Sports > What about Track & Field
The Lightning Bolt Road Show!!
STMB:
Bolt mentioned everything else except the quarter - football(??), long jump(??).
Seems like he's really terrified of that event, though it may be the only event he might have a lock on should he switch within the next 4 years, as new/young guns emerge in the short sprints.
If there was an event to not just cement his "legend" status but solidify it, it is the 400m that would prove him victorious in all three sprints.
truetrini:
Bolt Chapter 2, verses 19-32
19: And on the fourteenth day when they were all gathered in a certain place in the land of Lon, these swift men of many nations, Usain, he being the swiftest of the lot, did turn and say to his fellow brethren from the land of Jahm.
20: Verily I shall go before thee to prepare a place on the mountain for all of us and one shall stand on my right hand and the other on my left.
21: For know thee this, there are precious metals on offer and it is written that we are the chosen ones and that we alone shall partake of the gold, silver and bronze which they have prepared for us on Olympia.
22: There shall be none before us.
23: There shall be none with us on the mount of victory
24: Verily shall the naysayers be silenced and they shall behold the people of Jahm
25: And they shall say amongst themselves "What sign is this? How can a land so small produce such giants?"
26: And they will be struck dumb.
27: We shall cover ourselves with the Black, the Green and the Gold and show them the back of our spiked feet.
28: They shall try to overtake us on the curved path. They will fail.
29: They will try to ambush us in the straits. But they will again fail, for we will have already passed that way.
30: The tribe of Lewis shall make burnt offerings and pray that duppy will tek us but they will fail and be blinded, dumbfounded and confounded.
31: You Yohan of the Beastly Tribe, and you young Warrior of the Tribe of Weir are the chosen ones to be with me in victory.
32: Therefore I say unto thee brethren of Racers, come swiftly and tarry not in this starting place and I will meet thee both at the end of this chevroned path.
Socapro:
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/Bolt_brings_a_bit_of_Mo_to_4x100_relay-165884596.html
Bolt brings a bit of Mo to 4x100 relay
Story Created: Aug 12, 2012 at 12:03 AM ECT
Just when Britain's double Olympic champion Mo Farah thought his Saturday night could not get any better, Jamaica's Usain Bolt decided to borrow his trademark celebration as he crossed the line in a world-record time in the 4x100 relay yesterday.
Never short of a celebration, the world's fastest man chose Farah's 'Mobot'— where he places his hands on his head to create an 'M' for Mo—as the perfect pose for a finish being beamed around the globe.
To share the stage with Bolt—the pair later swapped poses on the podium—was a strange spotlight for such a quiet man, but it may be something Farah will have to get used to following his success in London.
"Usain Bolt is a legend, what he does for the sport is amazing. For him to do the 'Mobot' when he's breaking a world record was unbelievable," said Farah after winning the 5,000 metres on Saturday to add to the 10,000 crown he roared to a week ago.
Farah's victory, which made him the seventh man to win both events at the same Olympics and the first Briton to win either, will go down as one of the Games' greatest moments, illustrated by deafening roars from the crowd and chants of 'Mo' that reverberated around the stadium.
"As a young athlete you dream of becoming an Olympic champion. To do it twice is just unbelievable," the 29-year-old said.
"The crowd was inspiring, if it wasn't for them I don't think I would have dug in as deep. It just got louder and louder, it reminded me of when you go to a football match and somebody scores a goal—wow."
Farah, whose career has blossomed since moving to the US under coach Alberto Salazar, has been through a variety of training methods including altitude training in Kenya ahead of his London Olympics return and said he had also been racking up the miles in preparation.
"I've been working out in the winter over 120 miles a week, week in, week out, so there were days when I got up and I'm tired, but when you have a vision and you have a dream, you dig in more. I'm just excited, these two medals mean a lot to me."
Socapro:
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/No_more_goals-165941266.html
No more goals
Bolt unsure about Rio...
Story Created: Aug 13, 2012 at 12:42 AM ECT
l LONDON
Toting his third gold medal of the London Games, Usain Bolt gave a little wave to 80,000 or so of his best friends in the Olympic Stadium stands.
Almost immediately, the questions started: What did that mean? Was Bolt bidding adieu for good? Will he be back? Will the world get to watch him sprint on his sport's biggest stage again in 2016?
"It was a goodbye to London. I was just having fun with the crowd," the Jamaican explained. "I came here to London to become a legend, and I am a legend, and I wanted to thank them for supporting me."
He accomplished exactly what he wanted to at the 2012 Olympics.
Three events—the 100 metres, 200 metres and 4x100 relay—and three victories. Plenty of pre- and post-race preening.
Just like at Beijing in 2008.
As for trying to go for a Triple Triple four years from now, Bolt insisted Rio de Janeiro isn't necessarily in the offing.
"The possibility is there, but it's going to be very hard. ... I've done all I want to do," said Bolt, who turns 26 on August 21. "I've got no more goals."
He came up with three remarkable runs, improving his career mark to six for six in Olympic finals.
In more than a century of modern Olympics, no man had set world records while winning the 100, 200 and 4x100 relay—until Bolt did it in Beijing.
None had won the 200 metres twice, let alone completed a 100-200 double twice—until Bolt did so in 2008 and 2012.
Now he's added a second consecutive sprint relay title, too, pulling away down the stretch and bringing his best right through the finish line to close the track schedule Saturday night with a world record in the relay.
"When he got the stick," said Tyson Gay, part of the US team that finished second, "there was nothing we could do about it."
Looking ahead to Rio, Bolt pointed out that he'll turn 30 that year, while the closest thing he has to a rival, training partner Yohan Blake, will only be 26.
It was Blake who beat his buddy in the 100 and 200 finals at the Jamaican Olympic trials, raising the idea in some minds that Bolt could have trouble in London.
So much for that.
Bolt won the Olympic 100 in 9.63 seconds—the second-fastest dash in history, behind his own record of 9.58—and the 200 in 19.32, with Blake taking silver in both races.
"It's been so incredible watching him," said US swimmer Missy Franklin, who won four gold medals in the pool. "There was one day when he walked into the dining hall and every athlete in there just started clapping and cheering and going crazy."
Even those other athletes are among those curious about Bolt's future. Maybe he'll take up the long jump. Maybe the 400 (although he says that's too much of a grind for his tastes).
"It's very, very difficult to predict what's going to happen in four years. For Usain, he's just enjoying the moment and living in today. What he's accomplished is enough. He's done so much for our sport, and he's definitely a living legend. Whatever he decides in the future is more than icing on the cake, if he decides to come back," said Sanya Richards-Ross, who won gold medals in the 400 and the 4x400 relay for the United States. "I don't think he can do any wrong in most people's minds."
Count NBC, the network paying more than US$1 billion for the US TV rights to the 2016 Games, among those hoping Bolt will stick around.
"Usain Bolt is a firmly established star in a sport that receives unprecedented interest from the American audience during the Olympics and, as such, it would be great to see him in Rio," NBC Olympics executive producer Jim Bell said yesterday.
Richards-Ross helped the US end up with 29 medals in track and field this time, six more than in Beijing and the most at an Olympics since the 30 at Barcelona in 1992.
"I felt like something special was going to happen," she said. "Everybody was really focused and encouraging each other throughout the journey."
With victories in the 200 metres, 4x100 and 4x400, Allyson Felix became the first US female track athlete to win three golds at a single Summer Games since Florence Griffith-Joyner in 1988.
What was expected to be a fast track was the scene for three worlds records—Bolt's Jamaican team in the men's 4x100 relay, Felix's US quartet in the women's 4x100 relay, and Kenya's David Rudisha in the 800 metres, a run that International Olympic Committee President Jacques Rogge singled out as a "magic moment."
asylumseeker:
Dahis all yuh really need to know ... the reaction of other athletes to Bolt entering the dining area.
Navigation
[0] Message Index
[#] Next page
[*] Previous page
Go to full version