March 28, 2024, 02:57:29 PM

Author Topic: Football alert — watch for Shaquell Moore  (Read 28471 times)

Football alert — watch for Shaquell Moore
« on: September 08, 2011, 05:16:19 AM »
Football alert — watch for Shaquell Moore
T&T Newsday

THE national football hierachy is alerted to keep an eye out for Shaquell “Shaq” Moore.

This 14-year-old youngster, the son of ex-Signal Hill standout Wendell Moore, has earned a call up to the United States Under-17 Soccer Residency Programme.

He is one of 40 top soccer starlets called to begin training shortly with a view to selection on the United States under-17 national squad.

According to information, only the very best players are asked to join this under-17 residency programme which has become a symbol of United States soccer.

From age four, Shaquell became the protege of Tobago-born coach Bertyl “Plep” Baird, who is credited with forming his early football years at Lauderhill, Florida.

Also playing a part in Shaquell’s development were Trinidadian Garvin Quamina and Signal Hill, St Clair’s Coaching School and ex-national coach Bertille St Clair, who also coached his dad Wendell.

Shaquell comes from an eminent Tobago family which include attorney Deborah Moore-Miggins and nursing administrator Karen Moore-Nicholson.

Added to this, his sporting genes were also derived from his mother Michelle Goddard of Calder Hall,

The young “Shaq” as he is popularly called, said his international exposure began with a tour to the United Kingdom in 2008 through advisor Paul Maye.

Already, “Shaq” who is currently playing for Cobb Futbol Club/GI-SA Soccer Clubs and is a member of the Region III US Olympic Development Programme, has undergone training at Norweigan team Sogndal, and English teams Arsenal along with coaches from the Premiership Academy of Coaches for Manchester City, Blackburn and Aston Villa.

A central midfielder, “Shaq” started all 15 matches in the ODP and has been ranked among the top five players in Georgia.

His team has won the last six major Georgia Youth Soccer Association under-12 tournaments together with the Atlanta Cup during which “Shaq” was named Most Valuable Player.

A brilliant academic student, “Shaq” is being courted by Austrian Red Bulls and received an invitation to visit Salzburg for trials with the team.

Offline madness

Re: Football alert — watch for Shaquell Moore
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2011, 05:33:18 AM »
i have a friend you has a son whose going to play for the us team. Ted W. Burnett, Congratulations to my son, Josh Burnett. See among Defenders: http://www.ussoccer.com/News/U-14-National-Development-Program/2011/08/Boys-U14-NDP-Identification-Camp-Underway-in-Carson.aspx

I know Wendall Moore very well, because i played with him when he was living in ny.

« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2011, 06:07:58 AM »
Big time player folks, big time....

« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2011, 06:17:54 AM »
Very cool kid too!!!
Flex remember I told you about this kid?
« Last Edit: September 08, 2011, 06:23:26 AM by Ngozi »

Offline madness

« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2011, 06:28:59 AM »
which kid????

« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2011, 07:33:59 AM »
Good luck to them.

« Reply #6 on: September 08, 2011, 07:36:03 AM »
Someone told somebody to go out and find middies.

« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2011, 12:16:52 PM »
Very cool kid too!!!
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/amFEl7mbi0w" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/amFEl7mbi0w</a>
yup there was a post on him years ago on this forum ...
So when does tnt next under 17 team  screening start  ???
« Last Edit: September 08, 2011, 12:34:12 PM by Trini _2014 »

« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2011, 12:56:03 PM »
I seem to remember Wendell Moore as a very decent player  back in the 80s.

Roster finalized for Fall 2011 semester of U.S. soccer residency program
« Reply #9 on: September 30, 2011, 09:10:18 AM »
Roster finalized for Fall 2011 semester of U.S. soccer residency program
ussoccer.com

The roster for the fall semester of U.S. Soccer’s Under-17 Men’s National Team Residency Program has been finalized with 32 players training in Bradenton, Fla., under head coach Wilmer Cabrera.

The group of players, all born in 1996, is at the beginning of a two-year cycle that will culminate with the 2013 CONCACAF U-17 Championship with the goal of qualifying for the 2013 FIFA U-17 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates. The U.S. is the only nation to have qualified for all 14 previous editions of the FIFA U-17 World Cup and is coming off a Round of 16 appearance in the 2011 event in Mexico.

The new group brings a range of experience with the U.S. U-15 Boys’ National Team and the U.S. Soccer Development Academy. Of the 32 players joining the Residency Program, 25 were part of the most recent U-15 BNT camp in July at The Home Depot Center, and 10 traveled with the team to Zagreb, Croatia, in May. DeAndre Robinson, Corey Baird, Wesley Wade and Tyler Turner all scored for the United States in a 4-1 win against Croatia on May 10.

There are 24 players representing Development Academy clubs, including Vernon Bailey, who was one of the youngest players at 2011 Finals Week, where he helped the Dallas Texans to a seventh place finish in the U-15/16 age group before joining FC Dallas this year. There are an astounding seven players on the roster representing the New York Red Bulls Academy and two each from Academy clubs Chivas USA, Concorde Fire, New England Revolution and San Jose Earthquakes.

NC Alliance and Westside Metros are the only other clubs with two representatives on Cabrera’s roster.

The U.S. players live on campus at the IMG Academies in Bradenton, Fla., and train in the morning under the guidance of Cabrera and assistant coaches Paul Grafer and Erik Imler. In the afternoon, the players attend classes at St. Stephens Episcopal School.

While in the full-time residency program, the U.S. team not only trains daily under Cabrera, but also has access to the IMG Academies facilities. The team regularly uses the state-of-the-art strength-training facilities, as well as brand new dormitories and meal rooms.

Beginning in 1999, the Residency Program has given players an opportunity to grow and move up the ladder in the world of soccer and become professionals in Major League Soccer, some of the biggest clubs in Europe and even make an impact on the full U.S. Men's National Team. The program in Bradenton provides players with an environment where they can prosper as individual players and come together as a team ahead of regional and world competition.

Since its inception, more than 300 players have been through the full-time Residency Program, and more than 100 of those players have moved on to Major League Soccer, or the professional leagues in Europe. Twenty-four players have also registered at least one cap with the full MNT: Freddy Adu, Gale Agbossoumonde, Juan Agudelo, Jozy Altidore, DaMarcus Beasley, Kyle Beckerman, Michael Bradley, Bobby Convey, Landon Donovan, Eddie Gaven, Omar Gonzalez, Eddie Johnson, Eric Lichaj, Justin Mapp, Chad Marshall, Dax McCarty, Oguchi Onyewu, Heath Pearce, Santino Quaranta, Robbie Rogers, Brek Shea, Jonathan Spector, Danny Szetela and Anthony Wallace.

U.S. U-17 Men’s National Team Roster by Position

GOALKEEPERS (4): Paul Christensen (Seattle Sounders FC; Woodinville, Wash.), Alek Gogic (New York Red Bulls; Fort Lee, N.J.) Evan Louro (New York Red Bulls; South River, N.J.), Nedin Tucakovic (San Jose Earthquakes; San Jose, Calif.)

DEFENDERS (9): Vernon Bailey (FC Dallas; Dallas, Texas), Conor Donovan (NC Alliance; Fuquay Varina, N.C.), Elijah Martin (Cal Odyssey; Fresno, Calif.), Matt Nance (Vardar SC Freiburg; Washington, Mich.), Kevin Politz (New York Red Bulls; Morganville, N.J.), John Requejo (Real So Cal; Carpinteria, Calif.), Bruno Scodari (Olney Boys and Girls Club; Silver Springs, Md.), Brandon Tetro (New York Red Bulls; Colts Neck, N.J.), Thomas Ziemer (Atletico Santa Rosa; Glen Allen, Calif.)

MIDFIELDERS (11): Adonis Amaya (Chivas USA; Westminster, Calif.), Jorge Calix (D.C. United; Alexandria, Va.), Steven Echevarria (New York Red Bulls; Slate Hill, N.Y.), Angel Heredia (San Jose Earthquakes; San Jose, Calif.), Guyllian Kabala (New England Revolution; Manchester, N.H.), Christopher Lema (New York Red Bulls; Ridgefield, N.J.), Declan McCabe (New England Revolution; Weston, Mass.), Herber Mejia-Flores (McLean Youth Soccer; Manassas Park, Va.), Shaquell Moore (Cobb FC; Powder Springs Ga.), Dean Rutherford (NC Alliance; Fuquay Varina, N.C.), Tyler Turner (South Central Premier; West Haven, Conn.)

FORWARDS (8 ): Corey Baird (San Diego Surf; Escondido, Calif.), Bradford Jamieson (Chivas USA; Los Angeles, Calif.), Danya Kafai (Juventus Sports Club; Redwood City, Calif.), DeAndre Robinson (Concorde Fire; Atlanta, Ga.), Rubio Rubin (Westside Metros; Beaverton, Ore.), Alejandro Segovia (Westside Metros; Beaverton, Ore.), Wesley Wade (New York Red Bulls; South Orange, N.J.), Dembakwi Yomba (Concorde Fire Academy; Lithonia, Ga.)

National Team Staff
Head Coach: Wilmer Cabrera (Lakewood Ranch, Fla.)
Assistant Coach: Paul Grafer (Sarasota, Fla.)
Assistant Coach: Erik Imler (Bradenton, Fla.)
Program Manager: Tim Ryder (Lakewood Ranch, Fla.)
Program Coordinator: Sam Pugsley (Bradenton, Fla.)
Equipment Coordinator: Jason Peters (St. Petersburg, Fla.)
Athletic Trainer: James Spinale (Sarasota, Fla.)
Athletic Trainer: Rory Blevins (Bradenton, Fla.)

« Reply #10 on: September 30, 2011, 09:30:02 AM »
Well done young man... Wish you all the best. 

« Reply #11 on: September 30, 2011, 10:05:42 AM »
Excellent stuff Shaquell  !!!!

Offline Richard G.

• Ah en new...jus doh post as often as oda people
« Reply #12 on: September 30, 2011, 01:06:14 PM »
Well done nephew. Congrats and keep up the good work.

Lata, blessings and enjoy de day
Richard G.
T&T first. Any other country comes a very distant 2nd.

www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg2
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg3

« Reply #13 on: September 30, 2011, 01:43:54 PM »
Have we even begun to scout players yet?

« Reply #14 on: September 30, 2011, 01:55:03 PM »
Have we even begun to scout players yet?

:(

« Reply #15 on: September 30, 2011, 02:52:03 PM »
If they playing for USA what that have to do wid TT,the interest is purely academic.

« Reply #16 on: September 30, 2011, 04:50:38 PM »
If the kid is to develop US is the place to do it .... ultimately for him to play for TT ... their house have to be in order ... else he becomes another wasted talent in a TT national team that bows out in round 1 of a qualifying competition.

« Reply #17 on: September 30, 2011, 07:10:18 PM »
If the kid is to develop US is the place to do it .... ultimately for him to play for TT ... their house have to be in order ... else he becomes another wasted talent in a TT national team that bows out in round 1 of a qualifying competition.

sad but true...

« Reply #18 on: September 30, 2011, 09:28:08 PM »

not to mention this kid came to TnT and our screening committee said that he should pick up something else other than football. But you know how our standards in TnT are so very high. I fully understand why he could make de US U-17 but not even get a shot in the TnT set up. I continue to stand by our bias, prejudice undeveloped facilitators of our upcoming athletes. Those that pick yuh because it is politically correct too and shun many that have the genuine talent. Our selection processors are renowned worldwide for turning gold into cobalt and that has to be better than the water into wine trick meh mammy told me about in growing up. Long live de TnT selectors who forever hold a monopoly on de system and is hell bent on only introducing those that fit the criteria.  To find out what that criteria is... please subscribe to Iisahasshole.com for further details.

Quick note; Well done Tallman for the cover story!
« Last Edit: September 30, 2011, 09:37:57 PM by davidephraim »

« Reply #19 on: October 01, 2011, 06:41:36 AM »

Is long time ah know bout him, but peeps wanted tuh kinda keep it under wraps fuh a lil while. Big up Garvin wit he dotish self  :laugh:

« Reply #20 on: October 01, 2011, 08:18:00 AM »

Is long time ah know bout him, but peeps wanted tuh kinda keep it under wraps fuh a lil while. Big up Garvin wit he dotish self  :laugh:

True dat and big up to coach G for real for doing a great job with dis yuteman!

« Reply #21 on: October 01, 2011, 08:21:59 AM »

not to mention this kid came to TnT and our screening committee said that he should pick up something else other than football. But you know how our standards in TnT are so very high. I fully understand why he could make de US U-17 but not even get a shot in the TnT set up. I continue to stand by our bias, prejudice undeveloped facilitators of our upcoming athletes. Those that pick yuh because it is politically correct too and shun many that have the genuine talent. Our selection processors are renowned worldwide for turning gold into cobalt and that has to be better than the water into wine trick meh mammy told me about in growing up. Long live de TnT selectors who forever hold a monopoly on de system and is hell bent on only introducing those that fit the criteria.  To find out what that criteria is... please subscribe to Iisahasshole.com for further details.

If they say he eh good he eh good

« Reply #22 on: October 03, 2011, 06:15:31 AM »

True dat and big up to coach G for real for doing a great job with dis yuteman!
LOL....  Tallman call Garvin dotish....ah go tell him.... 

« Reply #23 on: October 03, 2011, 12:08:22 PM »
hahahaha...Tallman alyuh good oui!! I'm sure Garvin go call yuh soon!!! :rotfl:

« Reply #24 on: November 30, 2011, 07:12:27 PM »
You can see him right now on Fox Soccer Channel in the game between US U-17 and France. He's wearing #4.

« Reply #25 on: November 30, 2011, 07:23:09 PM »
Very cool kid too!!!

I pass his name a long time ago to the TTFF but they just ignored my email...

« Reply #26 on: November 30, 2011, 07:46:21 PM »
You can see him right now on Fox Soccer Channel in the game between US U-17 and France. He's wearing #4.

Man jes take ah nice shot dat rock de crossbar.

« Reply #27 on: November 30, 2011, 08:16:48 PM »
I seem to remember Wendell Moore as a very decent player  back in the 80s.

Wendell wasn't a decent player he was an extremely good player who anchored a great Signal Hill team.....he should have gone to a D I school not CW Post but I guess is who makes the best offer. Definitely should have played at a higher level.

« Reply #28 on: November 30, 2011, 08:59:16 PM »
In my honest opinion Wendell's son did the right thing in playing for the US at this point. TT football has to have it's house in order. Yes we use foreign born players, but on a vay-ki-vay basis. I don't know how they go about looking at foreign born players. We have Cameron Roget, how did this come about. But there is Deleon, Moore, Ranjitsigh fella from Canada. There is also a kid with Tobago parents from Maryland who is in Germany, Shaquille Phillips. And there are some we don't even know about. Right now we take almost all the foreign born girls because we lack good local girls who have experience. But if our local girls improve, we probably will use less and less foreign-born.

One thing is, we not seeing some of these foreign born regularly. Is mostly video tapes and snippets from youth and college games. I just happen to looking for a game on fox and saw the Big East with young Deleon. I think he is one we should pursue. I just feel Dilly son should play for TT. Just like if Latas or Dwight sons should do the same. But it don't always work out that way.  The foreign-born then have to come home and try out. It hard for yutes from Erin,Moruga, Bago to come to Ttini to tryout. What allyuh expect from  kids from LA, TO, Chicago, etc?

« Reply #29 on: November 30, 2011, 09:28:39 PM »
One thing is, we not seeing some of these foreign born regularly. Is mostly video tapes and snippets from youth and college games. I just happen to looking for a game on fox and saw the Big East with young Deleon. I think he is one we should pursue. I just feel Dilly son should play for TT. Just like if Latas or Dwight sons should do the same. But it don't always work out that way.  The foreign-born then have to come home and try out. It hard for yutes from Erin,Moruga, Bago to come to Ttini to tryout. What allyuh expect from  kids from LA, TO, Chicago, etc?
Steups. Right here on this site we does keep track of over 100 college players every year. Is 2011, if ah player performing well, dey could call or e-mail de coach. All dem games does be taped, so dey could get full games. Potential players (male and female) in all age groups does contact we, and we does pass on de info. But is like de TTFF doh have ah sustained and systematic approach tuh scouting. Look at Sheanon Williams who is ah starting defender for de Union and a US youth international. We interview de man ah few years ago, and find out dat he used to go tuh Joe Public camps regularly over de August holidays. Since 2007 we profiling De Leon son.