May 20, 2013, 02:22:08 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the London Olympics 2012: Fri.27th July to Sun.12th August!  (Read 15515 times)

• Monkey know which tree to climb! :-)
Gordon bids for second medal
« Reply #360 on: August 09, 2012, 01:44:21 AM »
http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,164530.html

Gordon bids for second medal
Thursday, August 9 2012

THE TRINIDAD and Tobago men’s 4x400-metre relay team, featuring 400m bronze medallist Lalonde Gordon, as well as the women’s 4x100m relay squad, will be in action in their respective First Round heats in the 30th Olympiad today at the Olympic Stadium, London, England.

The men’s 4x400m relay squad will feature in the First Round at 6.35 am and the women’s 4x100m quartet will be participating in their heat from 3.20 pm.

Both teams will be vying to ensure qualification for their respective Finals tomorrow.

With Renny Quow unable to recover from injury and out of the Games, Gordon will lead the charge for the TT men’s team along with Deon Lendore (who was eliminated in the 400m First Round) and the trio of United States-born 26-year-old Jarrin Solomon, 23-year-old Ade Alleyne-Forte and the 16- year-old Machel Cedenio, the youngest Trinbagonian on the 2012 Olympic team.

In heat one, Trinidad and Tobago will start in lane two, followed by (lanes three-nine) Great Britain, Belgium, South Africa, Cuba, Kenya, Germany and Poland while heat two will have Dominican Republic, United States, Australia, Venezuela, Japan, Russia, Bahamas and Jamaica.

In both 4x400m relays, the best-placed teams go through, as well as a set number of the fastest losing teams across all the heats. The following rounds run on the same format, until eight teams qualify for the respective Finals.

Semoy Hackett may feature in the TT women’s 4x100m relay team, less than 24 hours after she participated in the women’s 200m Final.

Kelly-Ann Baptiste, the sixth-place finisher in the women’s 100m Final, is also likely to compete, as well as Michelle-Lee Ahye, Kai Selvon and the unused pair of 24-year-old Reyare Thomas and 20-year-old Sparkle McKnight.

Trinidad and Tobago will run in lane four of heat one, with the United States in lane two, followed by Nigeria (three), Japan (five), Switzerland (six), Brazil (seven), Netherlands (eight) and Bahamas (nine).

The countries in heat two are Poland, Belarus, Ukraine, Colombia, Jamaica, Russia, France and Germany.

Speaking from London on Tuesday, TT track and field squad manager Dexter Voisin pointed out, “the relay teams, we are preparing, we’re taking it step by step.

“The first thing we have to do is get to the finals. The relay (competitions) are also tough.

“All the countries participating for the relays are also tough. All our teams have to really put out to make the finals,” he ended.

Kirani writes history with his feet
« Reply #361 on: August 09, 2012, 01:47:08 AM »
http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,164505.html

Kirani writes history with his feet
By Miranda La Rose Thursday, August 9 2012

No longer will tiny Grenada be known only for nutmegs and invasion, but it will now be known for producing an Olympic gold medallist, Kirani James, who has gone “from bare feet to golden feet” and from the “fishing capital of Gouyave to the highly cultured city of London.”

In his address at a rally on Tuesday evening at Gouyave, the fisher folk hometown in Grenada where James was born, Grenada prime minister Tillman Thomas told the people of Grenada that James “rewrote the history of Grenada with his feet.”

On Monday, James became Grenada’s first Olympic medallist with a golden win in men’s 400 metres final, in the which Trinidad and Tobago’s Lalonde Gordon won bronze and Lugelin Santos of Dominican Republic copped the silver medal.

Present at the rally–which was followed by cultural entertainment and a street party — were James’ mother, Annie James and father, Jurani Marshall whom Thomas congratulated and thanked “for bringing up such an exceptional son.”

He also expressed gratitude to James’ coaches, past and present, for the fantastic job they did in recognising his talent and preparing him for the world stage.

In spite of his latest achievement, he said James, known in his hometown as ‘‘The Jaguar’’, was a very humble person. “We are proud because Grenada has given to the world a model youth,” Thomas said noting that he could not help but express his admiration of the 19-year-old who exchanged his bib with Oscar Pistorius, the South African double-amputee athlete who ran the semi-finals with James.

Rather than basking in his own victory, James told the world, Thomas said, “of his admiration for Pistorius and pointed out that Pistorius was an inspiration for us all.”

Addressing James in his absence, Thomas said, “Your journey to these games has not only been a journey of personal sacrifice and commitment, but one of love and dedication to your homeland.

“You have made our country proud and for this we love, admire and thank you.”

James’ talent, he said, has challenged all citizens to become beacons of light for the younger generation.

Coming from a poor background, Thomas said James has challenged people to be the best they could be in spite of constraints, to be disciplined and focus, to be diligent and vigorous, to be humble in victory and embrace opponents, and to put country first and bring honour to the nation.

By his victory, Thomas said James did not only win the race, but he was the first non-American in over 40 years to run the 400 metres in under 44 seconds.

Meanwhile, Thomas said a deserving award to honour James was yet to be identified.

AL HAIL TOCO BOY
« Reply #362 on: August 09, 2012, 01:49:39 AM »
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,164501.html

AL HAIL TOCO BOY
By STEPHON NICHOLAS Thursday, August 9 2012

Nineteen-year-old Keshorn Walcott continues to create history for Trinidad and Tobago, advancing to the Olympic final of men's Javelin Throw with a herculean effort in his third and last attempt of the qualifying phase in London yesterday.

Needing a massive effort after registering throws below 80 metres, Walcott produced a huge 81.75 metres heave that sealed a historic spot in Saturday's final.

The Toco athlete finished tenth overall out of 44 competitors, bettering several more experienced and accomplished rivals including current world champion, Matthias de Zordo of Germany who failed to register a legal throw.

Czech Republic's Vitezslav Vesely is the undoubted favourite for the gold after a mammoth 88.34 metres personal best. Vesely is the current IAAF world number one and it would take a significant improvement from any athlete to keep him away from the gold.

Andreas Thorkildsen of Norway (84.47) and Finland's Tero Pitkamaki (83.01) have the next best two throws.

Competing out of Group “B” yesterday, Walcott failed to impress in his first two tries (78.91 metres and 76.44 metres) and was in danger of missing out on one of the 12 spots for the final.

But as he did last month to secure gold at the World Junior Championships in Spain, Walcott saved his best for last. His fans had missed his first two efforts due to the coverage of other events but for his last attempt, there was Toco's finest live on national television getting ready for history.

Unaware that his fans were finally getting to see him in action, the CAC Junior champion gave TT another finalist to cheer for with a powerful effort that was just shy of the automatic 82 metres distance but still over a metre short of his personal best of 82.83 metres.

Speaking with Newsday from London yesterday, an ecstatic Dexter Voisin, manager of the TT athletics Olympic contingent, hailed Walcott's achievement.

"It was a tremendous performance to go past that qualifying round. Javelin is mostly dominated by Europeans and it is not easy for a junior to come and do well. It's a great feeling for everyone and the coach and entire camp are very proud of him," Voisin remarked.

Voisin was also impressed with the way the TT athlete held his nerve under tremendous pressure on his final throw to come up with the goods.

"It shows that he is remaining focussed and listening to his coach," he said.

Yesterday, Walcott's cousin, Shaquille Roberts, who was in the spotlight recently for carrying the Olympic Torch on its way to the Olympic Stadium in London, expressed supreme confidence in his relative who he expects to give an even better showing in the final.

"I'm very excited because I think he would bring back a medal. I know he can do better than that," Roberts declared.

Councillor for the Toco area, Terry Rondon, who spearheaded the celebrations for Walcott after his gold medal in Spain at the World Juniors, was equally optimistic the teenager would place among the top three.

"God works in mysterious ways and we are all proud of him in Toco. Our prayers are with him and he is bringing gold to Toco. We are staying very positive and we know he will make us proud," he stated emphatically.

Meanwhile, former Soca Monarch, Bunji Garlin, congratulated Walcott via Twitter stating: "That boy is 19 years old (and) already a world junior champion and now an Olympics finalist."

Walcott's feat continued a remarkable effort from our local athletes who have reached an unprecedented seven finals while ace cyclist Njisane Phillip placed fourth in the Match Sprint and seventh in the Keirin.

Also yesterday, the American-based Wayne Davis crashed out of the men's 110 metres hurdles, finishing sixth in the semi-finals in 13.49 seconds. Davis got a decent start out of the blocks but fatally hit the first hurdle and never recovered.

Offline Aviator

Re: Thread for the London Olympics 2012: Fri.27th July to Sun.12th August!
« Reply #363 on: August 09, 2012, 04:41:57 AM »
Our 4x400 just won their heat and broke the NR once again. 3:00:38!!!!!!!!!!! :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #364 on: August 09, 2012, 04:47:05 AM »
Without Quow. Good sign.

What you guys think will be the final team.?

« Reply #365 on: August 09, 2012, 04:50:25 AM »
Jamaica out.  4x400m

USA Bahamas Russia

2.58 winner
« Last Edit: August 09, 2012, 04:52:20 AM by D.H.W »

Offline Aviator

« Reply #366 on: August 09, 2012, 05:05:09 AM »
Without Quow. Good sign.

What you guys think will be the final team.?

With Quow presumably not available, Jehue is likely to replace the weakest runner. Lalonde on 1st and lendore on last will be safe, so its somebody from 2nd or 3rd leg. Ade on 3rd relinquished the lead, so he might get clipped.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #367 on: August 09, 2012, 05:28:26 AM »
Alright, I just pulled back my live feed and I got the splits using my watch
lalonde-45.12
Jarrin-44.60
Ade- 46.16 Thanks for the run yute, but time to make way for Jehue.
Lendore-44.48

My total time= 3:00:36, so I am not very far off.

I believe Jehue could split a second faster than Ade and put us in real contention for the bronze. Martin Rooney was not running all out, so the UK will go faster, so we will have to also.

Offline Swima

« Reply #368 on: August 09, 2012, 06:19:38 AM »
Good work aviator. Lane assignments out for the 4 x 100 men tomorrow. We have a good lane (lane 4) and we are contending with the US France and a German team that has run 38.0 for the season.

http://www.london2012.com/athletics/event/men-4x100m-relay/phase=atm401900/index.html
Success will never take you by surprise.

Offline STMB

« Reply #369 on: August 09, 2012, 06:51:08 AM »
lalonde-45.12
Jarrin-44.60
Lendore-44.48

I believe Jehue could split a second faster than Ade and put us in real contention for the bronze. Martin Rooney was not running all out, so the UK will go faster, so we will have to also.

Allyuh mad or what? Cedenio all the way. Jehue cannot run in his league at this point, and important for a 4x400m, Cedenio finishes his 400ms strong going into an exchange

« Reply #370 on: August 09, 2012, 07:17:48 AM »
lalonde-45.12
Jarrin-44.60
Lendore-44.48

Allyuh mad or what? Cedenio all the way. Jehue cannot run in his league at this point, and important for a 4x400m, Cedenio finishes his 400ms strong going into an exchange

Has Cedenio ever split a 45 low or even a 44 mid like Jarrin did today in the 4x4 relay?

Guess he is improving all the time so is probably capable of doing it for the first time.

Guess it will be down to the relay team managment as to who would be the better option between young 16 year old Cedenio (who is improving all the time) and the older more experience Jehue.

Can we rely on Jehue to run a 44 mid relay split if required to do so to bring or keep T&T ahead on his leg in the relay or is Cedenio the better bet?

Whatever decision we make I hope it is in the best interest of the team and we put egos aside as we can now contend for a medal in the 4x400 relay if we get our line-up correct in the final! 

Medals are going to be between Bahamas, USA, Great Britain, Belgum and T&T.
If we aim to match or beat the USA and Bahamas and can pull off good clean exchanges then I think we can medal God willing! :beermug:
« Last Edit: August 09, 2012, 07:39:12 AM by Socapro »

Offline STMB

« Reply #371 on: August 09, 2012, 07:45:51 AM »
lalonde-45.12
Jarrin-44.60
Lendore-44.48

Has Cedenio ever split a 45 low or even a 44 mid like Jarrin did today in the 4x4 relay?
Has Jehue ever done this?? - don't think so. Cedenio's anchor at the National Championships was definitely in this range

Guess he is improving all the time so is probably capable of doing it for the first time.

Guess it will be down to the relay team managment as to who would be the better option between young 16 year old Cedenio (who is improving all the time) and the older more experience Jehue.

Can we rely on Jehue to run a 44 mid relay split if required to do so to bring or keep T&T ahead on his leg in the relay or is Cedenio the better bet?

Whatever decision we make I hope it is in the best interest of the team and we put egos aside as we can now contend for a medal in the 4x400 relay if we get our line-up correct in the final! 

If we aim to match or beat the USA and Bahamas and can pull off good clean exchanges then I think we can medal God willing! :beermug:

If we looking for experience then run Alleyne-Forte again, if we looking for speed run Cedenio, who by the way has enough experience in this event already
« Last Edit: August 09, 2012, 07:50:21 AM by STMB »

« Reply #372 on: August 09, 2012, 07:52:59 AM »
lalonde-45.12
Jarrin-44.60
Lendore-44.48

Has Jehue ever done this?? - don't think so. Cedenio's anchor at the National Championships was definitely in this range

If that is the case and Cedenio can produce another crazy run like he did at our National Champs on the 3rd leg then I say the 3rd leg should be his in that 4x400m relay final tomorrow!  :beermug:

What scares me a bit is that Cedenio is still only 16! Can he deal with the pressure of this BIG occasion and the rough up he may get from the other runners who will try to push him around in the exchange zone?  :-\
« Last Edit: August 09, 2012, 07:57:15 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #373 on: August 09, 2012, 08:10:51 AM »
lalonde-45.12
Jarrin-44.60
Lendore-44.48

If that is the case and Cedenio can produce another crazy run like he did at our National Champs on the 3rd leg then I say the 3rd leg should be his in that 4x400m relay final tomorrow!  :beermug:

What scares me a bit is that Cedenio is still only 16! Can he deal with the pressure of this BIG occasion and the rough up he may get from the other runners who will try to push him around in the exchange zone?  :-\

Soca.. Dont worry. We got this on lock.

We certainly need Cedenio. He currently has a better 400m time this year than Forte. I believe Cedenio will step up to the plate if given the chance.. If he does, he will run a mid to high 45s. I believe Forte split was 46.1s. Not the best especially considering that it is 4x400.

Good work by Solomon, Lendore and Gordon. Forte is a little behind right now. But excellent effort. Will be one for the future.

Offline STMB

« Reply #374 on: August 09, 2012, 08:17:44 AM »
DR's Santos is 18, Kirani is 19; no problem running them.

Cedenio ran in the World Juniors, Penn Relays, etc. What more experience does he need?

Incidentally, didn't he run the anchor for the T&T junior team at the Nat'l champs?

Run the man, if we want to contend for/win a medal - which is the goal.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2012, 08:22:21 AM by STMB »

« Reply #375 on: August 09, 2012, 08:23:45 AM »
DR's Santos is 18, Kirani is 19; no problem running them.

Cedenio ran in the World Juniors, Penn Relays, etc. What more experience does he need?

Incidentally, didn't he run the anchor for the T&T junior team at the Nat'l champs?

Run the man, if we want to contend for/win a medal - which is the goal.

I agree STMB. Cedenio is the one for this. He has a bigger engine Forte.

« Reply #376 on: August 09, 2012, 08:38:53 AM »
Me ent no track and field expert..

.. but I say let go de youth man on dem!

« Reply #377 on: August 09, 2012, 09:05:03 AM »

Ok so the consensus seems to be to "Leggo Cedenio"!

Let's prayer that the youth man is up to this, remember he is still only 16!!  :beermug:

« Reply #378 on: August 09, 2012, 09:18:09 AM »

Let's prayer that the youth man is up to this, remember he is still only 16!!  :beermug:

No worries. Brown was only 16 when he won a 4x100 medal at the World Champs in 2001. Our youths can perform when needed.

« Reply #379 on: August 09, 2012, 10:43:28 AM »

I eh know nah ....although Cedeno is coached by kirani's coach he is still young. Forte is older and presently may run faster ...which is what matters . I dont see Jehue as faster than Forte over the flat 400

Offline STMB

« Reply #380 on: August 09, 2012, 11:04:23 AM »
What ever happened to Zwede Hewitt after the NCAAs?

He is a 45 point man and a great relay runner (44 point) for Baylor, but did not show in the Nat'l Champs final.

« Reply #381 on: August 09, 2012, 12:02:49 PM »
What ever happened to Zwede Hewitt after the NCAAs?

He is a 45 point man and a great relay runner (44 point) for Baylor, but did not show in the Nat'l Champs final.

Whatever happened to Damien Barry, would've been a great addition to this team. Perhaps sponsorship?

Offline STMB

« Reply #382 on: August 09, 2012, 01:04:12 PM »
Rudisha wins 800m final in 1:40.91 WR (no rabbit) - OMG

Imagine last place was 1:43.77
« Last Edit: August 09, 2012, 01:07:43 PM by STMB »

« Reply #383 on: August 09, 2012, 01:07:51 PM »
Beast

Offline Ryan

« Reply #384 on: August 09, 2012, 01:51:33 PM »
Warm weather in London, tailwind down the home straight, tough competition...dis world record is gonna go  :challenge: :challenge:

« Reply #385 on: August 09, 2012, 01:56:14 PM »
Warm weather in London, tailwind down the home straight, tough competition...dis world record is gonna go  :challenge: :challenge:

Shit I feel so

Offline Ryan

« Reply #386 on: August 09, 2012, 01:58:19 PM »
Expecting the ridiculous...

« Reply #387 on: August 09, 2012, 02:01:00 PM »
Bolt won 200m   Blake second..The man eased a bit at the f**king line  19.32

Jamaica 1.2.3

« Reply #388 on: August 09, 2012, 02:01:42 PM »
Usa suck salt

Offline STMB

« Reply #389 on: August 09, 2012, 02:04:28 PM »
Carl Lewis head probably just exploded with that Jamaican 1-2-3  :rotfl: