April 23, 2024, 06:34:20 AM

Author Topic: T&T Athletes' Realistic Finals & Medal Chances For 2012 London Olympics!!  (Read 13083 times)

With the 2011 World Athletics Championships now out of the way, I think it is only appropriate to start a new thread to discuss T&T's realistic finals & medal potential for the London Olympics next Year based upon what we just saw from our athletes and improvements that can be made for the next season (Olympic Year!)!!

I think the men can recover from the disaster that just happened come Olympics and we can definitely have at least 1 finalist in the individual 100m sprint (our pet event) and medal in the Men's 4 x 100m relay.
Also keep in mind how well Sorrillo did to make the 200m final.

Both Richard and Rondel need to put on a bit more muscle for next year in time for Olympics! Richard should run more 200ms & Rondel should run more 100ms! If they both do this and remain injury free next season then they could each be finalists and medal contenders in their specialist event next year! I also think if RT concentrates on running more 200ms as well he could well end up being in the 200m final in addition to the 100m final if all goes well!

I think come London 2012 Olympics we can positively hope for finalists in all these T&F events:-

MEN
100m - RT & KB
200m - RS
400m - RQ
100mH - WD (youngster who just switched from the USA to T&T, has Trini parents)
400mH - JG
4 x 100m relay
4 x 400m relay (possible if one or two of our quarter milers improve and we pick the best team)

WOMEN
100m - KAB & SH
200m - KAB & KS (KAB needs to train for 200m as well come Olympics & she'll definitely make the final)
400mH - Lucas (If she has an injury free season next year)
4 x 100m relay
Shotput - CB

I think our men's 4 x 400m team has a lot of potential to do much better come Olympics and hopefully qualify for the relay final but I think the NAAA needs to get their act together for everything to fall into place for Olympics!!

The NAAA should also be supporting pushing more T&T athletes to train hard for the other field events like long jump, high jump, etc and send them out more regularly to meets to compete with other world class field athletes!!

I would also like to see some heads rolls at the NAAA especially for the fiasco that happened with Jehue in the hurdles! These embarrassing problems with the NAAA seem to be ongoing and someone needs to be held responsible!

You are all welcomed to add you comments/suggestions to this Olympics discussion thread!

I see the realistic potential for T&T to come back home from Olympics with at least 4 to 5 medals if we do what we should from now and our NAAA gets their act together and gives our athletes the right support!

What do you guys say?!
« Last Edit: September 19, 2011, 02:27:23 PM by Socapro »

Offline STMB

Re: T&T Athletes' Realistic Finals & Medal Chances For 2012 London Olympics!!
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2011, 12:13:32 PM »
True but what a big IF

« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2011, 12:28:31 PM »
True but what a big IF

Which of the IF's are you referring to?

Offline STMB

« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2011, 12:55:29 PM »
True but what a big IF

All of them  ;D

« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2011, 01:05:56 PM »
True but what a big IF

All of them  ;D

Especially the IF about the NAAA getting their act together!!  :(
« Last Edit: September 04, 2011, 01:16:44 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2011, 05:41:01 PM »
yeah ur predictions realistic but  RT and KB need to run 200s.  i think RT even capable of medalling in the 200.

medals wise, the men and women 4x100 relay, KAB, and RT should mount the podium.  jehue has the potential to medal as well.

the unknown in the equation is the blasted NAAA.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2011, 01:34:59 PM »
Yes realistic indeed. Would love to see Richard in the 200 he has a lot of potential to be very good at it and if he outs his mind to it I believe he can be our next sub-20 runner.

Offline jason23

« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2011, 04:25:08 PM »
thank god for our woman!! and hope 2 see many more talented woman athletes coming true the system!! cause support them fellas is like, asking your horner woman 2 marry you wen uno you have ah wife at home***baccanal** i also think we need 2 educate our athletes!! alot more!! cause frm what i say.. i cud say nearly all of them fellas dumb no rass!!....
RT need 2 get his cocky attitude on ah low and start 2 perform!! doh talk perform!! and so goes for the others!!
cause after that national trails!! i could of seen him saying 2us haul we asss!! u tink i cyah perform an i is ah fluke!! bump he gum like ah star!! yet wen time 2 show the world he eh no silver fluke he flopping!! flipper!!

me i have more hope and vigour watching our woman run!! than men!! cause you can see they put there hearts into it!! and  especially someone who is more talented dan all of them put together ** actually puttin effort 2come back 2b his best!!** and working hard at IT,taking one day at a time!!! boi!! as socapro said.. you was we good luck charm!! buh god is good!!..he knows what he have instore for u!!

2012 here we come!! with tears and bottlez ah rum!!

« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2011, 04:34:48 PM »
thank god for our woman!! and hope 2 see many more talented woman athletes coming true the system!! cause support them fellas is like, asking your horner woman 2 marry you wen uno you have ah wife at home***baccanal** i also think we need 2 educate our athletes!! alot more!! cause frm what i say.. i cud say nearly all of them fellas dumb no rass!!....
RT need 2 get his cocky attitude on ah low and start 2 perform!! doh talk perform!! and so goes for the others!!
cause after that national trails!! i could of seen him saying 2us haul we asss!! u tink i cyah perform an i is ah fluke!! bump he gum like ah star!! yet wen time 2 show the world he eh no silver fluke he flopping!! flipper!!

me i have more hope and vigour watching our woman run!! than men!! cause you can see they put there hearts into it!! and  especially someone who is more talented dan all of them put together ** actually puttin effort 2come back 2b his best!!** and working hard at IT,taking one day at a time!!! boi!! as socapro said.. you was we good luck charm!! buh god is good!!..he knows what he have instore for u!!

2012 here we come!! with tears and bottlez ah rum!!

Don't be like that Jason, our male athletes all did their best, yes some underperformed but that does not take away from the 100% effort they all would have given to do well in a major championship!

I think if anyone messed up it was our NAAA having the National Trials so close (just 2 weeks before) to a major championship!

I am sure Richard would happily trade in his 9.85 NR clocking at our national trials for making the 100m final at World's & possibly medalling!
« Last Edit: September 05, 2011, 04:44:33 PM by Socapro »

Offline jason23

« Reply #9 on: September 05, 2011, 04:54:41 PM »
i understand what your saying eh!! and i wont lie some did do there best!! but yet again!! there best aint bringing medal's! and yes i fully blame the NAAA for there stupidity!! but still it's big men!! and they should no better!!! i wont lie for eg: When Richard was a no body!! he peformed his ass of to be where he is!! and after he got silver! in 2008 bej!! what has he done credible since! beside!! flop like flipper!! making the final aint important anymore it's about winning the gold!! the passion and desire!! that goes with it! and truth be told i ain't seeing it from none!! except our ladies! a few non or i should say big boi athletes! and the desire and hunger of Darrel brown 2 come back strong!!.....me im being real! yes!! i eh taking no flop as ah 100%!! yes ah go support!! with all me heart but i will critize wen i seein crap!!

« Reply #10 on: September 05, 2011, 05:27:46 PM »
i understand what your saying eh!! and i wont lie some did do there best!! but yet again!! there best aint bringing medal's! and yes i fully blame the NAAA for there stupidity!! but still it's big men!! and they should no better!!! i wont lie for eg: When Richard was a no body!! he peformed his ass of to be where he is!! and after he got silver! in 2008 bej!! what has he done credible since! beside!! flop like flipper!! making the final aint important anymore it's about winning the gold!! the passion and desire!! that goes with it! and truth be told i ain't seeing it from none!! except our ladies! a few non or i should say big boi athletes! and the desire and hunger of Darrel brown 2 come back strong!!.....me im being real! yes!! i eh taking no flop as ah 100%!! yes ah go support!! with all me heart but i will critize wen i seein crap!!

A lot of people seemed to have forgotten that Richard had a car accident after winning his Olympics silver in 2008 and did well to come back from injury in time for the previous World's in 2009 to even make the 100m final.

He hasn't shown anything like coming back to his 2008 Olympics form until our National Trials last month!

So the moral is just as you have patience for Darrel Brown and his comeback also have some patience for Richard Thompson who is now getting back to where he was in 2008!

If I am to bet on any T&T male athlete making the London Olympics 100m final next year my money would be on Richard Thompson provided he starts running more 200ms and puts on some more muscle and do what he needs to do to be up there as well with the top Jamaican sprinters!!

I'm hoping DB fulfils his true potential too as I would like to see more than one T&T 100m finalist in London whether it is going to be  Richard, Bledman and Brown or Richard, Bledman and someone else!!
« Last Edit: September 05, 2011, 05:46:06 PM by Socapro »

Offline jason23

« Reply #11 on: September 05, 2011, 06:10:29 PM »
yea! i remember that he had a big accident!! now im not disowning them!! im more you shud say!! supporting them! and yes i do have patience with darrel brown and also richard thompson!! but the injury 2 thompson and darrel is to different thing!! thompson injury wasn't that serious!! and may i ask how did he get that injury!???? what he was doin late night!!?

and second darrel injury was a recurring one !! but thank god its gone now!!!!! and there lies my reason!! one man late night venture!! cause his injury!! while a next man trying 2 better him self... true training and so on!! injurys him self!! for his country!!!!........my support will always be patient and supportive!! but a spade is a spade!! like i said....When silver fluke got his medal!! instead of training!! he late night renda vooing!! with a next athlete!!........

but 2 agree with you.. i do hope richard**silver fluke** gets back his form!! off 2008.!! everyone else truly works hard and we will see who will really medal at... 2012!! your money's on richard 2make it 2 the final!! smh!
i wont say but next year the world and trinidad will b shocked!!....lol.....

« Reply #12 on: September 05, 2011, 06:45:15 PM »
yea! i remember that he had a big accident!! now im not disowning them!! im more you shud say!! supporting them! and yes i do have patience with darrel brown and also richard thompson!! but the injury 2 thompson and darrel is to different thing!! thompson injury wasn't that serious!! and may i ask how did he get that injury!???? what he was doin late night!!?

and second darrel injury was a recurring one !! but thank god its gone now!!!!! and there lies my reason!! one man late night venture!! cause his injury!! while a next man trying 2 better him self... true training and so on!! injurys him self!! for his country!!!!........my support will always be patient and supportive!! but a spade is a spade!! like i said....When silver fluke got his medal!! instead of training!! he late night renda vooing!! with a next athlete!!........

but 2 agree with you.. i do hope richard**silver fluke** gets back his form!! off 2008.!! everyone else truly works hard and we will see who will really medal at... 2012!! your money's on richard 2make it 2 the final!! smh!
i wont say but next year the world and trinidad will b shocked!!....lol.....

Athletes also need to have fun and enjoy life as well outside of their hard training! Bolt does it so I don’t think RT did anything wrong having a bit of fun off the track! As for DB training hard, I don’t think he is the only male T&T athlete who trains hard!!

Also with regards to RT, the name calling isn't necessary! Why are you calling him Silver fluke?! You don't win Olympic silver by fluke when you run a decently fast time of 9.89!!

If RT had made the 2011 World final again and had run that same time or even the time he ran last month at the T&T national trials he would be coming back home now with a gold medal! Its all about peaking at the right time!!

In 2008 RT was just able to peak at the right time for Olympics but he has also shown that he is capable of running similarly fast times on other occasions even though he needs to be consistent!

RT just needs to become more consistent with running fast and regularly placing in the top two or three in races featuring the other top world class sprinters!

Maybe this disappointment for RT at World's is just the medicine he needs to get him motivated to prove to people like yourself that his 2008 Olympic silver won while running 9.89 was no fluke!

Also note RT possibly making the 100m Olympic finals next year in London does not exclude Darrel Brown from also making the final if he lives up to your expectations! The more T&T athletes who can make the finals the better, especially when it comes to us doing well in the 4 x 100m relay!!
« Last Edit: September 05, 2011, 07:01:12 PM by Socapro »

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #13 on: September 06, 2011, 12:32:50 AM »
Our athletes will have to buck the trend of history to individually make the finals or get medals next year. Apart from AB, our athletes generally do well one year and fail to repeat thereafter.
Wendel Mottley
Hasely Crawford
Darryl Brown
Josanne Lucas
Renny Quow?
Richard Thompson?
Kelly Ann Baptiste?

All got a medal at the world or oylmpic games one year, only to never get another medal at either games thereafter. (I know there was no wc during WM and HC time)

Offline jusbless

« Reply #14 on: September 06, 2011, 05:36:14 AM »
Nah man allyuh real disrespectful how de hell allyuh could rename RT ' Silver Fluke'

Offline jason23

« Reply #15 on: September 06, 2011, 08:06:52 AM »
i called him silver fluke!! and its not disrespectful. i see it as my opinion 2 call him silver fluke!!@ jusbless!!
But i will with hold that name from him for a while!! and actually see how he does in the olympics!!
an so to for all our other athletes!!!!!

Offline STMB

« Reply #16 on: September 06, 2011, 08:22:09 AM »
i called him silver fluke!! and its not disrespectful. i see it as my opinion 2 call him silver fluke!!@ jusbless!!
But i will with hold that name from him for a while!! and actually see how he does in the olympics!!

Jason23, so how are you doing in your daily life? Are you on your game 100% of the time, at work and home? Can we assign a name to you too if you are falling short in those regards or are we off limits? You are at liberty to call RT what you want, so let's also have a name for you then.

Not trying to be disrespectful but there are those in this forum who think they have the right through their anonymity to disrespect hard-working national athletes (DB, AA, now RT) who have more than paid their effort in sweat, tears, etc for T&T's glory and fame in the sport of track and field. ALL athletes have their ups and downs, they are not robots. While RT is not as yet at the level to win or place in the top 3 in week-in/week-out races on the circuit, he has done us proud. Yes we all wish he could be more muscular and run more 200ms but he is not naturally a muscular guy so that transformation will take time. And well he and his coach need to come to terms with his 200m workload.

However, Only Ato, Wendell Mottley, Rodney Wilkes, and the 4x100m relay team by extension has been where he has. So please don't go there, the last thing these guys need are non-factual, negative comments and sobriquets. It just does not serve to make them better.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2011, 08:24:07 AM by STMB »

« Reply #17 on: September 06, 2011, 08:37:28 AM »

Jason23, so how are you doing in your daily life? Are you on your game 100% of the time, at work and home? Can we assign a name to you too if you are falling short in those regards or are we off limits? You are at liberty to call RT what you want, so let's also have a name for you then.

Not trying to be disrespectful but there are those in this forum who think they have the right through their anonymity to disrespect hard-working national athletes (DB, AA, now RT) who have more than paid their effort in sweat, tears, etc for T&T's glory and fame in the sport of track and field. ALL athletes have their ups and downs, they are not robots. While RT is not as yet at the level to win or place in the top 3 in week-in/week-out races on the circuit, he has done us proud. Yes we all wish he could be more muscular and run more 200ms but he is not naturally a muscular guy so that transformation will take time. And well he and his coach need to come to terms with his 200m workload.

However, Only Ato, Wendell Mottley, Rodney Wilkes, and the 4x100m relay team by extension has been where he has. So please don't go there, the last thing these guys need are non-factual, negative comments and sobriquets. It just does not serve to make them better.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #18 on: September 06, 2011, 08:56:41 AM »
Agreed stmb

« Reply #19 on: September 06, 2011, 10:22:53 AM »
 :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

« Reply #20 on: September 06, 2011, 06:34:34 PM »
Our athletes will have to buck the trend of history to individually make the finals or get medals next year. Apart from AB, our athletes generally do well one year and fail to repeat thereafter.

[/size]Wendel Mottley
Hasely Crawford
Darryl Brown
Josanne Lucas
Renny Quow?
Richard Thompson?
Kelly Ann Baptiste?

All got a medal at the world or oylmpic games one year, only to never get another medal at either games thereafter. (I know there was no wc during WM and HC time)

...and that is the truth..why do you think so ?

Offline STMB

« Reply #21 on: September 06, 2011, 07:36:10 PM »

[/size]Wendel Mottley
Hasely Crawford
Darryl Brown
Josanne Lucas
Renny Quow?
Richard Thompson?
Kelly Ann Baptiste?

...and that is the truth..why do you think so ?

Wendell Mottley won silver in the 64 Olympics then ran faster to win gold in the 66 Commonwealth games in Jamaica, and followed by anchoring T&T to a world record equalling run in the then mile relay

Hasely Crawford was not a one hit wonder. He won a bronze in the 70 Commonwealth, made the 72 Olympic finals but pulled up, won the NCAA 100 yards in 1975?, the Olympics in 1976, bronze in the 78 Commonwealth and tailed off after that, but remained the best in T&T through the early 80s

Darrel Brown has been excelling since age 14, hardly a one time wonder. You might as well put a ?? by him and Josanne too, they not done yet...BTW he might surprise some of you all at next month's Panam Games in Mexico. Since you have a question mark by RT, RQ, KAB, why not put one by Jehue too? Your prognosis is premature.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2011, 01:23:29 PM by STMB »

Offline fLaSh

« Reply #22 on: September 07, 2011, 04:54:55 PM »

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #23 on: September 19, 2011, 05:38:51 PM »
Lest continue this discussion on the prospects of our T&T athletes for next season & Olympics!

Please name the T&T athlete you are supporting and then give some positive feedback on what you think they need to do to improve enough to make the finals at Olympics next year and hopefully medal!

The aim is to have at least one T&T athlete making the finals in all these events for both our men & women:-

Men: 100m, 200m, 400m, 110mH, 400mH, 4 x 100m relay, 4 x 400m relay, Shot Put, Discus
Women: 100m, 200m, 400m, 100mH, 400mH, 4 x 100m relay, 4 x 400m relay, Shop Put, Discus

So I’ll get started; I’m supporting Richard Thompson and this is what I would like to see my athlete do next season to assure that he does not only make the Olympic 100m final (& hopefully 200m final as well) but is a serious medal contender who can sub-10 (or sub-20) when required to always be one of the top 2 or 3 finishers in his races;

So these are the things I want to see RT do for next season to help him establish himself as one of the top 5 ranked sprinters in the world:

1. Build a bit more muscle to help generate more power for the last 50 meters of his race to increase his top end speed so he can hit another gear if required.
2. Run more 200ms to help build his top end speed endurance.
3. Improve his starts so that he can consistently match fast starters like Kim Collins & Asafa Powell.
4. Start running more regular sub-10s so it becomes something he can do as will whenever required.
5. Equal or set a new 100m & 200m PBs before Olympics to confirm your form and preferably outside of T&T and before the T&T Olympic trials.
6. Run a sub-20 for the 200m.
7. Defend national 100m title?
8. Also qualifying to also run the 200m at Olympics
9. Don’t allow old man Kim Collins to beat you so many times next season otherwise folks may start calling for Ato to come back out of retirement as well!

In fact I'd like to see these things from all our sprinters but Richard is the man who I feel as real potential to run a 9.7x if all things come together for him on the right day with the right conditions.
In fact RT's aim for next year should be to match and beat Yohan Blake who is younger than him but he'll have to be prepared to work just as hard as Blake or even harder to catch up with him!!

« Reply #24 on: September 19, 2011, 05:48:58 PM »
If things don't change drastically..RT eh winning another medal in a major meet again.

He cyar beat Powell, Blake, Bolt, Dix, Le Matriere (sp) or Tyson Gay!

« Reply #25 on: September 19, 2011, 05:59:38 PM »
If things don't change drastically..RT eh winning another medal in a major meet again.

He cyar beat Powell, Blake, Bolt, Dix, Le Matriere (sp) or Tyson Gay!

So which T&T athlete are you supporting for an Olympic medal and what tips would you give them to ensure they maximize their medal chances?

« Reply #26 on: September 19, 2011, 06:15:28 PM »
I support them all.  Listen I love golf, I can play a little, every once and again I hit a world class shot....I know my limitations, I jes pointing out the limitations of our athletes.

Richard HAS TO RUN MANY MORE 200's and even some 350's to build that core strength!

Do you think that Jeter, Blake etc...started running PB's in the same year they start running 200's is a coincidence?

Ato been saying this for ever and the proof is there for all to see..the man knows what he is talking about!

Brown needs to do the same, Sorillo needs to add a few 4's too..build that core strength...when the race matters most our athletes fall apart..Kelly Ann needs a few more under her belt also...she can beat these people if he does!

« Reply #27 on: September 21, 2011, 07:05:25 PM »
I support them all.  Listen I love golf, I can play a little, every once and again I hit a world class shot....I know my limitations, I jes pointing out the limitations of our athletes.

Richard HAS TO RUN MANY MORE 200's and even some 350's to build that core strength!

Do you think that Jeter, Blake etc...started running PB's in the same year they start running 200's is a coincidence?

Ato been saying this for ever and the proof is there for all to see..the man knows what he is talking about!

Brown needs to do the same, Sorillo needs to add a few 4's too..build that core strength...when the race matters most our athletes fall apart..Kelly Ann needs a few more under her belt also...she can beat these people if he does!

Good post!
Ah just hope all our top athletes or their coaches & management are reading/listening!
If they take heed then they could be coming back home as heroes with a record medal haul at the end of the London Olympics next!
On the other hand if they don’t take heed and want to take it easy and to play the starboy role before they've achieved anything on the global stage then they could be looking at a similar showing to what they just had at recent Worlds come London Olympics next year!
I hope they all go for the former rather than the latter by taking Ato's & TC's solid advice!
« Last Edit: September 21, 2011, 07:38:47 PM by Socapro »

Bump!  :beermug:

Offline Aviator

BUMP AGAIN!!!....LOL

I want to bring back attention to our male 4x1 team. They represent the country's best and most likely chance of bringing back a medal in T&F. Out of all the teams/individuals entered, they are the only ones that do not have more that 2 teams/individuals ranked ahead of them.

Anyways with all that said, I think we should shake up the apple cart a little. I know Richard has been anchoring for the past few years, but until further notice, Bledman has clearly displaced him as #1 trini. Bledman has lead off a few times, but has never been able to make any real dent in any of our major opponents(USA, JAM) on that first leg and if I recall correctly has given up distance. Curve running is not his thing and its about time those in charge of the relay recognize that. Richard IMO is the best starter/turn runner that we have and I believe he should lead off. Nesta Carter and Trell Kimmons will not do to RT what they did to Bledman last year. However Bledman should comfortably match anything RT has ever done on anchor leg.

So I propose: Richard-Burns-Callendar-Bledman. Let Sorrillio pop off in the heat, so he will get a medal

With clean hand-offs that squad is definitely capable of going sub-37.50, which put us in silver medal territory.

Discuss!!
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.