April 19, 2024, 09:18:57 AM

Author Topic: Spanish soucoyant blows her inheritance  (Read 6499 times)

Spanish soucoyant blows her inheritance
« on: August 12, 2011, 12:55:03 PM »
Duchess signs away chunks of fortune to marry at 85

OOPS sorry...my mistake here is her actual picture

The Associated Press

MADRID, Spain — It's the stuff of a soap opera starring European nobles: at age 85, one of Spain's richest and most title-laden women wants to wed a civil servant young enough to be her son. To placate her six wary children, she's signed over to them palatial chunks of her wealth.

She's a distant relative of Queen Elizabeth and Winston Churchill and you have to take a deep breath just to pronounce her name: Maria del Rosario Cayetana Alfonsa Victoria Eugenia Francisca Fitz-James Stuart y de Silva.

The twice-married matriarch's supreme title is Duchess of Alba, but she has more than 40 others. Her 60-year-old beau is a man named Alfonso Diez, who works for the Spanish social security administration.

They first met decades ago because her then husband -- No. 2 -- was friends with Diez's brother, an antiques dealer, and after running into each at a movie theatre about three years ago the duchess and Diez eventually started dating.

The Duchess of Alba said in a rare radio interview early this year that she wanted to marry Diez but her children -- five men and a woman -- were against it. She denied any suggestion Diez was a gold-digger.

"Alfonso does not want anything. He has renounced everything," she told COPE radio. "All he wants is me."

Last month the duchess and her children went to a notary in Madrid and she registered them to be owners of palaces, castles and other property around Spain upon her death, according to widespread Spanish press reports. For now, though, she will retain control of the fortune of the more than 500-year-old House of Alba.

A representative for the duchess, Lola Morali, declined to comment, saying in an email Wednesday that she and the duchess were on vacation until September.

The early divvying up of most of the vast family pie appears to have appeased her children at least somewhat.

Her youngest son, Cayetano Martinez de Irujo, age 48, said last week of his mother's desire to marry Diez: "We have found the solution for her to be able to do it."

He said he and his siblings remained unenthused, however, about the idea of nuptials.

"I absolutely accept their relationship, if it is what they say it is," Martinez de Irujo said, but insisted they should not wed.

"If in the end my mother decides to get married, we will attend even though we still do not agree," Martinez de Irujo told the newspaper El Mundo.

Another newspaper, El Pais, said estimates of the duchess' wealth -- it includes paintings by Goya and Velazquez and a first edition copy of Cervantes' "Don Quixote" -- range widely from $856 million to $5 billion.

But her fortune is hard to calculate. Partly it's because some of it is in stocks -- by nature volatile, especially these days. And the art masterpieces, classified as Spanish national heritage by the government, cannot be removed from the country and thus would be less pricey if auctioned, according to Jose Luis Sampredro, a historian who has written a book on the House of Alba.

What's more, the duchess possesses things like historical documents that are simply priceless, Sampredro said in an interview.

"Who can say how much a letter from Christopher Columbus is worth, and she has several," he said.

Re: Spanish soucoyant blows her inheritance
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2011, 02:58:19 PM »
Yuh sure dais not Joan Rivers?

« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2011, 03:25:07 PM »
 :-X

Rich Spanish duchess weds for third time at age 85
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2011, 02:18:25 PM »
Rich Spanish duchess weds for third time at age 85
By DANIEL WOOLLS and MIGUEL ANGEL MORENATTI - Associated Press | AP – 5 hrs ago
http://news.yahoo.com/rich-spanish-duchess-weds-third-time-age-85-124341285.html

SEVILLE, Spain (AP) — A wealthy, 85-year-old Spanish duchess considered the world's most title-laden noble married a civil servant 25 years her junior on Wednesday, shrugging off her children's qualms and celebrating by kicking off her shoes and dancing flamenco.

A crowd of several hundred clapped and roared its approval as the Duchess of Alba waved, smiled and danced on a red carpet after her wedding to Alfonso Diez at Palacio de las Duenas, her 15th-century residence in the cobblestoned old quarter of Seville.

Diez stood close by in a dark suit, smiling and holding an outstretched arm at the ready, as if to catch his bride if she stumbled. The duchess hiked up her dress as she performed a few whirling steps of Spain's quintessential art form in the city perhaps best known for it.

With her frizzy white hair, squeaky voice and wildly colorful clothes, the duchess is among Spain's most famous people. Only a few dozen family members and close friends were invited to the ceremony.

The twice-widowed duchess wore a salmon, shin-length dress by Spanish designers Victorio y Lucchino on Tuesday.

Her full name — take a deep breath — is Maria del Rosario Cayetana Alfonsa Victoria Eugenia Francisca Fitz-James Stuart y de Silva. She goes by simply Cayetana, and is a distant relative of Queen Elizabeth and Winston Churchill.

She and Diez, a social security administration employee, are old acquaintances through her second husband, who was a former Jesuit priest, and Diez's brother, an antiques dealer. They bumped into each other about three years ago outside a movie theater in Madrid and eventually started dating.

Her six children, all from her first marriage, reportedly balked when the idea of marriage emerged. In July of this year the duchess assigned them and her grandchildren juicy chunks of her vast estate, like mansions and palaces, in an effort to appease them and clear her way to the altar.

"I have been alone in this project, and got nothing but negative opinions until they realized what kind of man he is," the duchess told the Spanish news agency Efe this week in a rare interview.

Estimates of her wealth range from euro600 million ($800 million) to euro3.5 billion ($4.7 billion). Besides fabulous and historic real estate sprinkled around Spain, the family treasure boasts paintings by Goya and Velazquez, a first-edition copy of Cervantes "El Quixote", and letters written by Christopher Columbus.

However, although owned by the 500-year-old House of Alba, the artwork and some other property is classified as part of Spain's national heritage and cannot be sold without government permission.

Diez will be entering a new world, although he has reportedly signed a document renouncing any claim to the House of Alba wealth. As a civil servant in Madrid he earned euro1,500 ($2,000) a month. Now he will live in splendor as a duke, reportedly with plans to take a leave of absence from his day job, although the noble title will pass on to the duchess's eldest son, Carlos, when she dies.

Two of the children did not attend the wedding. Her only daughter, Eugenia, was reported to hospitalized in Madrid with chicken pox, while one of her sons, named Jacobo and reportedly unhappy with his slice of the family fortune — was said to be traveling outside Spain.

The matriarch's supreme title is Duchess of Alba, but she has more than 40 others — in fact, more than anyone else in the world, according to Guinness World Records.

Re: Rich Spanish duchess weds for third time at age 85
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2011, 02:24:59 PM »
The comments on the Yahoo page are priceless:

Duchess of Whoville?

she must have been a looker before electricity was invented.

She looks like a blocked punt

Holy smokes ! Let me guess. Her plastic surgeon was Dr. Seuss ?

I think it should have been a closed casket ceremony.

She's 85? She doesn't look a day over 112.

« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2011, 02:39:50 PM »
Just imagine meh boy have to get down dey and nyam on that shrivel up prune....  :puking:

I aint think it have enough money could compensate me for that nuh.

« Reply #6 on: October 05, 2011, 02:52:59 PM »

« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2011, 03:06:52 PM »
Daft for the $5 BILLION..... would you hit it?

That man is ah brave hardcore badmind fella...

Do not click if you just ate... or considering eating in de next few hours

Worth $5 Billion?

« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2011, 03:18:40 PM »
any man who could make that ting cum deserve some cash.....imagine that sittin dong on yuh face,de nanny lips go reach yuh ears

« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2011, 05:27:30 PM »
^^^would you hit?

« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2011, 05:54:53 PM »
any man who could make that ting cum deserve some cash.....imagine that sittin dong on yuh face,de nanny lips go reach yuh ears

« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2011, 08:04:56 PM »
Oh gawd no....solider real brave but den again is ah financial investment for life. If I was saddess it go be strictly bugatti's and fake chow's

« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2011, 08:05:53 PM »
^^^would you hit?
i might do it but meh toetee go b skeered

« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2011, 09:42:00 PM »
That is why they invented paper bags (you'll need two, one for you and one for her in case one slips off).  Even then I'd still do it from behind just in case.

Anyone think the guy looks a bit like Roberto Mancini?
« Last Edit: October 05, 2011, 10:20:38 PM by theworm2345 »

« Reply #14 on: October 06, 2011, 09:58:58 AM »
That is why they invented paper bags (you'll need two, one for you and one for her in case one slips off).  Even then I'd still do it from behind just in case.

:rotfl: :rotfl: Mancini for real....like he say enough grey hair with City, best I just bite the bullet with granny and earn more than de entire roster put together

« Reply #15 on: October 06, 2011, 11:03:11 AM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: Mancini for real....like he say enough grey hair with City, best I just bite the bullet with granny and earn more than de entire roster put together
Ah paper bag with that pic pasted on it, but no worries, wid money like dat Capo and I will clean dat up NP :laugh: :devil: :beermug:

« Reply #16 on: October 06, 2011, 11:05:25 AM »
^^^would you hit?

would YOU hit?

$5,000,000,000? doh lie eh!  dais a lifetime of VIP liverpool tickets :devil:

« Reply #17 on: October 06, 2011, 11:06:20 AM »

Ah paper bag with that pic pasted on it, but no worries, wid money like dat Capo and I will clean dat up NP :laugh: :devil: :beermug:

« Reply #18 on: October 06, 2011, 12:22:18 PM »
^^^would you hit?

would YOU hit?

$5,000,000,000? doh lie eh!  dais a lifetime of VIP liverpool tickets :devil:

I have a front seat to de action in HD every Saturday morning... unless de marriage coming wid some kinda non-cohabitation decree, I good... I eh like Liverpool DAT facking much  :D

« Reply #19 on: October 06, 2011, 08:49:46 PM »
Daft for the $5 BILLION..... would you hit it?

That man is ah brave hardcore badmind fella...

Do not click if you just ate... or considering eating in de next few hours

Worth $5 Billion?

FF get out meh house...  ;D (yuh conspiring with meh wife, she email meh de article and ask meh if ah go tap that ass for de fortune) I reply that no concoction or combination of Boisbande, Viagra, Cialis, Linseed Punch or all the oysters in the Chesapeake go make lil Daft salute. 5 billion tempting, ah could buy Caledonia AiA, Lil Tobago, have a chile with ah tobago gyul, meh mansion in Toco, and meh powerboat winnin great race every year, get dread locks implants etc.

« Reply #20 on: October 06, 2011, 09:06:08 PM »
The comments on the Yahoo page are priceless:

« Reply #21 on: October 07, 2011, 11:55:34 AM »

Allyuh killin meh

« Reply #22 on: October 07, 2011, 02:43:35 PM »

Damn, she was quite attractive, if that is indeed her picture.

The years have certainly not been kind to her.

« Reply #23 on: October 08, 2011, 09:47:35 AM »
She was sweet back in the day, but i doh know what happen after that  :-\

« Last Edit: October 08, 2011, 09:49:11 AM by D.H.W »

« Reply #24 on: October 08, 2011, 10:50:56 AM »
It's pretty obvious "what happen after that"... she get old and having a hard time accepting it.

« Reply #25 on: October 08, 2011, 11:01:22 AM »
It's pretty obvious "what happen after that"... she get old and having a hard time accepting it.

And using plastic surgery to make it wuss!

« Reply #26 on: October 08, 2011, 02:27:19 PM »
And using plastic surgery to make it wuss!

That's what I was referring to by the "hard time accepting it" part. 

Shouldn't you be out and about anyways?