April 18, 2024, 08:11:01 PM

Author Topic: Duane O'Connor is the North Zone 2011 Kaiso Monarch and Looking ahead to 2012  (Read 4591 times)

Previously listed in the top 20 Calypsoes of 2010. Duane O'connor is the 2011 North Zone Kaiso Monarch held Sunday October 9th.

« Last Edit: January 26, 2012, 11:17:43 PM by davyjenny1 »

Re: Duane O'Connor is the 2010 Kaiso Monarch
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2011, 11:29:47 PM »

alt

The National Action Cultural Committee is pleased to announce the calypsoes which were selected to be among the Top 20 Calypsoes for 2010. These calypsoes will be awarded at a gala ceremony which will be held on Saturday 8th January, 2011, at the Cascadia Hotel, St. Ann’s.

The calypsoes, in alphabetical order, along with the artistes who rendered them, are listed as follows:

A CALYPSONIAN - BRIAN LONDON

A PEOPLE’S NATIONAL MOVEMENT - CHUCKY                     

AIDE HAITI - KIZZIE RUIZ         

AUDACITY OF HOPE - KARENE ASCHE                                           

CLIMATE CHANGE - KWESI JEFFERS

GOD IS LOVE - SEAN DANIEL     [Photo above]             

IN A PALACE STATE OF MIND - DE FOSTO                                 

LUTA’S ADVICE - HEATHER MAC INTOSH                                                 

MORE THAN A PANSIDE - SEKON ALVES                                                       

MOTHERS IN TROUBLE - SINGING FRANCINE                 

MY NATIONAL PRIDE - KING LUTA                                                         

MY TRINIDAD - GYPSY             

NATIONAL PRIDE - DUANE O’CONNOR                           

NO REPLACEMENTS - BRO. VALENTINO                                             

PALANCE - JW & BLAZE                                     

PERSEVERANCE DOES PAY - CONTENDER                               

ROGUE - MISTAH SHAK                                               

SPECIAL PEOPLE - SHELDON NUGGET                                   

TOO BRIGHT - KURT ALLEN                                                 

WHEN MAS WAS MAS - MIGHTY CHALKDUST                                   

WHERE THE LIONS ARE - NICOLE GREAVES                                     

A tie resulting from two calysoes having the same amount of points is responsible for there being twenty one selections.

http://www.wackradio901fm.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=807:top-20-calypsoes-for-2010&catid=46:entertainment&Itemid=133

Re: Duane O'Connor is the North Zone 2011 Kaiso Monarch
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2011, 08:11:53 PM »

By VERDEL BISHOP Thursday, October 13 2011

http://www.newsday.co.tt/features/0,148867.html

“The Hunt is On!” This is the song which helped calypsonian Duane O’Connor top the eighth edition of the Tuco North Zone Calypso Competition.

A large crowd turned out to support the calypsonians last Sunday at the SWWTU Hall, Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain. This year’s competition, which also celebrated the declaration of 2011, by the United Nations, as the Year for People of African Descent, saw ten calypsonians vying for the title and cash prizes, with two compositions – one song based on the theme surrounding people of African descent and the second song which is an original composition.

Ezekiel Yorke, Deneison Moses (Dee Diamond), Cuthbert Blackett (Typher), Karen Eccles, Dorril Hector (Versatile), Jameeka Mundy, William Bannister (Dr Will B) Marvah Joseph (Marvelous Marva) and Khadja Antoine all did their part to impress the judges, but it was O’Connor who held the attention of both the judges and the audience for his two compositions.

His original piece, “The Hunt is On”, which was composed by Larry Harewood, focussed on Ian Alleyne and his popular crime watch show. For this performance O’Conner donned a pinstriped suit complete with bulletproof vest. O’Connor also created a stir with his second song, “Black Is Beautiful”, a song by the late Mighty Duke (Kelvin Pope).

O’Connor said Duke was his mentor. “If you look back at my former performances everybody says I’m the Duke reincarnate. Duke has always been my mentor. I paid tribute to him while he was still alive at the Dimanche Gras with a song called “Sartorial Elegance” and he was very proud. I am glad I had the opportunity to do so while he was alive. Duke has influenced how I dress and perform. He thought me a lot about the artform. I have been paying close attention to Duke all my life,” he said.

O’Connor, who also won the competition in 2007, described the audience as phenomenal. He said during his performance he felt a special feeling which he had not felt in over 18 years. “It was a beautiful experience. I felt something which I have not felt in my 18 years of singing. The audience was responsive and they sang every word. I remember performing and wondering if the judges were hearing me because I could actually hear the audience singing and clapping. The crowd response was so great,” O’Connor said.The calypsonian said he is appreciative of the large turnout. He said such a competition and support of such a magnitude is what the calypso artform needs. “I am glad a lot of people came out to support the calypsonians. This is calypso history month and calypsonians feel a sense of respect when people appreciate and acknowledge their work,” O’Connor said.

He said he is expecting Carnival 2012 to be a bumper season for him. He will be performing “The Hunt is On” next year. “I am expecting great things for 2012,” he said.

O’Connor said he had a few special people to thank for his success, including De Fosto, Pelham Goddard, his mother, his wife and his son.

O’Conner, a police officer with West End Police Station, said he was unsure about how much he would receive as his prize package. He said when he won the competition in 2007, he took home a purse of $50,000. “I don’t know what the prize for first place is. I am unsure if it will be an increase or a decrease. I am just happy to be a part of the competition and to come out on top.

When Newsday contacted TUCO North Zone office, a representative said this year’s winner will receive $30,000, while $15,000 would go to the second placed contestant and $10,000 and 7,000 for third and fourth place respectively. Unplaced contestants would receive 5,000 and the reserves would receive $3,000.

The following are the full results:

1st: Duane O’COnnor

2nd: Karen Eccles

3rd: Ezekiel Yorke

4th: Deneison Moses

5th: Khadja Antoine

6th: Marvah Joseph
« Last Edit: October 25, 2011, 10:23:56 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2011, 08:20:47 PM »
From The Guardian
Police officer cops North Zone Tuco calypso title

http://www.guardian.co.tt/entertainment/2011/10/14/police-officer-cops-north-zone-tuco-calypso-title

Published: Fri, 2011-10-14 15:44
Karene Asche is the youngest National Calypso Monarch since 21-year-old Sparrow won the title in 1956 singing Jean and Dinah.

Police officer Duane O’Connor has copped the Tuco North Zone Calypso title in a hard fought contest at the SWWTU Hall, Wrightson Road in Port-of-Spain last Sunday. O’Connor represents the core of a young, strong and determined batch of calypso artistes who have been quietly announcing their presence in the arena. They have all been schooled and sharpened by the rigours and excitement of the junior calypso competitions. Now they have all graduated and continue to embrace the music which brought them to adulthood. Like so many who have gone before, this new batch has indicated that they are blessed with a sense of determination.

Perhaps they have been inspired by the extended successes of artistes like Machel Montano, Hilton “Ghetto Flex” Dalzell Jr, Patrice Roberts, Kerwyn Du Bois, and Abbi Blackman. The new decade has seen a new energy in the land of calypso. Kurt Allen seized the moment in the National Calypso Monarch of Carnival 2010.  From then on the youth of our calypso nation have ensured that they stay focused in the task or representing this noble art form. Devon Seale captured the Tuco East Zone title in 2010 and repeated this triumph in 2011. Not to be outdone, in 2011 the women also made their mark with Heather Mac Intosh being crowned the NWAC Calypso Queen.

Karene Asche won the Tuco North Zone title last year, and went on to be the youngest National Calypso Monarch since Dr Slinger Francisco “The Mighty Sparrow” won in 1956, at age 21. There are many others who are knocking on the competition doors and remain committed to the art form—Ezekiel Yorke, a Tuco North Zone finalist in his first year at the seniors competition; Rondell Donawa; Roderick “Mr Chucky” Gordon; Jervae Caesar; Megan Walrond; Tamika Darius; Selvon “Mr Shak” Noel; Kizzy  Ruiz; and Brian London, eight-time winner of South Calypso Monarch, who has made it to the National Calypso Monarch finals at the “Big Yard”—Dimanche Gras—seven times in eight years.

Many of these young artistes are also pursuing their academic dreams, and consider the discipline they get from calypso to be their main asset in managing every aspect of their studies.

« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2012, 10:21:32 AM »
Davyjenny Duane O'connor on Wack now.

I hadda give you a lil props, yuh promoting this fella long time. Last year song "Join Dem" was one of my favorites for the year.

I come in late, but I recording the interview.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2012, 10:23:58 AM by Bitter »

« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2012, 11:53:38 AM »
Davyjenny Duane O'connor on Wack now.

I hadda give you a lil props, yuh promoting this fella long time. Last year song "Join Dem" was one of my favorites for the year.

I come in late, but I recording the interview.

Thanks... The Hunt is on...

« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2012, 11:58:49 AM »

Ent!

I start recording too late. Just got a couple phone calls.

« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2012, 03:18:05 PM »

Ent!

I start recording too late. Just got a couple phone calls.

Bitter! for your listening pleasure:

http://soundcloud.com/scants728/final-mix-first-draft
« Last Edit: January 08, 2012, 03:47:53 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Last Edit: January 19, 2012, 11:28:08 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2012, 11:16:19 PM »

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/featured-news/Calypso__Blueprint__steals_the_show-138173119.html

Calypso 'Blueprint' steals the show
By Wayne Bowman wayne.bowman@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jan 26, 2012 at 10:59 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jan 26, 2012 at 10:59 PM ECT

Calypsonian Mistah Shak stole the show on Tuesday when the Kaiso House Calypso Tent opened its 2012 season at the Queen's Park Savannah. Singing, "Blueprint" Mistah Shak had patrons cheering at the end of each verse and chorus and earned two encores.

The calypso is a protest against the judges that adjudicate the National Calypso Monarch competition from the preliminaries to the final and how they continue to keep the art from moving forward because they refuse to allow creative freedom. Mistah Shak sang that unless one did the same things as older calypsonians such as Cro Cro, Chalkdust or Sugar Aloes the judges did not approve of one's calypso.

Lines such as, if you had a pan song in your head, you had to go in the cemetery and raise Lord Kitchener from the dead for the judges to take you on had the audience calling for more. Mistah Shak also sang that in past years calypsonians such as Lord Shorty, Shadow and David Rudder were criticised for singing what some people said was not calypso. The audience roared in approval when Mistah Shak sang that the sure way to win the title was to be unoriginal.

Defending National Calypso Monarch, Karene Asche signalled she will not be easily dethroned when she sang, "Dougla Dhal", which like Mistah Shak's offering earned her two encores and cheers throughout her rendition. The song states that racism has no place in this nation and Karene sings she is fed-up of people always bringing up race.

"All ah hearing is race….Meh whole country turn asunder……We need an identity…..All Indo racist could go back India and Afro centric send dem Africa…..The blood we bleed must be for one T and T…..We mix up in truth, one big callaloo," were some of the lines in the calypso that had even calypsonians, Singing Sandra and Sheldon Reid dancing in the aisles during Asche's excellent performance.

Lead vocalist with the band, Dil-e-Nadan, Derek Seales also received much adulation from the patrons for his performance of, "The Clash". Seales sang that he one night witnessed an argument between calypso and soca in which each was saying that the other was no good.

Seales sang that soca told calypso that it does not have a future, has already lived out its time and the calypso tents are all empty because all calypso does is ostricise people while soca makes them dance. Calypso responded saying soca has been riding on calypso's rhythm ever since and is an imposter that is only about wave and bam bam, no substance. Seales brought the song home singing each is a great art form that is all Trinbagonian and our identity.

Reigning TUCO North Zone Calypso Monarch, Duane O'Connor created a stir with his performance of, "The Hunt Is On" a tribute of sorts to crime buster, Ian Alleyne of the show Crime Watch on CCN TV6. Dressed as Alleyne, white shades and all, O'Connor sang that although he was impressed with how Alleyne was solving so many crimes and brining criminals to justice, he felt he

had an agenda up his sleeve and really wanted Commissioner of Police, Dwayne Gibbs' job.

Then there was Marvelous Marva who performed, "Hot Ice Does Melt" about Public Services Association president, Watson Duke's unimpressive performance after his many promises to win the election that gave him leadership. Decked in a man's three piece suit she had people waving their hands as she sang that she thought that after all the bragging and boasting she would have seen David slay Goliath, but instead Duke melted like hot ice on a shelf. "George Weekes and Reinzi must be turning in they grave," sang Marva to earn two encores.

Black Sage was in fine form when he performed, "Counterfeit Society", in which he sang that Trinbago loves corruption and bobol. The audience really came alive when Black Sage sang the hook line that the reason there is so much racket and counterfeiting in the country is because, "Forged is the first word in we National Anthem. It have more racket here than in table tennis because forged is the first word in we Anthem."

There was also some humour presented with Brown Boy delivering one of the wittiest songs of the night. He sang, "Ah Change Meh Colour". This was the story of an attorney that had a special talent for getting even his clearly guilty clients off by his way of addressing the court. The audience called for an encore having been sent into peals of laughter when Brown Boy sang about a man arrested for raping a woman and the attorney argued that the woman hired the man to paint her house and he forgot to bring a paintbrush so he just, "Took a lil brush from she." Believe us, the verses got better, but can't be printed here.

Another calypso that must be mentioned was that of Sharlan Bailey who sang, "The Answer". This song stated that crime is fighting the people of Trinbago and we are losing the battle because we continue to look to the wrong people for help. He sang that snakes should not be the ones looking for snakes and it should be the people taking control. Bailey also sang that when a man in he thinks to himself that he could have been free earning a simple living selling soft drinks or such. He may decide to do that when released, but when released the plans change and he resorts to crime.

There were also performances by Shadow, Kassman, Brother Musa, Aisha, Dee Diamond, Bunny B and Brother Valentino. Rikki Jai made a return to the calypso stage with a tear jerking song, "Love Family Life", about how his father worked hard at several jobs throughout his lifetime just to ensure that his family was provided for and stayed together.

2002 pan song.
Title: Thriller.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/PY_t8nZLk4s" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/PY_t8nZLk4s</a>
« Last Edit: January 15, 2017, 03:33:28 AM by davyjenny1 »