he would consider suggestions of raising the criminal fine from $200 to $1,000, but stressed the issue is not as simple as many people believe it to be.

Explaining that dogs will be categorised into Class A (dogs shown to display dangerous behaviour) and Class B (dogs which are not known to pose any threat), Ramlogan said persons with Class A dogs will require insurance of up to $250,000 per dog.

“That is important because when people have been attacked the cry for justice has been one that fell on deaf ears in terms of compensation,” he stated.

Indicating the legislation will look at instances where a person is mauled by a Class A dog, Ramlogan said consideration would be given for, “extra compensation for injuries so grievous that $250,000 insurance will not be adequate.”

Stating persons who refuse to comply with this law will be subject to heavy fines and penalties. Ramlogan warned, “Repeat offenders will have the dogs taken away and there may even be a term of imprisonment to follow.”

He said the legislation will also ask, “for a complete restriction of all dogs in certain public places such as malls, restaurants, shops, parks, whether leashed or muzzled or not.”

After stating dangerous dog owners must have specific fencing around their property to secure their dogs, Ramlogan said registration and licence systems will be established for Class A dogs and these licences will be valid for a period of two years.

“No such licence will be issued to anyone under 18,” he stated. Should a person own more than two Class A dogs, Ramlogan said, “The licence fee will go up progressively on a tiered basis.”

However if a person has Class A dogs which are spayed or neutered, he said there would be “consideration for reduction in licence fees.”

He also said the new legislation will have special rules in place for dogs which are used by the protective services and private security firms for drug and explosive detection which was not catered for in the 2000 Act.